reviews for: listing #49811 - Houston, Texas House rental

LUXURY Vacation Home for Rent/Houston
  • bedrooms  5
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths  5
  • hot tub  yes
  • community 
  • sleeps  20
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $660 - $660 /nt
    $3,000 - $3,000 /wk
    $9,000 - $9,000 /mth

sort by:

Our Stay

Review submitted: May 11, 2009   Date of arrival: May 8, 2009

We opted to stay at a house instead of 5 hotel rooms for my husband's get together. This was the best decision we could have made for 10 people coming in from 3 states to visit for the weekend. What made it so special and workable was Kris, the owner. The house was everything and more in the advertisement. Kris answered all our questions and was very easy to work with. As for the house, it was amazing, luxurious and close to food, malls, everything. House was clean, the yard well maintained, the pool was awesome, and beds very comfortable.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Dawn and Her Family were the Perfect Guest,i was Very Pleased how Clean the House was after Checking out.Please call me on your Next Vacation to Houston,Tx.Thanks.
Kris

Helpful votes: 35 / 37

 

Great Home with plenty of room.

Review submitted: February 27, 2014   Date of arrival: February 19, 2014

Myself and sixteen others stayed at the home from February 19-26, 2014 and it was very comfortable. It was very spacious and the hot tub and pool table were a big hit. The Kitchen and bar area are very user friendly and spacious. Kris was very accommodating and readily responded to any questions I posed. I would strongly recommend this home to anyone who wants a spacious, beautiful home with easy travel to Houston and the surrounding areas.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Happy Travelers

Review submitted: August 16, 2013   Date of arrival: June 4, 2013

This property is absolutely beautiful! We rented this home for my niece's high school graduation/family reunion. Everyone enjoyed the room to roam on the property. My boys' favorite activity there was hanging out in the pool and hot tub w their cousins if they were not busy enjoying their electric scooter we brought along. The driveway was long enough for them to ride the scooters freely. The big boys were able to play football in the massive yard w nice manicured grass.

I would have given this property a five star rating, but there were a few minor issues that Kris, the owner did manage to take care of. Btw, Kris is an absolute sweetheart to work with. If we're ever in the neighborhood and in need of a rental home, we'd definitely stay here again.

Thank you Kris for your home and hospitality! :-)

were

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful vacation rental

Review submitted: May 15, 2013   Date of arrival: May 9, 2013

My family rented this home for an 80th b-day party for mom. I was so excited to chekin I called 1 day too soon. Nevertheless, when we arrived on the correct date we were very pleased with everything, the house was clean and well furnished. (This space actually shows better in person, the pics on the internet don’t do it any justice). Mr. Kris was available to aide with our questions. The weekend celebration was wonderful and everyone loved the property/amenities.
I would highly recommend a stay at this property, you will feel like you are somewhere in the Caribbean.
In preparation for our event, I contacted other properties in the surrounding area but went with this one because of the customer service/hospitality Mr. Kris presented

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Family Vacation

Review submitted: March 24, 2013   Date of arrival: January 18, 2013

My family (17) reserved this house because of the size! We all were visiting our baby brother who had moved to the Houston area. The house was beautiful and roomy! We had a great time! The owner only came when we needed him and was always a call away! All you needed was in easy reach and the pictures are true to what you see! Our only recommendation is there should be more towels and washcloths, and that the details of the front gate, the hot tub and heating the pool should be placed clearly in sight within the house. We were a bit confused on how these things worked and it would be so easy to just read them than have them explained over the phone! Other than these things we were very satisfied with our stay and would definitely use Chris property again.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Heathen vacation

Review submitted: February 21, 2013   Date of arrival: February 20, 2013

Heathen vacation, February 20, 2013



By W. Stone (Milwaukee,Wi.USA) This property was amazing, first saw it on line. It was what it said and more. We were a group of fifteen, the house was spacious. Big high ceilings,big yard,pool hot tub,BBQ grill nice setting. The property was gated ,with lots of privacy.The owner, Kris Durrett ,was so polite, and accommodating. Kris was available every time we had a question about what we did not know about the property..If we needed him he was right there. Which was not too often.We would recommend this property to any one.It has a family setting, and a lot of things to interest every one in the house hold. We would like to stay here again,but we may have to wait in line.I could go on and on, but you would have to see it to believe it.. There,s shopping close by, a walmart ,grocery stores,gas stations,family dollar stores, there,s so much more. Every thing close by.Houston,s about 20 min. away. Malls are close also. You need a GPS to find your way back to the house. It,s so suscludded and private. With the full kitchen, we enjoyed cooking every day. We washed our clothes daily.Just like home, accept it was a bunch of guys. We came down from milwaukee,wi. , for the NBA ALLSTAR game.First time being in Houston,every one was friendly and polite.Down town houston was breath taking. Lots to see lots to do.I could go on and on(smile).We,d like to thank Chris for all of the wonderful accommodations. So Chris, from Bill,Max,terry Mac Walter,Reggie ,Timber,Cat,Charlie B,Hamp,Ken, Chris,Ted,Lamont, and last but not lease,Keith our point man ,from San Diego,Ca.Thanks again Kris,see you again. Keep up the good work.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Business

Review submitted: October 29, 2012   Date of arrival: October 22, 2012

I had sales people from all over the country coming to Houston for a sales meeting. Rather than getting hotel rooms we decided to rent a house and spend some time together. The house was great. Very clean, everything worked well and lots of things to keep us occupied - pool, hot tub, air hockey, pool table, WII. I would recommend this house to anyone.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Martha's REVIEW

Review submitted: October 5, 2012   Date of arrival: August 6, 2012

I just want to say this was a very enjoyable vacation for my entire
family. The house was very nice, Kris called several times to make sure
everything was fine, orif there was anything we needed . They were so
helpfull in making us feel at home. The pool was great, The place was
clean, there were activities and games for the kids. We had a lovely
time and I would recommend this vacation to everyone. Thank you Kris
from all of us.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Excellent for Our Team

Review submitted: September 22, 2012   Date of arrival: July 27, 2012

This home was absolutely amazing. Kris and his assistants were very helpful and always there when we needed them. The home is exactly the way it is portrayed in the pictures. The home was very well maintained both inside and out. We stayed at the home for 9 days with a group of athletes. The home was both kid and adult friendly and all of our athletes and chaperones enjoyed themselves. We would definitely stay here anytime we return to Texas.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Loyal Customer!!

Review submitted: May 16, 2012   Date of arrival: April 20, 2012

I recently had a birthday party for my 5 yr old daughter & it was wonderful! I've actually had most of her parties here & she loves it, always anticipating the next one! Everyone can really enjoy themselves. The kids enjoy the pool and the adults love relaxing inside or out in the sun. It's on 2 acres so there is plenty of room, and the property is gated for privacy. What you see on the website is what you get (no surprises)! Every year Kris is very helpful & only a phone call away if you need him. It's close to Walmart or Kroger if you forget anything and need to make a quick run to the store. It's clean & well maintained! It's home away from home for me & my family! We will be back as always!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Great Holiday rental

Review submitted: August 31, 2011   Date of arrival: August 15, 2011

We rented this home for 10 nights for a family holiday from 15th to 25th August 2011. There were 5 of us (my wife & I plus our three sons aged 12,11 and 9).
The house was great as there was plenty of room for us to have our own space as well as coming together as a family in the communal areas. The pool and spa tub are fantastic and were well used during our stay given the high temperatures (100F plus every day).
This was a chill out and relax break so we were at the property a lot during our stay. It's in a quiet residential area, although you do get the sound of train horns from the railway through Alvin.
It's well located for Pearland and Baybrook Malls for shopping and eating, plus there is good local grocery shopping within a couple of miles. The Space Centre is within 25 mins drive, and the coast at Galveston only 30 miles away.
Kris was a pleasure to deal with - he was responsive when I made contact from the UK to enquire about availability, and was only a call away to assist with a couple of things during our stay.

Only minor points of improvement for me would be:
1. The linen and towels in particular were pretty much at the end of their useful life and could have done with being replaced, and provision of big towels for the pool.
2. A welcome pack of basic essentials would be useful, especially for a late evening arrival like ours (milk, bread, cereal, sugar, salt, pepper, etc.)
3. A decent cleanup of the pool perimeter fencing area where the seats are - there were a lot of cigarette ends on the ground.

The website photos don't really do the property justice - we'd definitely recommend this property instead of using hotels.

Recommended for: families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 

Outstanding and as Advertised

Review submitted: June 26, 2011   Date of arrival: June 15, 2011

Stayed a week in Kris's house and met all of needs. Beautiful home, all bedrooms great and comfy. Pool, water fall and hot tub outstanding. Kris was right there if we needed anything. Good experience. Was fearful of the location being somewhat out of the way, but travel was easy and quick to airport, Houston and Galveston. 2 food recommendation Kelly's Country Cookin for breakfast and Joe's B-bque outstanding, very close by. Thanks Kris for a great stay !!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 6

 

Excellent vacation choice!!

Review submitted: May 30, 2011   Date of arrival: May 18, 2011

We stayed at this property May 18-22, 2011. After searching many options, we chose this property because we felt it would handle all of our needs. We were in Houston for my oldest son's wedding and we had several family members traveling with us. I am happy to say that this property fulfilled all of our needs---and then some!!! The house is gorgeous; the pictures don't do it justice. ALL the bedrooms are large and attractive. The beds are extremely comfy. There are plenty of bathrooms even for large parties. The common areas are great for gathering; we had a great time at the foosball table and pool table. The house is decorated with great furniture, yet homey, and lots of thought to the guests. The pool area is wonderful; we spent tons of time sitting around the pool catching up on the day's activities. Our host, Kris, is absolutely wonderful and VERY accommodating. No matter what your needs are, he responds immediately. He is a good source of information about the area. I can't give enough accolades; you have to experience it. We definitely will be renting this house again in the near future. Now that we have a new daughter-in-law and our son has settled in Houston, we will be visiting frequently.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 6

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Perfect Vacation Home !!!!!!

Review submitted: May 26, 2011   Date of arrival: March 28, 2011

Perfect Vacation Home !!!
Review Submitted: March 28, 2011 Date of Stay: March 2011
By Jason (Ottawa, Ontario, Canada)
We stayed for a week with a total of 10 and it was perfect. The house was extremely clean, bedrooms were large and enough bathrooms for everyone. The pool and hot tub were amazing as was the yard. Kris was there if we needed anything, but only there when we called. He wasn't around unless needed. Close location to Houston and Glaviston. Great place. Would go back in a heartbeat

Helpful votes: 5 / 6

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

PERFECT VACATION HOME !!!

Review submitted: March 28, 2011   Date of arrival: March 16, 2011

By Jason Spencer (Ottawa, Ontario, Canada)
We stayed for a week with a total of 10 and it was perfect. The house was extremely clean, bedrooms were large and enough bathrooms for everyone. The pool and hot tub were amazing as was the yard. Kris was there if we needed anything, but only there when we called. He wasn't around unless needed. Close location to Houston and Glaviston. Great place. Would go back in a heartbeat

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

PERFECT CHRISTMAS

Review submitted: February 18, 2011   Date of arrival: December 23, 2010

This is a good deal. Home is lovely, private gate and pool. Check in and make your self at home. Nothing additional needed except groceries. Owner is pleasant and great business man. I would rent again and highly recommend it to others. Great place for holiday rental, family gatherings and social gatherings.
T. Ward - Houston TX
Dates of Stay: Dec 23, 2010 - Dec 28, 2010

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

PERFECT CHRISTMAS !!!!

Review submitted: January 18, 2011   Date of arrival: December 22, 2010

This is a good deal. Home is lovely, private gate and pool. Check in and make your self at home. Nothing additional needed except groceries. Owner is pleasant and great business man. I would rent again and highly recommend it to others. Great place for holiday rental, family gatherings and social gatherings.

Helpful votes: 4 / 6

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

WONDERFUL VACATION

Review submitted: November 4, 2010   Date of arrival: November 2, 2010

We used this home for 10 nights while in Houston for business. We had 8 adults and it was a very comfortable stay. The owner (Kris) was very accomodating and was a phone call away if we needed anything. I would recommend this for anyone and would stay there again in a heartbeat.
Recommended for: Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 6

 

getaway

Review submitted: April 24, 2010   Date of arrival: August 6, 2009

This is a gorgeous property all the things that are listed on the property you will find it. It has a huge backyard and its gated around on about 2 acres. If you are looking to host a outing with a big family I don't recommend this home but if just about 10 people great although the owner would ok large parties it might not be the best option. Kris is a nice guy but the fear of several people concerns him and he will constantly show up to the property to check on it. But over all this is a beautiful properrty

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 8

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 20, 2010   Date of arrival: May 2, 2009

Dawn - Madison, NC
Dates of Stay: May 2009



You will not be disappointed!
We had 15 out of town relatives arriving on the 3rd of July. [8 boys age range 13 to 1 yr old] and their parents [7 adults] and staying for 9 days. Kris has the home furnished fabulously. The swimming pool was a hit, along with two game rooms, one with a pool table and the other with air hockey. The great room has a large led satellite tv, playstation wii with theater reclining seats that opens to the large kitchen and breakfast area. We had a family gathering that included 9 more in the home and all said how beautiful, spacious and clean the home was and perfect for our reunion. I have told my friends and highly recommend Kris and his home. You will not be disappointed!

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 20, 2010   Date of arrival: May 1, 2009

We opted to stay at a house instead of 5 hotel rooms for my husband's get together. This was the best decision we could have made for 10 people coming in from 3 states to visit for the weekend. What made it so special and workable was Kris, the owner. The house was everything and more in the advertisement. Kris answered all our questions and was very easy to work with. As for the house, it was amazing, luxurious and close to food, malls, everything. House was clean, the yard well maintained, the pool was awesome, and beds very comfortable.

Helpful votes: 5 / 6

 

Bare Bones

Review submitted: March 23, 2010   Date of arrival: March 15, 2010

Let me first state that our host was very nice. However, I think our experience would have been much better if a management company had run the stay or Kris would pay attention to details a little bit more. When you pay a lot of money plus $ to heat the pool...etc you expect all high end amenities. The bath towels provided to us were old and worn, some had holes in them. Sheets we could use were waded up in a closet. I was scared to use them so I had to wash them all before we used them.
The house was very dirty. Baseboards had hair and dust on them. We had to mop the cement tile flooring after we arrived because dirt was sticking to our feet and our feet were black on the bottoms. The furniture was stained and dishes or utenisils in the cabinets had food stuck on them. I also had to clean the microwave and part of the fridge because it was dirty. It was hard to cook unless we provided everything...foil, wax paper, cling wrap, salt/pepper, sugar, spices...etc...we just couldn't do it. The pool area was dirty and the chairs were dirty or broken down as well. The pool was suppose to be heated but we notcied one day when it rained that it had been turned off so then it got cold again.
I expected this to be a really nice place from what I saw from the pictures online. The biggest thing that bothered us was the fact that Kris stayed in a camper on the same property as us most of the time. HAD we known the set up we would have not agreed to the stay. We were not allowed to use the 3 car garage either. It was the first time since I had my new SUV that I had to leave it outside.
We really just wanted to turn around and leave. However, with 4 kids and after a very long drive from KS we were tired. Basically, the house needs some TLC. Walls need painted...not just touched up. Nails need driven into the walls ....this was dangerous for the kids. Amenities that you would find at your fingertips in a nice hotel need to be provided. Like I said, Kris is very nice guy but just seems like he wants his money and doesn't do any upkeep on the place. I would not return or recommend this to anyone I know.

Recommended for: families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 4 / 9

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great Vacation Home

Review submitted: January 3, 2010   Date of arrival: July 27, 2009

Customer Reviews: Great vacation home! - zei houston, texas. Date Submitted: July 27, 2009 Date of Stay: July 2009 : We had 15 out of town relatives arriving on the 3rd of July. [8 boys age range 13 to 1 yr old] and their parents [7 adults] and staying for 9 days. Kris has the home furnished fabulously. The swimming pool was a hit, along with two game rooms, one with a pool table and the other with air hockey. The great room has a large led satellite tv, playstation wii with theater reclining seats that opens to the large kitchen and breakfast area. We had a family gathering that included 9 more in the home and all said how beautiful, spacious and clean the home was and perfect for our reunion. I have told my friends and highly recommend Kris and his home. You will not be disappointed!
ZEI - HOUSTON
Dates of Stay: JULY 27,2009

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

A home away from home!

Review submitted: October 21, 2009   Date of arrival: October 8, 2009

We used this home for 10 nights while in Houston for business. We had 8 adults and it was a very comfortable stay. The owner (Kris) was very accomodating and was a phone call away if we needed anything. I would recommend this for anyone and would stay there again in a heartbeat.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 7

 

Great vacation home!

Review submitted: July 27, 2009   Date of arrival: July 3, 2009

We had 15 out of town relatives arriving on the 3rd of July. [8 boys age range 13 to 1 yr old] and their parents [7 adults] and staying for 9 days. Kris has the home furnished fabulously. The swimming pool was a hit, along with two game rooms, one with a pool table and the other with air hockey. The great room has a large led satellite tv, playstation wii with theater reclining seats that opens to the large kitchen and breakfast area. We had a family gathering that included 9 more in the home and all said how beautiful, spacious and clean the home was and perfect for our reunion. I have told my friends and highly recommend Kris and his home. You will not be disappointed!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 8 / 10

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review