reviews for: listing #49877 - Chicago, Illinois Apartment rental

Value and Luxury. Near City & McCormick Place. Hot Tub
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  Apartment
  • baths 
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  McCormick Place
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $135 - $275 /nt
    $950 - $1,650 /wk

sort by:

Great rental great location great host

Review submitted: December 25, 2013   Date of arrival: December 14, 2013

Had an amazing time loved the amenities bob was a great host everything that I thought I need I was there. Owner has great communication and responded quickly. If you are looking for a Chicago rental this is it. Thanks bob!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Parfait

Review submitted: September 23, 2013   Date of arrival: August 20, 2013

I will right in French in order for all french people to undestand how this apartment is great!
Nous étions 4 adultes et deux enfants de 3 et 6 ans. Cette emplacement est parfait et nous pouvons nous rendre facilement en voiture en centre ville. La garage pour la voiture est idéal. Nous n'avons pas essayer les transport en commun. La location par elle même est typiquement américaine : tout pour le confort, la cuisine est mieux qu'à la maison ! les machines à laver et à secher sont gigantesques, la jacuzzi idem, location très conviviale et confortable. Nous ne sommes restrés que 4 jours et nous pensons déjà revenir ici lors d'un prochain séjour à Chicago. Une note spéciale à Bob, qui est un hôte charmant et très disponible, tout était parfaitement organisé avant le départ et pendant le séjour : merci beaucoup !

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Feels Like Home

Review submitted: August 15, 2013   Date of arrival: August 6, 2013

This place really felt like home, was very well equipped and very comfortable for our family of five. The location was nice and a short drive to downtown. Surrounding neighborhood seemed safe and was fun to walk through. When we come back to Chicago this will be the place we stay. Communication between us and the owners was outstanding.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great property in Bridgeport

Review submitted: May 29, 2013   Date of arrival: April 29, 2013

Used property for four days. It is well-maintained and very comfortable with ample space to spread out yourself and your things. A great value. You get plenty of advance prep about the location and the neighborhood. Kitchen is well-supplied and everything is in good order. Having a grill in the backyard is a nice plus.

Access is easy from Midway Airport (take Orange Line, change to a bus, and then take a short walk). Access from O'Hare involves minimal transfers, but get updates on transit due to Red Line construction closure that starts at Cermak, one stop north of Sox/35th, your closest Red Line stop.

My group was not there while the Sox had home games, so depend on other reviews concerning traffic and noise.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Stay - Perfect for McCormick Ctr.

Review submitted: February 1, 2013   Date of arrival: January 20, 2013

All around great place and much cheaper than any hotel in the area. Great amenities and easy to find. The neighborhood is residential, very clean, very professional. Public transportation is a breeze, the L is nearby and there are multiple cab services.

The bathroom was awesome, the condo was toasty (it was zero degrees when we stayed) and quiet. The linens were all clean and fresh. Bob has books around the condo with suggestions on food to eat and attractions for you to visit. We ordered pizza from one of the menus and it was perfect.

We didn't really hit any attractions since this was a business trip for a trade show. However it was really easy to get to McCormick Center from here. We had a truck which wouldn't fit in the garage but on street parking was easy to find.

For a place like Chicago this could be rented out for so much more than it is, it's a great deal and works for just about anyone.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Holiday in Chicago 2012

Review submitted: January 23, 2013   Date of arrival: December 23, 2012

My family and I stayed in this rental from December 23-December 28 and it is awesome!! Great price. Great location. This rental worked perfectly for my husband and I and our two daughters, 13 and 10. It was nice to get a three bedroom for this price. Everything that you need is here, the bus stop is just a quick walk and the train station is in walking distance as well. Bob has all kinds of information in the rental that helps you navigate the city via public transportation, restaurant and attraction information and safety tips. These little things were very helpful. There is a closet stocked with all kinds of extra toiletries in case something is left at home.There are plenty dishes in the kitches, along with several tea assortments, spices, etc. You will feel very much at home here. This house is very comfortable. The beds are splendid. I was very happy to see plenty of extra linens and pillows in the closet of the master bedroom. I've stayed in many places that offer two pillows per bed only, and I am a big pillow fan, so this was a major perk. The shower was fantastic, it was kind of depressing going back home to my plain boring shower. The closets are large and open, plenty of hangers. We only went up to the roof deck once as it was pretty cold up there, but the view is really nice. The hot tub is great, very private. All in all, I don't have one negative complaint. Bob is very friendly and accomodating to your needs. Oh, and the picture of Jerry Garcia in the living room is pretty great. :) Thank you Bob for making the Bruce holidays a memorable experience. My husband and I anticipate a return in the summer, so hopefully this wonderful rental will be available.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great house, comfortable and clean

Review submitted: November 1, 2012   Date of arrival: October 13, 2012

I can only recommend this rental !

We are a group of six postgrads attending conference in McCormick Place and stayed at this house for a week. The house is very clean, comfortable and spacious with 3 rooms. The house and the kitchen are well equipped and you have everything you need. The bathroom is good and the additional hot tub is great! The rental fee is reasonable (esp. for a group of 6).

It takes 10-15 min to walk from the house to the CTA station, which is fine in the daytime. And it only takes 4-5 CTA stops to get to the downtown/loop. If you get home late in the night, instead of using the CTA, you might want to take a cab and it will only take around 10-15 mins to get home from the downtown/loop.

Overall, it is a great, if not perfect, house and we will stay in this house when we visit Chicago again !

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Spacious, comfortable and clean!

Review submitted: September 19, 2012   Date of arrival: September 6, 2012

I stayed in the lower apartment while visiting Chicago for a wedding. The place was spacious, very comfortable and clean. The neighborhood was surprisingly quiet for being so close to US Cellular Field. (I had been a bit concerned that we'd have some difficulty sleeping, since the White Sox were at home over our stay, but, once inside, you'd have no idea that you were so close to the ballpark.) I recommend this to anyone visiting the area.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Mr. & Mrs. Ed

Review submitted: August 22, 2012   Date of arrival: August 13, 2012

Had a great time here. All the amenities of home. Loved the shower and the view from the rooftop deck. I also loved the key punch entry that you could feel like it was a just a home away from home. Would highly recommend this. Can't express how great the shower was nice and relaxing and having the hot tub close it was nice!!!

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

We would choose this again

Review submitted: August 6, 2012   Date of arrival: July 25, 2012

We've got lots of good information upfront from Bob and all payment (as well as payback of deposit) went smoothly via PayPal. The apartment was more than well equipped, coffee in the cabinet and detergent for the washer - no need to hurry to the supermarket the first evening. Everything was very clean and in orderly fashion.
For a family of 4 it was huge, lots of fun to use the big hot tub. And the view from the deck is just great.
Easy to park in front of the house and use Metro and bus to go downtown.
We would always look for this place when returning to Chicago.

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Exemplary Accommodations

Review submitted: June 11, 2012   Date of arrival: May 30, 2012

This property afforded us a clean, comfortable, attractive place to stay while discovering the great city of Chicago. The owners were very attentive to our unique needs, and the friendly, helpful people in the neighborhood made us feel welcome as well. I would recommend this property to anyone who wants to experience an adventurous visit to Chicago and enjoy the comforts of home at the same time.

Linda from Texas

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great location, easy for downtown and McCormick

Review submitted: May 16, 2012   Date of arrival: May 3, 2012

We recently stayed here to attend the NRA show in McCormick Place. This place really is a home from home. Bob has thought of everything you would expect to find in your own house. We had a lovely sandwich in the local deli but did find it difficult to locate a grocery shop without a car although there was a local shop for very basics. We were very lucky that Bob had Irish breakfast tea in for us so we didn't have to worry about finding that! :-) It is about a ten minute walk to the train/subway and 6 - 7 stops right into the heart of downtown where we spent alot of time.

If I was visiting Chicago again, I would not hesitate to stay here. The place is extremely clean, beds are very comfortable and there is wireless and a great big TV. All in all we were very happy - Thanks Bob!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Stay

Review submitted: May 7, 2012   Date of arrival: April 28, 2012

The place was great. Bob met us at the rental, showed us everything and made us feel right at home. We had easy access to cabs to the McCormick where we had a conference. Great place for a group of colleagues to stay together and still have some personal space that a hotel just doesn't offer. The kitchen and bathroom was well set up and we were thankful for the items supplied that we did not have to go out and get. Going back and forth to downtown restaurants and entertainment was a breeze. Would stay there again.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great stay

Review submitted: March 20, 2012   Date of arrival: March 15, 2012

This was a great apartment and it had everything we would need as a family. Very quiet neighbourhood..Beds were comfortable, fully serviced kitchen and very clean. Bob was very easy to deal with and we appreciate his help. The only downside we did have was that the grocery store was a fair walk (we weren't quite sure where the closest one was and did not have a car)so we were limited with what we could buy/carry home. Perhaps some directions to the grocery store would have been useful in the information but I am sure that had we have rung the owner he would have been more than happy to advise us. 10 minute walk to Red line train. Thanks again and would certainly recommend.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: Thanks for the nice comments Leanne. We're sorry you couldn't find our local grocery stores. We do have 2 corner grocery stores within 2 blocks and there are 3 full sized grocery stores within a mile.

We send out extensive guest files to all of our guests that include a link to our interactive map which shows every shopping, dining,a and transportation choice in our area. We also send that link in the letter we send with each guest's contract. We're sorry that you missed seeing that link.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Awesome!

Review submitted: November 21, 2011   Date of arrival: November 18, 2011

We had a group of 10 and rented both apartments. I cannot tell you what a fabulous time we had! These apartments are extremely clean and well maintained. The appliances are like brand new and the bedding is super super comfortable!! You do not have to walk outside to get to the hot tub, which is really nice. It was already heated to 102 for us before we arrived. The neighborhood is very safe but grocery and liquor stores are not real close.....a car or cab is needed. We walked to the red line which is about a 10 minute walk. Bob was excellent to work with......the loads of information that he sends you when you book is so very helpful...Thank You Bob!! Would HIGHLY recommend this apartment!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: Thank you for your very nice comments. We do have two corner stores that are one half block and one and a half blocks away that have necessities and a great hot deli. Our full sized grocery store is two thirds of a mile and the liquor store is one mile. A bar two blocks away sells beer for carry out. Our guests can also stop at trader joes or jewel foods at the south end of downtown to shop and it's a ten minute cab ride from there.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Chicago Stay

Review submitted: October 11, 2011   Date of arrival: September 30, 2011

Great place to stay!! Was in town for 5 days for a family wedding and really wanted the comfort of home instead of staying at a hotel. The place was clean, the shower was amazing, great kitchen and was very affordable. The neighborhood was beautiful. My family enjoyed long walks around the blocks, felt very safe. When we come back to Chicago will stay there again. My family and I recommend this place.!!Cant wait to come back!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Chicago Style

Review submitted: June 27, 2011   Date of arrival: May 19, 2011

All I can say about my experience is "Great!! Great location. Great neighborhood. I actually walked to the White Sox game. The apartment was very nice and relaxing. The neighborhood is very quaint. I enjoyed walking the neighborhood and felt very safe. Cab ride to Downtown is also very inexpensive. If your looking to immerse yourself in the culture of Chicago, I would highly recommend this place.

Recommended for: girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Had a wonderful time

Review submitted: April 26, 2011   Date of arrival: April 1, 2011

Great place to stay for family. Location was wonderful. Easy to get to everything we did. Cubs game, Zoo, shopping and museums. Even had free parking for my car that was roomy and secure. My son especially appreciated the hot tub. He used it every night upon our return from our day trips. The roof top deck was also great. View was wonderful with plenty of seating. Would stay again in a heartbeat. Even had everything you need in the kitchen..and we cooked most nights. Great for family togetherness. If in Chicago would definitely stay again.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Fabulous Time!

Review submitted: April 12, 2011   Date of arrival: April 5, 2011

We were in town for a conference at McCormick Place and had a great time staying in your apartment! It was close to everything, but had a great neighborhood feel! The sites were ten minutes away, freeway entrance/exit was a breeze. The place was warm and inviting and very clean with great amenities. We enjoyed the hot tub almost twice a day! Our four year old son was with us and it was so nice he had his own room and room to play. Thank You! If we are ever in town we will definitely stay with you again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Quite a find

Review submitted: February 7, 2011   Date of arrival: January 26, 2011

Our family of four stayed here for four nights in very cold January weather, and had a ball. After three months on the road, it was great to have plenty of room, a properly equipped kitchen (we are over eating out) and a good washing machine and dryer. As for the hot tub...well, we had to prise the kids out, or we would have seen nothing else of Chicago. Bob was very friendly and efficient, and his Youtube instructions and folder of further instructions were most helpful. No hesitation in recommending this one.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you Margaret. We're glad you had a great time and we really appreciate your kind comments.. Bob

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Girls weekend

Review submitted: November 10, 2010   Date of arrival: November 5, 2010

The property is very nice! Clean, ample space, EXTREMELY comfy beds., Large livingroom/dining room. Computer available. Large screen TV. Wonderful shower! Roomy well organized kitchen. Clean tidy full size washer and dryer/hot tub area. 2 car garage. Picnic/bar b que area. We felt very safe in this "mom and pop" looking neighborhood. Very close to public transportation, which we used to head downtown and back several times. This is not an area with lots of restaurants on every corner but it served our purposes well. Owners were easy to work with and available. Five women were in town to participate in the Hot Chocolate Run and shop. Our trip was a success!

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great times on the south side

Review submitted: September 22, 2010   Date of arrival: September 11, 2010

Being a north (and western) Chicagoan, I didn't know what to expect from a place on the south side of town. Much to my pleasant surprise, it was excellent! Great house, fantastic neighborhood, easy access to the trains made this a wonderful place to stay while attending a big show at McCormick.
The ONLY thing we wished for was having more cabs driving by waiting for us, but that's the price of living in a nice peaceful part of town.
The neighborhood grocery (Kathy De's) is a must every day it's open, the restaurant down the street (Schaller's Pump) is wonderful AND a historical gem, and don't forget to find and visit Johnny O's. And did I mention that the field of the White Sox (always Comiskey to me) is two blocks away? Went twice - they lost both times...
We're coming back!

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

March2010 stay

Review submitted: September 15, 2010   Date of arrival: March 3, 2010

Our stay in chicago is always a blast but this year staying at bobs place made it even more of a great time the accomadations were above and beyond!!!!! When traveling with three children it is always a little bit of a chore but the Apt we rented with Bob was great it exceeded our expectations ten fold. Also it was close to everything and the hot tub was a favorite with the kids. The rooms were wonderful and the thought of not having to eat out all the time was awsome to just come home whenever and not have to worry about stopping for food we could make great meals in the wonderful kitchen.
It was very roomy and the kids loved the HUGE tv . It was our home away from home my four year old still asks when were going to our other house with the hot tub. lol THANKS so much BOB and we will be staying hopfully every Year we love the place. Best regaurds.....
The McGraw Family

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

An excellent Chicago Base

Review submitted: July 23, 2010   Date of arrival: June 29, 2010

We spent an excellent week at Bob and Bob's place in South Chicago in early July. It is an excellent base to visit the City from with easy access to the Road Network and the TTA Metro at the nearby White Sox Stadium.
The property is excellent with a super huge TV well equipped Kitchen and Comfortable Lounge. The Bedrooms have plenty of room and with 5 of us staying there was plenty of room.

There was plenty of useful material on Chicago as well as a very comprehensive set of Restaraunt Menus. There was a PC available to keep in touch and access information from.

As if this wasn't enough there was an excellent deck on the roof from which the view of the 4th July fireworks was a memorable sight and experience for us Brits. To top this a hot tub is also available which was very welcome after a hard days sightseeing.

I cannot recommend this excellent property highly enough for a couple of days or a couple of weeks, it's a real home from home.

Bob's video guide to the property is invaluable and gave us a real feel for the place. It also prompted me to book tickets for the ball game at White Sox - another excellent experience.

Thanks again guys for an excellent base for a memorable visit to Chicago.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great location for a vacation in Chicago

Review submitted: July 20, 2010   Date of arrival: July 2, 2010

Rented this apartment for a family vacation (4 adults). The owners are always available to answer questions. We were very pleased with the spacious, clean and well-equiped apartment (2nd floor). The shower is to die for (multi-head shower). It like going for a massage after a long day of sight-seeing. The 65 inch TV with surround sound is a bonus. The beds are very comfortable. the kitchen and separate dinning room are very spacious. The garage was also large enough to park two cars comfortably. It is in a quiet and safe neighbourhood. I am a runner and felt safe going for early morning runs. The apartment has a roof-top deck which was ideal for viewing the 4th of July fireworks occuring all over the city. The ladder to get to the rooftop is very solid.The location is about 5 miles from downtown. Only 3 blocks away from the Chicago White Sox stadium. Only four blocks away from the El. train. Once on this public transport, you are only four stop from downtown Chicago. Get a multi-day train pass, you will save money by not paying the very expensive parking fees downtown and avoid driving in traffic. Chicago is an easy city to get around because it is set up on a grid system. We were there for 9 days and got to see many of the great sights. We liked all the places we went to (Brookfield Zoo, Navy Pier, Shedd Aquarium, Field Museum, Chicago Art Institue, Architectural Cruise on the Chicago River (great cruise, highlight of the trip), trolley tour of downtown, bus tour of neighbourhoods, magnificent mile shopping, outlet mall in Aurora). Fans of Chicago deep-dish pizza should try Gino's East. If you plan on eating at the apartment, there is a Dominik's supermarket not too far. Make sure to ask for a member's card (no cost and only takes 2 minutes to apply) to get the food at club prices.

I have already recommended this apartment to 2 colleagues who are planning trips to Chicago. I would definitely stay there again if I travel to Chicago.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great stay at Bob's rental!

Review submitted: July 8, 2010   Date of arrival: June 27, 2010

We are a group of 5 adults in our late 20s who recently enjoyed a stay at this rental. The accommodations were great, there is plenty of room, and we were all crying about having to leave the shower behind! The rooftop deck was a great breakfast spot, we enjoyed it very much. It was about a 10-15 minute walk for us to the CTA but we did it each day- I understand the bus stop is much closer but we enjoyed the walk. The rental is a little off the beaten path in what we observed to be a quiet neighborhood. My husband went each morning to a corner store to get a paper and coffee and had nice things to say about the owner of it. If you want to be accessible to downtown without swimming in it 24/7, this is the place to stay! Can't say enough nice things, if in Chicago again we will stay here!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great rental

Review submitted: July 6, 2010   Date of arrival: June 25, 2010

Me and my friends stayed there for a week end. It was just perfect!! We particularly enjoyed the roof top for a sunny sunday afternoon!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect stay in the Windy City

Review submitted: July 4, 2010   Date of arrival: June 20, 2010

We rented this property for a week in June and it was great. My husband and I like to leave the car and fully rely on public transit and since this property is close to the red line, the city was ours to explore. I loved being able to cook a few meals in the fully equipped kitchen, but also liked being able to hop a train or bus to Chinatown or Greektown to eat really good stuff! Charming, safe neighborhood. You can walk to go see the White Sox, or just watch them on TV at Shaller's Pump or Cobblestones, two southsider pubs that are within walking distance and offer good pub food. Bob was great and so helpful with anything we needed. It's the best place to stay in Chicago!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Good Experience!

Review submitted: June 10, 2010   Date of arrival: June 2, 2010

Bob's home is in a really good location-we did Navy Pier, American Girl Place, Wrigley Field, Museums- all were within 15-20 minutes drive. With 6 of us, a hotel would've been difficult to say the least. The apartment gave us much more room for a fraction of the price. The apartment is well stocked with linens/kitchenware, etc. There were even airbeds and extra bedding/pillows available which helped us accomodate everyone (me and hubby/2 girls/1 boy/1 grandma!) The washer/dryer is a nice benefit as well. Since we don't like Chinese, delivered food choices were a bit sparse in this area (liked Connie's Pizza; Lina's ravioli was not so good...) so you may need to get out to find more options. We found Leona's near the University to the North that was excellent! We also appreciated the internet service, as we both needed to be able to check email and do some business during our stay. Bob is excellent to work with and is anxious to make sure your stay is an enjoyable one!

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: Hi Gina, thanks for the very nice comments. We have about 20 different restaurant menus from local restaurants in our menu book in the rental. I think you missed the best ones. Next time, try Freddy's ( the best breaded Italian steak, Char steak or chicken, huge pizza slices, and italian ice). Ricobene's (great deep dish pizza as good as Unos or any other and about 20 other different sandwiches), Taqueria San Jose (great cheap burritos and tacos) and Taste of Chicago (greek chicken and greek pork chops, taquitos, gyros). I've never had Lina's ravioli, but their pizza is one of my absolute favorites. In the summer, try their homemade italian ice. I love the blueberry and the lemon and the orange tastes like a dreamsicle. If you want to try great Chinese next time, House of Fortune in Chinatown is one of the best here. They are only 1.5 north of us and their delivery is pretty fast.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Luxury a family can afford!

Review submitted: April 10, 2010   Date of arrival: March 27, 2010

My family of four (parents plus two pre-teen daughters) stayed at Bob's place for a week during spring break. We were able to enjoy the comfort and privacy of a home that provides luxury amenities and do all the sightseeing (museums, zoos, aquarium, Sky Deck, Navy Pier, Blue Man Group) we wanted without breaking the bank - and we still had an extra bedroom! The things we enjoyed most about Bob's place: 1) hot tub, 2) rooftop deck, 3) luxury shower, 4) well equipped kitchen, 5) local neighborhood restaurants (we recommend Kathy's for breakfast sandwiches and Rico Bene's for delivery Italian & great Chicago hotdogs!), 6) convenience of location to highway and downtown (we could get everywhere we wanted to go in 10-20 mins), 7) garage parking. When you stay at Bob's place, he provides you with a ton of very thorough pre-trip information and tips that will help you get the most out of your experience while being cost conscious. More...

· By Lisa from Indianapolis, IN on 4/7/2010 for a stay in 3/2010

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Fun Stay in Chicago

Review submitted: March 25, 2010   Date of arrival: March 16, 2010

The Apartment was great it was a wonderful home away from home and we will be staying there again next time we go!!!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Review submitted: February 16, 2010   Date of arrival: February 16, 2010

We were fortunate enough to rent the 3 bedroom condo over the holidays this past year. My husband and I live in the neighborhood and were having a baby so we rented this space for our two families to stay to give us space w/ the newborn. They come from warm and cold climates, so the steam room and hot tub were a WELCOME addition to the cold Chicago windblasts after a day of touring the city. It was also great for us to just stay in and relax and enjoy each others company and was well equipped for us to be able to make an entire Christmas meal! The condo is spacious and comfortable! The location was wonderful for us, but if you're not from Chicago - it's a perfect secret neighborhood, so close to downtown, but out of all the business! We'd definitely use it again and have told all our friends about it. Thanks Bob!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

When I come back, I am staying here again

Review submitted: January 8, 2010   Date of arrival: February 11, 2009

y Craig (San Francisco, CA USA)
This was my first time renting a condo instead of staying at a hotel while on vacation, and I've got to say...this is the way to go! The place was great and had that homelike feel that you never get in a hotel. The kitchen was superb and the shower was super awesome. It has those crazy body jets and a steam option. Super relaxing, but if that wasn't relaxing enough, there was the hot tub. This thing was almost big enough to swim in and trust me that's huge! We spent a good amount of time in the hot tub, which was nice since there was a blizzard outside. The condo was also in nice location and the freeway was just down the block, making it easy to get around. When I come back to Chicago, I am definetly staying here again. Don't miss out a great experience and spend your hardearned cash on a lousy overdecorated hotel, when you can stay in a little slice of home.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We would definitely stay here again.

Review submitted: January 8, 2010   Date of arrival: July 1, 2009

By Paula (Satellite Beach, FL)
We recently went to Chicago for a 3-day conference and decided to rent a condo where we could stay for a week for less than we would have paid at a hotel for 4 days. We were fortunate to find this great place where we could live like locals and experience Chicago in a way we would not have been able to do by staying in a hotel. Bob’s apartment is in a lovely neighborhood that is just a couple blocks from US Cellular Stadium and easy access to public transportation and nearby corner markets. The apartment has all the comforts of home - a beautiful gourmet kitchen with state-of-the art appliances and cookware; a big-screen TV and music center; computer with Internet access and best of all, a huge hot tub that was a welcome treat on our convention weary bones. Everything was very clean and in good working order and things like coffee, tea, paper products, shampoo, soap, etc. are generously provided. We hope to have another chance to visit Chicago and would definitely stay here again.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

This place is awesome! VERY FAMILY FRIENDLY!

Review submitted: January 8, 2010   Date of arrival: August 21, 2009

By Pam (Reno NV)
This place is awesome! great views from the rooftop deck day or night... great hot tub.. no noise from the street- it's a safe and clean neighborhood. Easy walk to the redline which takes you anywhere you want to go. Located blocks from the 94/dan ryan expressway for easy car access all over the area. (again, no noise at all)VERY FAMILY FRIENDLY! our 7 year old had a blast. It was home away from home for us. We would most certainly stay here again. Thank you Bob for such a pleasant experience.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Near McCormick Place, very suitable for business

Review submitted: January 8, 2010   Date of arrival: May 31, 2009

By Faye (Manila, Philippines)
The house is near the McCormick Place so it is very suitable for business trips. It is also a good place to stay for vacations because the neighborhood is safe and quiet. Bob is very accommodating and easy to talk to. He answers every call and email immediately. I highly recommend this to everyone. Especially those who are travelling for business in the McCormick Place.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Beautiful area. Much cheaper than staying downtown

Review submitted: January 8, 2010   Date of arrival: July 30, 2009

By Mitch (St. Louis, MO USA)
The rental is perfect in so many ways. It is in the middle of a beautiful area, which is much cheaper than staying downtown. Bob, the owner, is prompt and courteous to deal with. It feels much more like a home than a hotel or coporate rental ever could. Would recommend anyone to stay there. Good view, fabulous amentities, and the kitchen has everything you need to create great meals. The hot tub is big, the shower is great, and the apartment has plenty of space.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We absolutely loved the apartment rental!

Review submitted: January 8, 2010   Date of arrival: November 15, 2009

By Leo & Nicole (Rowlett, Texas)
We absolutely loved the apartment rental! It had everything we needed, it was a home away from home. It was very kid friendly! The large steam shower, and jacuzzi were fantastic! The location was very close to downtown Chicago so it was very convenient. If I'm lucky enough to return to Chicago I would absolutely stay there a again!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

What a great place! Thanks Bob

Review submitted: January 8, 2010   Date of arrival: December 26, 2009

What a great place! Well equipped apartment with a great kitchen, a super hot tub (jacuzzi) and a super shower with steam function. The home entertainment set was also used extensively....... we are a family of 4 (husband, wife, two sons of 17 & 20 years old and we had a great time enjoying Chicago. The place is very convenient to public transport and very practically placed when you travel by car. The neighborhood is really quiet for a good night's sleep. For us it was another way to feel the city (not in a hotel!) and when we are traveling again in the state we will certainly try to arrange for another visit. Really a place to recommend for all our friends and collegues!!!!!! Thanks Bob, for a fantastic time in this great city!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We can highly recommend you this apartment

Review submitted: January 8, 2010   Date of arrival: December 18, 2009

Bob was the only owner who was friendly enough to answer all our questions and emails. Hence we were completely confident that the flat would be nice and comfortable and even discovered that it was better than we thought: great multi-function shower, hot tub, great roomy kitchen and a computer with internet access. Bob also made a wonderful work to leave a extensive documentation about transportation, shop and restaurants which was really helpful. We can highly recommend you this apartment, where we had a wonderful time. Thank you Bob, we will certainly come again ! Yolande von R, Bern, Switzerland

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

I highly recommend this rental to anyone !!

Review submitted: January 8, 2010   Date of arrival: October 12, 2009

This place is excellent. It is clean, spacious, and in a good part of town. I especially appreciated the computer/internet access and the incredible shower in the bathroom (it sprays water from several different directions!) Bob is a great guy to deal with, very friendly and helpful. I highly recommend this rental to anyone!! Trevor C, Kelowna, British Columbia

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A short walk to train and a short ride to downtown

Review submitted: January 8, 2010   Date of arrival: September 9, 2009

We enjoyed our stay and especially liked the hot tub and computer accessibility. It's a short walk to the train station and a short ride to downtown. No complaints! Crystal, Grand Rapids, MI

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

It was easy to get to the city and McCormick Place

Review submitted: January 8, 2010   Date of arrival: October 14, 2009

We enjoyed staying on 37th St very much. There was plenty of room for us and it was close to everything. We watched the fireworks from deck, used the internet, and were very comfortable. It was easy to get to the city and McCormick Place and by the second day the people at the taxi company and the deli across the street knew our names. Chicago turned out to be an excellent city for a conference and for tourist activity. We are looking forward to returning. Richard B, (Nova Scotia)

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

It would be a pleasure to recommend your home

Review submitted: January 8, 2010   Date of arrival: August 6, 2009

It was lovely to have the space and to spend time in a homey atmosphere. It was wonderful to sit on the deck and chat away whilst enjoying looking out on downtown Chicago. After walking the city and enjoying all the other attractions, it was bliss to come home to a lovely hot tub. I must mention the shower. Without doubt it is the best shower I have ever showered in. We will be in touch when we can visit Chicago again. It would be a pleasure to recommend your home to any people who would like to stay in your city. Thanks again, Sandra, (New Zealand)

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

So close to the train/subway.

Review submitted: January 8, 2010   Date of arrival: July 9, 2009

A great place to stay. We loved the hot tub and the shower! We also loved the neighborhood--we jogged around the area every day and enjoyed looking at all of the new houses. So close to the train/subway too! Thanks again, Tammera

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

This was a great place to stay!

Review submitted: January 8, 2010   Date of arrival: June 9, 2009

This was a great place to stay! It was a short walk to the El train. The deck was a relaxing addition with a nice view of the city. The hot tub was clean and relaxing. One of our concerns was the neighborhood (we had heard some things about Chicago) but the rental is in a nice neighborhood and we felt very safe. The rental is located very near the highway, so it's easy to get around from there. Parking was no problem at all and Bob was very available for any questions we had. Sandy from Hilliard, OH

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thanks Bob for a great stay!

Review submitted: January 8, 2010   Date of arrival: April 28, 2009

We came in for a convention at McCormick Place and stayed at Bob's place for a week. It was a great short drive to the convention each morning! House was comfortable for us and the shower is AWESOME!! I came in with a cold and left feeling great, I loved the steam shower! Thanks Bob for a great stay! 04/28/09 Sheena , Zimmerman, MN

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

I really recommend this place!!!

Review submitted: January 8, 2010   Date of arrival: March 12, 2009

I really recommend this place!!! This place is definitely a great bargain and well worth the money. I can say it is one of the nicest places we have ever stayed at. It is very big with all the extras you can imagine: big comfy beds, spa shower (like a massage), Internet, laundry, and more. It is a home, not just an empty rental. It is also VERY well stocked with necessities. It is in a safe neighborhood very close to public transportation. One of the biggest perks is the truly kind and helpful owner, who always answers his phone and helps you with anything you need. I'd stay for his helpfulness alone.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: January 5, 2010   Date of arrival: January 5, 2010

What a great place! Well equipped apartment with a great kitchen, a super hot tub (jacuzzi) and a super shower with steam function. The home entertainment set was also used extensively....... we are a family of 4 (husband, wife, two sons of 17 & 20 years old and we had a great time enjoying Chicago. The place is very convenient to public transport and very practically placed when you travel by car. The neighborhood is really quiet for a good night's sleep. For us it was another way to feel the city (not in a hotel!) and when we are travelling again in the state we will certainly try to arrange for another visit. Really a place to recommend for all our friends and collegues!!!!!!
Thanks Bob, for a fantastic time in this great city!

Owners response: Thank you Harry. We hope to see you again sometime soon. You and I will visit some of my favorite blues and jazz clubs next time.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: October 31, 2009   Date of arrival: October 31, 2009

We are a family of 5 from England and we had a wonderful time staying in Bob's apartment in Chicago. We used it as a base for exploring the sites and sounds of the windy city - and it was perfect. Close enough to the city that we didn't have to travel too far - but also we felt like we were experiencing something of real American life! The apartment is really well set up for families - plenty of room, great kitchen - and a shower to die for! We were able to launder our clothes, and with a gorcery store just around the corner and more take outs than I thought possible it's a great set up. I would thoroughly recommend a visit - and if and when we return to Chicago we won't even consider going elsewhere. Thanks for a great holiday Bob!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: October 21, 2009   Date of arrival: October 21, 2009

This apartment is extremely well equiped including an electric can opener! For the Brits the only thing missing was a kettle but that didn't stop us making our tea:) The hot tub was brilliant and added another dimension to our break. We found that a taxi from Navy Pier cost about $20.00 but it is only a short walk to the tube station. The apartment is really close to the White Sox stadium so it seemed rude not to go to a game (it was quite an experience). If we return to Chicago I see no reason why we would not want to stay here agin.

Owners response: Sandra, Thank you for your very nice comments. We will be sure to have a nice tea kettle for you when you return. When I was in the UK, I was amazed and delighted at how fast the water boiled in the electric kettle. I loved that. And yes, Navy Pier is about 5 miles and 15-20 minutes away, but it does cost a bit more these days with the cost of gas etc.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

great place convenient

Review submitted: October 1, 2009   Date of arrival: September 23, 2009

If you know Chicago, this is a reasonably priced, convenient, clean place with good living space, comfortable beds, and very responsive owners. It was easy to find, easy to get to, in a safe neighborhood, and well cared for. Great place for a family.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Tolle Wohnung - ideal für Familien

Review submitted: August 27, 2009   Date of arrival: August 13, 2009

Wir (2 Erw. mit drei Kindern 15-13-11 J.) waren im August 2009 eine Woche in dieser Wohnung ist sie ist wirklich zu empfehlen: super eingerichtet mit einem fantastischen Blick von der Dachterrasse aus. Die Organisation durch Bob ist einfach perfekt. Die Gegend - südliches Chicago - hat zwar nicht gerade einen guten Ruf, aber die Nachbarschaft in den nächsten zwei, drei Blocks war völlig ruhig und nett. Zum Einkaufen von Lebensmitteln fährt man besser mit dem Auto fünf Querstraßen weit. Parkplätze vor dem Haus gibt es offenbar immer. Ansonsten ist die CTA zu empfehlen. (Wochenkarte leider nur in den Tourismus-Büros erhältlich) Eine Buslinie fährt zwar gleich an der Ecke, meist ist es aber besser, die 10 min zur U-Bahn Haltestelle der Red Line (White Sox / 35th st) zu gehen.

Chicago selbst ist gigantisch: Mindestens eine Woche bleiben!!!

Recommended for: families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Review submitted: August 27, 2009   Date of arrival: August 27, 2009

We (2 adult - 3 teens from Germany) had a great stay.
Everything is nice, fine and quiet. We enjoyed the
fantastic deck on the roof and the hot tub.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: July 23, 2009   Date of arrival: July 23, 2009

Great place, nice, clean, quiet.
We enjoyed the hot tub, the deck on the roof, the
functional kitchen...evrything!
And the garage where we've parked twice vans!!!
Thanks Bob, we should back in your condo for a
next trip to Chicago.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Excellent

Review submitted: July 1, 2009   Date of arrival: June 15, 2009

This is an excellent rental. It was clean, well maintained, and owners very accomondating. We will be back.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: June 22, 2009   Date of arrival: June 22, 2009

The place was absolutely fabulous! We especially enjoyed the hot tub, steam shower and roof deck. Bob was a pleasure to talk to. The YouTube video of the walk thru was a wonderful added touch. We look forward to staying here again and have already referred the rental to several folks.

Owners response: Thank you Jennifer. We really appreciate your kind words. Please come back anytime and soon. Bob

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: June 15, 2009   Date of arrival: June 15, 2009

This place is outstanding! Three beds
and a comfy couch. Dish Network on the
TV. Keyless entry front door. Awesome
deck on the roof where you can sit and
look at the downtown Chicago skyline
with a beer. A couple of blocks away
from US Cellular Field to see the Sox.
Red line train is a few short blocks
away, and it will take you anywhere
you'd want to go in Chicago. Beautiful
wood floors and stainless steel
appliances. Tons of extra pillows and
sheets. Steam shower with a few extra
shower heads.

People say bad things about the South
side of Chicago, but we had absolutely
no problems in this little neighborhood.
There is a couple of competing diners on
the corner of Wallace and Pershing, Dox'
Place and Kevin's Hamburger Heaven. We
never tried Kevin's, but we had
breakfast at Dox's three times and it
was outstanding. Not much to look at,
but sometimes the crappy places have the
best food.

Owner Bob was a pleasure and made it so
easy. He accepts payments via Paypal,
and used your own specialized code to
open the front door, so keys were not
necessary. I highly recommend this
place to anyone staying in Chicago. I
would definitely stay here again without
question.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: May 11, 2009   Date of arrival: May 11, 2009

Great place to stay instead of hotel. i supposed condo like this would be quite far away from downtown, but this is convienient for sightseeing in Chicago. Bob is a nice and considerate owner, and everything inside the condo is just as good as other guests said.
i highly recommend people consider condo like this first when traveling. Why we go to hotels?

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: April 28, 2009   Date of arrival: April 28, 2009

We came in for a convention and stayed at Bob's place
for a week. It was a great short drive to the
convention each morning! House was comfortable for
us and the shower is AWESOME!! I came in with a cold
and left feeling great, I loved the steam shower!
Thanks Bob for a great stay!

Owners response: Thank you Sheena for the nice comments. It is less than 10 minutes to McCormick place and if you avoid the expressway, there is never any traffic.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: January 25, 2009   Date of arrival: January 1, 2009

If you are considering staying downtown and not in the hotel environment, I highly recommend Bob's property. The location is close to the expressway and minutes drive from a lot of what Chicago has to offer. The house itself is spacious, clean and very modern. The hot tub and shower are relaxing after a long day in the city. Please take my word that you will not be disappointed with your stay. Bob is easy to work with and very professional.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Review submitted: January 19, 2009   Date of arrival: January 19, 2009

Bob,

We had a wonderful stay at your place this past Christmas. We were very impressed, everything was clean and comfortable. We loved the steam shower and hot tub. We will certainly rent again when we are visiting family in Chicago. It must be a great place to stay in the summer.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: November 3, 2008   Date of arrival: November 1, 2008

My fiance and I stayed at Bob's place for about a week - and it was perfect! Other guests have mentioned the hot tub and shower - and they were wonderful. There was a lot of room to spread out, and having a computer was quite helpful. Bob orients you to the apartment (although you can manage without it)- and is available by phone should you need him. Throughout our transaction, he was efficient and helpful. I would definitely stay there again - I thoroughly enjoyed his place.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: October 27, 2008   Date of arrival: October 1, 2008

This rental was GREAT! The bedrooms were small
but comfotable, there was a large dining room,
living room, and a huge kitchen. The Kitchen has
fabulous appliances, and the bathroom was
indescribable...steam option & 5 showerheads!
And a hot tub...what a great way to relax after a
long day of sightseeing.

The location is about a 10-15 minute walk to the
subway, and a 15 minute subway ride...

Owners response: Thanks Stephanie. I would also like to add that we also have a bus line less than a minute away (1/2 city block) that takes you to the train to downtown if you don't want to walk the 1/2 mile direct to the train.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: September 30, 2008   Date of arrival: September 30, 2008

This comment was emailed to me from a nice family that stayed with us at the end of September, 2008.
We all had a marvelous time at your condo! It doesn't get much better than stomping all over Chicago, and arriving "home" to a hot tub...and then seeing fireworks from the Navy Pier and stadium from the rooftop! You have definitely invested in all the important items (kitchen and bathroom appliances and hot tub). Everything else was comfortable (furniture, bedrooms etc.). If we are returning to Chicago, we shall definitely contact you first.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: September 10, 2008   Date of arrival: September 10, 2008

I received this from one of my recent guests. They came all the way from New Zealand to enjoy Chicago and the U.S.

Goodevening Bob,

A note to thank you for having us at your place. It was lovely to have the space and to spend time in an homely atmosphere. It was wonderful to sit on the roof and chat away whilst enjoying looking out on downtown Chicago.
After walking the city and enjoying the air show plus all the other attractions it was bliss to come home to a lovely spa. I must mention the shower. Without doubt it is the best shower I have showered in.

We never had enough time to see all we wanted so I will be in touch if we can manage to visit Chicago again. It would be a pleasure to recommend your home to any people who would like to stay in your city.

Thanks again,
Warm regards,

Sandra

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: August 6, 2008   Date of arrival: August 1, 2008

Bob

Thank you for the wonderful rental you provided us. Clean, comfortable and with a wonderful kitchen. The hot tub was an incredible way to unwind after a busy day of seeing the sites of Chicago. Charming neighborhood also. Thanks again and we will be returning.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: August 3, 2008   Date of arrival: August 1, 2008

We enjoyed staying on 37th St very much. There was plenty of room for the 4 of us and it was close to everything. We watched the fireworks from the roof-top patio, used the internet, and were very comfortable. It was easy to get to the city and by the second day the people at the taxi company and the deli across the street knew our names. Chicago turned out to be an excellent city for a conference and for tourist activity. We are looking forward to returning.

Helpful votes: 21 / 21

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: July 28, 2008   Date of arrival: July 1, 2008

Bob, we had a fabulous stay at your place. Clean. Comfortable. All the amenities, and a fantastic rooftop deck to hang out, read and pray. Close enough to the CTA also. Worked very nicely for our "staff retreat." Thank you for allowing us to stay.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: July 12, 2008   Date of arrival: July 1, 2008

Great place to stay for White Sox fans. Loved the hot tub and the shower! Also loved the neighborhood--we jogged around the area every day and enjoyed looking at all of the houses and gardens. So close to the train/subway too!

Owners response: Thanks Tammera. Your family was one of the nicest groups that we've had. I really appreciate the nice comment. I hope to see you again some time.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: June 17, 2008   Date of arrival: June 1, 2008

This was a great place to stay! It was a short walk to the El, the deck was a relaxing addition and gave a nice view of the city, especially at night. The hot tub was clean, we loved not having to keep up with a key, and the kids loved the internet (though I go on vacation to get AWAY from that, it was helpful to look up places we wanted to find). One of our concerns was the neighborhood but the rental is in a nice, cute neighborhood, felt very safe. There is a Currency Exchange just down the street where you can buy day tickets for the El and the rental is located very near the highway so it's easy to get around from there. Parking was no problem at all and Bob was very available for any questions we had.

Owners response: Thank you Sandy. I appreciate your kind comments. I have lived in our neighborhood for 17 years and I love it too. It is very safe. I understand your concern about safety. It is a big city and we do have crime here. The fact is that you are never more than a mile or two from what most people would consider a bad neighborhood, so you do have to keep your eyes open. Any big city has it's share of problems with crime and violence.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: May 17, 2008   Date of arrival: May 1, 2008

This place is excellent. It is clean, spacious, and in a good part of town. I especially appreciated the computer/internet access, the key-less entry(didn't have to worry about losing the key) and the incredible shower in the bathroom (it sprays water from several different directions!) Bob is a great guy to deal with, very friendly and helpful. I highly recommend this rental to anyone!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: January 17, 2008   Date of arrival: January 1, 2008

Comment Text: As we wanted to spend our Xmas holidays in Chicago with our children, we decided to rent a flat . We found several flats to rent in town but we have to say that Bob was the only owner who was friendly enough to answer all our questions and emails and to take time to make more pictures of his flat for us. Hence we were completely confident that the flat would be nice and comfortable and even discovered that it was better than we thought: great multi-function shower, hot tub, great roomy kitchen and a computer with internet access. Bob also made a wonderful work to leave a extensive documentation about transportation, shop and restaurants which was really helpful. We can highly recommend you this apartment, where we had a wonderful time. Thank you Bob, we will certainly come again !

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: December 5, 2007   Date of arrival: December 1, 2007

I stayed in Bob's condo for a week in late November while attending a convention at McCormick Place. The location, in an older neighborhood very close to the White Sox Ballpark, worked out great for me. I rented a car and parked it right in front of the condo every night. It was less than ten minutes to McCormick Place each way, no significant traffic delays, and $16/day for parking. I also drove Lakeshore Drive several times for sightseeing and went downtown a couple of times - very easy. Apparently public transit is pretty good too, but I didn't use it at all . . . The condo is clean and comfortable, with big-screen TV, cable, internet access, and roomy kitchen, and has a great multi-function shower with built-in steam, best I've ever experienced. There's also a hot tub (shared) just behind the condo (indoors) which is clean and well-maintained, easy to use. I would strongly recommend this condo, probably would be fine for up to at least four people, as long as no one is a bathroom hog! Bob was very pleasent and clearly wants to help you to have a great time in his city!

Owners response: Thanks Nels. Nels is a great guy who was even thoughtful enough to send a Christmas card !! He stayed alone in the unit, so he had no need to use the second bathroom located under the unit. I'm not sure if he even knew it was there. It sometimes comes in real handy if the full bath is in use when there are larger groups renting the unit. We have had lots of groups of 4-6 people since then and quite a few of these other reviews are from those groups. It is convenient and saves a group a lot of money to stay in a roomy 3br rental as opposed to 3 hotel rooms.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: December 5, 2007   Date of arrival: December 1, 2007

We enjoyed our stay and especially liked the hot tub and computer accessibility. The renter handled all transactions fairly and in a timely manner. I would highly suggest staying here over a hotel. It's a short walk to the train station and a short ride to downtown. No complaints!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review