reviews for: listing #50361 - Ocean City, Maryland Condo rental

Bay Princess Unit 404 on 81st St
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  yes
  • type  Condo
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Bay Princess
  • sleeps  7
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $750 - $1,600 /wk

sort by:

Romantic Weekend Away

Review submitted: March 2, 2014   Date of arrival: February 14, 2014

My husband ad I went there for the Valentine's Day weekend and had a marvelous time. This is the second time we have stayed here (one a few years for labor day weekend), unfortunately, we can't get away more frequently. This place is a great get away for the price. It was a lot larger then we needed. I guess we could have brought the kids, but then it wouldn't have been the getaway we needed :) We enjoyed sitting in the living room or balcony with a glass of wine and looking out over the bay. The beach is just a short walk away (we used that obviously more over the labor day weekend than this time around). The place was clean when we arrived and the place is well supplied with basic amenities like sheets, bathroom paper, towels, beach items, salt, sugar, etc. The landlord was very nice. We didn't have any issues are looking forward to going back.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

The WORST experience – DIRTY, OLD and rude problematic owner

Review submitted: January 28, 2014   Date of arrival: August 24, 2013

We rented place for three nights, but HAD TO LEAVE AFTER THE FIRST NIGHT because the PLACE WAS VERY DIRTY AND EVERYTHING WAS VERY OLD, and asked the owner to return money for two nights that we did not stay. He said he will do it, but HE NEVER RETURNED ANY MONEY, being very sneaky and rude. Our weekend was completely ruined.
In this place, all bed sheets and bed covers, including pillows, covers, and mattresses were very very old, dirty and stinky, and the sheets were wet in the washer when we arrived, not on beds. The mattresses are extremely uncomfortable and old. The walls had many dirt stains all around the place, especially in the main entrance area. Closets had dirty clothes and sheets with hair, I guess from previous renters. A thick dust was on lights, decorations, shades and furtniture. The windows in both bedrooms are small and have no view at all, all you can see are the stairs inside the building through those windows, the light almost does not come through them, and the curtains and shades are old, dusty, or broken. Kitchen cabinets were full of used junk and dirty. The whole place felt like it had not been properly cleaned, painted, or fixed for years and years!!
For the amount of money the owner is asking, you can easily find much much better place, as we had to do after we moved out. The only good thing was the view from the balcony over the bay, but it cannot really save the place due to amount of dirt and to how old everything was there. It seems that the pictures in this listing were taken years ago and nothing was ever done to that place since in terms of proper clean up or upgrading. EXTREMELY DISAPPOINTING.

Owners response: This person did not rent my unit. Today is January 29, 2014 and no one has rented this Unit for over 60 days. I dont know who these people are.

I have been at this specific unit and these problems do not exist. I own several units and this one is my favorite. I try to alwaays stay there. I will be traveling to Ocean City next week end and of coure staying there.

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Good but could be better

Review submitted: August 12, 2011   Date of arrival: July 30, 2011

This condo is in a nice location. View of the bay is very nice from the balcony. The pool is beautiful and overall, the building is fine. Parking is ideal compared to other locations we have stayed in. The review in July 2011 explains why the the condo was not in better condition. It's a shame that someone did this. I feel that the condo could use some sprucing up, but overall, it was acceptable. I did expect something in somewhat better condition for the price.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

O.C Condo

Review submitted: July 26, 2011   Date of arrival: July 17, 2011

My family and I enjoyed our weeks stay. The condo was clean and comfortable with an excellent view of the bay. We would definitively stay again. Highly recommended!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

AFFORDABLE AND WELL WORTH THE MONEY

Review submitted: July 18, 2011   Date of arrival: July 9, 2011

MY FAMILY REALLY ENJOYED THIS CONDO, IT WAS WELL EQUIPPED WITH EVERYTHING WE NEEDED, IT EVEN HAD PAMPHLETS ON THINGS TO DO WITH COUPONS, NICE DISHES, LAUNDRY DETERGENT, WE NEEDED TO PACK NOTHING BUT OUR SWIMSUITS AND CLOTHING, OH AND OUR TOOTHBRUSHES. IT WAS QUIET, BEAUTIFUL VIEW OF THE BAY, VERY SPACIOUS, AND EXTREMELY CLEAN. THE BEDS WERE COMFORTABLE, FREE PARKING RIGHT AT THE ELEVATOR TO GET IN, FREE POOL THATS LIT UP AT NIGHT, THE OCEAN IS RIGHT ACROSS THE STREET, KIDS LOVED IT, RIGHT NEXT TO DUNKIN DONUTS AND PINOS PIZZA THATS OPEN TILL 4AM!!!! WE WILL DEFINITELY COME AGAIN.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Poorer than Poor

Review submitted: July 6, 2011   Date of arrival: July 2, 2011

Supposedly, the ppl who stayed here before us trashed this place; however, that does not excuse the condition when hours were spent cleaning before we got there. This unit was so dirty it was disgusting. There were empty liquor bottles under the master bed, candy boxes and wrappers under one of the beds in the 2nd bedroom. Mirrors were broken on closet doors. Lights didn't work. Stove couldn't be used as the burners didn't even fit the stove. Microwave was horribly dirty and had not been cleaned. Couldn't get in when told because the owner called back the cleaning ppl to re-clean. What a joke. AC unit was frozen so we had to turn off the AC for 3 hours and hope it worked. The front door only locked sometimes and we were told by the owner that it wouldn't open for someone a couple weeks ago but then it worked so he didn't worry about it. He told us to use the deadbolt and carry our valuables with us when not in the room. Really?! I was afraid to sit on the furniture it was that dirty. Pots and pans were dirty and utensils were dirty. We were told to use the dishwasher. I shouldn't have to clean to feel I could use these items. I have never been so disgusted in my life. On the plus side, it was close to the beach. I have pictures of everything and am contacting the owner for some sort of compenstation.

Owners response: The unit was trashed by the previous renters and it took hours to restore the unit. I had removed all trash and garbage. I had repaired the garbage disposal and cleand the toilets. All towels and sheets were washed. I also had shampooed the carpets.

I was in the midsts of again taking trash to the dumpster when the new tenants showed up 2 hours early. The cleaning crew also showed up. The new tenants wanted to take possession, so the cleaning crew gave the unit a quick over and left. The new tenants were then in possession.

Now they are unhappy. If they did not arrive early, I and the cleaning crew would have properly completed the job to everyones satisfaction.

Helpful votes: 1 / 4

 

Review submitted: June 12, 2008   Date of arrival: June 12, 2008

We just spent a FANTASTIC weekend in this condo in Ocean City, MD. It was very stress-free and easy to book right from the start. The owner was very informative and the process was unbelievably smooth. The condo had a perfect location and was very neat, clean and stocked well with ammenities. We hit the beach, the boardwalk, the attractions, the grocery stores and the best restaurants all within minutes of this location. The bay view was beautiful. Thanks so much for a wonderful long weekend!

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Review submitted: September 3, 2007   Date of arrival: September 3, 2007

This was a very nice,comfortable and wonderful condo to stay at. I have everything great to say about it! The view of the bay is excellent! Sunrise and Sunset!! You can also see the ocean from the balcony looking down the 81st St! I highly recommend this place to everyone that is looking for a great place to stay while your at ocean city!! The owner is also a wonderful person!!! Great place, Great Time!!!
We stayed week of Aug 25-Sept 2nd!!

Helpful votes: 2 / 4

 

Review submitted: August 7, 2007   Date of arrival: August 7, 2007

We just returned from a wonderful week at this condo and couldn't be happier with the entire experience. The condo is beautifully decorated to give it a true vacation vibe and the incidentals were all there when we arrived. The view of the bay is totally unbeatable and sitting on the balcony in the morning with your coffee or enjoying a glass of wine in the evening can't be beat! If I absolutely had to pick a improvement point it would be on the cookware, knives, etc. in the kitchen; however, they got the job done and I think I'm just used to my own stuff. The building itself is well taken care of and everyone vacationing and/or living there was very nice. The pool is by far one of the best and largest we seen when peaking at others throughout the week. The owner of this condo is very nice to deal with and was always available to answer questions. I highly recommend this condo without hesitation and am certain we will be back soon!

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review