reviews for: listing #50701 - St Augustine Beach, Florida Condo rental

Vacation Rental Condo Located at Finest Resort on The Beach!
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  yes
  • type  Condo
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Ocean Gallery
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $120 - $196 /nt
    $718 - $1,174 /wk

sort by:

Wonderful time for a young family!

Review submitted: January 8, 2014   Date of arrival: October 19, 2013

We took our family here for a few days of down time before venturing to Disney World for the first time. (Only about 90 minutes away!) We all loved it so much we actually considered skipping Disney! The condo was immaculate and my children (ages 7 and 4) felt so grown up having a TV in their room! They slept well as did we. The King size bed was a nice treat for us and still left us lots of room when one of our little ones sneaked in. The kitchen was well stocked with what we needed to make a few meals at home, but my favourite room was the sun room. The table was big enough for my daughter to do her schoolwork and be left out while we ate at the other end. I loved to sit and read on the couch, especially when it briefly rained one afternoon.
This condo is quite close to the pool and the beach, though we spent most time on the beach. It was beautiful and not crowded at all. But I think our most enjoyable time away from the beach was exploring old St. Augustine. We found many fun places to eat and adorable shops that both we and our children enjoyed. We have already talked a few times about when we could get back again! I would highly recommend this area and this property!

Recommended for: families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Family First Vacation

Review submitted: October 5, 2013   Date of arrival: September 23, 2013

In short: we had a great time!!!! The property is very nice with easy access to the beach. 5 out of 5 stars!!! Highly recommend. Ernie & Gayle were great!

The condo has a nice view of the lake filled with permanent residents: ducks and  turtles that are fairly tame, tons of lizards, an egret, and was there a beaver?

The pools are very nice: only the main is heated. There's a shuffle board. The tot lot should be recycled (rust - its old & my ONLY complaint). Adequate exercise room. The property is close to restaurants and grocery stores: Publix & Winn Dixie. In 20 mins you can be in downtown St Augustine. It has lots of great restaurants!! You have to go see the Alligator Museum...then have an appetizer of alligator tail. Yum! Try it lightly breaded and flash fried.

We arrived late, of course, after all we're traveling with our 3yo son who needs to stretch his legs. The security guys handed us our keys and parking pass: too simple! The folks in the management were great and quite flexible. 

When we entered the condo our son went nuts. he kept saying how big the rooms were - they're big! 

After we got settled we ventured to the beach. The ad says 300 steps. Ernie and Gayle's condo is one level back from the ocean-front condo units. Look on google maps, you'll understand. Anyway 300 steps didn't take long and within 5 minutes of walking we had white sand between our toes!! Be sure to look for tortoises, white crabs, and tons of lizards. I swear there are millions of lizards! 

We loved it so much we extended not only once but twice! Ernie and Gayle were very good to us.

As for the condo: they thought of everything. All the stuff you'd expect: full kitchen, full w&d, nice comfy beds, tvs/wifi-internet/cable, and a beautiful, blissful, quiet, peaceful condo. What we didnt expect & happy Ernie and Gayle included: a small step ladder for my son to wash his hands at the sink, a lot of beach items (chairs, boogie boards, sand toys/buckets, noodles, umbrella), and most important, a temporary rail to put on the side of my son's bed so he doesn't wiggle out!!! Seriously important - thanks!! 

We spent everyday possible on the beach. We rekindled our marriage and my son fell in love with the beach.  In the end, I turned into a lobster despite SPF50 and everyone else came away with a nice tan. 

Sept/Oct is a little windy but the water is still warm-80f. So if you can go when the schools start, do it b'c it is so quiet!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Our first family vacation

Review submitted: May 7, 2013   Date of arrival: April 20, 2013

Hats off to the owners. This property is very spacious and well appointed. Loved the kitchen. Even the wind and rain on the first 3 days could not dampen our spirits. The facility offers so much and the staff are knowledgeable and very friendly. Secured beach access is a short walk from the condo and the pools and hot tubs are well maintained and available from 9am to 10pm. Everything you could need is within just a mile or two, grocery stores, drug stores and restaurants. We enjoyed the food and atmosphere at the Oasis and Zaharia's restaurants. A 10 minute ride will get you to the lighthouse and 15 minutes will get you into downtown St Augustine. Perfect location for whatever you have in mind. We had a wonderful relaxing week at the beach, if there is such a thing with a 2 year old grandchild along. We are looking forward to returning soon.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Beautiful condo

Review submitted: April 17, 2013   Date of arrival: March 29, 2013

Your condo was very beautiful and well supplied and Ernie couldn't have been nicer to work with. We made one mistake, we left my son and his wife take the master bedroom and the town beds in the guest bedroom were too hard for my husband and me. Otherwise everything couldn't have been better! We just both have bad backs and can't take hard beds. Thanks so much for sharing you wonderful condo with us. I'm telling my other son about it incase he makes it to St. Augustine next year. Thanks again, Kay and Rich

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Fun wedding!

Review submitted: October 16, 2012   Date of arrival: August 18, 2012

Ernie and Gayle,
Thank you so much for sharing your home with us. Our vacation was wonderful and the wedding was beautiful. We will be back again next summer.
Michelle, Carol, Elaine, Bianca

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Really impressive!

Review submitted: October 16, 2012   Date of arrival: August 4, 2012

Ernie and Gayle,
Thank you so much for a clean, comfortable place for us to spend our vacation. The unit is really impressive and Ocean Gallery provides such a safe, fun community. Our kids spent most of their time in the pool! We had a wonderful week and very much appreciated the chance to stay in this great condo!
Tom, Siobhan and kids

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Brett, Tammy and family

Review submitted: October 16, 2012   Date of arrival: July 7, 2012

Haven't had a family vacation in about 3 years. So glad we came to St. Augustine and stayed here. This condo is clean, spacious, and close to the beach. Our friends in Atlanta were right - this is a wonderful place!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Rick and Tammy

Review submitted: October 16, 2012   Date of arrival: June 10, 2012

We enjoyed our stay very much. Your condo is very comfortable with everything we needed except salt, but we could get that no too far from the ocean!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Memorial Vacation

Review submitted: May 30, 2012   Date of arrival: May 24, 2012

This is the first time we rented a condo and I must say we are very happy that we choose this condo. It was very clean, comfortable, and quite. We would rent this condo again. The beach was so close and with two small kids that was important.
Thank you

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Eileen, Chris, Michelle, & Parker

Review submitted: January 11, 2012   Date of arrival: September 3, 2011

Dear Ernie & Gayle,

I have to admit I was a little sick when Jim informed me that he had sold this condo! He did assure me y'all were great people & all would be fine.

This is our third year at Ocean Gallery & it just keeps getting better!

Thanks for sharing your condo, once again, we loved it!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We'll definitely book your condo again

Review submitted: January 11, 2012   Date of arrival: July 27, 2011

We have had a lovely holiday here in your condo. This is the 6th time we've stayed at Ocean Gallery, but would definitely book your condo next time. It has been a real 'home from home' for us. We'll no doubt be in touch soon!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Best of them all!

Review submitted: January 11, 2012   Date of arrival: July 2, 2011

Hi Ernie & Gayle,

This is the first time our family of 20 got to stay at Ocean Gallery. Your condo was by far the nicest of the four that we rented. We've been renting condos on the Fourth of July week for 19 years. Yours was the best of them all.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great girl trip

Review submitted: January 11, 2012   Date of arrival: May 14, 2011

We loved your condo and our time in Ocean Gallery & St. Augustine. We enjoyed sightseeing and shopping. Thanks for making our vacation a wonderful memory.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Yours is now our favourite!

Review submitted: August 10, 2011   Date of arrival: July 16, 2011

Hi Ernie and Gayle,

I just wanted to let you know that we had a lovely time in sunny St Augustine, as always. Your condo is really lovely and we will definitely be booking with you again in the future. We've stayed at Ocean Gallery a number of times in a variety of condos and yours is now our favourite! It was very well equipped and we had everything we needed, though one small suggestion if I was to add something it would be an iPod docking station. We took our own with us so it wasn't an issue, but it would be great noy to have to take ours next time!

Kind Regards,

Sue
UK

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Excellent Condo

Review submitted: May 1, 2011   Date of arrival: April 16, 2011

We arrived late to the Ocean Gallery complex but the key was waiting for us at the gate along with basic information we needed until the office was open the following morning.
We were pleased to find an extremely clean and well stocked Condo which was perfect for our family of 4. The kids loved the pool and the proximity to the beach. We minor problem with the hot water heater which was fixed straight away and it was a nice touch that the owner phoned to make sure it was all ok.

Can't fault it at all, would certainly recommend to anyone, and will look to try and return next year.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Tony, Ruby, and Leeann - KY

Review submitted: January 3, 2011   Date of arrival: October 10, 2010

Dear Jim & Debbie,
We very much enjoyed our week here in your condo. It is the perfect place to stay!! So beautifully decorated and so clean!! The weather has been wonderful all week. We enjoyed the short walk to the beach, the sun, and the seashells!! Thank you for providing such a wonderful place to stay - and your hospitality. We definitely would enjoy staying here again in the future.

Sincerely,
Tony, Ruby, and Leeann

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Virginia and Ray - North Carolina

Review submitted: January 3, 2011   Date of arrival: October 2, 2010

Jim and Debbie,
We have vacationed many times over the years in St. Augustine. Of all the motels, condos, and hotels we have stayed at, we truly enjoyed your condo the most. Well appointed in every way. The weather was just wonderful also. We will be back!

Virginia and Ray,
North Carolina

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

one of the best

Review submitted: October 5, 2010   Date of arrival: September 25, 2010

the condo was beautiful the grounds were spotless and the beach was only a short walk from the front door. downtown st augustine was only a short drive and there is so much to see and do.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

great condo

Review submitted: June 17, 2010   Date of arrival: June 5, 2010

Great condo, esp for people with kids. Close to the pool, and on the ground floor, easy to bring things in. short walk to beach. the complex is nice and well kept. complex is gated and feels safe. good location to shopping, dining and just a short easy drive to the city of st. augustine. we enjoyed the many things to do in the area. it is historic and fun place to go. the beach is very nice and clean. we had a great time!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Christy, Galen, Emily, & Grace - Bentonville, AR

Review submitted: June 14, 2010   Date of arrival: May 2, 2010

We had such a wonderful time in this beautiful home on the beach. Everything was just as Jim described it and we were more than pleased. So nice to meet you both! We were strategizing when we can make it back, but not too soon because we are also strategizing how to be Jim and Debbie when we grow up! We cooked brownies and cookies, sipped coffee, and played at the beach. It's very hard to leave!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wow! Wow! Wow!

Review submitted: May 12, 2010   Date of arrival: April 24, 2010

Jim and Debbie,
As was our first impression, so is our last . . .
WOW! WOW! WOW!
Thank you for such a beautiful home away from home.

Barry, Julie, Chrystal & Gracie
West Virginia

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Lisa, New Jersey

Review submitted: May 3, 2010   Date of arrival: April 3, 2010

Our family had a wonderful time during our stay in St. Augustine - a much needed respite from our hectic lives!

Your condo was a perfect spot for us - 2 Adults/2 Teenagers & plenty of space - Walkable to the beach (a daily trek) - Close to the pool - Everything we needed.

We've stayed in many rental properties and I must say that your accommodations have been one of the best!!

If our travels find us in this area again - we'll definitely stay here!!

Lisa,
New Jersey

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Susan, Gainesville, FL

Review submitted: January 19, 2010   Date of arrival: June 13, 2009

Dear Jim and Debbie,
I am not a world traveler - in fact since my husband died, I've been nowhere. So believe me when I say this - this is paradise! I haven't felt this relaxed and happy in years. My kids and grandkids had the time of their lives. The unit is gorgeous - Debbie, your decorator touch is fantastic. I love everything - the shadow box of shells in the 2nd bathroom just touched me for some reason - so simple and yet tells a story. The porch area was my area. So peaceful! Every amenity possible. I understand how you could have lived here. I surely could!

Thank you so much.
Susan
Gainesville, FL

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Rob & Rachel, Paducah, KY

Review submitted: January 19, 2010   Date of arrival: October 24, 2009

Dear Jim and Debbie:
Writing this, I'm sitting on the couch enjoying the beautiful view of the lagoon. Rob and I have thoroughly enjoyed being your guests this week at #55 Village Del Lago. The weather has been delightful and it's such a pleasure at the end of the day enjoying your beautifully decorated condo. I especially like the "palm tree" theme you've carried into each room.
Thank you for letting us stay here. We look forward to visiting again soon.

Sincerely,
Rob and Rachel
Paducah, KY

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review