reviews for: listing #50002 - San Juan Islands, Washington House rental

Luxurious San Juan Island Home with Access to Lake Margo
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $225 - $375 /nt
    $1,350 - $2,250 /wk

sort by:

Gorgeous Home!

Review submitted: February 21, 2013   Date of arrival: February 16, 2013

A few friends and I had booked a last minute trip to San Juan Islands and we were very pleasantly surprised that this rental was not yet booked. This rental is beautiful and accommodated 7 adults and a 3mos old perfectly. It has a very open floor plan so it was hard getting the baby to sleep at night because the adults were so loud downstairs..oopps. It's a very short ride to and from town. Lake Margo is just right around the corner, I did not personally walk down because I forgot to bring proper shoes but my friends went down and took pictures and it was beautiful. There is also a cute little swing on a tree on the side of the house. I would definitely stay here again on my next trip to the islands and highly recommend this rental to anyone that is planning a trip to the islands. Angie was awesome and was very accommodating even though she was on vacation and we inquired about booking two days before arriving!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Thanksgiving Weekend

Review submitted: December 6, 2011   Date of arrival: November 23, 2011

Two families with adult children spent a very pleasant, comfortable and relaxing Thanksgiving here. The house is beautiful and spacious with very nice furnishings. The kitchen is well stocked with appliances, utensils, pots & pans, etc. The beds are comfortable. House is in a peaceful location in the middle of the island. Short drives to town or any island sights. The views from the house are pastoral/wooded, and I imagine would have a secluded feeling in the spring/summer/fall when trees are leafed out. In the winter you can see a neighbor's house, but they are not close so it's a non-issue. Would definitely stay here again and not hesitate to recommend it. It was a pleasure dealing with Angie when setting up the rental.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Nice enough but . . .

Review submitted: November 3, 2011   Date of arrival: October 27, 2011

Nice upscale home in a nice, quiet location. The first morning we had 3 deer feeding right under our window. The biggest issue we had was October . . . as we got there the weather turned cold. So did the house. The only heat source for the main living area is the gas fireplace which proved less than adequate. We even lit the oven a couple of times to help get warm.

I'm not sure what is customary, but we found it odd that there was literally nothing in the kitchen in the way of spices. I can't call that a negative because maybe that is normal, but we ended up going back to the store for salt and pepper.

The TV was in a cabinet and the speakers were blocked so we ended up having to turn up the volume to understand what was being said, but then it was blaring to the point of annoyance. Sigh.

All that said, it was a lovely house and the location was great -- just 1.7 miles from the lavender farm (we walked there and back and it was a perfect outing). The kitchen was very nice with modern appliances and well equipped with pots, pans and such. On a warmer week we probably would have been outside more so the TV and heat issues would be moot. If that is the case with your vacation, you will no doubt enjoy your stay. We had a relaxing time and would come back again during warmer weather and we'd bring our own spices. :o)

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are so glad you thought the house was beautiful. It is not uncommom for guests to see deer and other wildlife during their stay.
The house does have electric heat in every single room and we are unclear as to why you didn't use it. Salt and Pepper is normaly a staple in the house but maybe it was in a cabnet and was overlooked. We also provide our phone number in the book on the coffee table and on the kitchen table for our guests to call if they have any questions or need assistance with anything and we only live 5 minutes away to accommodate our guests needs. We are just sorry you didn't call. We make every effort to provide a clean, comfortable house and do our best to accommodate each guest and hope you return in the future.
Thank you again for your kind comments.

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 

Awsome time!

Review submitted: April 22, 2011   Date of arrival: April 5, 2011

What a lovely home! We came for a weekend stay and had a great time with our two kids. The house was beautiful, very comfortable, had a huge deck to play on, walking trails to the lake, and tons of space for the family. The customer service was terrific and we plan on coming back to stay again with friends. I loved that the house was located out of town and it really felt like the perfect spot to be. Our toddlers loved looking for deer and we even spotted bald eagles. Thanks again for a great vacation!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Home away from home

Review submitted: April 13, 2011   Date of arrival: June 27, 2010

Our favorite summer getaway! My husband and I stayed here after running in the Seattle marathon last summer. We brought his parents and god mother with us, it was their first trip to the San Juans. They are still talking about the trip and this house! The house is a beautifully decorated and welcoming home that provided the perfect peaceful getaway for our family. Modern amenities and cozy touches you usually don't find in rental properties. We felt like we were staying at a dear friends house. It has a fabulous deck for enjoying the sunshine and breezes that blow through the trees on the property, we even saw deer while having our morning coffee on the deck! Just a short walk down a sweet little grass path and you're sitting on the dock of a pristine island pond watching frogs leap across lily pads and dragonflies skitter across the water top. The location is just perfect for us, only a 10 minute drive to town but we felt like we were nestled out in the most peaceful countryside. We can't wait to bring our new daughter and young nieces with us this summer! Thank you again for another wonderful stay Angie, we can't wait to come back this summer!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: So glad you enjoyed the home! Please come again.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

immaculate home

Review submitted: April 12, 2011   Date of arrival: April 3, 2011

I like a clean house. This is very important. The house is very well maintained - we would stay there again. The house is much closer to the road than we thought - much closer than I am used to. The road noise is bothersome if the master bedroom windows are open. Also, only one master bedroom window has curtains even though is faces the road. Would not be a problem is Spring with the trees. The master bath has two large windows and no curtains (faces the trees). Not a good spot for small children - too many breakables.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: Thank you for the 5 star review. We take great pride in our house and do our best to maintain it immaculately. Since your review we have installed blinds on the master bedroom and master bath windows. Since our property is off a small country road, we have never had any complaints or feedback regarding noise. We have many many families (including many repeat families) stay at our home and they love it... the acreage to explore, the lake, the house, the large deck and yard.... There are a few breakables as with all rental homes, but mindful parents just place those out of reach. Again we are extremely happy that you enjoyed your stay at our home and hope to see you again.

Thanks - Angie

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review