reviews for: listing #50199 - Okaloosa Island, Florida Condo rental

Beach Lover's Retreat
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  yes
  • type  Condo
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Pelican Isle
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $89 - $189 /nt

sort by:

What a Great Place!

Review submitted: October 22, 2013   Date of arrival: September 20, 2013

My wife and I had been looking forward to vacationing in another area of Florida when our plans changed at the last minute, prompting us to seek another Gulf coast destination. A friend from church suggested we check out Okaloosa Island, so to the Internet we went! Lots of choices for sure, but finding a condo for our travel dates at the last minute was somewhat of a challenge. Fortunately, we came upon Beach Lovers Retreat at Pelican Isle, and we are very pleased that we did! After talking with the owner a few times about availability and other details, we decided on this location and set our GPS destination to Fort Walton Beach!

From the moment we arrived, we knew we had made the right choice! Everything was exactly as described, and then some. We found the condo to be very clean, comfortable, and well-furnished. For us, it was perfect! It had everything we needed for a very relaxing, enjoyable, and memorable stay on the Island! We enjoyed the close and convenient access to the beautiful beach, and the beach service (chairs and umbrella, included) was terrific (those guys were great!). Since the weather was not always favorable, the assortment of electronic entertainment, including wi-fi service, was very nice to have. And the view – nothing quite like having breakfast on the balcony and watching the dolphins playing in the Gulf nearby. Needless to say, we had a wonderful time and wished we could have stayed much longer - but, there is always next time!

The owner was a pleasure to work with and wanted to ensure everything about our visit was perfect, and we certainly appreciated that. We would welcome the opportunity to stay at Beach Lover’s Retreat again someday!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Glorious View & Clean, clean, clean condo!

Review submitted: June 24, 2013   Date of arrival: June 8, 2013

This was my 2nd stay at this particular condo. Was so pleased the 1st time, just had to come back. This is the perfect condo for a couple & even has bunks for kids, if needed. The washer & dryer were handy, and I didn't have to pack so much. All you need is your swim suit & beach towel. Shopping is close, restaraunts are close, this is just an ideal place to stay. If you haven't stayed in Fort Walton before, I would highly recommend Pelican Isle, and this particular condo, you can count on being clean, stocked with everything you need, and just steps from the beach! Looking forward to coming back again!
Donna & Terry - Madison, IN

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Exceeded our expectations

Review submitted: April 6, 2013   Date of arrival: March 29, 2013

This condo was perfect for a 5 day get away during spring break. We had beautiful weather so the umbrella and 2 chairs that come with the stay were very much appreciated, and Vincent(the beach manager) was helpful and very friendly. If you like to take beach walks, you will not be disappointed! We were not inside very much, but the condo was clean and inviting, and having the second bathroom was particularly nice.
We highly recommend driving over to Destin and taking a Sunset Cruise. There are several options, but we took a sailboat that was docked in front of AJ's. Great deal at $27 which includes wine and beer and a friendly staff. If you are looking for a great golf course, check out Regatta Bay.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect for a family with 2 small children

Review submitted: March 26, 2013   Date of arrival: March 20, 2013

Access to the beach was extremely convenient! Check the square footage; it's a bit small, but PERFECT for a family with 2 small children. The hall bunks are great, and the master bedroom is decorated beautifully. The tile, decor, and furnishings throughout the unit are very attractive and comfortable. Owners are very pleasant and helpful to work with.

Recommended for: families with young children

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Could not be more pleased!

Review submitted: February 18, 2013   Date of arrival: February 17, 2013

perfect!!!! The decor, the condition, the service....all exceeded our expectations. A roomy and thoughtfully designed condo that even pleased my obsessive cleanliness demands. Comfy beds, big bathrooms, and owners that will go above and beyond to make your stay relaxing.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Excellent getaway

Review submitted: October 2, 2012   Date of arrival: September 27, 2012

My husband generally finds the place (and is incredibly picky!) but this time I did and I'm happy to say he was blown away. He told me more than once that he loved the place. The view is gorgeous and the location was perfect. We were able to walk down just a few steps and be on the beach. Waking up to that view is easy to get used to. The condo was decorated in such a tasteful and welcoming way, much more than some I have seen......everything we needed was there from blender to hairdryer and we had so much fun........thanks for making our trip so memorable!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect place!

Review submitted: September 23, 2012   Date of arrival: September 6, 2012

Just returned from our 2nd visit to this condo and had a wonderful time once again.
You will find everything you need here. The condo is very nice and comfortable. I love the location and we are already planning our next visit. The owner is so nice to deal with.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Very clean and well maintained

Review submitted: July 19, 2012   Date of arrival: July 8, 2012

We had an excellent stay at this condo. The owner was prompt and very accomodating with getting us in. The inside of the condo is very clean and up to date. It has an excellent second story view of the gulf and beach area. The beach chair and umbrella service is nice as you don't have to carry as many things down with you. We would definitely stay here again if we come to the Okaloosa area.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Outstanding . . . .

Review submitted: June 21, 2012   Date of arrival: June 16, 2012

Over the years, we have rented more beach condos for family and friends than I can remember. All things being equal, i.e. the beach, the pool, the area amenities, the view, etc., the only real variable then, is the condo itself and for that our standards are extremely high.

Cleanliness is of utmost importance to us and this condo is the cleanest one we've ever rented. Since we are 'Locals', prior to our guests' arrivals at rental condos on the Island, my husband and I always go in and set it up for them. Generally, the kitchen needs to be re-cleaned and sanitized before even stocking it. Every time we rent this condo, it is spotless when we arrive.

The second most important quality for us is the overall appearance of the unit. This condo is comfy, cozy, charming and inviting! To say that it is 'tastefully decorated' does not do it justice, nor, do the photographs, because it is much lovelier in real life. The decorating is way above average, as far as furnishings, style and design. The color scheme is delightfully bright, cheerful, youthful and FUN for ALL ages. Our kids just love it and so do we! Whenever we are in the market for this size unit, "Beach Lover's Retreat" is the first one we check on, for availability. We'll be back . . .

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Best family vacation ever! Awesome beach access!

Review submitted: May 29, 2012   Date of arrival: May 25, 2012

This was our first experience at staying on the Gulf Front with beach access, this condo was awesome! Great view from the balcony, easy access to the beach, all amenities are there! Very clean condo! Great access to the Gulfarium and other Fort Walton and Destin attractions. We had the best family vacation we have ever had and my kids are 19 and 17, nephew and daughter's boyfriend-20, they loved the condo, beach, swimming pool and hot tub downstairs. Very quiet family atmosphere around the condo.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful beach trip

Review submitted: May 21, 2012   Date of arrival: May 17, 2012

We just returned from a girls getaway the condo was so clean and deco was just perfect!
We watched dolphins jumping from kitchen. The condo is a great location, nice and quite and views from balcony were amazing. The owner was a pleasure to work with too which is a big plus!
We can't wait to return :)

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Refreshing Getaway

Review submitted: May 16, 2012   Date of arrival: April 12, 2012

We enjoyed ourselves so much! The pictures didn't do the condo justice, for sure. The location could not have been any better. Everything was clean and well-maintained. And, Chri was so friendly and helpful in making our arrangements for use of their sweet family's condo.

We hope to return one day, and we would recommend this getaway to anyone seeking a relaxing vacation with a gorgeous beach view.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful views

Review submitted: December 1, 2011   Date of arrival: November 21, 2011

We stayed here for 4 days in nov 2011. We really enjoyed our stay here. Condo is beautifully decorated with everything you will need . Our kids loved the bunk beds. Kitchen has all the pots pans spoons plates.. Its a well equiped kitchen. We did lot of cooking baking grilling in the grill downstairs. View from the balcony is just beautiful, saw lot of dolphins right from the balcony. Beach is really clean and family friendly and steps away:).There was no beach service available at this team soo we got our own beach chairs. We loved our stay here and will love to come back:)

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Me and My Girls

Review submitted: November 27, 2011   Date of arrival: November 24, 2011

Thanks Chri for everything! This condo was amazing! I think we had the best view of the beach. It is everything described and more. Chri was amazing to work with. My girls and I decided to take a "last minute" trip to the beach and Chri was so accomodating. We arrived on Thanksgiving and were only able to stay 2 nights but it was well worth the drive. I will definately be booking again but next time I will be bringing my hubby! I will also tell my friends! P.S. The weather was amazing.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful view, clean & relaxing

Review submitted: October 13, 2011   Date of arrival: October 1, 2011

Our first VRBO try, and we really got more than expected. This is definitely the best beach view anyone could find on the Emerald Coast. Condo is exceptionally clean, and very well stocked with everythibng you could need. The beach chairs & umbrella were a very nice touch to be added in, and the only thing anyone needs to bring is a beach towel! Most relaxing vacation I have ever had. The description doesn't do this place justice! Great location; very comfortable; and definitely worth every penny. Would come back to this place in a heartbeat, given the opportunity!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A little closer to heaven in a condo by the sea.....

Review submitted: August 6, 2011   Date of arrival: July 21, 2011

We stayed in this beautiful condo for 9 days (thanks Chri for letting us get it a day early!). This was our first trip to Florida and I cannot imagine finding a better place to stay. My two kids (4 and 11) loved the condo and being right on the beach was awesome. It is in a quite area of the building but right next to the stairwell to take you to the beach. It was clean with all the amenities that you could want. Chri was a true blessing to work with. We will most definitely be back next year!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fantastic View!

Review submitted: August 3, 2011   Date of arrival: July 29, 2011

My family of 5 stayed at this condo and it was absolutely beautiful! Very well maintained, great view of the beach and we enjoyed every minute of our stay. Thanks, Duke and Chri for a great getaway from Orlando! We will be back to enjoy more of the Ft Walton Beach and Destin area - 3 days wasn't long enough.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Best Vacation Rental We've Ever Rented!!!

Review submitted: July 19, 2011   Date of arrival: July 10, 2011

If you are looking to go to Destin / Ft. Walton Beach, you have found the PERFECT condo to rent!! This condo was so CLEAN, I told my husband that we've never stayed in a rental or beach house that was so CLEAN!! There was not anything at all that we needed that they didn't have in the condo. The view from the balcony is HEAVENLY!!! We would sit for hours at night and just listen and stare at the ocean. This condo being right on the beach is the best. If we needed to go back to the condo for anything, it was just a few steps away. There were lots of people staying at Pelican Isle but I never felt like it was crowded. It's very private and quiet!! I could seriously live there!!! This condo being in Fort Walton is only 6 miles into Destin, where we spent the majority of our time for dining and activities. But not a far drive at all. We drive farther than that from our home to go places. Comfy beds, great decorations, CLEAN CLEAN CLEAN, plenty of dishes and cookware for you to use, a washer and dryer, dishwasher, great cable channels for my KIDS, WI-FI and THE COLDEST fridge and freezer we've ever seen!!!! It was just like we were at home, it was the best vacation we've ever had!
I promise you, you won't be disappointed in this condo. The owners worked with us too which makes it so nice, not having to deal with a rental company.
I give this condo TEN STARS **********
We will be back next summer, and the summer after that, and the summer after that.....

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Outstanding accomodation

Review submitted: March 30, 2011   Date of arrival: February 1, 2011

Recently stayed there for 5 weeks. Extremely clean with high end bedding and towels etc. Very well appointed with new furniture and a well equipped kitchen. Great clour co-ordinations on the walls throughtout. Would come back in a heartbeat. Unit is located in a quieter area of the building. View from the balcony is outstanding and only about 300 feet from the water's edge. A pristine beach, well groomed and the cleanest I have ever seen.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

WONDERFUL!!!

Review submitted: June 23, 2010   Date of arrival: June 10, 2010

My husband and I took our 4 kids to this condo. It was a perfect place for us to stay, just big enough and the beach was wonderful!! Just having the 2 beach chairs and umbrella provided saved at least $25/day. The decor of the condo was perfect for the "beach" feel. And my kids loved the bunk beds. Thanks again Chri & Duke. Hope to stay with you again!!!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: September 13, 2009   Date of arrival: September 13, 2009

This is a beautiful condo! My husband and I were celebrating our 20th anniversary and we could not have asked for a better spot. Beautifully decorated and the view and convienance to the beach were awesome!!!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: June 23, 2009   Date of arrival: June 23, 2009

Duke & Chri,

We had a great time staying at your condo for four days. There were alot of dolphins to see, a few sea turtles, and a baby stingray. Your place was very comfortable, clean, and the view from the deck was amazing. The weather was incredible too.

Thank you again for a wonderful experience.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review