reviews for: listing #49799 - West Palm Beach, Florida Cottage rental

Cozy Cottage on Antique Row
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  yes
  • type  Cottage
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Southland Park
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $110 - $130 /nt
    $750 - $900 /wk
    $2,850 - $3,450 /mth

sort by:

Relaxing Cottage in a Tropical Setting

Review submitted: July 15, 2014   Date of arrival: July 7, 2014

We were fortunate enough to stay a week in the upper apartment. The setting is so beautiful with pots of flowers everywhere and mature plantings lining all the walkways and the pool area. The pictures really do not do it justice! The apartment was very clean and every need was attended to; lots of extra towels and bedding, WiFi, cable, laundry room, even basic supplies like salt and laundry detergent. The cottage is convenient to shopping and close to the beach, bike rental is nearby, private parking, I could go on and on.

My two grandchildren LOVED the pool; it was hard to drag them out long enough to eat and sleep. The pool patio is great for sunning or reading and has shade from all the palms for when you get too hot. (Oh, and you have to check out the POOL GUY!!!) There is a separate patio for grilling and/or just sitting and visiting with Grenville and Susan....you will love evening drinks with a fire in the the firepit and the soft sound of flowing water in the background.

This is a wonderful place to relax and/or a good base from which to explore the area (all those Antique and Thrift shops, not to mention beaches, attractions, and good food!) Be sure to eat at Bradley's Saloon in West Palm and the weekend Farmers Market with live bands and local street vendors. Grenville has lived in the area for 25 years and knows all the local restaurants and attractions...ask him about where to eat and he will probably know the restaurant, head chef, and all the waiters' names...he is great!

This was one of my favorite vacations and I hope to return again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great place !

Review submitted: April 24, 2014   Date of arrival: April 1, 2014

We stayed for a week in the bottom apartment and my first impression was that it was very clean and comfortable. The rooms are Air conditioned and there is very nice carpentry work throughout. The grounds were just as the pictures show on the website, very nicely taken care of with lush palms and my favorite was the giant travelers palm. Grenny the owner is a very nice man and welcomed us as friends. Grenny knows the area very well and told us some of the main attractions in the area and as far as Key West. This was the best vacation we have ever been on and I definitely will be back and I highly recommend staying here. This is definitely a home away from home with great company.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great place in a great location!

Review submitted: March 27, 2014   Date of arrival: September 27, 2013

I stayed in the lower level unit for over 5 weeks when relocating to start a new job. Grenny and Susan made me and my cat welcome from day one. The setting is peaceful and relaxing but it's close to all of the action. It's very safe and is great to have space to park a car by the house rather than on the street. Both apartments have everything you need and do feel like a home away from home. Grenny is a great host and you should rely on him to give you advice on where to go eat and what to see during your visit. Staying here is far better than any hotel.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

our stay at cozy cottage

Review submitted: March 21, 2014   Date of arrival: February 2, 2014

quaint and cozy with beautiful plantings great neighborhood with friendly residents.Enjoyed walks to and along the intracoastal waterway.Grenny,the owner was very accommodating. There are very good resaurants within walking distance to the cottage.Cottage was clean and bed was very comfortable.Recommend highly

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beyond Charming!!!

Review submitted: March 19, 2014   Date of arrival: March 1, 2014

We consider ourselves lucky to have spent a week this winter in this pretty, 1st floor 1-bedroom. The 'cottage' is beautifully renovated and decorated in Palm Beach style with 4-star amenities. Out the door, a flowered path leads to the lovely patio and private pool, both in a lush, tropical garden setting. Just a short walk to the Inter-coastal, past the classic homes of WPB, it was also fun to browse the historic Antique Row neighborhood shops and fine nearby restaurants. Don't miss the excellent City Diner (dogs welcome on the patio) or the patio garden at Belle and Maxwell. Owner, Grenville (Grenny) Dodge, made us feel welcome and part of the family and adds so much to the fun with his wealth of area information and local knowledge. All just a short drive to downtown WPB and beautiful Palm Beach. Reasonable and pet friendly--We couldn't have had a better week!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Certainly is cozy!

Review submitted: July 22, 2013   Date of arrival: July 20, 2013

Upon entering the grounds, we immediately felt the privacy and the charm surrounding the cottage. The online pictures depict the place well. The flat is efficient to cook and dine in. If we would had more days at our disposal, we would of enjoyed the clean pool & jacuzzi, which we were able to overlook from the cottage. We were most impressed with the tropical plant life embellishing the property. I personally was especially fond of the mature traveler's palm tree. The area is super easy going, it feels safe and definitely worth bicycling through the family. Hospitality, is welcoming!
Cheers!

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

A week's stay in Paradise

Review submitted: May 28, 2013   Date of arrival: May 19, 2013

We were greeted at rental by Grenny (the owner) with a big hug and open heart. Are stay was fabulous!!!!!! All of our needs were taken care of immediately by Grenny and Susan. The property was immaculate from the apartment to the gorgeous patio with the tropical gardens. The pool and hot tub were well maintained and my husband spent most of the trip relaxing there. We ate at numerous restaurants and had friends over for a BBQ. Everything was awesome and the host were like old friends. I highly recommend this place and will absolutely be back. LOVED EVERY MINUTE!!!!!!!!!!! DID NOT WANT TO LEAVE:( Ps... Renegades country grill was fab had the best time there.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Grat Place, Great Host

Review submitted: July 13, 2012   Date of arrival: April 17, 2012

My dog and I stay in the lower unit and the place was great for both of us. Traveling alone I felt very safe and the owners were great giving insight to places to eat and things to see. Location is great walk to everything or ride the bike. The property grounds are beautiful as is the pool. Beaches 5 mins. by car maybe 15 mins. by bike.(maybe less. I highly recommend staying here you won't be disappointed!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Great Place

Review submitted: July 13, 2012   Date of arrival: April 17, 2012

I couldn't have picked a better place to stay. I was there for 1 month, I rented the downstairs unit with my dog. My dog had full run of the completely fenced in yard and the owners are the of the property are just wonderful. The location of the property couldn't be better. You can walk everywhere and if your not a walker, take the bike and ride. Beaches are at best a 5 min. drive or a 15 min bike ride. Close to everything. The unit was clean, neat and very comfortable. The pool is beautiful, as is the patio. i was very please as was my dog!!!!

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Great cottage, beautiful beaches !

Review submitted: June 6, 2012   Date of arrival: May 20, 2012

First time in Florida with my fiancée, great overall experience. The cottage is very clean, fully equipped, parking spot, and we were amazed to see how close it is from downtown WPB, beaches and shopping malls. Great host !

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great cottage, cozy it is !

Review submitted: June 6, 2012   Date of arrival: May 20, 2012

First time in Florida with my fiancée, great overall experience. The cottage is very clean, fully equipped, parking spot, and we were amazed to see how close it is from downtown WPB, beaches and shopping malls. Great host !

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great place, great owner

Review submitted: June 6, 2012   Date of arrival: May 20, 2012

First time in Florida with my fiancée, great overall experience. The cottage is very clean, fully equipped, parking spot, and we were amazed to see how close it is from downtown WPB, beaches and shopping malls. Great host !

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Awesome place and awesome people...

Review submitted: April 23, 2012   Date of arrival: April 14, 2012

First time renting a property in Florida from Canada.I fell in love with the pictures at first. Never thought that the reality is even more.Contact with the owner was quick and very efficient.Got answers for every question fast and accurate.Excellent communication and great accommodation for additional person.. When four of us arrived by car,our host was waiting for us.Breathtaking gardens and space,pool and jacuzzi, everything to make your stay unforgettable.This place is amazing and it has something special... that is exactly what you want from your vacation.Owner very helpful and knowledgeable.He can tell you where to go and what to see.In this little paradise time flies so quickly and you don't want to leave.Furthermore, there was no problem whatsoever having guests for dinner and use the pool and jacuzzi in the moonlight.I will recommend this place to anyone all ages,couples,families(option to rent main and second floor together)Great vacations among great people.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

He's the MAN..

Review submitted: April 22, 2012   Date of arrival: April 11, 2012

My daughter and I spent 5 nights in the studio on the ground floor.We had an awesome time! I am so happy we discovered this little jewel. The unit and grounds were super clean and comfortable! The owner was so helpful and accommodating always around to answer questions, give a hand, share a joke, or point you to a great restaurant..Everyone there was wonderful..like visiting far away friends! We loved the salt water pool and hot tub. Definitely a place if you like to travel with your pets or miss yours at home..( there are a few on the property that mind their business) We plan on coming back in the future. Thanks again all for a lovely stay!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Cozy cottage

Review submitted: April 4, 2012   Date of arrival: March 16, 2012

My husband, dog and I spent 12 days in this wonderful cozy apartment. The owner was so very helpful with lots a wonderful advise on where to do go and things to see. It is centrally located with shopping and dining within easy walking distance and with a short drive...south FL awaits you. We were very sorry to see our stay come to an end. But then....there is always next year!!!

Recommended for: pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Lucky Guy

Review submitted: March 8, 2012   Date of arrival: January 1, 2012

My wife and I and our Beagle stayed the month of Jan. Neat place, beautiful courtyard and garden, fenced, well maintained cottage and gracious host even took care of the Beagle when we went out. Conveinent location, walk to intercoastal, Short drive to downtown and Palm Beach. We will be back.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review