reviews for: listing #50433 - Tybee Island, Georgia Cottage rental

~ Island Dog Cottage ~ Perfect Summer Destination!
  • bedrooms  5
  • pool  no
  • type  Cottage
  • baths 
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Mid Beach
  • sleeps  12
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $2,200 - $2,900 /wk

sort by:

comfy cozy cottage

Review submitted: June 13, 2014   Date of arrival: May 22, 2014

We absolutely loved the house. Access to the beach was easy. Overall, the house was a comfy cozy cottage that fit our family like cinderella 's glass slippers.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

WONDERFUL VISIT

Review submitted: October 29, 2013   Date of arrival: October 16, 2013

My husband and I spent the week at this charming cottage with family and the place exceeded all our expectations. The living areas are warm and cozy. The kitchen was fully equipped and everything we could possible need was provided. The place is extremely well maintained and cleaned. The bedrooms were comfortable and quiet. As you can see in the pictures, there are several areas inside and out for morning coffee and afternoon drinks. We especially enjoyed the screened in porch.
We would highly recommend a visit to Island Dog.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Very disappointing! Never again!

Review submitted: August 17, 2013   Date of arrival: July 27, 2013

Island Dig Cottage is NOT a place you'll want to stay! Overall the house was dirty! Hardwood floors filthy; small kitchen with no counter space and not clean. Bedroom with bunk beds was smaller than most walk-in closets. Limited closet space in ALL bedrooms. Bedroom downstairs had black cobwebs in ceiling corners and smelled like black mold. Window air conditioner made air quality in room unbearable! Outdoor shower disgusting! Dangerous place for young children as there are two sets of stairs so it was a constant chore to keep all doors and gates locked. Not good proximity to beach when packing all the gear to stay for the day.

Owners response: We are sorry your stay at the Island Dog Cottage was not favorable. We will be updating our description of the cottage to better provide guests with room size in our cottage. Our listing does include photos of the rooms, however. The ground-level ventilation concerns are being addressed and improved.

Helpful votes: 2 / 5

 

great week at Island Dog cottage in Tybee

Review submitted: July 27, 2013   Date of arrival: July 6, 2013

Very comfortable cottage! Clean and comfortable without being fussy. Wonderful screened in porch with ceiling fans. Lots of seating there, too. Didn't mind the one rainy day with a nice place like that to hang out. Short block to beach. Clean, nice towels and linens, and everything we needed in the kitchen.

Would definitely go back there next trip to Tybee!

Recommended for: families with teenagers, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

GREAT Family Vacation!!! Can't wait to go back!!!

Review submitted: March 8, 2012   Date of arrival: August 4, 2011

We LOVE your beach cottage!!! We enjoyed everything about it, the screened porch with the daybed, the outdoor shower (the kids loved it), the open front porch, loved the Adirondack chairs, the fully stocked kitchen, loved that we could all sit at the table together and in the family room, all the games and DVDs, the Master bed is like sleeping on a cloud, I could go on and on.... Ken and the boys rode bikes all over the island. We had a shirmp boil and ate on the screened porch. :-) Enjoyed the walks on the beach late in the day. And your description and pictures of your cottage were exactly as you said they would be. I would highly recommend your cottage to anyone who is looking for a family friendly clean place to stay... Thank you for helping make this vacation one we won't forget for a long time.... "Tybee Time" where all our cares DID simply melted away and we DID make some memories. Thank you again for a GREAT family vacation!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 7

 

Awesome!

Review submitted: January 30, 2012   Date of arrival: April 22, 2011

This was our first time staying at Island Dog Cottage...could not imagine staying any where else now! The cottage was very clean and decorated very cute. We loved the screened in porch, nice place to relax in the morning and after a day at the beach. The layout is great...the lower level would be great for teenagers or older kids. Every detail was wonderful, the owner was very informative about the area. Enjoyed our stay here...we will be back.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: So glad you enjoyed your stay! We hope you had the chance to try out some of the great Tybee restuarants during your stay!

Helpful votes: 5 / 6

 

Lovely Cottage

Review submitted: January 13, 2012   Date of arrival: November 7, 2011

What a lovely cottage! I felt at home the moment I walked through the front door. The cottage was clean, organized, and decorated so cute! Our favorite room was the huge screened porch. That is where we had our coffee in the morning and where we sipped our wine each evening.
Although there were only 3 of us staying this week, the cottage layout is perfect for families. The downstairs bedrooms would allow for some privacy for teens or another family.
I plan to visit next fall as the weather is just right during October/November and will be staying at the Island Dog Cottage.
Bring your bikes or rent them there. You can get anywhere on the island by bike.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Although Summer is Tybee's busy beach season, the Spring and Fall (even Winter) bring wonderful events and the weather is mild enough for walks on the beach year-round. The full-time residents on Tybee are the most genuine and helpful people I have ever met!

Helpful votes: 6 / 7

 

Great family getaway.....

Review submitted: February 26, 2011   Date of arrival: November 25, 2010

This place is great! We've visited in the Spring, Summer, and Fall, and have always loved it! We've been there with just our immediate family (of 4) and with extended family totaling 11 people. The cottage is so cute (check out the pictures they posted) and relaxing. Even with 11 people, there's room enough to spread out if you want quiet time. Or, if you prefer to be in the midst of lots of family and friends, there are plenty of spaces for that, too! My favorite place is the screened-in porch! It has comfortable wicker furniture, a picnic table that can seat 12 or more people, and it is soooooooo charming! I love to just sit and read a good book, play board games with my kids, or take the time to talk and laugh with family. And, don't worry about bringing books or games - they've got plenty for you to borrow.

The beach is nearby, just a short walk away. We visited it at least once a day! Even though Tybee is a relaxed beach town, there is always something to do if you want to. My kids loved visiting nearby Fort Pulaski and going jet skiing. We've visited four times and still haven't toured the lighthouse or nearby Savannah. I guess we'll have to visit again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 9 / 10

 

Great Vacation place

Review submitted: February 17, 2011   Date of arrival: March 20, 2010

My family and I came to stay at Island Dog Cottage during our Spring Break and had a wonderful time. The house had everything that we needed and more. There were games, movies, plenty of towels and a fully stocked kitchen! The bedrooms were spacious and the main living area was awesome.

The island is a magnificent place to explore. Our daughters and their friends rented bikes and had the freedom (and safety) to explore at their leisure. The beaches are clean and beautiful and we will definitely be going back to this magical place. Our daughters still talk about Tybee and how much fun this vacation was! Great memories were made. Thanks Island Dog Cottage!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 13 / 14

 

Would stay again

Review submitted: January 15, 2011   Date of arrival: March 23, 2007

FAmily reunion 3 years ago...Nice place...easy walk to the beach...

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 5 / 6

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review