reviews for: listing #49828 - Bitterroot Valley, Montana House rental

On Golden Pond
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  yes
  • community 
  • sleeps  10
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $300 - $350 /nt
    $2,250 - $2,250 /wk

sort by:

Our home from home in the Bitterroot Valley

Review submitted: July 24, 2014   Date of arrival: June 24, 2014

On Golden Pond is an immaculate house offering excellent facilities to our group of 4 couples. The owner, Marilyn, provides everything we could possibly ask for, and we have now enjoyed our stay there every summer for the last 5 years. The fishing in the Bitterroot is wonderful, and if you hit it right, the Mill Creek running through the property will produce some nice brownies. We don't eat out because we like to cook for ourselves, and to enjoy patio dining, watching the wildlife and, on July 4th, a wonderful show of fireworks in the valley. We have already booked our return visit next year!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

The property is beautiful! It invites relaxation.

Review submitted: June 16, 2014   Date of arrival: June 6, 2014

We felt at home. It was wonderful to be able to enjoy four generations of family in such a beautiful setting! Everything we needed was to be found in the house and on the grounds. We are already looking for a reason to come back.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Spiritual and peaceful paradise.

Review submitted: April 30, 2014   Date of arrival: August 9, 2013

The reason for our first stay at "On Golden Pond" was to visit our father's resting place near Skalkaho Falls. We had found that staying at "On Golden Pond" was just as reasonably priced as smaller cabin's we looked into down the road. When we arrived at "our home" for the week, we ALL fell in love with the home, the property, and all that nature had to offer, surrounding it. Marilyn came to check on us shortly after we got settled in. Honestly she will do everything within her power to make sure you are well taken care of. Yummy honey, will await you when you arrive, the smell of homegrown lavender in the air. Quail, deer, turkey's, fish, bull frog's, turtles, and large Montana cranes that look like ostrich's in yonder field's. Montana skies from sunrise to twilight on the back deck....wow! Beds are very comfy. Played pool, fished, cooked in the fabulous kitchen. Needless to say when we came back last August our destination was "On Golden Pond" this time,although we did go visit Skalkaho Falls, Lake Como! And Seeley Lake too. Thank you Marilyn for sharing such a peaceful, spiritual place with us. You have our heart's. hope to see you soon!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: I am so glad that you appreciated all of the features which make this property so special.

You are the reason why I like to share it!

Marilyn

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful Hostess, Lovely Setting

Review submitted: October 17, 2013   Date of arrival: September 20, 2013

We had a great time at Golden Pond. The house is spacious and beautifully maintained. The setting is wonderful. The kitchen is nicely laid out for cooking and the grill on the porch was a plus. We did not even think about dinner out. Marilyn is a fantastic and generous host. We have already booked our stay for next year.

Owners response: Thank you Pam!

I consider myself to be very fortunate to have such wonderful guests as your family staying ON GOLDEN POND each year!

Our fall colors this year are continuing to get prettier and prettier!

Marilyn

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A delightful property in a beautiful location

Review submitted: August 12, 2013   Date of arrival: June 24, 2013

We are 4 couples who have stayed "on Golden Pond" every summer for the last 4 years. Marilyn is the most gracious and charming owner, who cannot do enough to make us feel at home. The house is quiet and comfortable, with lovely views on both sides. The local restaurants are nothing to write home about, so we prefer to cook our own meals, and eat them on the terrace, watching the wildlife.
The fly fishing locally on the Bitterroot River is world class, and even our non-fishing friends love to join us on guided floats down the river in drift boats. (406 Outfitters in Missoula have the best guides in the State of Montana). We have no hesitation in recommending this property to anybody who enjoys the Great Outdoors!

Owners response: I look forward to seeing these wonderful people each year! What a delight!

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

What a Place!

Review submitted: July 23, 2013   Date of arrival: June 17, 2013

I found this place on the internet and just had to try it. The house was booked for most of our trip but we did get in for a few days. I have a 8 and 11 year old boys that just had the time of their lives. The 2nd pond is filled with great fish that the boys most have caught 3 times over. Deer, Turkey, birds of every kind. The owner was great and helpful. The house was awesome. We are looking forward to returning next year for a longer period of time.

Owners response: It was our pleasure to have you and your wonderful family stay On Golden Pond!
We hope to see you all again!
Marilyn

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Impressive and so comfortable!

Review submitted: February 26, 2013   Date of arrival: February 20, 2013

I recommended this place to some friends as we all had the need to stay in Hamilton for a few days. My husband and I had stayed here before and had no qualms about inviting others. Everyone was impressed with the beautiful home, amenities and price. Four couples spent three nights and the only complaint was that we had to return home. Keep up the great work, Marilyn!

Owners response: On Golden Pond is "possible" because of wonderful guests such as you!

Marilyn

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Great House. Great Experience

Review submitted: August 21, 2012   Date of arrival: July 31, 2012

We were so pleased to find this spacious, lovely home which met and even surpassed our expectations. Very clean, comfortable and very well maintained! The only thing missing for it to be "an all inclusive" resort, is the pool...which we did not want or need. We like to get out and about but one could easily hang out all day and not be bored. The deer and quail were exciting! Marilyn is so thoughtful and every detail has been thoughtfully addressed. We were 6 adults and 2 children (1 infant, 1 toddler) and never got in each others way. Absolutely splendid!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: It was my pleasure to host this wonderful family!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Family wedding and reunion

Review submitted: July 31, 2012   Date of arrival: July 26, 2012

All of my family enjoyed our stay "on Golden Pond" last week . My sons used the wifi, grand children fished in the pond and daughters cook up the great meals. If you want a relaxing place to stay and enjoy the beautiful area, stay on golden pond

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

What more could you want?

Review submitted: July 15, 2012   Date of arrival: July 1, 2012

This is the third year that our group of British and Australian fly fishermen (and women) has stayed at "On Golden Pond" and it certainly won't be our last.

The house is perfect for small or large groups. Its size and layout allows privacy when needed and more than enough space for communal dining inside or out as required.

Its location is also a real plus. It is situated it is situated in a beautiful setting in one of the prettiest parts of the Bitterroot valley. It is close enough to Hamilton to be convenient and just far enough away to be in a true rural setting.

Nothing is too much trouble for the owner, Marilyn,and as the description indicates, the house offers everything you could want. It is well maintained, clean and very comfortable.

My wife and I have traveled extensively and we would have no hesitation in saying that this is one of our favorite destinations.

Russ and Jacqui Bate,
Melbourne Australia

Owners response: Well this is what we call a "win-win" situation. I get to host a wonderful group of fisherwomen and men who are perfect guests!

These are the guests who make opening our properties to travelers the best experience!

I look forward to their stay each season!

Marilyn Morris
On Golden Pond

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Exceeded our expectations!

Review submitted: September 10, 2011   Date of arrival: August 18, 2011

We stayed for a long weekend and we will definitely return. The property was perfect and very spacious (not to mention beautiful)! Marilyn was extremely helpful as well. We would highly recommend this property to friends.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Montana Home

Review submitted: July 31, 2011   Date of arrival: July 23, 2011

We enjoyed this beautiful setting with a large group which included 3 teenage boys,1 eleven year old girl and 3 adults. The house arrangement was perfect. The grounds were immaculate and we all enjoyed the wildlife and ponds. We cooked most of our meals at the house and also grilled a couple of nights. Everything was available that we needed to stay this week. Highly recommend this home for getting away from it all.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Memorial Day weekend stay

Review submitted: June 1, 2011   Date of arrival: May 28, 2011

My wife and I, along with our daughter and her family, had a most enjoyable stay here for Memorial Day weekend, and we cannot say enough good things as to how we enjoyed the owner's home at "On Golden Pond". It's an absolutley gorgeous home with all the modern ammenities one could want for a relaxing stay in "God's Country". In addition, the property is it's own fabulous "nature preserve" which added to the enjoyment of all, especially the grandchildren. We cannot thank the owner (Marilyn Morris) enough for all her fine help while we were making our reservations and preparing for our visit. We do hope to be able to return again someday.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Can't say enough good things

Review submitted: June 14, 2010   Date of arrival: June 10, 2010

Staying at this house was so delightful. The owner was friendly, conscientious and helpful. The house was well-stocked and beautifully furnished. The grounds and the views are outstanding. There seemed to be endless choices of seating outside and inside - and each area has something to recommend it - birdwatching, pond views, mountain scene, etc. I highly recommend this house.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great place to stay!

Review submitted: June 8, 2010   Date of arrival: May 29, 2010

We had a great vacation at your place. Everything was exceptional. Watching the deer and all the birds was a delight. The home is beautiful and had everything we needed and more. We will definitely be back another year. Thanks for your hospitality!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Exceeded our expectations

Review submitted: April 2, 2010   Date of arrival: March 27, 2009

We met two other families and shared an unforgettable weekend at this home. The accommodations were incredible not to mention the property and abundant wildlife. The kids enjoyed watching the resident deer, geese and pheasant feed every morning. We highly recommend this home as it provides a giant playground for both kids and adults!
For those fishing the Bitterroot, our trip was enjoyable due to the fact both the take-out and put-in to fish and float the river were accessible within 15 minutes from the home. We also enjoyed fishing the pond in the front yard and were able to catch and release several trout. This is a a huge plus to the vacation home for those wishing to fish and enjoy time with family and friends .

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: The guests stayed in 2010 not 2009

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: August 31, 2009   Date of arrival: August 31, 2009

My friends and I stayed at this property for 3 days in mid-July, hosting a party for 35 people one of the evenings. The setting was idyllic and, as promised, we were greeted every morning by grazing deer and the sound of bullfrogs. We took full advantage of everything the house had to offer including the pool table, hot tub, and beautiful deck. We and our guests thoroughly enjoyed the spacious grounds and relaxing atmosphere. It was difficult to convince anyone to leave the house to explore more of the Bitterroot Valley!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: August 31, 2009   Date of arrival: August 31, 2009

This House is one of the finest properties I have used on VRBO. It was very spacious both inside and out and could not have been any better. Beautiful views and comfortable living quarters made this a very enjoyable stay. I will for sure be coming here again. The property was also a pleasure to work with and made sure that it was a perfect experience.

Owners response: It was my pleasure to host this group!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: August 31, 2009   Date of arrival: August 31, 2009

The home and property are absolutely beautiful,and very well maintained. The surroundings are amazing. There were several deer, ducks and canadian geese on the grounds while we were there.
The owner made us feel welcome and was very helpful.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review