reviews for: listing #50780 - Plymouth, New Hampshire House rental

Peace and Quiet in the Mountains! Sleeps 8! Pets OK
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $100 - $200 /nt
    $600 - $1,200 /wk

sort by:

Unplugged Getaway

Review submitted: July 31, 2013   Date of arrival: July 19, 2013

We booked this as a relatively last minute getaway in July 2013. Cindy was more than awesome to work with to iron out the details. She gave us tips on what to do in the area, too! There are brochures in the house for anything you might be interested in doing (based on season).

The description of the place listed cannot really describe the beauty of the waterfalls/brooks on the property. My fiance and I went with our dog, and not only did we get to have a relaxing time, our high energy dog was pooped everyday from frolicking in the brook and playing fetch in their generously sized backyard! Can't beat 8 acres of private property...and the trails on the property!

Although I was a little hesitant at first to go somewhere that didn't have Wi-Fi or cell reception, we didn't have any qualms once we arrived and didn't even care about not being able to be reached (except via the house landline). Upon our arrival, it was 90+ degrees, and since there is no AC at the house, the property manager/cleaners had turned on all of the fans and opened the windows so that the house would be manageable to be in! Thanks Bob!!

And even though it's very private, it's also very convenient to a Super Walmart where we got everything that we could need for the trip, only 6-7 miles away. Loon Mountain is also only about 35-40 minutes away for any activities such as Zip-lining/Hiking, etc.

TIP - you will need a calling card to make outgoing non-local phone calls. Unfortunately that Walmart and Dollar Tree did not sell calling cards, so make sure you buy one before embarking on the trip!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you Timmi! It always makes me happy to hear my guests enjoy that little piece of heaven as I have. Also: Thanks for the heads up about the calling cards...great tip! Hope you can come back soon.~Cindy

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

perfect return visit

Review submitted: March 13, 2012   Date of arrival: March 8, 2012

We first visited Cindy's great rental last winter and were excited to return this year. We were not disappointed - everything in the house was still perfect and with this mild winter instead of last year's piles and piles of snow, we got to see a bit more of the beautiful woods and brook near the house.

I cannot recommend this place highly enough - it's beautiful and relaxing and Cindy is a joy to deal with. You will definitely not regret visiting here.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

wow

Review submitted: August 30, 2011   Date of arrival: August 20, 2011

this home was absolutely the best!!! the pictures do not do it justice. the waterfall is like having a private state park. this home is immaculate, absolutely lovingly cared for and well stocked with incidentals. how much would we love to go back next year...THANK YOU!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks Kit....It really is a special location....and I LOVE to share it! I have heard about the pictures....Have redone them several times....Just can't photograph atmosphere! Thrilled to hear you enjoyed yourselves, and please do come again! Cindy

Helpful votes: 5 / 6

 

Thank you!!

Review submitted: March 21, 2011   Date of arrival: March 2, 2011

Our family had a wonderful time.
It was so peaceful and quiet. The snowfall and surroundings were beautiful.
Wonderful place to get away from it all, our dog Brady had a wonderful time as well.
It is so nice to find a peaceful pet friendly place with enough room for all.
We plan on coming back in the summer to view the waterfall and the rest that the 8 acres has to offer.
Thanks again,

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank You Lynne and crew! Hope you can make it up in summer. I was lucky enough to get up there for just one day recently. The waterfall was running!!! and in the snow was spectacular. Happy to hear you enjoyed the hose and location!
Cindy

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Thank you!

Review submitted: March 3, 2011   Date of arrival: February 25, 2011

My family and I had a wonderful time at this home. It was very comfortable for the 5 of us (one dog included). The pictures do not do this home justice. We enjoyed playing in the snow out in the yard and exploring the trails. We snowshoed in the woods and saw many animal tracks. This is such an amazing location, quiet and rustic, yet 20 minutes from Walmart etc. Thank you Cindy! We will be back.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank You Erin....I have heard that a few times about the pictures! There is another reason to take some much needed time off: to go re photograph!( and relax and do nothing...)
A great stress buster weekend is just what I need.
Please, do come again.
Return guest do get 10% off the total!
Cindy

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

perfect birthday weekend

Review submitted: February 14, 2011   Date of arrival: February 11, 2011

A friend requested a last minute ski weekend as a birthday gift & I quickly found Halls Brook House and it was more than we could have expected. Cynthia was a delight from the first email- friendly, responsive, and flexible. We had the lease and initial payments settled within one work day and she let us push the checkout time by an hour without any negotiations at all. The house was adorable, clean, and incredibly comfortable, with everything we needed to make our birthday dinner & cake. Some of our group drove to Waterville for a great day of skiing, and the rest enjoyed the snowy yard & house. Our entire group was so thrilled with the visit and every one of us would go back again as soon as possible-- I'm particularly interested to see how beautiful it must be in the spring/summer. I would recommend this get-away to anyone.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Everything you could want, all in one place!!!

Review submitted: February 10, 2011   Date of arrival: October 5, 2010

There was nothing more we could ask for at Halls Brook House.It felt like home only with a lot better view! We met Bob who manages the property (nice guy) he was very helpful with resturant and driving direction.He does a "Bang up Job" with the clean up from previous renters and told us he was only a phone call away. I don't think the photos do justice for your beautiful house! Amazing and soooo comfortable! I'm bringing my brother from Florida up in June to climb some mountains. I'll let you know the dates soon. Can't wait to show off your house to him!!! Thanks

Recommended for: age 55+, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Renters beware! Unclean house, uncooperative owner

Review submitted: February 8, 2011   Date of arrival: December 31, 2010

We rented this house over New Year's weekend and were severely disappointed. There was a strong pet smell when we opened the door, and it only got worse from there. Within minutes of entering the house, we were all covered with long white dog hair. My son and husband started having allergic reactions immediately. My husband ended up at WalMart at 11PM on New Year's eve buying allergy medication. We skied New Year's day and decided that we couldn't stay another night in the house, so we packed up and drove home a day early. Cynthia was unwilling to compensate us for our second night, even though she admitted that the previous renter brought their dog. We understand that a "pet friendly" rental may have some pet hair in it, but we do not expect it to be filthy and smelly. My son and husband are in "pet friendly" situations all the time with no ill effects. In the end, we paid a lot of money to be in this house for 11 uncomfortable hours, and she refused to be reasonable with us when we requested a partial refund. She even threatened to file a complaint to the board of my husband's profession when he brought up small claims court. Don't waste your time or money on this place!

Owners response: This review was written by an attorney's wife after I denied their request for a partial refund. He threatened me with a 93A consumer complaint and a trip to small claims court if I would not refund him 1 night at full holiday rate. He only identified himself as an attorney in an email demanding a refund. His complaint about my house is unproven and unfounded.

This family was only in town due to the husband's ice hockey tournament, which ended late New Year's eve, and was very close to my house. I believe they never intended to stay a second night. They skiied the entire next day, originally claiming the child was reacting still to an allergy. They never called my cleaner, local contact person or myself although all are posted at the house. They made no attempt to correct or report a problem of any kind.

There was nothing wrong with the house. It was cleaned immediatey before them, and after. A new vac was used to be sure there was no malfunction with the one that is always at the house. There was no dog hair.

My house is pet friendly, as advertised. I think they'd hoped that their child, with what sounds to be moderate to severe allergies, would not have a reaction. I am sorry their child had a reaction to something, but it was not my house. I am also sorry that this untimely review is being utilized as a tool for revenge.

My house is clean and comfortable for my guests. Please see other, more truthful reviews, or simply call me. Thank You

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Amazing time, Beautiful house!

Review submitted: January 18, 2011   Date of arrival: January 7, 2011

Had such a great time here a few weeks back. The house was beautiful and much nicer then the pictures show. In a quiet area but still close to everything your looking to do and need. I would go back every weekend if I could. House was super clean and well kept. Owner is friendly and very helpful. I would recommend this to everyone looking for a great getaway for any amount of time. People of any ages will love this house. You could not ask for a better place to stay. Ideal spot in New Hampshire near the mountains and shopping outlets. Hope to go back this winter. Thank you so much for sharing your wonderful house with me. Thanks again, Mark

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Mountain Hideaway!

Review submitted: October 4, 2010   Date of arrival: October 1, 2010

This is my second trip to "Half a House", first was a friends birthday and shortly after our trip it was a thought (out loud) we should go up again and before I knew it I was signing the lease! The house is very cozy and very private. House could be a little cleaner but I think it adds to the "cabin in the woods" feel. On this trip the brook in the back yard was running hard and absolutely beautiful. My boyfriend spent most of the time fishing, the bon fire was relaxing and the trails along the brook are a little adventure! Theres plently of lakes and things to see in the area but being fall (my fav season) we took a ride up 93 north to Littleton to a candy store called Chutters but the ride up there was just amazing and on the way back down we got off exit 32 and drove the Kancamagus highway, which was just stunning this time of year! (tons of shops and restaurants off exit 32).. If it had a hot tub the owner would have to have me court ordered off the property I'd never leave, love it!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

30th birthday

Review submitted: August 22, 2010   Date of arrival: August 20, 2010

We got there and we where shocked, it was so much better then the pic you have up. it was soo clean, you felt very comfortible and very safe. you are out in the middle of no where, but yet you have a walmart only 20 mins away, so if u need something u can get it very easliy. No cell phones worked, so that was nice no dealing with phones all weekend. We Loved your fire pit, very private, it felt like you where at a campgound well down there, so nice to sit at night have a few drink and smores. I miss already We would love to come back next summer, but for longer this time 2 day was not enough, you need a long weekend when coming here, it was so relaxing. thank you for leting my celbrate my 30th birthday with my husband & friends at your house it was so beautiful we had a blast.

Recommended for: sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thank you so much..........

Review submitted: July 13, 2010   Date of arrival: July 9, 2010

.......... it was just what our family needed. We had so much fun exploring the river and we had the polar caves to ourselves in the rain.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

What a place!

Review submitted: March 19, 2010   Date of arrival: March 5, 2010

We really enjoyed ourselves. Thanks!

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Had a great time at the house it was perfect.

Review submitted: March 19, 2010   Date of arrival: March 15, 2010

I was very suprised when we got to the house because the pictures on the site do not do the house justice. Thanks a bunch!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Your place is great!!

Review submitted: March 8, 2010   Date of arrival: March 5, 2010

We really enjoyed ourselves!

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We had a wonderful time at your house....

Review submitted: February 21, 2010   Date of arrival: February 18, 2010

Skiing was great; we could have used a bit more snow, but at least the double lift (Hornet) was open three out of our four days of skiing at Tenney. We drove to the top of the road, and a bit further even – wow, what an amazing area!
Thank you for renting your house to us. All the best for the remaining season, and take care!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We had a blast this weekend!

Review submitted: January 4, 2010   Date of arrival: July 24, 2009

The weather was fantastic Saturday so we were able to head over to Newfound Lake, explore the brook and have a bonfire at night.

Thanks again for renting us Halls Brook House!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We had an amazing time!

Review submitted: January 4, 2010   Date of arrival: July 17, 2009

The house and backyard were even more beautiful than we expected. The decorations were so cute.

I got some of the girls to climb Mt. Stinson. The view from the top was wonderful. We had all these other plans to go places and we ended up just sitting on the deck and wading in the brook. So relaxing!

Thanks again for providing us with such a great time. We are all hoping to get back there next year!

If you ever need a reference for the rental, please don't hestitate to call me.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We had a great time!

Review submitted: January 4, 2010   Date of arrival: July 10, 2009

The rain held off just long enough to finish up most of our outdoor plans. Thank You!!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

I was one of the guests..................

Review submitted: January 4, 2010   Date of arrival: June 11, 2009

My name is Sheila and I was one of the guests who spent last weekend at your house with Jim. I just wanted to let you know we enjoyed your home and appreciate you letting others share it too! I'm glad you were happy with the way we left it and hope to stay again... it's a great location!

Thanks again and perhaps someday we'll meet up on the bikes!

Happy riding
Sheila

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We had so much fun at the house.

Review submitted: January 4, 2010   Date of arrival: June 5, 2009

It was so pretty and the brook and waterfalls were awesome. My son and daughter-in-law caught some trout and we all had a blast.

Thank you so much again and we would love to come back some time

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

we had a wonderful vacation

Review submitted: January 4, 2010   Date of arrival: May 3, 2009

Your home is beautiful!! and it was so peaceful and relaxing. The reason we actually took a vacation in that area is because were looking for a house to buy and move to that area. We were wondering if your house would be something for sale?? if we could make you an offer?? we fell in love with your home and it really is our dream home!! ( sorry, not for sale...very flattered)

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The foliage was really pretty driving up the hill

Review submitted: January 4, 2010   Date of arrival: October 16, 2009

There was still plenty of color to be had. We had a wonderful time at Halls Brook House. We would love to rent the house again in the future. The location was perfect for our needs and the house was quite cozy.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Everything was great!

Review submitted: January 4, 2010   Date of arrival: October 9, 2009

We truely had a great time. I will send you the pictures as soon as I can. The foliage was beautiful, but we were told it was even better the week before (can't imagine that!). The house was just what we were looking for and the location was perfect! Thanks again!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We were delighted...............

Review submitted: January 4, 2010   Date of arrival: August 16, 2009

........with your house! The weather held until Friday. Our boys were very pleased with the climbing. Thank You!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thank You!

Review submitted: January 4, 2010   Date of arrival: June 1, 2009

We had a wonderful and relaxing time. I couldn't help but admire the waterfall in the back yard! We hope to be back soon.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thank You so much....

Review submitted: January 4, 2010   Date of arrival: October 9, 2009

....for the use of your rental home. We had an amazing time and the view was spectacular. The color on the trees was so beautifuland apparently we got there in the nick of time because when we were leaving Monday the leaves were all falling off!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thanks for a great time....

Review submitted: January 4, 2010   Date of arrival: October 29, 2009

We hope to be back when it's warm!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The house is awesome.

Review submitted: January 4, 2010   Date of arrival: October 13, 2009

We had a wonderful time there and in New Hampshire. I have lived in CT for 21 years and never realized how many spectacular places there are to see and hike in NH. My family from CO had a wonderful time.The leaves were at peak and we enjoyed the show very much. Thanks again for renting to us and I'm sure in the future I will be back!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We enjoyed your home.....

Review submitted: January 4, 2010   Date of arrival: November 23, 2009

.........very much-very comfortable. Wood and metal is a great decor!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We had a great time.................

Review submitted: January 4, 2010   Date of arrival: August 14, 2009

..................at the Halls Brook House. That is a nice piece of property! The other waterfall up the street was pretty, too

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

It's beautiful place!

Review submitted: January 4, 2010   Date of arrival: December 24, 2009

Hi, Cindy. Just want to tell you thank you! We had a great time at your house! It's beautiful place!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We had an amazing time .....

Review submitted: January 4, 2010   Date of arrival: December 28, 2009

.........at the house and wrote in the red book! Thank You!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The house fit us perfectly.

Review submitted: January 4, 2010   Date of arrival: December 31, 2009

We had a great time skiing. We really enjoyed our trip.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review