reviews for: listing #50859 - Tybee Island, Georgia Condo rental

Atlantic Jewell~Oceanfront at South Beach
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  Condo
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  9
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $1,600 - $2,250 /wk

sort by:

Perfect

Review submitted: July 13, 2011   Date of arrival: July 8, 2011

This place is perfect. We had everything we needed and more. We will be staying here again. The huge porch is awsome. it is where we spent most of our time.

Thanks for sharing your home with our family.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Worth Every Cent

Review submitted: September 9, 2013   Date of arrival: August 31, 2013

This was a great place and the patio was fabulous. We relaxed at night looking out to the ocean. The condo was spacious and the parking garage was a godsend since it was close to 100 degrees while we were visiting. Since we brought food with us, it was a pleasant surprise to have the kitchen well equipped with equipment (blender, pots, pans), dishes (rather than using paper plates) and serving trays of various sizes. The beds were comfortable and the living room had ample seating for multiple people. Beth was very responsive to my needs when discussing the rental. I would definitely return and have already recommended this to others upon my return to Florida.

Recommended for: girls getaway

Owners response: I am very glad you enjoyed our condo. Thank you so much for taking the time to tell us about your experience there. Your remarks will be very helpful to other folks who are considering staying with us. Hope to see you again sometime. Beth

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Amazing Atlantic Jewel

Review submitted: July 9, 2013   Date of arrival: July 1, 2013

WOW! This place is amazing!! We had the best time. Loved everything about it. Just a short walk to the beach. Porch is the best part. Enjoyed coffee in the mornings on the porch and walks on the beach. Great having everything you need, loved having the washer and dryer to keep laundry caught up.

Our family really enjoyed staying here and would recommend it!! Do not have to worry about parking you are just across the street from the beach. Amazing!! Want to stay again. So close to everything!!

Owners response: Thanks for taking the time to write about your stay at Atlantic Jewel. Glad you had a great time. Everyone loves the location -- you can park your car and walk everywhere -- pier/pavilion, shopping district, restaurants, science museum, night life -- plus a 1 minute walk gets you on the beach. In the mornings, there is nothing better than sitting on the porch and watching the sun rise! (Except, maybe, walking on the beach and watching the sun rise). Andrea, we hope that you and your family and friends will return again soon. Beth

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Awesome Condo, Great Location

Review submitted: June 12, 2013   Date of arrival: March 15, 2013

You will not be disappointed here! Couldn't ask for better location my friends and I came to the area for the St Patrick's Day Celebration in Savannah and ended up spending most of our time on the island. This place has amazing ocean views and and sunrise views from inside the condo or from the big balcony. The elevator was hand for hauling luggage and groceries. We could walk to restaurants, fishing pier, shopping area and local bars. We will definitely return to this condo next year.

Owners response: Glad you and your friends discovered what a wonderful island Tybee is. I'm very glad you enjoyed staying at our condo. Hope to see you again soon. Beth

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

" Pefect Vews, Turly an Atlantic Jewel"

Review submitted: March 2, 2013   Date of arrival: January 12, 2013

We are frequent travelers and rented a lot of homes on VRBO. We found Atlantic Jewel to be at the top of the list. The condo has a perfect view with a patio that is incredible. The unit is spacious, clean and has good decor. It is in walking distance to all the activity and restaurants but not noisy and has privacy to get away from it all. Parking is a real problem on Tybee as every parking spot has a parking meter, even for a 5 minute stop. I suggest walking every where. Beth, the owner, is easy to talk with and was very helpful . When looking for a perfect condo with it all this is the one.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: This is exactly why we love our condo and Tybee. Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review. We hope your many travels will bring you back to Atlantic Jewel in the future.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Beautiful Ocean View Condo

Review submitted: November 13, 2012   Date of arrival: November 4, 2012

Our family has been vacationing on Tybee Island for many years and the Atlantic Jewell is by far the best condo we have ever rented!
The condo was super clean, beautifully decorated, and well appointed. Everything was well maintained and in great working order.
We loved spending time on the huge L-shaped balcony which overlooks the pier and the South beach area. Most evenings we purchased take-outs from local restaurants (Spanky's) and brought them back to the condo so that we could enjoy the beautiful ocean view with dinner.
The bedrooms were spacious and the bedding was SO comfortable. There is an ocean view from the bed in the master bedroom! Great for watching the sunrise! The kitchen had everything we needed and there was plenty of room for everyone to sit. There was a table with 4 chairs in the living room area that we used to play games and work puzzles that were provided by the owner. The bathrooms were clean and there were plenty of towels for everyone.
Parking was easy and close to the elevator and steps. The elevator made it much easier to get our things up to the condo level. The outdoor shower was great.
It was a pleasure working with Beth. She was so nice and helpful and answered all of our questions. Thanks for sharing your condo with us. We will be back next year!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for letting us help with your family vacation. We work hard to provide a quality home-away-from-home experience. The huge covered balcony is always a big hit - great place to hang out with friends and family or watch a morning sunrise with a cup of coffee. Quests love to park their car and never use it again. A short walk and you are in the heart of the pier/pavilion and downtown shopping and restaurant area. We appreciate you taking the time to post a review and hope you come back soon for some more "Tybee Time".

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Glenda Torrence Little Mountain, SC

Review submitted: July 24, 2012   Date of arrival: March 30, 2012

We had our annual sister/husband trip at Tybee the last of March 2012 and the weather was great! We stayed in the Atlantic Jewell oceanfront condo at South Beach. The condo was great! Very spacious and very clean! Fully stocked kitchen and plenty of dining & sitting room. 3 bedrooms with comfortable beds. Lots of pillows! There is a huge deck for a balconny! Lots of deck furniture to spread out and enjoy the ocean breezes and watch for dolphins. We usually saw them around 10:00 in the morning. There are steps leading from the balconny to the street below which gives a quick access to the town or beach. We enjoyed having a washer and dryer to go home with clean clothes. My sisters and I highly recommend this condo. Perfect location & perfect in every way! Glenda Torrence & family

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: I am so glad you and your family enjoyed Tybee and the condo. Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience. We hope to see you again in the future. Beth

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Disappointed

Review submitted: May 2, 2012   Date of arrival: April 7, 2012

The view is beautiful here. The kitchen is well stocked. We had some concerns/ disappointments here. I brought the dryer problem to the rental management..it was a huge problem for our stay.


Here is a list of the things:
1-No easy TV instructions to turn it on.
2-Washer is very rusted but the biggest problem we faced was the Dryer: it dosen't dry things in timley manner.
3- Four of the Patio furnitures we unusable(broken).
4-Cigarette butts were left on the patio(someone should have cleaned them up before renting the sapce) disgusting
5-Porch (patio door that leads to the street) very hard to lock
6-Sink faucet in the kitchen is loose, leaking plumming in the second bathroom.
7-Sleeper sofa mattress is worn out and so are all the other mattresses (couldn't sleep well on them).

When we brought these things to the owner.
She came back with a matter of opinion/defended her place on many of the items.

It was not Possible for her to make the above items right. Many of them were discovered.. 2 late.

It sure is disappointing when you work hard for vacation.. and get to rent a place that was not well maintained/over used.

Owners response: Our goal is to always satisfy our customers. We have Comcast Cable Expanded Channels, HBO, OnDemand, DVD & VCR connected. Instructions are stored in a binder. Our washer is new & not rusted. Dryer was slower than normal. It took 5 minutes for maintenance to clean the vent outside. Prior to the guest arrival all chairs were usable. Beach chairs are constantly breaking due to salt air, therefore we always keep several spares in the closet below. We have a no smoking policy. Repairman could not find a problem with any of the plumbing. We provide a mattress topper for the sleeper sofa. All other mattresses were checked and no problems found. The renter did not notify us of any problem until she was leaving, consequently we were not given a chance to help our valued customer. We have maintenance people on call 24/7. This particular customer has received a free night stay plus a refund. My husband and I take great pride in our beautiful condo and customer satidfaction. We hope that you will come stay with us.

Helpful votes: 5 / 7

 

Perfect in every way

Review submitted: November 13, 2011   Date of arrival: November 11, 2011

We were pleasantly surprised with this condo. The listing and pictures are very accurate. The huge balcony is amazing! The condo had everything that we could of possibly of wanted. The views are spectacular. The trip to the lighthouse was worthwhile.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Very Pleased

Review submitted: September 1, 2011   Date of arrival: August 20, 2011

My husband and I, and my 86 year old mother and her 85 year old sister simply had a wonderful time at your condo. It was beautiful and well suited for us. This was our first time to Tybee and we will definitely be back. The listing description was accurate, the view was wonderful, the property was clean and well maintained and kitchen had all that we needed. We were very pleased.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Just Perfect!!

Review submitted: June 12, 2011   Date of arrival: June 10, 2011

Great condo for a girls get away!! We will be back again!!

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 6

 

csmith

Review submitted: May 23, 2011   Date of arrival: May 9, 2011

Enjoyed our first trip to Tybee. Such a quaint little town. We loved the condo especially the large deck (wonderful!), the fantastic view, and the fact you could walk where you wanted to go. Loved the walk area on beach. Made it possible for heart patient to walk to waters edge. (very difficult to walk in soft sand!) Peaceful and quiet area. This is by far the best stocked condo we have stayed in and we have stayed in plenty. Suggestions: King bed (instead of queen) in master bedroom...... Hot tub on that beautiful deck!

Recommended for: people with disabilities, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Second week in April

Review submitted: June 12, 2010   Date of arrival: May 6, 2010

My friends and I were planning on staying in the gulf, but changed our minds after the oil spill. We stayed at this beautiful condo on Tybee which is literally steps from the beach. The owner was responsive and understanding. The one day it did rain, we made the short trip to Savannah and spent the day walking through the historic district. If I ever look to be back on Tybee Island, I will definitely check with this property first.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 10 / 10

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review