reviews for: listing #50761 - Manuel Antonio/Quepos, Costa Rica Villa rental

Vista Oceana - Luxury Villa With Close Panoramic Ocean Views
  • bedrooms  6
  • pool  yes
  • type  Villa
  • baths 
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  16
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $750 - $1,250 /nt
    $5,150 - $7,900 /wk

sort by:

Perfect vacation, perfect villa

Review submitted: March 30, 2014   Date of arrival: February 21, 2014

Our large group of friends had a fantastic stay at Vista Oceana. Starting with our arrival in Manuel Antonio it was clear that Hazel and the management team had thought of everything to make our stay effortless and memorable. The villa was meticulously clean upon our arrival and Sylvia kept it that way throughout our stay. Each of the six bedrooms and numerous bathrooms were spotlessly clean – not easy with a lot of beach and jungle activity dragged daily into the house. There were 9 friends in our group and the villa is so spacious that we never felt crowded. None of us were prepared for such spectacular sunsets and it’s incredible that all six bedrooms and all the common areas have the same unobstructed ocean views. We made sure to be back from all our excursions with plenty of time to enjoy the sunset each day with cocktails by the beautiful infinity pool. Equally exciting was the amazing array of wildlife just outside the doors of the villa. Squirrel monkeys, white-faced monkeys, sloths, lizards and toucans were seen and admired each day. Every morning, charming squirrel monkeys would come onto the deck for banana and mango breakfast.

The area has a tremendous amount of outdoor activities and all of the excursions that were planned for us were entertaining, challenging and unforgettable. Highlights included: parasailing, ocean jet skiing, canopy zip lining, guided rain forest tour and a sunset sailboat cruise. When we needed time off, a beautiful white sand beach was only a 15-minute walk away. The villa is walking distance to some very nice bars and restaurants but the best thing we signed up for was the private chef. Marisol and her partner were simply wonderful. Breakfasts, lunches and dinners were well-planned, beautifully presented and always delicious. The fact that Marisol is so cheerful and friendly made each meal even more pleasant.

Everything about this villa was top-knotch: large rooms, multiple bathrooms, modern appliances and special items such as washer & dryer, and a locking pantry with a safe. The only minor drawback was a faulty air conditioner in one of the bedrooms. This is not unusual due to the tropical location and constant use. As soon as Hazel was notified there was a maintenance man on the scene to repair the problem. To sum up, this vacation was the best ever, good friends, the perfect house, excellent staff, wonderful food, great location and amazing sun sets.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Most amazing vacation!

Review submitted: February 18, 2014   Date of arrival: February 8, 2014

This house is absolutely beautiful! Clean, up to date, beautiful views, spacious. Property manager is so helpful, staff pleasant and helpful. You can walk to the beach from the house, it's not very far but a very steep hill. We loved our canyoning experience the most of all the tours we did. Highly recommend even if you are afraid to try new things! I have never done anything like that and am so glad I did! We highly recommend hiring their private chefs. The restaurants we tried were not great. Poor service and took forever. Private chefs were amazing. And their cost the same price or less than eating at a restaurant. We had monkeys every morning on the back patio. So amazing. We fed the squirrel monkeys bananas out of our hands. They were so sweet and gentle. Don't recommend feeding the white faced monkeys. They got aggressive after we fed them once. We would highly recommend this property to anyone with a large group!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Outstanding

Review submitted: September 9, 2013   Date of arrival: August 6, 2013

My extended family, with ages ranging from 6 months to 85 years old, stayed in this property in August for a family reunion. The house was immaculate, incredibly spacious, and comfortable enough for a large group. It has been designed so that each room has a magnificent view of the ocean, a balcony in which to chill out, and a spacious bathroom. Particularly with having lots of kids in the group, housekeeping did an awesome job in keeping it clean, and in ensuring we had fresh towels available when returning from the beach. There were a few glitches with some electronics, but given that the house is in the tropics where it is very difficult to keep these things working, it wasn't too surprising. We would highly, highly recommend the chef service with Israel and Marisol, as the quality was outstanding, and their willingness to accommodate special requests very much appreciated. As for the location, no doubt the views were awesome, and the beauty of seeing 3 types of monkeys, toucans, and other birds quite special. Foot access to the beach is not exactly easy, but it is a 5 minute drive, so not much of a problem. There are plenty of activities available on Manuel Antonio, such as fishing, surfing, hang gliding, ATV, etc., and there are also pristine beaches inside the park with calmer waves. Last but not least, our deposit was promptly returned. All in all, we would highly recommend Vista Oceana to other guests.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect House

Review submitted: February 26, 2013   Date of arrival: February 16, 2013

The trip was fantastic. The house was perfect, the excursions were top notch, and the food was wonderful. Thomas and Hazel were amazing, trust me, I don’t throw that word around. I’m in the customer service business and I have high expectations. Thomas and Hazel delivered. I can’t forget about Sylvia, she was great. I’ve never really been in house so clean.

As for the excursions, all were good. The group consensus is the Sun Set Cruise was the best. The food on the boat was the second best meal on the trip. The first was the night we had our chef. The food was excellent, I didn’t think I was going to be able move from over eating. I would say the 10-1 Zip Lining was second. But again, all the excursions were great. I would be remiss if I didn’t mention the transportation companies that chauffeured us around. They were always on time and friendly.

This was by far the best vacation I’ve had in my 52 yrs. We are already talking about a return trip to Costa Rica. The house is perfectly located making it easy to experience the Costa Rican wildlife. One of the couples is trying to figure out how they can make a living in Costa Rica. They want to experience “Pura Vida” for life.

Please use me as a reference for Vista Oceana.

Helpful votes: 5 / 6

 

Simply Amazing

Review submitted: February 26, 2013   Date of arrival: February 16, 2013

We had six couples staying at Vista Oceana, never once feeling crowded. The house is beautiful and in a great location. The wild life (monkeys, sloths, toucans, and iguanas) were either on the deck or just outside the door. It's a short walk (150 meters) to the beach, but be ready for some exercise, it is steep. We pretty much walked everywhere. There are restaurants very close. When walking wasn't an option it was easy to arrange transportation or hail a cab.

If you are visiting during high season be ready for some amazing sun sets. Everyday we all made sure to return to Vista Oceana for the sun sets. We were not disappointed.

The management team that handles the property is top notch. They are there to take care of all your excursions, help assist with must see places and suggest nice restaurants. As you can image with a group of twelve we put them through their paces and they passed with flying colors.

This vacation was the best ever, good friends, the perfect house, excellent staff, wonderful food, great location and amazing sun sets.

I can't wait to go back!!!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Vista Oceana - Spectacular!

Review submitted: June 27, 2012   Date of arrival: June 8, 2012

Where do I start.....Vista Oceana, Manuel Antonio, and Costa Rica were all wonderful and our experience started a year in advance dealing with Michael. Michael was responsive, provided a great deal of information and the Villa was as described and more. The transaction was smooth as was the return of the deposit at the completion of our trip. Additionally, Thomas and Kathrin, who take care of the property, reached out to us months in advance to offer assistance in transfers, excursions and to just provide general information. More on that later.

Vista Oceana is a beautiful custom home that we rented for three families traveling with seven children for a total of 13 occupants. The villa was spacious and we never felt crowded with all the the parents having their own rooms with ocean views and private baths. It was incredibly for a house to have 6 bedrooms all with private baths and 2 additional general purpose bathrooms(one out by the pool). Vista Oceana is well maintained and has all the luxuries of home. Silvia(house cleaner) and Mauricio(pool/yard) were great and you could tell how much they care about the property and us as guests. The views from the house are spectacular from every room and especially from the infinity edge pool. You could spend your entire time at Vista Oceana and be in paradise. We had daily visitors(see photo) of squirrel and spider monkey's come up on the deck with in a arms length. Mauricio even pointed out a sloth in the trees right by the house as well as lizards around the property. Kids loved all the nature.

The surrounding area of Manuel Antonio is great with many fun restaurants to try. We recommend El Avion, Barba Roja and El Gran(Quipos) as our favorites and kid friendly. The beach is wide and fun to catch waves and I recommend going to the national park to see all the nature and the beach.

Now back to Kathrin, she was wonderful and communicated regularly right up to our arrival. She coordinated transportation from the airport to Vista Oceana, met us at the house and scheduled two wonderful excursions. As for the exursions the white water rafting on the Sevegre River with Rafiki Safari Lodge was unbelieveable experience. The staff was great, Rafiki was great and the rafting was out of this world. Take this tour and Lokie and staff will make your day great. Also, Ziplining with MidWorld was exceptional. The staff, equipment, views and experience will last our families a life time. I was aspecial

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Great place to get away with friends

Review submitted: February 15, 2012   Date of arrival: January 7, 2012

There were 10 of us in a group visiting the second week of January. What a wonderful home. The amenities and staff were terrific. We throughly enjoyed our time in the house and our adventures in the region. Visits to the pool by the monkeys and watching the sloth sitting in the tree right behind the house were a highlight for all of us.

Owners response: Thanks Steve... glad you enjoyed your stay at Vista Oceana. I enjoyed meeting part of your group at Rafaels Terrazzas one evening and look forward to your next visit to Manuel Antonio.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A Real Paradise

Review submitted: May 11, 2011   Date of arrival: April 16, 2011

Well, Michael, Vista Oceana was everything you promised and much much more!!! What a delight and a trip of a life time to take all our children and grandchildren to see and experience this beautiful country in comfort. Let me see if I can recapsule my memories for you!! The airport arrival was easy and well done with the van pic up and delivery to our hotel. Thank you for the arrangements and for the wonderful service coming in and going out!! Everyone was prompt and courteous and we felt well cared for!!! Arriving at our villa was a thrill, the pictures you sent to us were beautiful, but the reality was even better!! Our adult children 6+ were in awe and could hardly wait to pick their beautiful ocean/sunset view suites, and then everyone wanted to be in the infinity pool to watch the sunset!! The home was sparkling clean and maintained every single day. The casita worked wonderfullly for our family from CA, they had their girls upstairs and mom and dad downstairs and privacy from all the little children 3 yrs. and under that stayed in the main house. We were 14 in all with 6 children from 11yrs. to 1 yr. Each family had their own space to relax and put children down for naps and adults had space to relax and still be able to check up on the little ones. The pool and patio were are main area for all of us to gather and eat and relax. Now that brings me to the wonderful, fabulous, chefs!! Perfect, the couple was just like part of our family and helped me arrange special evening and surprises all week long. I would have been lost without them!! The food was great and different everyday and we looked so forward to our breakfast and dinners. We always had plenty of left overs for lunch and snacks. It just doesn't say it enough to say PERFECT, but truly that is how we all felt. Thank you for your integrity in all our plans and your helpfulness with all the arrangements. Thomas was great, he met us at the house and dropped by a couple of times to see how we were doing. He was so kind and thoughtful to the little ones and made all the parents feel like we were well taken care of. Thank you for operating such a remarkable vacation experience, we are passing your web site out to everyone we know!! WOW WOW, can you imagine living like that everyday???? "a real paradise!!"

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks Debbie. I'm glad that you had a great time at Vista Oceana. We look forward to having you stay with us at Vista Oceana or any of our other homes in Manuel Antonio. Remember to check back at VisitMyVilla.com to check out all our luxury homes for your next trip to paradise!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Everything we wanted and more

Review submitted: March 7, 2011   Date of arrival: February 6, 2010

I cannot tell you how much we enjoyed our stay at Vista Oceana. It was everything we wanted and more. The house was perfect in terms of giving everyone space...and providing every possible convenience. The staff was thorough...so accommodating....and so very friendly and helpful. We did have a few problems with the electronics but everything was taken care of nicely and we did not stress about the fact that the electricity went off a few times every day..and shut the frig off for periods of time. Other than that everything worked wonderfully. The kitchen was wonderfully equipped, but I will tell you that the right side of the toaster would not stay down, which made it a little difficult with 8 people eating breakfast. That probably should be replaced. We loved the fact that we could walk to the beach from the house, although it was a real hike up and Steve and I said that if we owned it, we would want a golf cart and a few beach chairs to make it even more enjoyable..(We were sort of timid about driving our car down but when I think of it, that was sort of silly because the hotel at the bottom had NO people staying there, so the parking lot was completely empty. We might be more brave the next time..Our kids, though, seemed to enjoy the hike down and up..surf boards and all....Manuel Antonio is just wonderful and the location of the Vista Oceana was perfect for going in either direction...to Quepos or Manuel Antonio. We had several wonderful and varied dinners out..and a very special dinner...(my birthday) at Kapa Kapa (I think that was the name of it...) That was really terrific!!! We also enjoyed the local art galleries...I went home with a great painting of fruit in a bowl and my daughter in law went home with a painting of a street with people and a horse...Luckily, my daughter in law speaks fluent spanish which really helped at times...

Thank you so much for your wonderful service. I was so comfortable knowing that I could call you at any time before our trip as we were making arrangements and you were so gracious and helpful. After we got there, your staff was totally welcoming and informative. We will not hesitate to stay in any of your homes in Costa Rica on our next visit.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks Sarah. Let me know when you are ready for your next vacation in paradise.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

absolutely fabulous

Review submitted: March 6, 2011   Date of arrival: January 29, 2011

The house was absolutely fabulous, the help was so kind and considerate, I cannot say enough about them. We loved the views and the beach and the visiting monkeys. The pool was a HUGE hit with the five toddlers, and Zip-lining with their parents. There was nothing we hated at all.

Our whole trip was perfect and we cannot not tell you how much we enjoyed your home. We have recommended Vista Oceana to friends whom I think will be booking with you soon.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks for letting us know how much you enjoyed staying in Vista Oceana.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Nice view, but we got ripped off!!

Review submitted: February 27, 2011   Date of arrival: February 5, 2011

Let me just list our experiences...
The housekeeper and her friends are in the house from morning until late afternoon every single day you are there, which kind of defeats the purpose of renting a private house. on more than one occation they walked into the bathroom while someone was on the toilet. Not cool. Also, bring lots of bug spray, because all day while the housekeepers are there, they shut off the Air Conditioning and if you turn it back on she will shut it off again, it becomes a battle of wills (I'm assuming it's under the owners direction to save on electricity), and she more than once left the back doors literally wide open filling the rooms with bugs and flying insects, leaving most of our guests with nasty bug bites.
The local who is a pool cleaner/maintenance man is there every single morning, and on one night he and a friend showed up at 10pm, drunk, used his own set of personal keys to come into the house uninvited, to ask if one of our group who was just being friendly to him that morning would like to go out drinking with him. It was very unsettling, scary and made the majority of our group extremely upset, we had children with us.
Dont be fooled by how nice the guy you speak to when inquiring about renting the villa, they kept our deposit stating ficticious reasons, it is obviously a scam they have set up. For me to go after them legally, it appears i would have to go litigate in Costa Rica, even though you send your money and deal with a man in Chicago. I should have read the contract closer I guess.
Costa Rica is such a beautiful place, especially Manuel Antonio, but I suggest you find a different house, and management company.

Owners response: This is a very simple and unfortunate case. This group LOVED the house. They actually told us that they had already recommended our home to their friends. Unfortunately, this group has become vindictive because they lost their security deposit for two reasons:

1) There were damages to one of our locally hand-crafted headboards. We have sent them photos of the damages (a cracked headboard and broken 'spindle') to which their response was 'we didn't do it... ' and later suggested we 'just glue it'.
2) The group also had several extra guests stay in the home above our contracted number. They denied the extra guests (even though the maid was told by one of the guests that there were 16 in the home instead of the 12 contracted). However, they could not explain why they hired and paid our chef to prepare a meal for the 4 extra guests.

We know that some damage will occur in a home... that's an expense of running a rental home. Until this group, we have NEVER held an entire security deposit from any of over 5,000 guests that we have hosted in our homes and have only held back partial deposits on a total of three guests with their consent. In fact, this group rented 2 homes from us, and they received their full security deposit back for the second house a very quick five days of their departure.

Unfortunately, now that this group lost their security deposit for the first house, they have gone from 'recommending the home to friends' as stated in their first e-mail to us, to fabricating these outrageous stories about their stay strictly to hurt our reputation.

We hope, and invite anyone looking at our home to review the many YEARS of positive, glowing reviews before believing what this one person has posted here.

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Amazing views from every room

Review submitted: January 4, 2011   Date of arrival: April 3, 2010

The villa is very well situated... It's close to restaurants and grocery stores, and it is just a couple of minutes walk from the beach. The view is amazing from every room. Everything was in great working condition and the housekeeping was exceptional. The owner of the villa was very gracious and really accomodating.

We go on yearly trips to different places but this Costa Rica trip is by far the best we had. We highly recommend Vista Oceana for all its great amenities as much as we recommend visiting Costa Rica for its hospitable people.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Amazing view from every room

Review submitted: January 4, 2011   Date of arrival: April 2, 2010

The villa is very well situated... It's close to restaurants and grocery stores, and it is just a couple of minutes walk from the beach. The view is amazing from every room. Everything was in great working condition and the housekeeping was exceptional. The owner of the villa was very gracious and really accomodating.

We go on yearly trips to different places but this Costa Rica trip is by far the best we had. We highly recommend Vista Oceana for all its great amenities as much as we recommend visiting Costa Rica for its hospitable people.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review