reviews for: listing #5060 - Port Townsend, Washington House rental

Oak Bay Getaway Executive Waterfront retreat
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $175 - $275 /nt
    $900 - $1,900 /wk

sort by:

Untitled

Review submitted: January 17, 2007   Date of arrival: December 1, 2006

"The property was acutually nicer than the photos depicted.
It was a beautiful vacation. The house and property were excellent, we look forward to returning to enjoy again."

Helpful votes: 17 / 18

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Vincent vacation

Review submitted: August 19, 2014   Date of arrival: August 9, 2014

David and Kim,

We just wanted to thank you for sharing your wonderful place. Our family had a great vacation there. The view is amazing and as my mom would have said "Good for the Soul". I was so appreciative of how clean and well stocked your place was. It really felt like home for a week. The area was beautiful and we enjoyed it all. One last thing we love to play family games and were so excited you had some of our favorites. Thank you..

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great House

Review submitted: December 2, 2013   Date of arrival: November 27, 2013

Wonderful house with a fantastic view.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Delightful

Review submitted: November 30, 2013   Date of arrival: November 6, 2013

A wonderful place, peaceful, beautiful. It was a pleasure in all respects.

The owners are gracious and make the business side effortless.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Comfortable beachfront property

Review submitted: August 11, 2013   Date of arrival: June 21, 2013

We arranged to stay at this beach house as a anninversary celebration with our family. All of the financial agreements and documents were executed without problems and all were accurate and transparent. The expectations and house rules were clear as were the issues around the damage deposit which was returned without difficulty. We appreciated these clear details.
The property was exactly as described and there were no surprises. The owner was very helpful with our questions. The house was clean, well maintained and in good working order. The house was stocked with everything one would need. The only thing needed was food. Our party of 5 was very comfortable in this home. The large windows afford spectacular water views. We enjoyed the views from the large deck. The gas grill and outdoor dining furniture were put to good use.
The property is conveniently located close to area attractions and shops. Nearby are activities such as boating trips, shopping and the Olympic Natonal Park recreational opportunities. We took a whale watching cruise from Port Townsend which is located nearby and provides shopping and dining choices. We enjoyed our stay at this house. It is a nice property in a great location and is well managed.. We recommend this property and would return again without hesitation.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great place to stay in the Olympic Peninsula

Review submitted: August 8, 2013   Date of arrival: July 13, 2013

Very comfortable home with a great location for experiencing all the hiking the Olympic Peninsula has to offer. The home has everything you need to be well rested for an active vacation. We came home from whale watching one day and there were 4 (!) bald eagles flying around the beach right in front of the house- amazing.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Girls Getaway!

Review submitted: March 26, 2013   Date of arrival: March 15, 2013

We spent our 3 night girls weekend at Oak Bay Getaway. There were five of us and we had plenty of room and having two bathrooms was great. The location and views are beautiful. David was wonderful to deal with and we will definitely book this again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: Hello Kris, it was wonderful to have you and your freinds visit my home for your getaway weekend. The pace is relaxing and very enjoyable with the open spaces and views thru the large windows. You are welcome back anytime.

David

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

girls weekend

Review submitted: October 25, 2012   Date of arrival: October 19, 2012

very comfortable home. beautiful view. only downside was if you want wifi it is $25. most places include it. also very clean. the owner called on our first night to make sure all was ok.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Just What We Needed

Review submitted: October 16, 2012   Date of arrival: September 26, 2012

A perfect place to stay following a very busy week in Seattle. My husband and I, my mother, and a close friend who had never been to the Northwest before came here after visiting friends in Seattle and showing our friend the highlights of the city. We were delighted to find the house to be just as beautiful, if not more, than the pictures depicted. What's missing in the pictures are the other two fairly good sized bedrooms, one with a king, and the other a queen bed. Watching the sun rise from the master bedroom in the loft was a highlight, as well as watching the full moon cast its glow on the water right in front of us. What a treat! We visited our favorite spots on this part of the Peninsula and felt very comfortable leaving my mother (who had forgotten her passport) in this gorgeous spot while the rest of us made a day trip to Victoria. She had a great time relaxing, catching up on her reading, and enjoying the beautiful view.
We found the house spotless and well cared for. The owner was terrific to work with, very accommodating and helpful. We look forward to another stay in this gorgeous home the next time we visit the northwest.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Cool Summer Getaway

Review submitted: August 27, 2012   Date of arrival: July 28, 2012

A great place to beat the summer heat in a wonderfully scenic waterfront setting. The house was comfortable, clean, relaxing and the beautiful view continued into the night with breathtaking moonrises over the bay. Port Townsend is a reasonably short drive away and Fins is an excellent waterfront restaurant there. We hope to be back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

We'll be back!

Review submitted: August 12, 2012   Date of arrival: May 26, 2012

My husband and I spent a week at the Oak Bay Getaway. It was home away from home. We loved it and will definitely return. The view from the front of the house is great and we could watch the eagles soaring. Very clean and up to date and we are already planning a return trip in 2013. Thanks to the owners for sharing your house!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you Pat, I look forward to having your family and freinds back for another stay.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Awesome!

Review submitted: June 4, 2012   Date of arrival: May 20, 2012

This house was perfect for the four of us, (although it would have accommodated more.) It had everything we needed for a comfortable home base for exploring this part of the Olympic Peninsula, and was a real pleasure to come home to. It was a pleasure to just hang around and enjoy the amazing bay view, the flowers and trees and the birds, including the resident eagles. We picked a rather rainy and dismal week, but agreed that even without sunshine, the area is gorgeous! The property was clean and modern and the kitchen well supplied with dishware, utensils and appliances, etc. There is a closet stocked with family games and several bookcases with books if you forget to bring yours. Port Hadlock has a large grocery store that is nearby for stocking up supplies and the house features a gas BBQ grill out on the deck and a full kitchen inside, but there are plenty of interesting places to eat out if you want a vacation from cooking, too! Ajax Cafe is fun! Dryer weather would have been preferred, but even in the "liquid sunshine" of Washington, this place is a jewel!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Awesome!

Review submitted: June 4, 2012   Date of arrival: May 20, 2012

This house was perfect for the four of us, (although it would have accommodated more.) It had everything we needed for a comfortable home base for exploring this part of the Olympic Peninsula, and was a real pleasure to come home to. It was a pleasure to just hang around and enjoy the amazing bay view, the flowers and trees and the birds, including the resident eagles. We picked a rather rainy and dismal week, but agreed that even without sunshine, the area is gorgeous!
The property was clean and modern and the kitchen well supplied with dishware, utensils and appliances, etc. There is a closet stocked with family games and several bookcases with books if you forget to bring yours. Port Hadlock has a large grocery store that is nearby for stocking up supplies and the house features a gas BBQ grill out on the deck and a full kitchen inside, but there are plenty of interesting places to eat out if you want a vacation from cooking, too! Ajax Cafe is fun! Dryer weather would have been preferred, but even in the "liquid sunshine" of Washington, this place is a jewel!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Family Reunion

Review submitted: April 30, 2012   Date of arrival: March 24, 2012

I rented this lovely home for a family reunion. It is Beautiful ! The kitchen was well stocked, and lacked for nothing, as well as the bathrooms. The home is clean and well maintained. Outside the view of the Bay is Breathtaking. The wraparound deck is wonderful for watching wildlife, there was an Eagle who stayed in the tree next to the deck...... he paid a visit to the yard of Oak Bay and needless to say that I along with other family members got some amazing pictures of him. This home is furnished with some beautiful wall art, fitting for the Pacific Northwest. We stayed at Oak Bay in March, even tho it was in early spring, we spent a lot of time outdoors, and even had a bar-b-q. There were 7 of us staying at Oak Bay and there was plenty of room for us all, this home surpassed everyone's expectations. The owner was great to work with in securing the payment, and refunding the deposit, as well as answering questions. I would not hesitate to stay in this home again, and some of my family is planning on doing so.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Spectacular View!

Review submitted: January 28, 2012   Date of arrival: January 22, 2012

We stayed 5 nights at Oak Bay Getaway and were very happy to see the house was exactly as depicted in the web site. The house was spotless and welcoming at the same time, with a well stocked kitchen, comfortable bedrooms and we always love having a laundry available. We are moving to Port Hadlock in a few months and spent most of our time exploring Port Hadlock, Port Townsend and Sequim, which were all friendly and interesting, but the best part of the day was returning to Oak Bay and relaxing in the evenings. We had some problems with the wireless internet, but the owner was easily reached and responsive to the problem. We had breakfast at the Chimacum Cafe...enormous portions, but friendly service and good food.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The Perfect Vacation

Review submitted: January 17, 2012   Date of arrival: July 10, 2010

Thank you for making your inviting home available to us. The weather was sunny every day, at least in the afternoon:) We enjoyed watching the sea otters and birds, including the little colony of pigeon guillemots around the corner. It was a great place to relax every evening after our daily search for adventure. Lavender farms, wineries, Hurricane Ridge, Whale watching, Port Townsend, Farmers Market, Trip to Victoria BC and the beaches at Fort Flagler and Fort Warden. We ended with a lovely, delicious dinner at the Belmont Restaurant overlooking the water in Port Townsend. Thanks for the wireless too, Kevin followed the Tour De France all week long.

Jill and Kevin CT
Allison NYC
Julia and Dave WA

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderful and Peaceful

Review submitted: January 17, 2012   Date of arrival: October 4, 2010

What a wonderful experience- so peaceful and a marvelous house!! We will be back for more!!

David and Ruth, Tallahassee, Fl.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A Wonderful Getaway

Review submitted: January 17, 2012   Date of arrival: November 24, 2011

A wonderful getaway! Plenty of room for all of us. A great kitchen to prepare meals for the crew. Great location with "AJAX" just down the road for a great and very enjoyable dinner. You can only eat so much turkey! Would love to come back during the summer months, thanks for sharing!

Jill and Gary, Las Cruces, New Mexico

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thanksgiving 2010

Review submitted: January 16, 2012   Date of arrival: November 24, 2010

Oak Bay Getaway- What a great place to be, especially on these clear mornings with plenty of sunshine reflecting off the bay. Thank you for sharing your home our family, it's given us a place to share Thanksgiving. It been refreshing and relaxing for all of us and we hope we can come again!

Truly,

Sam and Allison, Washington D.C.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The Sisters

Review submitted: January 16, 2012   Date of arrival: March 17, 2011

60th Birthday Getaway with "the sisters" what a blast! Had a great time in this beautiful home!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Oak Bay Getaway family vacation

Review submitted: January 16, 2012   Date of arrival: July 8, 2011

What a setting, the description on your web page understates the beauty. The giant A-frame separated from the ocean by 60ft of manicured lawn was absolutely breath taking. We were 6 adults and 2 kids and had more than enough room. Did I mention the sun rise coming up from behind Mt. Baker while sitting on the second story wrap-around deck. We have some pictures of blues, yellows and red-oranges I've never seen before. The grand kids are hooked on crabbing forever.We rowed our row boat 50 yards to drop the 3 crab pots and got 3 rock crabs and 4 dungeness crabs on the first pull. The kids even got a couple on low tide just walking the beach. We raked and ate steamer clams for 2 meals, what a treat. We thought this was a perfect location, out enough where we were as secluded as we wanted to be and town was close enough to enjoy the Saturday market and great art shops. There's some real talent living in Port Townsend. Thank you again, and oh yes, Sally told me to mention how clean and kept up everything was.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Excellent getaway

Review submitted: January 16, 2012   Date of arrival: January 13, 2012

The owners have thought of everything. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Thanksgiving weedend

Review submitted: November 29, 2011   Date of arrival: November 23, 2011

My family and I very much enjoyed the Thanksgiving holiday. We cooked dinner and found everything we needed (other than roasting pan for the turkey which I had brought with us). The house was comfortable for our party which included my daughter & son-in law and 2 grandbabies, my daughter visiting from out of state, my husband and myself. We arrived Wednesday evening to a nice warm house. We had problem logging on to the internet, which was quickly resolved by a call to the owner. The weather for most or our stay was on the stormy side so we didn't spend a lot of time outdoors, however we did make it to the beach and some of our group spend an enjoyable afternoon (storm and all) shopping and eating out in Port Townsend. We had a wonderful time and would certainly consider returning or recommending the house to a friend!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Thanksgiving Weekend

Review submitted: November 29, 2011   Date of arrival: November 23, 2011

My Daughter, son-law, 2 grandbabies and out of state daughter, myself and my Husband all enjoyed our stay. We arrived late the afternoon of the 23rd traveling from SeaTac where we had picked up our daughter and were pleasantly surprised to open up a nice warm house. We had a problem with the internet access which was quickly resolved by the owner. The house was clean, very comfortable for our group. The weather didn't lend itself to too many outdoor activities, but we did get down to the beach a couple of times and some of our group also made it into Port Townsend for shopping and dinner out. It was a great laid back weekend, cozy and comfortable!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Lovely

Review submitted: November 18, 2011   Date of arrival: October 13, 2011

We weren't sure what we would get when we chose this bayside home for our fall retreat, but it was the perfect place for our family to go relax, play board games and reconnect. The house had plenty of dishes and other needs in the fully equipped kitchen, which was great. All we needed to bring was our food. Next time we plan to visit in the summer. There are books, cd's and a TV...Lot's of stuff to do if you needed to sit back and unwind. They even have a telescope for guests to use! It was close to a few small communities for shopping and sight-seeing, some wonderful restaurants as well as several historical forts, all of which we took advantage of. The owners were helpful and friendly to deal with. I would highly recommend staying at their lovely property. I know we will again!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Lovely, comfortable house!

Review submitted: July 1, 2011   Date of arrival: June 25, 2011

Just returned from spending the better part of a week at this lovely rental home. We were a party of 6 adults and one infant in the area for a family wedding. The house more than met our needs, was comfortable, convienently located and offered the most incredible views. The photos, while accurate, don't do the place justice. On a scale of 1-10, it is definitely a 10.

The owner was great to work with and did everything possible to make our visit an enjoyable one. This was our first visit to the State of Washington but hopefully not our last!

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Incredible Place

Review submitted: May 12, 2009   Date of arrival: May 1, 2009

My parents. husband & I just spent a week in this home. It is truly more beautiful in person than the pictures would indicate. Rooms are very nice. Very open feel to the whole house. It really is a restful and relaxing place from which to tour the Olympic Penisula.Owner was very attentive to detail and very pleasant to work with.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 10 / 10

 

Great place to unwind

Review submitted: November 18, 2006   Date of arrival: November 1, 2006

A beautiful house, in a beautiful setting. It's a perfect place to escape to for a bit of peace, yet Port Townsend is only a few minutes away. The photos are beautiful, but the house more than lives up to them. The kitchen is impressively equipped, bedrooms are very comfortable, and the views are amazing. There are lots of nice little touches: we'd forgotten to bring music, and the owners have supplied an eclectic selection of CDs as well as DVDs. Very responsive owners who go out of their way to supply everything you need. Don't wait for nice weather, this place is great rain or shine. I will be back as soon as I can manage it!

Helpful votes: 19 / 19

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review