reviews for: listing #50420 - Puerto Rico, Caribbean Villa rental

Marina View Villa in Palmas del Mar-w/Private Pool
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  yes
  • type  Villa
  • baths  4
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Palmas del Mar
  • sleeps  10
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $225 - $400 /nt
    $1,750 - $2,800 /wk
    $4,500 - $4,500 /mth

sort by:

Perfect for our group of 5 - or up to 8

Review submitted: February 17, 2012   Date of arrival: February 9, 2012

This is a beautiful house with a private pool. It has 4 bedrooms (2 master suites) with king-sized beds in 3 of the bedrooms and 2 twin beds in the 4th. I recommend it for older people and those with disabilities with a caution. It is a 3-story house. It has an elevator, but it was not working when we were there. So, if you need that assistance, be sure to tell them in advance so it will be working while you are there. Palmas del Mar is a large resort community with plenty to do withing the walls of the gated resort. However, we were interested in traveling around and seeing what Puerto Rico has to offer. We went as far as Arecibo to see the observatory - that was a long drive! We also went to several places in the Fajardo area - only 30 minutes or so by car. We had a great time and thoroughly enjoyed having the house and the ability to make some of our meals rather than eat at restaurants the whole time. We had a couple of problems, but they were addressed immediately by Alicia, the very friendly property manager, and did not negatively impact our trip. I recommend this property highly!

Recommended for: age 55+, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

My 2 family Vacation

Review submitted: August 3, 2011   Date of arrival: July 15, 2011

It was my family and my sisters family. We had a wonderful time. The house was very clean, everything worked. We came to Puerto Rico to visit family and a 40th birthday party. We will never stay in an hotel again. When we come back to PR we will stay here for sure. My husband and I stayed in the master suite upstairs and it was like we were there by ourselves. Each room had its own private balcony, which our children loved and air conditioning unit. We visited the local stores and stocked up the fridge for our stay, the beaches on the property were great. My only suggestion is if you are going to rent a golf cart do that before you get there. We drove around the property, because all of the golf carts were rented. Driving was great, but a cart would had been better. But we have nothing negative to say about the property and the host. Great experience, it was everything and more than what we expected.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Great rental

Review submitted: March 18, 2011   Date of arrival: March 11, 2011

Great house in a very nice resort complex. Beautiful backyard, very nicely maintained, and very clean. Couldn't have asked for much more. Great for a group trip.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great Villa

Review submitted: March 18, 2011   Date of arrival: December 30, 2010

I loved the design and layout of the villa - it's modern, clean yet felt very inviting. It's very spacious and feels very upscale. I highly recommend staying here.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Beautiful villa and affordable vacation!!

Review submitted: March 18, 2011   Date of arrival: January 2, 2011

The stay at this villa surpassed my expectations. The villa is not only beautiful but also offers all the comforts of home. It's very spacious, and very well laid out. The location is perfect for families and children. I will definitely recommend this spot to all my family and friends.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Okay

Review submitted: March 14, 2011   Date of arrival: March 7, 2011

I will start with what I did like about the house. It is very large, with three floors and four bathrooms. It also has a two car garage that was very clean. The pool was clean and the yard was clean.

Now to the other part: This house is located on a very busy road within the complex, with a speed bump almost directly in front of the house. We awoke early every morning to large box trucks going over the speed bump.

In the first few hours we were there, I saw four roaches - two in the kitchen, one in the 1st level bathroom sink, and one crawling on a window shade.

The kitchen has newer appliances, but were nothing special. Honestly, the house looked VERY used. The walls are in desperate need of a paint job.

The second floor bathroom toilet did not flush.

When I opened one of the rollaway beds for my daughter to sleep on, there was a sheet with sand and change on it. I lifted the mattress to find a dirty shirt and knit cap underneath. Apparently no one checked to see if the rollaway beds were used by the last renters.

After that, I started wondering what else hadn't been checked.

Several of the pillows had brown and yellow stains on them, and the second floor master mattress had stains all over it, with no mattress pad on. If they don't care enough to put mattress and pillow pads on, what else do they not care about.

The sinks in the second floor master bath have hardly any water pressure at all. I poured a cold cup of coffee down the right sink before we left one day only to come back and find coffee all over the floor under the sink.

There were only four washcloths in the entire house. Nice to have to spend $5.00 on cheap washcloths at Kmart so you can take a shower.

I pulled the large shade down in the living room when we first got there only to realize the string to wind it back up was gone. I spent the next fifteen minutes getting hand cramps rolling the large shade back up by hand.

The pool lights did not work. We are not sure why. No swimming after dark, I guess...

Who wants to spend their vacation worrying about cleanliness and what is going to break next? I did not report these items because I didn't want to have to spend my time on vacation waiting for someone to come and repair things that should have been right to begin with.

I would not recommend this house to anyone. Rent somewhere else. These owners do not act like they care one bit about this house. If they did, you would be able to tell.

Owners response: This review certainly dismayed us since we are accustomed to hear only raves about our house, but we take any kind of criticism seriously and deal with it immediately. We are sorry to hear about the inconveniences experienced by this guest during her stay. If the guest would have called, and given us the opportunity, she would have seen that most of these issues would have been taken care of immediately and without taking time from her vacation. Since receiving notification of this review, all of these issues have been dealt with, some the same day the guest left because although she did not report them, the housekeeper did. I have never seen or heard of any roaches in the house but will certainly report this to the exterminator. We thank this guest for bringing this to our attention. The house is on the main street that goes to the marina, but most people like the fact that it is within walking distance to a beach, shops and restaurants. As for the walls, the house has been in the process of being painted, and will be finished soon.

We have been renting vacation properties for over 6 years now and pride ourselves in providing our guests with a great place to stay and enjoy their Puerto Rico vacation. We are sorry this guest's experience did not meet her expectations. We do ask our guests to inform us of any problems that can arise and if she would have contacted us during her stay we certainly would have done our best to resolve these issues and compensate her in anyway we could. One of our greatest joys is hearing from our guests about how much they enjoyed their stay and how they can't wait to return, this review will only make us work harder to make sure that everyone that stays with us feels the same way.

Alicia

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Marina View Villa in Palmas del Mar-w/Private Pool

Review submitted: May 19, 2010   Date of arrival: May 7, 2010

This villa was absolutely PERFECT! it was very clean,well maintained, very spacious, and lots of ammenities! We ABSOLUTELY loved this villa and will definitely be renting it again in the future...

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 16 / 16

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review