reviews for: listing #50487 - Laguna Beach, California Cottage rental

Sharon's Garden Cottage By The Sea
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  no
  • type  Cottage
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community  South Laguna
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $100 - $150 /nt
    $700 - $1,000 /wk
    $2,500 - $3,000 /mth

sort by:

Wonderful week

Review submitted: June 28, 2014   Date of arrival: June 20, 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our honeymoon stay at Sharon's Cottage. She made us feel very welcome. Our stay was worry free. The cottage has everything a traveler needs. It's comfortable, safe, clean, homey, great location, convenient parking. Most of all, it was comfortable. We will definitely be back.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for your wonderful review, we enjoyed having you and so glad you choose our little beach cottage for your honeymoon. Would love to have you back.
Sharon

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

cottage by the sea

Review submitted: June 24, 2014   Date of arrival: June 1, 2014

my purpose of my vacation was to relax, but I didn't. They had construction next door started as 7 am and went on until 5 pm. Bedroom was a basement with vey low ceiling .Iam 5:2 and kept hitting my head every time .The place is close to the beach but the beach over there has no public restrooms . for me it wasn't worth it.....

Recommended for: adventure seekers

Owners response: I was very sorry that this guest was so unhappy, as it was not evident to me during her stay. Unfortunately her complaints are things that are beyond my control, when she arrived we went over these issues and I gave her information as to what beaches had restrooms. She did continue to stay for the time she had booked. I have been renting my cottage for several years now, and as shown with the past reviews, there have been very few complaints. When a guest expresses a complaint, I always try to address it and resolve it if possible.

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Dream Home Away From Home

Review submitted: April 25, 2014   Date of arrival: April 17, 2014

Sharon's cottage was completely amazing! The pictures don't do it justice. Our stay was very pleasant and the cottage very cozy. The garden was so beautiful and we enjoyed the atmosphere of both the cottage and neighborhood. The essentials were in walking distance (restraint and convenience stores). The cottage was complete with everything we needed to survive the week: towels, soaps, dishes, extra blankets, pillows, movies, books, etc. We had such a good time and look forward to our return!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, romantic getaway

Owners response: Sabrina,
Thank you so much for such a wonderful review, and I am glad you two had such a wonderful honeymoon at my little beach cottage. Would love to have you back again sometime. Check the calendar for open dates and I will book you. Again Thanks.Sharon

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Sharon’s Cottage Laguna Beach

Review submitted: March 5, 2014   Date of arrival: February 18, 2014

Charming, cozy, immaculate, private, quiet and affordable.

We spent three days relaxing in historic Laguna Beach, leaving our hectic lives behind while luxuriating in the artistic ambiance and marine climate.

The cottage is well stocked with DVDs and books, especially books on the history of Laguna’s founding and rise to its current eminence.

Having lived in Laguna Beach in the 80’s much has changed, but the locals, sights, sounds and bonhomie are all still there, waiting for our return.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you so much for your wonderful review, we really enjoyed meeting you and loved learning about community fresh market places. Please check the calendar and
book another trip for your "get away time."
Sharon

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Amazing Laguna stay

Review submitted: October 24, 2013   Date of arrival: October 18, 2013

I had the most beautiful time in Sharon's little cottage by the sea. Thank you so much Sharon for such a good location and time. She provided me with healthy good brand bagels, fresh fruit, coffee, movies , books , beach towels. It was an excellent stay. Extremely cozy and comfortable. Easy access to beaches and downtown Laguna , just as close to Dana point and San Clemente. I went shopping in town at the lab in Costa Mesa, ate at a bunch of amazing restaurants and also hiking. I will be bringing my 3 year old in January for her birthday after Disneyland!
Sharon was extremely kind and welcoming :)

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you Aimee for your wonderful review. I am so glad you had such a wonderful mini vacation, and look forward to meeting your daughter in January. Glad that you could meet so many wonderful people in my area, and you gave me a new website to let my other guests know the various activities and ways of meeting people in my area.
Sharon

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A Perfect Beach Cottage

Review submitted: September 20, 2013   Date of arrival: August 1, 2013

We had a great time in Sharon's Cottage by the Sea. The cottage itself is adorable and laid out so well for its compact size; it feels more roomy than the square footage suggests. In addition, the large front porch and garden is such a lovely place that we spent most of our time relaxing outside and ate every meal there. The neighborhood too is a great place for walks, with amazing views, friendly folks and beautiful landscaping.
Sharon has decorated so well and every detail is thought of including a fruit basket, bagels, full ice tray... upon arrival. I was touched by all the thoughtful extras and mostly by her sincerely kind heart.
We can't wait to go back and truly did come as guests and leave as friends.

Owners response: Carole,
Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We really enjoyed having your wonderful family for the month of August and part of September. You enjoyed the cottage the way we like our guests to, eating on the deck looking at the garden.We are looking forward to having you back next summer. Have a good year.
Sharon

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect charming cottage in a perfect town

Review submitted: September 23, 2012   Date of arrival: August 24, 2012

You simply MUST stay here........I have never felt so at home,the cottage is decorated in the most beautiful sea blues and greens,the garden is gorgeous and Sharon, the host ,is the most friendly approachable person i think i may have ever had the honor of meeting.With the window open in the evening you can hear the sea,the neighbourhood is delightful and friendly and all this situated within a 5 minute drive of Laguna centre or a short stroll to the lovely beaches with restaurants and stores close by also.We are already planning our next trip and were sad and tearful when we had to depart (now that says it all!).

Owners response: Karen,
Thank you so much for your wonderful review, we also so enjoyed meeting you and your daughter and glad that your vacation together was so much fun. We would love to have you back anytime, and hopefully we can take a trip to England and visit you in your homeland.

Again thanks to two such wonderful world travelers.
Sharon

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Laguna Beach Cottage

Review submitted: July 26, 2012   Date of arrival: July 2, 2012

My family and I enjoyed our 2 weeks in this cute little beach cottage. The deck and garden are beautiful and the cottage is provided with everything that you could need. Sharon and even her friends and neighbors were very friendly and helpful with local advice on beaches and where to eat. This was a really peaceful, quiet, convenient base from which to explore Laguna Beach and Orange County.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you Jennifer for your wonderful reveiw. We really enjoyed meeting your family and so glad your stay was fun for the kids and relaxing for you and your husband. Looking forward to seeing more of you here in Laguna Beach.
Sharon

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

The most relaxing vacation ever!

Review submitted: July 9, 2012   Date of arrival: June 3, 2012

Sharon's cottage is the cutest most serene spot with an Ocean view and equipped with all necessities. Myself, my 83 year old mother, my 18 year old son and our dogs Lexie Lou and Sunny, stayed at Sharon's for one month to celebrate a big birthday for me and my son's graduation from high school.

The cottage is small but adiquate (we never felt crowded0, and yes, the downstairs ceiling was low for myself at 5'10" and my son at 6'3", but Sharon was kind enough to bring him back a hard hat from her vacation to Nevada for her family members graduation! The hard hat came in handy and was a laugh every time one of us put it on!

My family and I relaxed, enjoyed all tourist spots near and far, and friends I hadn't seen in 15 years or more wear able to visit me several times. The cottage neighbors are friendly and helpful and it also is nice that Sharon is just next door, she is so sweet and helpful, you will want for nothing!

I enjoyed my stay so much that I am seriously thinking about moving back to California. I may have to stay at Sharon's again in order to make my move. I would certainly return for vacation if my move is not possible. We have made a friend for life.

Sharon thanks for everything!,
Janet, Brent, Mona, Lexie and Sunny

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Janet,
Thanks you so much for such a wonderful review. We also enjoyed your family's stay. I was a little worried at first with three of you and two dogs in the small cottage, but it seemed to fit for you all. You were so courteous and quiet, we hardly knew you were there. Would love to have all of you back anytime there is an opening on the calendar. Glad you made it home safe, and I am sure Brent really appreciates what a wonderful gift you gave him for his graduation. We would love to see you if we ever go through Texas, and also feel we made a friend for life.
Sharon

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Great Stay. Charming Location

Review submitted: June 18, 2012   Date of arrival: May 15, 2012

We were really impressed with the cottage. It was very clean and well kept. The location was great. The porch alone with the beautiful garden would have made it worth renting. Sharon was very hospitable. I would love to stay again.

Owners response: Courtney,
Thank you so much for your wonderful review. Would love to have you all back again, you were wonderful guests.
Sharon

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Lovely Cottage

Review submitted: March 3, 2012   Date of arrival: November 23, 2011

My husband and I stayed several days at Sharon's lovely cottage and we had a wonderful time. The location and cottage were perfect in every way. The cottage is a delight! The decor, cozy accommodations and lovely garden surrounding the patio made us feel relaxed and right at home. We enjoyed pleasant walks in the friendly and peaceful neighborhood and were absolutely delighted with the beautiful beaches nearby, shops, art studios, restaurants, community garden, amazing sunsets and much more. All this was within walking distance or a short drive or bus ride. During the summer months you can enjoy free transportation on Laguna's open air trolleys. One of the bus/trolley stops is just a short walking distance from the cottage.

An added plus to spending a wonderful time in Laguna was Sharon's warm welcome and friendly and caring manner. This made our stay at her cottage extra special. My husband and I look forward to our next vscation at Sharon's lovely cottage in beautiful Laguna and will share our wonderful experience with family and frienbds.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks you so much for your lovely reveiw of my cottage by the sea, we loved having you and so happy you finally could get the review on the website. Again thanks so much.Would love to have you again.
Sharon

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful stay!

Review submitted: February 11, 2012   Date of arrival: February 3, 2012

We enjoyed this quaint and relaxing little cottage. The cottage provided everything we needed for our get away, and the front courtyard garden was especailly relaxing for breakfast and reading. You can walk to find breakfast, lunch or dinner and enjoy the lovely beachside community. Neighbors were quiet and friendly. We look forward to a return trip!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Cathy,
Thank you so much for this wonderful review. We also enjoyed your stay and would love to have you back. Hope your daughter is enjoying her surfing.
Sharon

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Nightmare in Laguna

Review submitted: January 26, 2012   Date of arrival: September 10, 2011

We drove up to the property & a man in the neighbouring yard mumbled to us "just go right in. door is open." This is where our nightmare began. The longer we were there the worse it got. Here are the highlights from the emails I sent the owner -- I lifted the dirty mats/rugs up and found tons of sand everywhere. I had to sweep the floor! The kitchen was not clean -- the drawers were sticky & crumbs of food in drawers, appliances filthy. In the bathroom hairy & dusty. The worst was the bedroom which was a basement type area that was not only damp which made it hard to breathe, but had its own dust bunnies given it had not been cleaned in some time. I have emails and photos to support my hellish one night stay. This was not a clean nor safe place to stay. Granted after I complained to the owner of the lack of cleanliness and my health concerns, she promptly gave me my money for the remaining nights (2 nights) & deposit back in cash. As I explained to the owner I have 10 holiday rentals myself and perhaps my standards of cleanliness are different than hers!

Owners response: I was very suprised by this review, in the three years that I have been renting my cottage, I have had over three hundred guests, and two that have left early because they did not like the cottage, the others have left wonderful statements in the guest book provided about their happiness with the cottage and their stay. In fact I have had several repeats that come back several times.

When this guest arrived, she was already angry as there had been a power outage that had inconvienced her and some trouble in renting her car. She did not say anything when she first arrived, I alway ask my guests to let me know if something is wrong within the first hour of arriving so I can fix it for them. She sent me an email, the next morning, even though I live right next door. I offered to clean the places she was complaining about, but the list got so long I did not want someone unhappy living on my property, so I gave her back her money and sent her on her way, without charging a fee.

I find it sad, that this guests spent her precious vacation time in beautiful Laguna Beach with so much to do, going over every nook and cranny in the cottage to find something wrong.

I can assure any future renters that I will respond as quickly as possible to your concerns, as I want you visit at my cottage as pleasant as though they were home.

Helpful votes: 4 / 6

 

Great Location

Review submitted: October 31, 2011   Date of arrival: October 23, 2011

We couldn't have picked a better place for our visit to Southern California. Trips to San Diego, Hollywood, LA, Pasadena and Anaheim were all within reasonable driving distance.

The cottage inside was adorable! It had everything we needed and then some. The patio was beautifully cared for and a treat to sit out in. The owners were friendly and helpful at every turn. My deposit was even refunded to my PayPal account before I returned home. (She will mail you a check, if yo prefer, so don't worry if you don't have PayPal). You can't see the ocean from the cottage but sitting outside at night, we could hear the waves crashing, that's how close it is. My mother and I totally enjoyed our stay there and would highly recommend it. Something to be aware of, and this is NOT a complaint, simply FYI: The shower is tiny. There's lots of room for your products, i.e. shampoo, conditioner, etc but if you are a very large person, it might be a bit cramped. Otherwise, the rooms are all very nice sized. The view from the downstairs bedroom could have been very drab as it faces a fence just a couple feet away except Sharon has planted beautiful flowers outside the fence which makes it a beautiful scene to wake up to.

If I'm ever in need of staying somewhere this centrally located to all that Southern California has to offer, this will be the place I come back to.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you Cindy for such a nice review, we really enjoyed your visit and would love to have you back anytime. Hope the weather has calmed down in Connecticut and you can get on with your fall season.
Sharon

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Romantic Place to Discover Laguna

Review submitted: October 2, 2011   Date of arrival: September 23, 2011

We had a very pleasant stay in this very romantic and lovely beach cottage. You might be far away from home, but entering the cottage feels like coming home in Hawaiian style. Everything you need to have a good stay is provided: clean sheets and bed covers, electrical equipment, nice kitchen + goods, good instructions about the cottage and good advices from the landlord. You can feel and see this house is loved by its owner. We have got absolutely no remarks about this one and we travel a lot and have seen about anything. Price and quality are both excellent!

The beach is a ten minute walk away, the city center 5 minutes by car. We would recommend this cottage to everyone who wants to discover Laguna Beach and make use of the hospitality of its owner. We are sure you will come back after your stay at Sharon's Beach Cottage.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review