reviews for: listing #50572 - Puerto Rico, Caribbean Villa rental

Amapola House Beach Area Villa Sky Deck Hot Tub Great Rates
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  no
  • type  Villa
  • baths  3
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Puntas Beach Hills
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $225 - $275 /nt
    $1,575 - $1,925 /wk
    $3,950 - $5,600 /mth

sort by:

Amapola House: More Than We Expected

Review submitted: August 3, 2008   Date of arrival: July 2, 2008

We're among the first to stay at Amapola House, because it's brand new. It's much more than what we saw online. The stay was totally enjoyable. The place is quiet has everything you'd want for a beach-area villa and more. The view from the rooftop is awesome, with unforgettable sunsets, especially from the spa tub. We loved all the modern touches, such as super-quiet A/Cs, the bar and wine cooler, silky mega-count linens and super thick towels. The beaches, only minutes away, were pristine and we had great lunches and dinners at the many restaurants located at Sandy Beach; the beach bars had live music and friendly barkeeps and locals. We took advantage of the promotional introductory rates, but will gladly pay the full rate to spend more time at Amapola House when we return for our Winter vacation.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: At Amapola House, we appreciate the feedback that we receive from our Guests. We strive to improve our accommodations and amenities to ensure a comfortable and enjoyable stay, by providing sensible lodging services in an elegant setting, surrounded by the natural beauty of Rincon.

Helpful votes: 28 / 33

 

A trip to remember

Review submitted: December 12, 2013   Date of arrival: November 26, 2013

What a great place! Very up to date and clean. The views are amazing and the hot tub says it all. Great location just minutes away from everything. We will deffinatly be back.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great villa, awesome vacation!

Review submitted: August 20, 2013   Date of arrival: August 9, 2013

All my family enjoyed our time in Puerto Rico. The villa was great, exactly as described. Nice, clean, everything worked perfectly including wi-fi. Tips for beach goers, just 15 miles away is a perfect spot called "Crash Boat Beach" in Aquadilla with pristine clear water and white sand. For divers I would definitely recommend go to Desicheo Island with Taino divers. Visibility was about 100 ft, beautiful reef and shore caverns. Overall great vacation. Thanks you Anthony for a perfect place.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Charming, Beautiful, Fun!

Review submitted: February 14, 2013   Date of arrival: February 7, 2013

Wow, what a great time! We stayed at the Amapola House last weekend, and never wanted to leave! We are a group of 20-something relatives (brothers, sisters, cousins, significant others, etc.), and the Amapola House was perfect for us. It was clean and cozy, and its well-appointed interior and personal touches made it feel like a "home" and not like just another vacation rental. The property manager/concierge lives close-by and is very accomodating (for instance, we were able to check in much earlier than expected due to a change in our arrival plans). The house is located within easy walking (or stumbling... as might have been the case once or twice for us!) distance from Sandy Beach and the numerous bars and restaurants located near the beach (such as Tamboo and Casa Verde). The rooftop patio is truly a magical place at night, with millions and millions of stars visible. One tip: Let the hot tub start warming up HOURS before you want to use it - same goes for the oven. My brother who is an engineer said this might have more to do with the Puerto Rican power grid and less to do with the functionality of the appliances themselves.

Summary: Great house, great memories, great location. You will not be disappointed with this place - by far the best rental in this size and price range I've seen in all our trips to Rincon!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

A nice place to stay in Rincon

Review submitted: January 22, 2013   Date of arrival: January 7, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed at Amapola House with our families. We were impressed with how immaculate and pretty the house was. It was very nice to have the separate apartment downstairs too for some privacy. The view is lovely from the deck or the roof and the hot tub was great too. It would be nice to have a little more shade on the roof, maybe over the table. You can walk down the big hill to Sandy Beach, which is beautiful, though it was quite windy with large waves the whole time we were there so it was preferable to drive around the corner to Tres Palmes for swimming or snorkling. The outdoor shower was useful and the indoor hot showers were lovely - when you turn on the shower, don't turn the handle all the way to the right, only turn it a little (the hot & cold is reversed). Ode to the Elephants is very close, with good music and atmosphere, and pretty good Thai food too. :)

Only a couple of things detracted a little from our stay; one was that there weren't really any basics in the house upon arrival; often in rental houses you'll find things like salt and pepper left over from previous guests; Amapola kitchen was basically bare. And the kitchen is not very big; it's quite easy to fill the little refrigerator to overflowing. Not a big deal though. The other thing was that we'd somehow missed that we were supposed to check out by 10am on the last day. Understandable, as they need to clean and prepare for the next guest, but to make breakfast and clean up and pack everything by 10am can be a bit rushed. Also no big deal.

We very much appreciated the dominoes set, and spent some quality family time learning some games, and the ipod sound set-up, which let us have nice background music going during cooking and dinner. I would not hesitate to recommend Amapola House to friends. :)

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: We always welcome great feedback from our Guests at Amapola House. We strive to make sure that our Guests find a clean, modern and beautiful home when they arrive for their vacations.
As in most self-catered vacation rentals, when Guests check-out, they sometimes leave ice, salt, pepper, sugar and other condiments in the kitchen. If they are sealed, our staff is instructed to leave them for arriving guests. Our Concierge can purchase groceries for Guests, prior to arrival, by prior arrangement.
Our galley kitchen is similar to most other vacation rentals and is designed for eight guests. With the many supermarkets, grocery stores, bakeries and nearby restaurants, most guests find it just right.
We also offer a wine cooler, which may guests use to chill other beverages, in order to provide more space in the refrigerator. Our full size range, microwave oven and BBQ grill provide a variety of cooking choices. The lower level studio also has a refrigerator, microwave-convection oven and a coffeemaker.
Due to a construction defect, the hot water in the showers comes out before the cold water. Our Concierge always makes sure to point that out during the check-in tour and is readily available to answer any questions about Amapola House and its amenities.
At Amapola House, we're flexible with our guest departures and if no one is coming in on the same day we can allow more time, if requested. Our check-out time is actually 11:00 AM, as in most vacation rentals. Check-in and check-out times are listed in our two Guest Guidebooks, rental agreements, websites and our Concierge relays that information during check-in.
We're re continually glad to hear that Amapola House and its surroundings is so well enjoyed by everyone that stays with us.

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 24, 2012   Date of arrival: March 27, 2009

Amapola House is a tranquil delight. A group of eight of us travelled to from Ireland to Rincon for a week's stay. This modern villa was immaculate with fantastic utilities and comfortable rooms. I would recommend renting a car if you were to stay here as it's a little off the beaten track, a ten minute walk from the beach and about two miles from the town of Rincon. There are many advantages of staying at this villa, watching the sunset from the rooftop, bathing in the hot tub whilst listening to music, having a nice glass of wine straight from the wine cooler in the kitchen and lots, lots more. You really have to see it to believe it! I would most certainly recommend a stay at Amapola House.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Our Stay in Rincon

Review submitted: April 21, 2012   Date of arrival: April 15, 2012

Rincon was beautiful! The house had everything we needed as mentioned in its ad. The house was clean and ready for the family. Did not receive a call back from the overseer of the house when encountering an issue we had. This would have been concerning had the issue not resolved itself. The area activities were fun and the people of Ricon were friendly and eager to please. Must have a car to get around especially for grocery shopping and necessities for your stay.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Rincon is an Ocean Paradise. Our pictures, video and website virtual tour incorporate professional photos that show exactly what Amapola House is. The area activities are fun and the people are quite friendly to our guests. A car is useful; others choose utilize our Concierge services and walk to the beach and the many restaurants and beach bars. A loose tree branch affected the cable and was handled very quickly. We enjoy and look forward to providing our guests with the best accommodations and great service.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Rincon Stay at Amapola House

Review submitted: December 30, 2011   Date of arrival: December 23, 2011

Our family stayed at the Amapola House for 5 nights over Christmas '11 ( on the western side of PR about 2 hour drive from san Juan airport ).

Positives : Amapola House well appointed and comfortable for family of 6. All modern appliances, great views of the surrounding hills and bay, terrace with Hot tub. Walking distance to Sandy beach ( great for surfing ) - although walk back is up a steep slope. Excellent coffee and muffins at the nearby bakery. Also kids loved the smoothies at Banana Dang's on Rt 413 ( we saw Treasury Secretary Tomothy Geithner with his entourage there ).
Marina at Rincon is a fun place to spend the day - snorkeling, parasailing and cheap drinks at the bar nearby. Played golf at the Aquadilla Punta Borinquen GC ( about 45 minutes drive north - near the Aquadilla airport ). Excellent value ( green fees - $ 20 - 34 inclding cart ) with great ocean views, wind is the main challenge. Grocery shopping at ECONO Grocery store.
Alos highly recommend the Banana Boat ride at Hotel Confresi. Kids loved the ride . Very reasonable ( $ 11 ) for a 20 minute thrill ride. Thai resturant "Ode to the Elephant" nearby walking distance - good food/ambiance.

Negatives : You definitely need a car to get around from Amapola House . Driving the narrow, winding and sometimes steep backroads around Rincon is not for the faint of heart. Take along your car GPS system - although roads and GPS directions do not always match up. Cable TV and internet service has a tendency to go in and out periodically. Nearby resturant Tamboo highly overrated - somewhat pricey and food so-so. Beware of booking a Snorkeling trip with Taino's ( at the Rincon marina ) - especially if they combine divers and snorkelers. Place they took us to was good for divers - but we snorkelers did not see anything ( water too deep, not enough sunlight at 4:00pm ) To their credit - Taino's gave us a substantial refund when we came back and complained.
Also went to La Parragua to see the bioluminesence . Personally thought it was overrated , although my wife enjoyed it.
Also recommend stopping in at the Old Town in San Juan on the way back to the airport on the last day. Very quaint with lots of resturants/cafes. Look for large green iguanas on the walls of the old fort.

Overall a great vacation in Rincon, PR. Great value for money. People generally very friendly . Service at some resturants can be very slow - so check before you order.

Owners response: It's a pleasure to have discerning urban visitors describe their encounter with the natural and laid-back island lifestyle of Rincon and Amapola House. Although a car is recommended to get to all the many beaches and attractions, our Concierge provides airport transportation and taxi service. Overhead lines and breezy conditions can affect cable TV and Internet lines, so an air card is recommended for those that need to be constantly online during their Amapola House vacation. Alternatively, most Rincon places (like Banana Dang) offer free WiFi. With 5 restaurants and beach bars within minutes of Amapola House, choosing a favorite eatery is easy. The best snorkeling sessions are in the morning, to avoid rain and low visibility. Many urban visitors return to Amapola House and we look forward to having you back.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Doesn't get any better

Review submitted: November 14, 2011   Date of arrival: November 4, 2011

Our family and friends had such a great time at this house. We needed nothing. Hot tub was a highlight, sunsets are spectacular! Safe neighborhood, easy walk to beach! A workout coming back uphilll, but not bad. The area is safe and restaurants are close by and exceptional! We love Rincon and the area, 2nd time visiting the area and we will be back! Beaches and waves are beautiful. The house is nice size and well equipped. People are friendly. Banana Dang, Ode to the Elephants, Pools bar n grill...I'm missing it already!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks for your great description of what a stay at Amapola House is about. We strive to ensure that our guests enjoy their stays and that's why we've had so many repeat guests.

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Great house with a great view

Review submitted: April 10, 2011   Date of arrival: November 22, 2010

This house is amazing ! Very comfortable and homey !

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks! At Amapola House we strive to make sure that our guests feel relaxed and comfortable. Our day, sunset and starlight views are spectacular. Our Concierge service provides personal services at arrival, during your stay and upon departure.

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: February 17, 2011   Date of arrival: August 8, 2008

Over the years, we’ve stayed in many guesthouses and B&B’s. Of the many places that we’ve stayed at, Amapola House has, by far, been the most beautiful and most elegantly (yet comfortably) appointed, with the most beautiful views that we’ve ever enjoyed. The back area is beautiful and fits the ambiance that you’ve created at Amapola House. We loved the elegant appointments in every room and the open feeling of the house, since the spaces were so beautifully designed and utilized, even on the rooftop terrace. Your attention to the many details of the interior design is truly extraordinary; from the pots and pans, to the luxurious towels in the baths and even the bar essentials. We absolutely will recommend Amapola House to our family and friends

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: February 17, 2011   Date of arrival: May 23, 2008

This lovely villa gave us the perfect beach vacation. We love the beach, but prefer to sleep not too close to it, so the location was just perfect for our stay. We'd spend our days on the beaches and our nights at beach side restaurants and bars and when we'd be done partying, a cool and quiet night was just minutes away.

On arrival, we were met by someone from the rental agency, who answered all of our questions about the house and the area. She showed us where everything was, including a guest guidebook, which proved to be quite invaluable. We were awestruck by the owner's family heirlooms, the details inside the villa and the family pictures going back to the 1800's, as well as the huge original Rincon '60s surfing pictures by a famous photographer that were just incredible.

Everything was beautiful but functional. The rooftop hot tub at sunset was relaxing and uplifting. The bar and the wine cooler were so convenient. Everything was well designed to take full advantage of the nature preserve and the ocean view; we felt like we were in a private retreat compound, but just minutes from it all; and at a much better price!

Even in June, the ocean breezes were refreshing. The terrace rockers were great, but we'd like to see a few more. The place was super clean and was easy to keep clean with tile on the floors and the kitchen counter. The oversize glass basins in the bathrooms were beautiful and functional. When you turn the lamps on, they glow brighter for a few seconds, a very cool effect. The neighbors were humble and friendly, offering us fruit picked from their trees. We saw thousands of stars above the roof deck and hundreds of fireflies below; these were nights to always remember.

We travel all over, but always enjoy Rincon and now, Amapola House. We've already made our reservations for next year- We love Rincon and adore Amapola House!

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: February 17, 2011   Date of arrival: June 20, 2008

As avid travelers, we've had the opportunity to stay in a great variety of accommodations- from five star hotels in the world's capitals, to quaint B&B's in the French countryside. Every once in a while, we find the perfect combination of value, comfort, and a sophisticated design esthetic. Amapola House is just one of those places. From the comfortable beds with luxury linen, to the fully equipped kitchen (the wine cooler a winner!), to the plentiful hot water in the well laid-out bathrooms and the obvious care and detail of the décor. This vacation rental is tops! Speaking of tops, the sunset terrace affords a beautiful view of the magnificent Puerto Rican sunsets. Achieve a state of utter relaxation as you enjoy a glass of wine in the rooftop Jacuzzi as the sky turns crimson red around you! Amazing. Needless to say, we highly recommend this fabulous vacation home.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Awesome Vacation at Great Value

Review submitted: September 8, 2010   Date of arrival: September 1, 2010

We stayed at Amapola House and the place is awesome! What you see on the Internet is what you are going to get and much more. The area is really quiet. The view from the balcony and from the roof is beautiful. We’re from Carolina, Puerto Rico and I felt like I was in another place. We just stayed for a weekend and on the last day we didn't want to leave, I would have liked to stay forever- I would like to live there! Everything at the house is just beautiful and we had everything there for us; we just bought some things at the supermarket to eat and drink and that was it! A friend who has stayed a lot in the area told us of the many places to go in Rincon, including the great bars and restaurants just minutes from Amapola House. We stayed in September and are planning to stay again in October. We really recommend this place. We Love Amapola House; it’s now our favorite place to stay in Puerto Rico!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Perfect Beach Vacation!

Review submitted: September 8, 2010   Date of arrival: June 4, 2010

This lovely villa gave us the perfect beach vacation. We love the beach, but prefer to sleep not too close to it, so the location was just perfect for our stay. We'd spend our days on the beaches and our nights at beach side restaurants and bars and when we'd be done partying, a cool and quiet night was just minutes away.

On arrival, we were met by someone from the rental agency, who answered all of our questions about the house and the area. She showed us where everything was, including a guest guidebook, which proved to be quite invaluable. We were awestruck by the owner's family heirlooms, the details inside the villa and the family pictures going back to the 1800's, as well as the huge original Rincon '60s surfing pictures by a famous photographer that were just incredible.

Everything was beautiful but functional. The rooftop hot tub at sunset was relaxing and uplifting. The bar and the wine cooler were so convenient. Everything was well designed to take full advantage of the nature preserve and the ocean view; we felt like we were in a private retreat compound, but just minutes from it all; and at a much better price!

Even in June, the ocean breezes were refreshing. The terrace rockers were great, but we'd like to see a few more. The place was super clean and was easy to keep clean with tile on the floors and the kitchen counter. The oversize glass basins in the bathrooms were beautiful and functional. When you turn the lamps on, they glow brighter for a few seconds, a very cool effect. The neighbors were humble and friendly, offering us fruit picked from their trees. We saw thousands of stars above the roof deck and hundreds of fireflies below; these were nights to always remember.

We travel all over, but always enjoy Rincon and now, Amapola House. We've already made our reservations for next year- We love Rincon and adore Amapola House!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Olympian Scout Picks Amapola House

Review submitted: September 17, 2008   Date of arrival: September 2, 2008

I'm an Olympian, anonymously scouting locations for the 2010 Central American & Caribbean Games that will take place in nearby Mayaguez. During my stay in Western PR, I saw many places, ranging from four-star accommodations to staff quarters. I spent a few nights at Amapola House and was so impressed that I've reserved it in advance for my own family's use. I've been everywhere and I'm not easily impressed, but Amapola House sure did. And it wasn't just the location and the great amenities; Amapola House gave me such a positive and energizing vibe, I ran faster and farther than usual. I can't wait to return with my family and enjoy everything that Amapola House has to offer.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks for your feedback and for the wonderful entry in our guestbook at Amapola House. We look forward to having you as our Guests again during the winter.

Helpful votes: 20 / 23

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review