reviews for: listing #50806 - Olympia, Washington House rental

The Hideaway, "true waterfront" 30 feet to water
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $160 - $195 /nt
    $975 - $1,165 /wk
    $3,500 - $4,100 /mth

sort by:

Fantastic Getaway

Review submitted: July 9, 2009   Date of arrival: June 8, 2009

This vacation rental is exactly as described and more.
We were pleasantly surprised once we reached the end of the driveway. The view is stunning! We were able to have a wonderful graduation party for my stepson as well as a much needed relaxing vacation. There was plenty of room for everyone. The property is well maintained and clean. Lots of amenities included i.e. paper products, condiments, etc. The huge kitchen and countertop allowed for lots of enjoyable meals. The deck and the fire pit was enjoyed by all. The large deck was a great place to view the abundant wildlife. The owner provided great customer service and our deposit was returned immediately. I would highly recommend it to anyone traveling in that vicinity. Thanks so much for the use of such a beautiful home!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 19 / 19

 

The Hideaway

Review submitted: January 23, 2014   Date of arrival: December 7, 2013

The Hideaway is the perfect name for this place! It was a perfect getaway house when you want to be away from the city. The house was very quiet and peaceful with lots of exploring to do in the area. The sunroom looked over the water and was a perfect place to drink coffee/tea and just admire nature and the seals. We had 2 families with young children and it was plenty big enough for the 7 of us, we had one room that was still empty. The power went out in the county while we were there and the owner arranged to have more firewood delivered to the house to make sure we stayed warm. We would definitely stay at The Hideaway again and recommend it to anyone who is looking for a quiet get away.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

The Hideaway

Review submitted: September 9, 2013   Date of arrival: August 25, 2013

My husband and I arrived first, then our daughters and their spouses arrived soon after. The first thing one of my sons in law said was: What bank did you rob to get this place?!!! The minute we walked through the front door we knew we had a hit. Everything you need is there. It was like heaven to have the water come up so close. We had fresh clam chowder, my husband tried a few oytsters. We watched sea lions bobbing their heads in and out of the water, a barge hauling timber, only one or two jet skis, was so quiet and still on the water. The star fish were amazing....didn't know they came in colors. Would highly recommend this place if someone is looking for some peace and quiet. To the Feist Family: Thank you for sharing this terrific place.

Barbara Thompson and Family

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Amazing!

Review submitted: October 12, 2011   Date of arrival: September 28, 2011

Fantastic! We had such a great time. Relaxing and we felt like we were camping but with a all the benefits of a home. Sammy the Seal was a highlight as well as an Otter that decided to come up onto the lawn to tan and scratch himself. My 2 year old refused to leave. We will be back many more times! Especially since we ended up there during Oysterfest!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Amazing memories in this family vacation home

Review submitted: July 18, 2011   Date of arrival: July 2, 2011

This well stocked and sparkling clean home exceeded all expectations! I would highly recommend this property to everyone! The secluded waterfront location offered such a relaxing and fun experience for the entire family. Highlights include: clamming, crabbing, exploring the tide pools, canoeing, fishing, wi-fi, watching movies, wildlife viewing (seals, fox, deer, eagles), sitting on the deck- reading and listening to the tranquil waterfall, campfires, and so much more. We had such a fun week and have great memories that will last a lifetime. I had day trips planned - but the kids (age 10 & 12) had so much fun they didn't want to leave. When you go, make sure to tour Taylor Shellfish Farm! Thanks Bill. Sam & Michelle Riggs from Southern California

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: Thank you Michelle, I'm glad you enjoyed the home as I do.
Bill

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 

Fantastic Experiance

Review submitted: April 21, 2011   Date of arrival: April 4, 2011

The Hideaway and its owners deliver far more that is advertised. The home is instantly comfortable and the many small touches show care, thought and concern for the renters needs. The views, beaches and water lend to a relaxing and peaceful experiance. The solitude and seclusion is complete as we saw virtually no one during our week. The beachcombing was great with something different exposed with every tide change. we loved to watch the clouds and gaze at the forest across the inlet. Passing sailboats, tugs and fishing boats were welcome diversions.
Yet all this is within 30 minutes of Tumwater.
We would highly recommend it.
Thank you for an enjoyable vacation.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Can't agree more.....

Review submitted: November 14, 2010   Date of arrival: November 25, 2009

I can't agree more with the reviews listed previously regarding this fantastic property. We celebrated Thanksgiving there with famliy last year and my children are still raving about the experience. They often ask to return during the summer months to enjoy all that a different season in the area would offer. The home was new, clean, tastyfully decorated and well stocked. The property was very private making the wonders of the area very peaceful and magical. The homeowner was fantastic to deal with and our one trip to town was brief but pleasant. We hope to return again soon. Thanks again for sharing your Getaway!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Hideaway at Cannery Point

Review submitted: August 24, 2010   Date of arrival: August 7, 2010

Incredibly peaceful place. Very clean, new looking, and all of the amenities needed. Rooms are large, beds are great and bathrooms wonderful. The views are beautiful and a great deck to enjoy the passing boats, barges and tugs. The wildlife is abundant, from deer, foxes, to seals. The firepit was great for s'mores and evening by the water. The owners have everything one could possibly need. I would go again in a heartbeat!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Beautiful and Peaceful

Review submitted: August 10, 2010   Date of arrival: August 1, 2010

We were pleasantly surprised to find the Hideaway so beautiful and peaceful. The house met all of our needs and the view off the front room and deck was just perfect. The wildlife kept us entertained and we were amazed at all the large and colorful starfish. The campfire was an added bonus and we sat around and just talked and enjoyed each others company. Our only regret was that we did'nt stay longer. Thanks for sharing this amazing place.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Glad you enjoyed your stay, thanks for being great guests.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

The perfect Hideaway

Review submitted: September 8, 2009   Date of arrival: August 28, 2009

We can't agree more with all the previous reviews. The facility and the provisions were outstanding. We had a once in a lifetime chance to see a bald eagle dive down and snatch a fish from the inlet. We watched a pod of Orcas pass by in both directions. The inlet is fascinating with its tidal ebb and flow and wildlife. The electric griddle made feeding pancakes to 4 hungry people a breeze. We took day trips to Whidby Island via the Port Townsend ferry and to Port Angles and Hurricane Ridge to get the flavor of the Olympic National Park and Puget Sound. They were long days but definitely worth the trips. Having the Hideway at which to recover made everything that much more enjoyable. Don't miss the Squaxin Tribal museum and their Veteran's memorial that is near the casino. The people in Shelton could not have been nicer and more helpful. The broadband connection allowed us to communicate easily to update the rest of our family since this was only one week of a two week trip to the Northwest. Thanks to Bill for the ease of payment and for all the amenities that he provided. Sorry that I can't attach my film clip of the Orcas! We recommend the Hideway as the perfect place to Getaway.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Incredible!!!

Review submitted: August 22, 2009   Date of arrival: August 17, 2009

"An amazing location and home! It was perfect for our annual "girls getaway". We couldn't have found a more peaceful and relaxing location. Private beach (we met only 3 others walking the beach at low tide - high tide - there is no walking on the beach as the water is literally at the grasses edge). We were entertained daily by Sammy the seal, otter, mink, osprey, deer, heron, and the 3 neighborhood fox who frolicked and foraged on the beach (and to our surprise - investigated our deck once the lights went out at night!!!). The comings and goings of the local boaters as well as watching the tug boats pull their loads up and down the inlet left us never lacking something to watch. Canoeing at high tide was calming, walking the beach and digging clams at low tide, never a dull moment. Bill (the owner) responded promptly to all emails both during and prior to our stay, and was very friendly and helpful. It was obvious he wants his guests to throughly enjoy their time in his home. We definitely will return!!! "

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Incredible!!!

Review submitted: August 22, 2009   Date of arrival: August 17, 2009

An amazing location and home! It was perfect for our annual "girls getaway". We couldn't have found a more peaceful and relaxing location. Private beach (we met only 3 others walking the beach at low tide - high tide - there is no walking on the beach as it is literally at the grasses edge). We were entertained daily by Sammy the seal, otter, mink, osprey, deer, heron, and the 3 neighborhood fox who frolicked and foraged on the beach (and to our surprise - investigated our deck once the lights went out at night!!!). The comings and goings of the local boaters as well as watching the tug boats pull their loads up and down the inlet left us never lacking something to watch. Canoeing at high tide was calming, walking the beach and digging clams at low tide, never a dull moment. Bill (the owner) responded promptly to all emails both during and prior to our stay, and was very friendly and helpful. It was obvious he wants his guests to throughly enjoy their time in his home. We definitely will return!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Better than described!

Review submitted: July 19, 2009   Date of arrival: July 6, 2009

Loved the long driveway opening to the no bank waterfront. Watching the morning wildlife while drinking coffee was wonderful. House was very nice and obviously new, very clean.
Great kitchen and sunroom!
Looking forward to staying again, and highly recommend!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Issaquah, WA

Review submitted: April 6, 2009   Date of arrival: April 3, 2009

We spent our week vacation together with friends at your beautiful home and had a great time. I couldn't believe when I found your place. Then again couldn't believe it was so perfect for our needs. Everyone had something to make them happy. Each family had their own private place to sleep, we all loved being on the beach. I enjoyed just relaxing and watching everyone have a great time. The sunsets and view from the deck and master suite were fantastic. Thanks again for sharing your wonderful home with all of us. We definitely plan on returning next year. We recommend this place highly, with the additional bonus that Bill was so helpful with any question we asked. Enjoy your trip....

Recommended for: families with young children, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review