reviews for: listing #50337 - Traverse City, Michigan House rental

Beautiful Log Home on West Grand Traverse Bay
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  no
  • community  elmwood township
  • sleeps  10
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $1,500 - $2,500 /wk

sort by:

Wonderful Stay/ Wonderful Home

Review submitted: July 5, 2014   Date of arrival: June 28, 2014

We just had a wonderful week in this lovely we'll maintained log home. Everything was in perfect order for our arrival. Wonderful view of the west bay and very convenient location for sight seeing trips all around Traverse City and beyond. Sutton's Bay is just down the road and there are many places for wine tasting stops. The beaches are fantastic. The owners are very accommodating and communication is top notch. Thank you for making this a very memorable vacation for our family!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Excellent stay in Beautiful Log Home West Bay

Review submitted: April 10, 2014   Date of arrival: March 28, 2014

We had such a delightful long weekend at this beautiful log home on West Grand Traverse Bay last year for my mom's 90th birthday, we returned with the family again this year to celebrate her 91st. As before, the owners had everything in pristine order and were in contact with us several times before the stay to make sure all was ready. I particularly appreciated their consideration for my elderly parents to safely navigate any ice that might have been near entrances to their property. This is an excellent value for a wonderful family stay and we will definitely plan a return visit! (We would recommend the wineries on both peninsulas, checking out the Lobdell Restaurant at the Culinary Institute (lunch resevations Tues-Thurs), Fischers Happy Hour Tavern near Northport, and the wonderful shopping downtown Traverse and Suttons Bay/Leland!)

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Family Getaway

Review submitted: September 18, 2013   Date of arrival: September 13, 2013

This was my second visit; first with a girls getaway and second with family. The property, inside and outside was clean and inviting. Everything that we needed for our visit was there. We were able to cook and visit nearby restaurants that had a variety of menus and prices. There was always an attraction nearby or a comfortable chair to relax and watch TV or view the bay.The owners go out of their way to make your experience in their home a very pleasant one. I have already recommended this place to friends and our family hopes to come back next year!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

T C 2013

Review submitted: August 22, 2013   Date of arrival: August 10, 2013

Me and my wife have been coming up to Traverse City for many years this year my wife sisters came up also the one from Penn her husband and 3 children stayed with us at the log cabin we all just loved our stay it was like staying in your own home. Every day there was something to do got up early and went to bed exhausted. The Cabin was just plain beautiful!!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

College Girls Reunite

Review submitted: August 5, 2013   Date of arrival: July 28, 2013

We chose this log cabin to reunite with college friends and celebrate our 60th birthdays! Marti was the perfect host, very accommodating and welcoming! The cabin is just as the pictures show ... perfect location for a Traverse City vacation and quite beautiful. We wined and dined, hiked and toured, shopped and dropped ... just minutes from anywhere you would want to visit. I would highly recommend this to any family or extended family because of the location and also its cleanliness and updated décor. Thank you Myers family for making our stay so memorable! Hope to visit again ... sooner than later!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Family Vacation

Review submitted: July 2, 2013   Date of arrival: June 22, 2013

This is a great rental home. The location is great for visiting the dunes, Sutton's Bay, local wineries and lakes. The home is clean and well stocked with all of the necessities for the stay. There were 10 of us and the size of the home accommodated us well. There was plenty of room for everyone. The house is well equipped to prepare meals inside and out. If you prefer not to prepare meals there are many great restaurants in close proximity to the house. The owners are excellent to work with and very accommodating. We were greeted with lovely welcoming gifts on the first day. I would highly recommend this rental home.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fabulous Family Get-together

Review submitted: July 1, 2013   Date of arrival: June 1, 2013

We had a wonderful week at "The Beautiful Log House on West Traverse Bay". It was all we had hoped for - and more!

The log home certainly lived up to its advance billing. It's location is very convenient for trips into Traverse City, Suttons Bay, Leland and Sleeping Bear Dunes. It's just a short trip to the casino, and wineries are plentiful on the Leelanau and Mission peninsulas. Our young grandson thoroughly enjoyed the hands-on Children's Museum located just a few minutes down the road.

The home is very comfortable with a huge master bedroom suite on the first floor and plenty of beds on the second. Marti was extremely helpful during the entire process and made us feel very welcomed.

We spent a wonderful week in the Traverse City area. Our only regret is that there was no place to hang our Ohio State flag!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

lovely vacation home

Review submitted: June 27, 2013   Date of arrival: June 8, 2013

We had a great vacation in this lovely home. We were greeted with a lovely note and treats from the owners. It is a very spacious house that was perfect for family cooking, playing games, and relaxing. It was nice having coffee on the deck in the morning and making a campfire and roasting marshmallows on the lake beach at night.
The location of the home was also nice, as we were an easy drive to both Traverse City and Sutton Bay. We had an excellent time and will plan to stay here again on future trips to the area.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A great place to vacation with the family

Review submitted: August 30, 2012   Date of arrival: August 4, 2012

We gathered for our first annual summer family vacation with our grown children and their spouses, and other relatives and friends for a week's stay in Traverse City. This house was a perfect set up to accommodate 10 of us, and surprisingly we had enough space to move about and spread out. We ate all our meals on the lovely covered back patio, and our morning coffee out on the front deck looking toward the Grand Traverse Bay. The TART bike trail is about 1/2 a mile from the house and is paved, flat, and a great ride. Sleeping Bear Dunes is about 20 miles to the west, and Traverse City is 5 miles to the south. There was something for everyone and this house is in a great location. The kitchen is fully stocked with dishes and cookware, the appliances are new and high quality, and we used the washer/dryer a couple of times. The owner Marti is incredibly nice and we were personally greeted on Saturday when we arrived. She even had a few welcome gifts for us! Overall, it was a positive experience.
One consideration: the house, though set back from the street, is located on the main road on the peninsula and cars go whizzing by. This is not on a quiet remote isolated property if that's your preference.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great House! Fabulous Owners!

Review submitted: August 7, 2012   Date of arrival: July 22, 2012

This is our second stay at this wonderful log home! It is clean, and well stocked for all your vacation needs. The owners are excellent to work with, and they allow us to bring our family dog. It's close to both Traverse City, and Sutton's Bay which is great. The beach is very nice also. House is furnished very nicely, and has cable and internet. Plenty of space for a larger group, but cozy enough for a smaller group also. I highly recommend renting this home for your vacation!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great place for family and friends

Review submitted: July 11, 2012   Date of arrival: June 30, 2012

The property was clean, and the view of Traverse Bay out the front window beautiful. Great sunrise from the beach below. We could see fireworks from several towns on the fourth from the beach. All the ameneties cable tv, internet access, barbeque grill, jacuzzi in the master, as well as state of the art appliances.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Annual Wine Weekend Trip

Review submitted: April 23, 2012   Date of arrival: October 6, 2011

For several years now we have stayed at this beautiful log home for our annual fall wine tour. The house is the perfect size for 8-10 guests and has all of the amenities you would need for a great getaway. The home has great views of the bay and is close to downtown and of course all of the wineries in the area. The owners are always great to deal with and make you feel very welcome in their home.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Winter Weekend

Review submitted: February 28, 2012   Date of arrival: February 17, 2012

This is a beautiful log home with an unobstructed view of the West Bay of Grand Traverse Bay. It has a beautiful master suite with two bedrooms upstairs along with a loft for additional sleeping. We had plenty of room for 9 adults and 2 children. Located close to Traverse City with plenty to do. The owners kept in good contact with us prior to our arrival and made us feel very welcome. If you're looking for a great place to stay at with great hosts this is the place!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review