reviews for: listing #50012 - Blue Ridge, Georgia Cabin rental

Great Price! Great Cabin-Fishing Bear Cabin
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  Cabin
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Cherrylog
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $99 - $165 /nt
    $693 - $990 /wk
    $2,250 - $3,750 /mth

sort by:

Guest Comment entered by owner

November getaway

Review submitted: November 11, 2013   Date of arrival: November 8, 2013

Jones, Tracy (SED)
To Me



Today at 11:32 AM






Good Morning,



Just returned last night from your cabin and wanted to tell you how much we enjoyed being there. It is your own little piece of heaven on earth and I needed the trip so much. I lost my husband ( John ) back in March and with the upcoming holidays I just needed some “retreat” time to get ready to deal with some more “firsts” in my life. I took a friend with me and we just enjoyed being there so much.



I’ve been to a lot of cabins but never one that felt so much like home.. Thank you for allowing others to share your “home”.



I will be going back, I’m sure..



Tracy Jones

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Larry & Jenny - October-Nov 2013

Review submitted: November 6, 2013   Date of arrival: October 28, 2013

Nov 5 at 10:37 PM

Hi Jeanne and Doug,
Just wanted to tell you thank you so much for letting us rent your wonderful cabin. Everything was absolutely great.
We relaxed and enjoyed the peace and quiet. The outdoor scenery with the trees changing color was so pretty.
Your cabin was decorated beautifully and really made a person feel warm and so comfortable. The décor in the upstairs
with all the bears just all fit together perfectly. And the downstairs Indian décor was so unique. You have quite a hand for decorating.
Your place in our book ranks the highest for perfection overall and yet it is the most inviting atmosphere of pure joy and
happiness. The hot tub was fantastic and so relaxing. Your kindness and generosity exudes in the homey atmosphere in each
room. Anyone who is lucky enough to rent your cabin is in for a wonderful vacation, one that is the best they will ever have.
Also your management team of Jim and Angela were so efficient and helpful to us. They are a very nice couple, so polite,and concerned about taking great care of your property.
Thank you again so much. We definitely would love to rent your place again and I hope it will be soon.

Jenny Ginsberg

And

Larry Ginsberg

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Anniversary getaway

Review submitted: September 4, 2013   Date of arrival: September 1, 2013

Mrs. Jeanne,
Just wanted to thank y'all for letting us stay in your cabin! It was the perfect place for us to relax for our anniversary. We enjoyed it. And thank you for being so friendly to book with!

God Bless!
Michael & Kristen Farley

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great catch at Fishing Bear Cabin

Review submitted: October 25, 2012   Date of arrival: October 12, 2012

Our arrival at night did not give us much chance to enjoy the outside of the cabin, but after our trip up Cherry Mt. we were glad to find that the cabin was even better than we had hoped. For such a reasonable cost, the cabin was perfect. We lit the gas fireplace right away and it warmed the living and upstairs area perfectly. All of the bedrooms had TVs which made everyone happy..although we did not use them much. Just too much to see and do. Apple festivaling and train rides were great, but we took one day just to stay close and enjoy the cabin and surrounding area. The view was perfect for Fall, the walks invigorating, neighbors were friendly and everyone had a dog or two. Ralph was able to golf every day and said the course was perfect. Finding the chapel in the woods made our exploring even better. A fully equipped kitchen with everything we needed was convenient and we did not have to go out for every meal. The rustic decor was great, beds were comfortable, lots of closets and storage space. Two porches with picnic tables to enjoy the fantastic view made this a perfect escape to the mountains. The hot tub was available, but the nights were a little cool for us to try it..maybe next time, and we definitely want a next time and soon. The pool table downstairs and games would have been great for a rainy afternoon, but the weather so perfect we just didn't have to time to enjoy all the amenities.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Quite a Deal

Review submitted: October 11, 2011   Date of arrival: October 6, 2011

The cabin was absolutely breathtaking -- and so well stocked, the owners have thought of everything. There was something to look at in every corner. A great cabin to come back to after enjoying the area, or a great cabin to lock yourself away in.

We went white water rating at Eagle Creek, and we had a terrific guide -- TJ -- we'll definitely ask for him again next time as well. The apple orchards had the most amazing fresh apple cider and other goodies that were irresistible.

Someone mentioned that their water wasn't hot -- that wasn't our experience -- sure it took a minute or two for the water to get through the pipes, but it was plenty hot.

The GPS got us to the right road, but does not understand the actual location of the cabin. If you're from "the city" and aren't used to rural areas -- just be sure to take the map that the owners provide, or be sure you have the street number (there's a sign in front of the cabin with the street number and cabin name on it). The road to the cabin is curvy and in some spots really only wide enough for one car -- so just take it slow and enjoy the beautiful view along the way.

We had a visitor from Switzerland with us and she enjoyed every minute.

Well worth every penny (or more), and we hope to return!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Rest and Relaxation

Review submitted: July 12, 2011   Date of arrival: July 2, 2011

We had the most peaceful weekend at the Fishing Bear Cabin. We spent most of our time on the screened in porch watching the deer play in the woods. The cabin was clean and cozy and stocked with everything except food. Tons of great movies. We could definitely stay here again.

Angela and D
Atlanta

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Very nice!!

Review submitted: June 29, 2011   Date of arrival: June 18, 2011

Very nice cabin!! Great location and easy to get to. Driveway is not a monster to get in and out. Nice big trees all around the cabin. It was nice having a regular porch and a screen porch.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Need a Place to "Check Out" for a While...

Review submitted: June 7, 2011   Date of arrival: May 29, 2011

then this is the spot for you! Mercifully, my phone didn't work the entire week we spent on Cherry Log Mountain, but, guess what did work? The hot tub, the WiFi, the DVD players and every single rocking chair in the place!!

You can't find a more well-equipped residence (note I said residence - not rental) than this one! Everything you ever thought you needed is available and intuitively placed for your convenience! The pictures don't do it justice.

We had a bit of an issue with the air conditioner upon arrival and the owners (remotely from Florida) still managed to get it repaired (on a holiday no less) so customer service was tops!

The locals are friendly and quick to point a vacationer to the best local spots. We hit up Blue Jeans Pizza, Huck's General Store and Mini-Golf, The Feed & Seed (live baby farm animals - what's not to love?) all in Blue Ridge, Toccoa Valley Campground Tubing and the New Orleans Bistro for a blues benefit and dinner! Fishing Bear is also close to Vogel State Park's nice lake beach and the Tennessee Aquarium in case you're still in need of entertainment.

It's a fantastic place to recharge and reconnect with your family. Hope your family has as much fun there as mine did! Have a great time!

Peacefully,
Tammy

P.S. Watch out for the funny flying squirrel that lives in the metal bear birdhouse on the top porch!! Watch, too, for the entertainingly bold raccoon that seems to not be bothered by late night music and hot tubing!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Perfect getaway cabin

Review submitted: March 2, 2011   Date of arrival: February 18, 2011

My husband and I absolutely loved this cabin. It had it all: Good location, nice furnishings, every movie, book, board game you could ask for and a great hot tub. We intend to come back and bring the kids next time!

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you so much for your nice comments and we look forward to renting to you again in the future.

Warm regards,

Jeanne and Doug
Fishing Bear Cabin

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

August 2010

Review submitted: September 3, 2010   Date of arrival: August 21, 2010

Dear Jeanne,

I just wanted to drop you a quick note to say thank you for your wonderful home in Cherry Log. We enjoyed the cabin and the peace full surroundings. The cabin made us feel right at home. We enjoyed the porches and the hot tub. During our stay we looked at properties and fell in love with the area. Attached is a picture of Grace. She enjoyed her stay also.

Thanks again for sharing your cabin in Paradise.

Tim, Tab, and Gracie

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Lindberg cottage - Fishing Bear

Review submitted: August 16, 2010   Date of arrival: August 8, 2010

Great place to stay. Well equipped and very clean. Lots to do in the area or if just want to stay on the property.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

great time

Review submitted: February 3, 2010   Date of arrival: February 1, 2010

hi everyone: This is a great place to stay infact we are coming back this year with of course the grandkids plus my daughter and her husband. we had so much fun will have to try the cabin in winter.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

The Best Cabin in the Area

Review submitted: January 8, 2010   Date of arrival: October 5, 2012

This Cabin was immaculate! We have rented many cabins over the years but this one was the best. The location is perfect, it is private, yet close to everything and easy to get to. What stood out most for me about the cabin was the fact that there were paper towels, toilet paper, spices, dish soap, laundry soap and plenty of reading materials and movies. There was also a first aid kit as well as shampoo and conditioner in case you forgot to bring yours. We will definitely return to this cabin again, beautiful place, great value!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We certainly appreciate the nice comments and we're pleased when our renters let us know they've enjoyed their stay. We want to make sure out guests have the most comfortable, stress free vacation possible and try to provide the little extras to make staying at Fishing Bear Cabin extra special. Our new cleaning people go the extra mile to keep the cabin spotless, fresh and smelling nice for each rental couple or group. I know the hot tub is sanitized after each guest - the cleaners have sent dated photos as proof! We welcome any suggestions our guests may have to keep our guests returning time after time. Thanks to all who have rented with us over the years.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Happy New Year!

Review submitted: January 4, 2010   Date of arrival: December 29, 2009

Dear Jeanne,

I am sitting here in your kitchen watching snow flurries come down, it is so quite and serene.
Thank you for letting us stay in your cozy cabin, it has been everything we hoped for. We have had rain, cold, sun and today a little snow. We would love to come back to Fishing Bear and hope to bring my mom from Denmark next year. You have a wonderful hideaway and the best trails!

Happy New Year
Mette and AJ

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review