reviews for: listing #50955 - Jaco, Costa Rica Villa rental

Secluded Private Villa in Rainforest & Across from Beach
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  yes
  • type  Villa
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Jaco Beach
  • sleeps  9
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $250 - $400 /nt

sort by:

Beautiful home with ocean view

Review submitted: March 17, 2014   Date of arrival: March 9, 2014

The owners were helpful and very nice. The house was beautiful and was a short walk to the beach. I definitely recommend this home to anyone who is looking to stay in the jaco area.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful house!

Review submitted: March 12, 2014   Date of arrival: February 18, 2014

House was fantastic, large bedrooms and bathrooms. the two caretakers, one on site and one a phone call away if needed, were friendly and helpful. House was very clean. There were 6 of us staying here and we never felt like we were 'on top' of one another, lots of room. We used the facilities of Club del Mar Resort, and the owner was very nice too us. We had the best of both worlds, a beautiful house and use of a resort and minutes from the ocean. Would definitely recommend it. The only downside is the traffice noise, but apparently Les and the owner of Club del Mar are trying to convince Jaco officials to slow the traffic down. Jaco is a great vacation spot, lots to do, we arranged horsebacking riding, zip lining, visited Manual Antonio national park (beautiful beach), and rented a vehicle and drove into the mountains and visited a coffee plantation. All in, a fantastic holiday. Thanks Les, Maria & Alex!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The location was fantastic

Review submitted: February 12, 2014   Date of arrival: January 30, 2014

Thank you for the use of your property. Just wanted to let you know our stay was wonderful, the location was fantastic and Maria is the best. Club Del Mar was a great perk also the amenities there and the staff were great.

Monique and Brian

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thank you very, very much!

Review submitted: January 8, 2014   Date of arrival: December 22, 2013

Hi, Les,
Thank you very, very much! We absolutely loved the house! It's a beautiful place.
Thanks and warm regards,
Stephanie Boyette

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Adults and Babies all had time and space for fun.

Review submitted: June 22, 2012   Date of arrival: June 2, 2012

The architecture is unique and we loved taking pictures throughout the property. The high wood ceiling is beautiful Bathroom and shower space excellent for honeymooners and for baby tubs. The ramp was quite a challenge to drive up to so we had transportation generally leave us by the stairs. Really get the feel of being in a rainforest. No mosquito attacks. Pool is clean and warm. Kitchen nicely equipped and 2 refrigerators were perfect. Balcony offers amazing views. We left cute ladybug and bumble bee infant floating devices we hope other families will enjoy.
Truly unlimited access to Club Del Mar facilities whose staff is very hospitable and pleasant. Food also good but pricier than nearby delicious Soda y Marisqueria Alta Mar.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Casa de Mariposa

Review submitted: April 30, 2012   Date of arrival: April 21, 2012

This was our first trip to Costa Rica and we went with two other couples, this house was perfect. It was clean, efficient and met all of our needs. I can be a little over orangized when travelling but the owner was extremely helpful in answering all of my questions in great detail and the welcome letter is great giving you tips on what to do and not do which was great. We used the transportation service that the owner recommended and they were awesome as well. There is a person on the property that was very helpful, checking in on us each morning, cleaning the pool and taking care of anything that we needed or asked for. You can walk to town but you can also just go across the street to the resort and ask them to call you a cab which made things very easy. Downtown Jaco is very nice, the people were very helpful and always pleasant, Whaoos is a must. I would most certainly stay here again and would recommend it to anyone visiting Jaco. Everything was great...........

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Awesome Villa!!!!

Review submitted: March 4, 2012   Date of arrival: February 25, 2012

This villa was absolutely breathtaking!! It was even better than described!! The only complaint we had was the noise level from the road. We are used to it being illegal for trucks to use their jake brakes, not so for Costa Rica apparantly. The noise did make it hard to relax and sleep late on vacation. But other than that, I can't say enough good things about this house. The price is very reasonable. Alex was so wonderful!! We tried to be self sufficient and not bother him. The one time we tried to call our own taxi, we never did get them to understand we needed a large taxi for 6 people. Alex was invaluable to us!! He called the taxi service for us many times, was available anytime we had questions, helped us with the grill, kept the pool nice and clean, and gave us suggestions and tips on where to eat reasonably, and just generally did everything we asked of him. Club Del Mar was incredible!!! The beach breathtaking!!
Les, the owner, was very helpful and gave more info on the house and Jaco, Costa Rica than we ever thought we would need. We were concerned when our plane was delayed, that our transport would leave without us. One call to Les and he assured us the van would be there, and it was.
I can't say enough good about this villa, Alex, and the owner Les.
I would recommend this place to anyone traveling to Costa Rica!!

Thanks so much Les and Alex for an incredible vacation!!!!
Rhesa Green

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Casa De Mariposas

Review submitted: January 6, 2012   Date of arrival: December 20, 2011

Beautiful home that is appointed accordingly for the area. We found the location to be great for us as beach access through Club Del Mar out us close to the best surfing beach in Jaco. Jaco is a surf town people so we highly recommend that you surf. The property owners were very accomodating and trusting and were very appreciative of our interest in their home. It was great to do business with them and they were very generous to us. My son and I liked having the caretaker on property 24/7, he came in handy several times in dealing with locals and tending to the house. We felt very secure here and virtually everyone knew where Casa De Mariposas was located. The owners gave great recommendations on things to do (we just surfed every day) and places to eat. We highly recommend Jaco Rustico for local Costa Rican food. It is awesome and you eat like a king for $6. A must visit is Pachi's Pan Bakery and you have to try Tres Leches and Rice Pudding there (best in the world) although everything there is awsesome and dirt cheap. Tsunami Sushi was great - we ate there twice. Definitely will return to this lcoation and rent from these people, the house is built for entertaining and was more than my son & I could enjoy.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Paradise

Review submitted: May 13, 2011   Date of arrival: May 4, 2011

Everything was just great! Alex was very attentive and was a huge asset to us. It really helped that he speaks english as well as he does. You all have a wonderful place. Thx again for everything!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you, John. You were a wonderful guest. Thank you for complimenting Alex. He does a great job of overseeing the property and attending to the needs of our guests. Pura Vida!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Casa de Mariposas, Jaco Beach, Costa Rica

Review submitted: April 27, 2011   Date of arrival: April 15, 2011

It’s a great house and we would recommend it. Other than not having a dishwasher, it had everything we needed. It was a real plus having Alex on the property although we hated to bother him for things like toilet paper and paper towels. Regarding the road noise, once we got used to it we over looked it (understanding the road was the coast highway and that it was the only route south helped). The VRBO online photo of the property does not in any way indicate that the house is that close to the main hwy. It would be appear much higher up. We grew accustomed to the road noise but it was very apparent and woke us up for the 1st few nights/mornings. The benefits of the house far outweighed the road noise but should be mentioned in the description of the property listing. All of the tour guides/drivers that the owner recommended to us were excellent, as was everything about the Club del Mar. We'd recommend the Taco Bar for in-town dining, and for the BEST typical fare, El Fuego del Tigre! Los Suenos zipline tour and Manual Alfonso tour in Quepos are also a must.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: Thank you, Terri. We appreciate your staying at Casa De Mariposas and are happy you had a great adventure in Costa Rica. Pura Vida!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Casa De Mariposas(Tropical Paradise)

Review submitted: January 18, 2011   Date of arrival: January 4, 2011

We loved our stay at your lovely home. We had the best of both worlds. The modern comforts of home in a private secluded enviroment with the use of Club Del Mar across the street-right on the beach (were we watch the sun set over the ocean every night).
Jaco was the perfect town with modern restaurants and local sodas. No fears, friendly people.
Your choices of restaurants were very helpfull. I would add the Taco Bar as a favorite. Great red snapper fish taco.
We went to Manuel Antonio Park-enjoyed all the wildlife there, nice beach. Monkeys everywhere.
Saw the crocs sunny at Crocodile Bridge, rode horses, zip lined, rode ATV's and the kids went surfing.
Everything was as you described. Your home was very clean and we loved the location. Would recommend to friends and family. Just a heads up-no oven but who wants to bake while in paradise.
ps: Alex was wonderful! Very polite and quick to come to our aid.
Only problem we faced was the 8 inches of snow we came home to in Pittsburgh but GO STEELERS!
The Thompson's

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Fun times...

Review submitted: December 5, 2010   Date of arrival: November 18, 2010

We just arrived back home from our trip to Costa Rica...A group of 4 of us stayed at Casa De Mariposas for 4 nites - mid November 2010 -... The house was awesome...It more than met our needs...After a full day at the beach, it was great to come to a "home" where we could hang our hat...The beach access was great, as you cut through Club Del Mar...and voila, you are at the far South end of Jaco beach (not as many people at this end of the beach, compared to the North end of the beach)...The beach is amazing there...The house is in close proximity to Playa Hermosa as well...

Alex, the groundskeeper, was great and showed us many cool things around Jaco...Les and Shelley, have done an excellent job with this property...I wouldn't hesitate to book here again...

Mark

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Trip!

Review submitted: November 5, 2010   Date of arrival: November 8, 2009

I recently staid in Casa De Mariposa with 7 friends for 8 days It's everything to be expected. The view from the up stairs porch is beautiful, and the house has everything you need while on a vacation. The house is very close to town, but yet still far enough away that you don't get all the hustle and bustle of the local town traffic. Beach is right across the street, and the food and drink at Club Del Mar is very good. Alexis the grounds keeper speak very good English and is willing and able to help with anything he can. Because of the great location of the house if you plan to stay around Jaco, and Hemrosa Beach you really don't need to rent a car. Les and Shelly were awesome. They hooked us up with a local tour guide Daniel who is amazing. Couldn't ask for a better trip, if I get the chance I'll be back again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Jaco is amazing!!!

Review submitted: March 18, 2010   Date of arrival: March 3, 2010

Hi, Shelley,

Just wanted to shoot you a quick e-mail to say thanks to you and Les for everything. We really enjoyed staying at your home, and cannot wait to come back for our next visit. Jaco is amazing!!!

I will be sure to let people know about about Casa De Mariposas, and what a great time we had there.

Best to you and yours,
Ashley Myers
Lauderdale, MN 55108

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: March 18, 2010   Date of arrival: March 18, 2010

Hi, Shelley,

Just wanted to shoot you a quick e-mail to say thanks to you and Les for everything. We really enjoyed staying at your home and cannot wait to come back for our next visit.
Jaco is amazing!!!

I will be sure to let people know all about Casa De Mariposas, and what a great time we had there.

Best to your and yours,
Ashley

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"The house was even more special in person."

Review submitted: March 12, 2010   Date of arrival: August 2, 2009

Hi Les!

We have returned from our trip and want to thank you for the wonderful rental. The kids had a great time riding the waves, and even got to see some of the World Surfing competition held at Playa Hermosa. We spent a lot of time at Club Del Mar. The house was even more special in person. Early (owner's note: our Security/Maintenance person who lives in a "guest house" separate from the main house) was very helpful if we needed anything. After we left your house, we had a safe trip to Arenal provided by the driver you recommended. The volcano was active and visible so we ended the vacation on a great note. We'll be sure to mention your place to anyone visiting Costa Rica.

Thanks again.

Take care, Angela and James Glass
Schwenksville, PA

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We'll be back!

Review submitted: March 12, 2010   Date of arrival: May 21, 2009

Just wanted to let you know we had a great time at the house. The privacy of the house and quick access to town was exactly what we were looking for. Plus having Club Del Mar right across the road - great beach, great food, great atmosphere - was a real bonus.

Early was terrific (Early is our 24 hour security/maintenance overseer). We'll be back!

Spencer Goldenberg
Aventura, FL

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: February 1, 2010   Date of arrival: February 1, 2010

Les,

I meant to email you by now, but we had a lot of catching up to do and of course the weather here is like 10 degrees so we've had adjusting to do. We had a GREAT time! It was so so so awesome! Everything was wonderful! Early (24 hour maintenance/security person who lives in the "guest house" on the property but separate from the house) was fantastic (very helpful and nice). The house was great! It was definitely one of the best trips I have ever taken. The people at the Del Mar were so gracious and kind to us. We loved everything. Thank you so much for your hospitality. Everything was amazing. I have already referred you to 2 sets of family/friends who want to go to Costa Rica.

Regards,

Mary Wallace
Real Estate Consultant - Coldwell Banker
Call or Text Me at 708-203-1412
Be the Change You Wish to See the in World ~ Gandhi

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"We had a GREAT time! ...The house was great!"

Review submitted: February 1, 2010   Date of arrival: January 13, 2010

Les,
I meant to email you by now, but we had a lot of catching up to do and of course the weather here is like 10 degrees (Oaklawn, Illinois outside Chicago) so we've had adjusting to do. We had a GREAT time! It was so awesome! Everything was wonderful! Early (24 hour Security/Maintenance person who lives in a "guest house" separate from the main house - owner's note) was fantastic (very helpful and nice). The house was great! It was definitely one of the best trips I have ever taken. The people at the Del Mar were so gracious and kind to us. We loved everything. Thank you so much for your hospitality. Everything was amazing. I have already referred 2 sets of family/friends who want to go to Costa Rica.

Regards,

Mary Wallace
Real Estate Consultant - Coldwell Banker
Be the Change You Wish to See the in World ~ Gandhi

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"We had a GREAT time! ...The house was great!"

Review submitted: February 1, 2010   Date of arrival: January 13, 2010

Les,
I meant to email you by now, but we had a lot of catching up to do and of course the weather here is like 10 degrees (Oaklawn, Illinois outside Chicago) so we've had adjusting to do. We had a GREAT time! It was so awesome! Everything was wonderful! Early (24 hour Security/Maintenance person who lives in a "guest house" separate from the main house - owner's note) was fantastic (very helpful and nice). The house was great! It was definitely one of the best trips I have ever taken. The people at the Del Mar were so gracious and kind to us. We loved everything. Thank you so much for your hospitality. Everything was amazing. I have already referred 2 sets of family/friends who want to go to Costa Rica.

Regards,

Mary Wallace
Real Estate Consultant - Coldwell Banker
Be the Change You Wish to See the in World ~ Gandhi

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: September 10, 2009   Date of arrival: September 10, 2009

Just wanted to let you know we had a great time at the house. The privacy of the house and quick access to town was exactly what we were looking for. Plus having Club Del Mar right across
the road - great beach, great food, great atmosphere - was a real bonus.

Early was terrific (Early is our security/maintenance overseer).

We'll be back!

Spencer Goldenberg

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: September 10, 2009   Date of arrival: September 10, 2009

Hi Les!

We have returned from our trip and want to thank you for the wonderful rental.

The kids had a great time riding the waves, and even got to see some of the
World Surfing competition held a Playa Hermosa. We spent a lot of time at
Club Del Mar. The house was even more special in person.

Early (the maintenance/security overseer) was very helpful if we needed anything. After we left your house, we had a safe trip to Arenal provided by the driver you recommended. The volcano was active and visible so we ended the vacation on a great note.

We'll be sure to mention you place to anyone visiting Costa Rica. Thanks again.

Take care, Angela and James Glass

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review