reviews for: listing #50472 - San Juan Islands, Washington House rental

The Cedar Field House
  • bedrooms  5
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  3
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  14
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $130 - $570 /nt

sort by:

Cedar Fields, Eastsound WA

Review submitted: April 17, 2014   Date of arrival: April 6, 2014

Overall, this is a great property, reasonably priced and a bit off the beaten path. We enjoyed our stay immensely.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: Thank you for your feedback. We hope you enjoyed your stay.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great house for a family.

Review submitted: November 17, 2013   Date of arrival: November 8, 2013

Great property with lots if room.
We had a wonderful time and highly recommend it.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

So roomy

Review submitted: September 5, 2013   Date of arrival: August 23, 2013

We used this lovely property for extended family to attend our daughter's wedding. We loved the setting, the view, and the layout which has two kitchens and laundry on both floors. Their was plenty of parking. This mattered! Beds were comfortable. Good location.

It might have been a miscommunication between owner and housekeeping, but we only had 10 towels for 14 people. We paid quite a bit extra for the four extra people for three nights. We called owner to see if we could get four more towels. He said we just needed to wash a load. ??? We did not have time to spare. It put us in a predicament smack dab in the frenetic to do's of a wedding.

With water rationing and short turnaround time for housekeeping I never mind washing linen, but it would have been nice to have enough for everyone. Couples shared. It didn't wreck our lives or anything, just very inconvenient.

We were thankful enough for the place that we washed several loads of sheets and towels to to ease turnaround when we left. #passongoodnessanyways

I'd rent it again for large gatherings. It would be nice to have towels for every body.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: We are disappointed to hear that you did not have enough towels for everyone in your group. We will ensure there are at least 14 towels so everyone can have their own. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your time at the home and we look forward to having you stay with us in the future!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Spacious Vacation Retreat

Review submitted: August 1, 2013   Date of arrival: July 25, 2013

Served our wedding party well-plenty of room to spread out. Boys played croquet while girls crafted and prepped. Lovely wild life setting and privacy but convenient to Eastsound and ferry. Thanks, Jesse!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Spacious, great views but not clean

Review submitted: July 1, 2013   Date of arrival: June 25, 2013

Beautiful property with an older home that is unfortunately neglected. Let me preface this by saying I am not a clean freak and have rented older and modestly priced vacation rentals in the past. However the cleanliness of this home does not extend beyond the bedrooms or bathrooms.

The pros-
Clean bedrooms and bathrooms. Beautiful scenery and land to explore. Fenced garden full of butterflies. Fire pit with lots of firewood. Spacious house. Lots of cooking tools.

The cons-
The grill was caked (it took an hour to burn it off) with old food and grease and the grill brush had no bristles left on it. Freezer and dishwasher in lower level were moldy. Sugar ants had taken over the lower kitchen (built a nest in the power outlet) and were fairly prolific in the upper. Cobwebs with dead bugs in every corner of the lower level. Old, perishable food left in the lower fridge. Dirty plates and utensils found in cabinet in upper kitchen. Coffee maker in upper kitchen had old moldy coffee grounds in the basket.

Each of these items isolated is not so bad but the number of things we had to clean up just to make it useable was annoying, we were after all supposed to be on vacation.

I understand that affordable means you may only get one towel (which we did) and the games will be missing pieces (which they did) and maybe the decor is a bit worn and pieced together from yard sales and IKEA (which it seemed to be). All fine. But I still expect a certain level of cleanliness throughout regardless. Cedar Field failed to deliver. Bummer.

Helpful votes: 11 / 11

 

Family with toddlers

Review submitted: February 20, 2013   Date of arrival: February 16, 2013

We spent a lovely weekend at Cedar Fields. The house is spacious, well equipped, and quiet. The view was peaceful and the birds were a joy to hear in the morning. We will certainly be back.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly

Owners response: Thanks for the review. Cedar Field is certainly quiet and relaxing. With the abundant wildlife... birds, deer, rabbits, and eagles... it's the true wilderness television. Look forward to your return!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Cedar Lodge Review

Review submitted: September 26, 2012   Date of arrival: September 21, 2012

We had a wonderful time on Orcas and the house was everything we needed. There was plenty of room for our crowd of 9 people and the kitchen had all the necessary implements for us to cook some great meals. Only complaint is the rubber mattress pads- a good idea for kids, but uncomfortable for adults. Otherwise it was great!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful, Central Location with Tons of Space!

Review submitted: September 14, 2012   Date of arrival: August 11, 2012

Cedarfield was the perfect location to celebrate our parent's 50th Anniversary! There was plenty of space for all inside and out. We loved the up and down kitchen and the outside amenities, especially the firepit. We were fortunate enough to be there during the meteor showers and felt we had the best view on the planet. Our parents loved that we could all stay together in one place and really have a chance to catch up and recharge. Outside of Cedarfield, we enjoyed Deer Harbor Charters for a whale watching tour, the top of Mt. Constitution, and a meal at the Rosario Resort. Visiting Orcas was definitely the highlight of our summer. Thank you for such wonderful accomodations!!

Owners response: Appreciate the kind comments on Cedar Field and glad that you and your guest party had a wonderful time! This is what Cedar Field Vacation House is for... catching up and creating great memories.... often under shooting stars.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Excellent Vacation Hom

Review submitted: June 22, 2012   Date of arrival: May 26, 2012

IT was an wonderful experience staying at Cedar field. Everything was neat and Clean and well organized. Owner was also flexilbe for Check In and Check out. We really enjoy the family get to gather over there. I would really recommended these place for vacation rental

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Orcas Island House

Review submitted: May 24, 2012   Date of arrival: May 11, 2012

The house was perfect for our family reunion/wedding. We had a great time on the island and wouldn't hesitate to rent the house again on a return trip! It has such a beautiful garden in the front and the top deck has fantastic views! It is very private and we liked that we couldn't see any other houses from our vantage point.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Loved it!

Review submitted: May 23, 2012   Date of arrival: May 11, 2012

Our stay was for only two nights, but we had a marvelous time. The pictures of the property don't do it justice. Sitting out on the porch and looking at the scenery was fantastic.

We were on Orcas island for a wedding so the house served as a meeting place for the family. There was comfortable space for all of us to visit.

Thank you for sharing your home. We hope to return to your beautiful island soon.

I think our only difficulty was in that we wished check in time was earlier and check ou time a little later.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"A Fabulous Week"

Review submitted: January 23, 2012   Date of arrival: August 20, 2010

"Dear Jesse, Our family had a fabulous week. Thank you for providing a vacation house where we could all be together. In a couple years we would like to do it again."

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"Wished We Had Stayed Longer"

Review submitted: January 23, 2012   Date of arrival: August 4, 2010

"We had a great time at Cedar Field Vacation house on Saturday. It was a really short stay and we really wished we had stayed longer. It was a real good vacation and we really look forward to doing this again in the future. I’d probably mail you in a while about reservation for next year. The kitchens, fire pit, volley ball courts, indoor games, clean bed and bathrooms were all perfect and all our families really enjoyed the experience. There were hardly anything to complain about as everything was there right where we wanted it. If anything, I’d say we had a little trouble figuring out how the heater worked and it got a bit toasty in the night as the default settings heated up the place to over 75. Didn’t realize there was a time zone aspect to it until next day morning."

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"Very Relaxing"

Review submitted: January 23, 2012   Date of arrival: July 7, 2011

Hi, Jesse - We very much enjoyed our stay. Beautiful setting and very relaxing!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"More Than We Expected"

Review submitted: January 23, 2012   Date of arrival: July 29, 2011

"Had a great time at Cedar Field. The place was perfect, very spacious and had everything we needed. It was also very private. The guests were very impressed. Had a blast on Orcas island. The wedding was perfect, weather was sunny, ambience was intimate and just beautiful. It was more than what we expected. Thanks for all your support, thinking of returning someday. Will surely recommend your place."

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Kids Loved Playing in the Field

Review submitted: January 23, 2012   Date of arrival: July 26, 2011

"Thanks. We had a fabulous time at Cedar Field! The kids absolutely loved playing in the field (they wrote you a note in the book!) and the house was so comfortable for all of us. We loved your home and will definitely return!"

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Fire Pit and Badminton Court were a Fun Time

Review submitted: January 23, 2012   Date of arrival: August 8, 2011

"We had a great time, and the house worked out very well. We especially enjoyed the fire pit, and badminton court."

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Enjoyed the Fire Pit and Badminton Court

Review submitted: January 23, 2012   Date of arrival: August 8, 2011

"We had a great time, and the house worked out very well. We especially enjoyed the fire pit, and badminton court."

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Will Definitely Return

Review submitted: January 23, 2012   Date of arrival: July 26, 2011

"Thanks. We had a fabulous time at Cedar Field! The kids absolutely loved playing in the field (they wrote you a note in the book!) and the house was so comfortable for all of us. We loved your home and will definitely return!"

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"Had a Blast on Orcas Island!"

Review submitted: January 23, 2012   Date of arrival: July 28, 2011

"Had a great time at Cedar Field. The place was perfect, very spacious and had everything we needed. It was also very private. The guests were very impressed. Had a blast on Orcas island. The wedding was perfect, weather was sunny, ambience was intimate and just beautiful. It was more than what we expected. Thanks for all your support, thinking of returning someday. Will surely recommend your place."

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Very Relaxing Stay!

Review submitted: January 23, 2012   Date of arrival: July 7, 2011

Hi, Jesse - We very much enjoyed our stay. Beautiful setting and very relaxing!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

review

Review submitted: May 8, 2011   Date of arrival: April 29, 2011

Place was beautiful!! Both TV's did not work, (all 8 of us tried to figure it out and failed.) Watched movies and played games instead. Wireless worked really well, just at bit slow. Nice little fenced in yard if you have small pets. Did not like having to take your garbage home with us. Still, was a great week-end.

Recommended for: pet-friendly

Owners response: Thanks for the positive review. Sounds as though it would be a good idea to have a quick reference guide at both televisions for easy operation. Glad you had an enjoyable time at Cedar Field.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: January 26, 2011   Date of arrival: August 4, 2010

"We had a great time at Cedar Field Vacation house on Saturday. It was a really short stay and we really wished we had stayed longer. It was a real good vacation and we really look forward to doing this again in the future. I’d probably mail you in a while about reservation for next year.

The kitchens, fire pit, volley ball courts, indoor games, clean bed and bathrooms were all perfect and all our families really enjoyed the experience. There were hardly anything to complain about as everything was there right where we wanted it. If anything, I’d say we had a little trouble figuring out how the heater worked and it got a bit toasty in the night as the default settings heated up the place to over 75. Didn’t realize there was a time zone aspect to it until next day morning."

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: January 21, 2011   Date of arrival: August 20, 2010

"Dear Jesse,

Our family had a fabulous week. Thank you for providing a vacation house where we could all be together. In a couple years we would like to do it again."

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Rural and Quiet

Review submitted: October 22, 2010   Date of arrival: November 1, 2009

We stayed at Cedar Field Vacation House on Orcas Island while attending a family wedding. The house is in a beautiful rural location, very quiet and spacious enough to have family close or separate as needed. The two kitchens are a real plus. The decks provide a great place to look out over the countryside and the beautiful natural garden at the house. There is also a wonderful play area in the field with a pond, badminton and various other game equipment. We'd all go back in a shot!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Comfort

Review submitted: October 22, 2010   Date of arrival: September 4, 2010

The stay was overall very comfortable with the serenity of the island along with the comfort of a fully equipped house. From major things like the clean kitchen, bedrooms, patio to small things like poking rod next to the fire place, board games and balls next to the court were all very delighting.

Enjoyed every bit of it and had a wonderful time in Orcas Island thanks to Cedar Field Vacation House.

The only con was the complexity of the heating system to a person who hasn't used something like that before. It got toasty in the middle of the night as the settings automatically defaulted to a higher temperature after a particular time.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Deer Viewing

Review submitted: October 22, 2010   Date of arrival: October 30, 2009

"Hi Jesse! It's a fabulous place! Deer greeted us every day, and the place was spacious enough that we could all gather - or not - as our mood dictated! And we couldn't have asked for better weather. All the best to you! Pam"

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Birthday Party

Review submitted: October 22, 2010   Date of arrival: November 9, 2009

"Mr. McNeil, Today we are celebrating the birthday of one of our party and we can't imagine a more beautiful spot to make merry. You have taken care of all our needs, and we are grateful for all the services provided. We have seen rabbits and deer, and enjoyed hiking on Mountain Lake loop and up Mt. Constitution. It is an incredibly tranquil part of the world, which will draw us back in years to come. Thank you from all of us. The Taylor/Abas Family from Seattle, Berkeley and St. Paul, MN"

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Family

Review submitted: October 22, 2010   Date of arrival: October 22, 2009

"Everything was great at the house and worked well for our family of varied ages. You took care of all our our needs including cribs, gates, games, and best of all – two kitchens! I certainly appreciate everything you offered to us and thank you for such a good experience."

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

New Year's Weekend getaway

Review submitted: October 20, 2010   Date of arrival: January 1, 2010

Hi Jesse,

We had such a great time at Cedar Field! So beautiful and relaxing--thank
you! We did have difficulty finding the driveway when we arrived in the dark,
so perhaps a reflector on the address post or a sign closer to the road would
be helpful?

Thanks so much, and we look forward to the next time.

Ellen


Property Owner Note: "Thanks for the suggestion. I'll do that."

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Suited Our Needs Nicely

Review submitted: October 20, 2010   Date of arrival: February 7, 2010

Hi Jesse,

We had a wonderful stay at your vacation home. Thank you so much. It
suited our needs perfectly for the weekend for our group of 10. We all very
much enjoyed the island, the ultra-marathon event, and your home was so
comfortable and well appointed.

I hope you found everything in order as per your check-out instructions.

With regards,
Sara

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Spacious and Peaceful

Review submitted: October 20, 2010   Date of arrival: February 6, 2010

Hi Jesse,

I didn't have chance to write in the book - yes, we loved your place!
Clean, spacious and very peaceful out there in the field. Thanks so much for everything.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Lovely

Review submitted: October 20, 2010   Date of arrival: May 6, 2010

We enjoyed our visit at Orcas Island and your lovely vacation home was a part of our great experience. We've already started thinking about our next visit. Thank you.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Bald Eagles and Kayaking

Review submitted: October 20, 2010   Date of arrival: July 14, 2010

We enjoyed the house and our trip to Orcas Island! The house worked out well for our extended family (5 adults and 2 kids)...we enjoyed the decks, garden, horseshoes and wonderful views. Also, it was a treat to watch the pair of bald eagles each day. My husband and I did a short kayak trip with Shearwater and had a great experience. We ordered organic produce from John Stewart, Maple Rock Farm and all was awesome....a great treat for a family of mostly vegetarians. THANKS again for a wonderful vacation home!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Excellent week at Cedar House

Review submitted: August 2, 2010   Date of arrival: July 18, 2010

We enjoyed the house and our trip to Orcas Island! The house worked out well for our extended family (5 adults and 2 kids)...we enjoyed the decks, garden, horseshoes and wonderful views. Also, it was a treat to watch the pair of bald eagles each day. My husband and I did a short kayak trip with Shearwater and had a great experience. We ordered organic produce from John Stewart, Maple Rock Farm and all was awesome....a great treat for a family of mostly vegetarians. THANKS again for a wonderful vacation home!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Clean, Comfortable

Review submitted: May 17, 2010   Date of arrival: May 8, 2010

We enjoyed our visit at Orcas Island and your lovely vacation home was a part of our great experience. We've already started thinking about our next visit. Thank you.

Recommended for: families with young children

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great Place to Stay!

Review submitted: February 16, 2010   Date of arrival: February 12, 2010

Hi Jesse,

I didn't have chance to write in the book - yes, we loved your place!
Clean, spacious and very peaceful out there in the field. Thanks so much for everything.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly

Owners response: Thanks! It is a relaxing location to get away from it all!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: February 16, 2010   Date of arrival: February 16, 2010

Hi Jesse,

We had a wonderful stay at your vacation home. Thank you so much. It
suited our needs perfectly for the weekend for our group of 10. We all very
much enjoyed the island, the ultra-marathon event, and your home was so
comfortable and well appointed.

I hope you found everything in order as per your check-out instructions.

With regards,
Sara Pape-Salmon

Our group is already cooking-up ideas for a return trip to Orcas to explore
more of your beautiful island.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: January 3, 2010   Date of arrival: January 3, 2010

Hi Jesse,

We had such a great time at Cedar Field! So beautiful and relaxing--thank
you! We did have difficulty finding the driveway when we arrived in the dark,
so perhaps a reflector on the address post or a sign closer to the road would
be helpful?

Thanks so much, and we look forward to the next time.

Ellen Holub

Property Owner Note: "Thanks for the suggestion. I'll do that."

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: October 14, 2009   Date of arrival: October 14, 2009

"Hi Jesse!

It's a fabulous place! Deer greeted us every day, and the place was spacious
enough that we could all gather - or not - as our mood dictated! And we
couldn't have asked for better weather.

All the best to you!

Pam"

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: September 15, 2009   Date of arrival: September 15, 2009

"Hi Jesse-

We had a great time! It was the perfect getaway!

Thank you!

We would reccomend this home to others.

Warm Regards,
Rachel"

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: September 12, 2009   Date of arrival: September 12, 2009

"Thanks for a great accommodation for our family. We loved exploring the
island and it was great to be able to stay all together in a beautiful location.
Your house is wonderful and I actually preferred that it was inland. We saw
some great wildlife.

Thanks,

The Vaughts"

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: September 6, 2009   Date of arrival: September 6, 2009

"Dear Jesse,

This was one wonderful end-of-summer vacation! We enjoyed biking on
Lopez - 35 miles - Yeah! Crabbing on Orcas, and just exploring the beauty of
the islands. We had great times around the campfire as well. The size of your
home was perfect for our group of 14. Thanks for the use of such a great
place and the part it played in making such a memorable vacation.

Again, your home is so wonderful and the location just perfect - thank you
for making it available! If we ever need a place to stay again on Orcas - I'll be
booking with you!

With gratitude,

The Ghiglia, Griffith, and Bowe Families"

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 31, 2009   Date of arrival: August 31, 2009

"Our family all had a very nice time at the Cedar Field house. We
appreciated the spacious house large enough to accommodate a large family.
With 2 kitchens, and five bedrooms, we were all able to stay together
for a fun time. We definitely recommend this place for family
get-togethers." - Dave Chong

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 17, 2009   Date of arrival: August 17, 2009

"Mr. McNeil,

Today we are celebrating the birthday of one of our party and we can't
imagine a more beautiful spot to make merry.

You have taken care of all our needs, and we are grateful for all the services
provided. We have seen rabbits and deer, and enjoyed hiking on Mountain
Lake loop and up Mt. Constitution. It is an incredibly tranquil part of the
world, which will draw us back in years to come.

Thank you from all of us.

The Taylor/Abas Family
from Seattle, Berkeley and St. Paul, MN"

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 16, 2009   Date of arrival: August 16, 2009

"This place is gorgeous (the photos on the web do not do it justice). The house
easily and comfortably fits 10 adults. It was clean, and the beds were
comfortable. I would highly recommend this place. A wonderful base from
which to explore the beautiful san juan islands!"
-Amanda Elson, Baltimore, MD

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful Orcas Island rental

Review submitted: August 11, 2009   Date of arrival: August 6, 2009

This place is gorgeous (the photos on the web do not do it justice). The house easily and comfortably fits 10 adults. It was clean, and the beds were comfortable. I would highly recommend this place. A wonderful base from which to explore the beautiful san juan islands!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 20, 2009   Date of arrival: July 20, 2009

"I wanted to say thank you for a very nice visit to your house and Orcas Island. What a beautiful setting and we loved the island and the various activities. It was fun to hike on Mt. Constitution, visit the farmer's market on Saturday, go out on a whale watching boat, rent kayaks and paddle in the bay, and just eat and visit. We really appreciated the atmosphere of the island and friendliness of the people."
-Joy Zahl, Spokane, WA

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 15, 2009   Date of arrival: July 15, 2009

"Everything was great at the house and worked well for our family of varied ages. You took care of all our our needs including cribs, gates, games, and best of all – two kitchens! I certainly appreciate everything you offered to us and thank you for such a good experience."

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 14, 2009   Date of arrival: July 14, 2009

"Thank you for the fantastic accommodations. The island is majestic, the house is lovely, and the location is beautiful. Between the house and the island itself, along with the sea kayaking, fishing, and sunset from Mt. Constitution, it was the perfect weekend - especially for an east coaster. Many Thanks!

-Josh Borthwick, Ithaca, NY

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: July 9, 2009   Date of arrival: July 9, 2009

This place was awesome! I wanted a group of people to spend my 50th birthday with me and I wanted to be on Orcas Island. Cedarfield allowed people to have their own space as well as joining together for meals and food prepartion. The quiet serene setting allowed tons of relaxtation. I will definately rent this home again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 9, 2009   Date of arrival: July 9, 2009

Hi Jesse

We had a great time at the Cedar Field House! It was the perfect place for our wedding rehearsal dinner and a great place for family and friends to stay for our wedding. The guests loved staying there and enjoyed the beauty of the surrounding area. It was very family friendly and everyone had a wonderful time! Thank you Jesse for opening up your home to us and our family!

We will highly recommend your house to friends as a wonderful place to stay on Orcas Island.

Sincerely, Susan Mini (actually now it is Susan Ford! :-)

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 5, 2009   Date of arrival: June 5, 2009

Hi Jesse,

My family and I enjoyed the stay in your vacation house. We like the view and the playground for the kids. We actually took a lot of pictures.

Thank you....

Raquel

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 30, 2009   Date of arrival: May 30, 2009

"Everything at the house was great for our group. It was so nice to be able to spread out and have plenty of indoor and outdoor spaces to be alone, hang out in small groups, or all be together all at once."

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Time

Review submitted: May 20, 2009   Date of arrival: May 9, 2009

We had a wonderful, relaxing stay at Cedar Field. Each of our grown kids had a room to themselves; which allowed us to be together yet have our private space. We also liked the layout of the house and how well the kitchen was stocked with dishes, pans, etc. Our sons enjoyed the deep soaking tub after a day of hiking. The location was so peaceful and quiet, and we thoroughly enjoyed seeing the deer, rabbits, eagles and hearing the frogs on the pond each evening. Our family enjoyed playing horseshoes, lounging on the patio and decks in the evening as well as being able to BBQ outdoors. Thanks again for sharing your beautiful home with us.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 18, 2009   Date of arrival: May 18, 2009

Jesse,

We had a wonderful, relaxing stay at Cedar Field. Each of our grown kids had a room to themselves; which allowed us to be together yet have our private space. We also liked the layout of the house and how well the kitchen was stocked with dishes, pans, etc. Our sons enjoyed the deep soaking tub after a day of hiking. The location was so peaceful and quiet, and we thoroughly enjoyed seeing the deer, rabbits, eagles and hearing the frogs on the pond each evening. Our family enjoyed playing horseshoes, lounging on the patio and decks in the evening as well as being able to BBQ outdoors. Thanks again for sharing your beautiful home with us.

Jan Larsen

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Fantastic house and Great location!

Review submitted: April 16, 2009   Date of arrival: April 10, 2009

We had a FANTASTIC time. Your house, location and surrounding property were amazing. The house itself held our group of 10 perfectly, we had enough room to sleep as well as to sit and connect as friends. The kitchen was fully equipped, so we were able to make huge family-style meals and everyone was able to just relax amongst the beautiful scenery.

We found the house to be a great fit for us, and the fact that it was well equipped with everything made our weekend flawless! The weather was beautiful for April (we were expecting rainy skies) so we sat outside and even made a great bonfire at night.

Thank you, thank you, thank you! The Cedar Field House was the perfect setting for our mini-reunion and allowed us to not stress about any logistics, and rather just focus and relax and re-connect as a group.

We definitely plan on coming back next year - in fact, everyone kept raving about the house and telling me that I HAD to get it again next year!!! See you in 2010.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 16, 2009   Date of arrival: April 16, 2009

Jesse,

We had a FANTASTIC time. Your house, location and surrounding property were amazing. The house itself held our group of 10 perfectly, we had enough room to sleep as well as to sit and connect as friends. The kitchen was fully equipped, so we were able to make huge family-style meals and everyone was able to just relax amongst the beautiful scenery.

We found the house to be a great fit for us, and the fact that it was well equipped with everything made our weekend flawless! The weather was beautiful for April (we were expected rainy skies) so we were able to sit outside and even make a great bonfire at night.

Thank you, Thank you, thank you! The Cedar Field House was the perfect setting for our mini-reunion and allowed us to not worry about the logistics, and just relax and re-connect as a group.

We definitely plan on coming back next year - in fact, everyone kept raving about the house and telling me that I HAD to get it again next year.

Most likely it will be the same time of year - late March or early April.

Thanks again for everything!

-Meghan Wagner

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: September 27, 2008   Date of arrival: September 27, 2008

we had a wonderful time staying at the cedar field house. what a great spot!

thanks again
Laura White

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 19, 2008   Date of arrival: August 19, 2008

"Hi Jesse,

We just got home from our great vacation! We had such a good time! Beautiful area, plenty of room, lots of privacy - - didn't disturb anyone with our laughing! The house accommodated all of us so nicely. Thanks so much!

PS Also - thanks for the info about crabbing. We caught enough to make a great crab salad!"

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 7, 2008   Date of arrival: August 7, 2008

"We had a great time. The weather was perfect and the house is in a fantastic location, it felt like there was no one else around us. Definitely a great spot, we loved sitting out on the deck after the sun went behind the mountain. Thanks again."

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 4, 2008   Date of arrival: August 4, 2008

"Jesse, We had a terrific time - the house turned out to be a great match for our needs -- ended up using all the bedrooms and being very comfortable. The deck is fabulous. Don't know if you did the work on that yourself, but it was great and a great relief that it was so child-friendly. Also appreciated the mowed field with volleyball and badminton - note that the volleyball got a workout and cover began to split along one seam -- cloth cover is great on hands but may not last. Did not use fire pit, as fire-danger was high. Weather cooperated on all but one day - that happened to be the day I elected to take a whale-watch cruise. No problem for me - enjoyed cruise regardless, and got me out of house. Everyone else was happy to have a day of inside stuff - thanks again for all the family-stuff there. The dogs absolutely loved being out there - spent most of their time on the deck or out on the grass around the yard -- absolutely terrific for family-dog combination -- very much appreciated! Thank you again for your help and for making this great place available! Tom"

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 10, 2008   Date of arrival: July 10, 2008

"...the landscaping in front of the house is beautiful."

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 8, 2008   Date of arrival: July 8, 2008

"...the kids liked running around outside and we enjoyed the quiet of the surroundings. The house was also in a very convenient location."
-Peter Weiss, Seattle, WA

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review