reviews for: listing #50958 - Big Sur, California Cabin rental

2 Unique Cabin's in the Magical Redwood Forest!
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  Cabin
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $165 - $275 /nt
    $990 - $1,650 /wk

sort by:

Guest Comment entered by owner

Great Big Sur retreat!

Review submitted: March 7, 2012   Date of arrival: February 23, 2012

Nestled in a tranquil redwood forest, this is the perfect place for a quiet retreat in one of California's most beautiful destinations. Ideally located to explore all that the Big Sur has to offer (don't miss cocktails in the river at the River Inn just down the road). Both cabins are rustic but well equipped. I have stayed in both and thoroughly enjoyed each of my visits. You won't be disappointed.

Helpful votes: 10 / 10

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great Getaway!

Review submitted: March 7, 2012   Date of arrival: February 23, 2012

My husband and I wanted a weekend getaway to this beautiful part of California. We found this cabin on vrbo and knew this is where we should stay. We stayed in the larger, two bedroom place. The cabin itself was cozy and clean. It is clear that the owner takes great care of the property. We built a fire each night we were there to keep warm. The location is off Hwy 1 with a very fun drive through the redwoods to the cabin. This road was one of the highlights of the trip. In addition, it's a quick drive up to Carmel or you can stay at the cabin and feel like you are secluded from the world. I highly recommend this property and can't wait to plan another trip to the area to return again.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great spot for a weekend getaway!

Review submitted: March 7, 2012   Date of arrival: February 17, 2012

I stayed here with 3 of my friends and we had a blast. Lisa made sure when we got there the cabin was warm and cozy and ready for our stay. It is stocked with all the necessities you need for a few night stay including pots, pans, condiments, etc. The next day, Lisa came over to make sure we knew how to work the fireplace. Overall, a great experience and I would definitely stay there again.

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Awesome Place in the Trees!

Review submitted: December 3, 2011   Date of arrival: November 13, 2011

Really wonderful owners and a fabulous place to stay....whether you go explore the coastline or just stay in by the fire and play board games, I highly recommend it!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect weekend getaway

Review submitted: October 11, 2011   Date of arrival: October 7, 2011

We stayed in the studio cabin for a weekend. The property was absolutely beautiful! Surrounded by redwoods and just a short drive from the coast. Despite being directly next to the larger cabin, the studio felt completely private. It was as described in the ad, but even better than I expected because the kitchen had absolutely everything you would need there. The owner was very friendly and left plenty of wood for the fire. The only suggestion I can make is that maybe they could use a new mattress as the one they have wasn't very comfortable. Everything else was great though, and I would definitely stay here again!

Recommended for: sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: It is a great little cabin! We just purchased the mattress "new" about 6 months ago. We have slept on it and find its comfortable. It just depends on what you like in a mattress, firm or soft. It is more on the firm side.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Perfect!

Review submitted: August 30, 2011   Date of arrival: February 4, 2011

We had 7 people for both cabins for a week and found the cabins to be clean, well organized, and even warmed up upon our arrival. We looked for a place that was in a private community between Big Sur and Carmel-by-the-Sea and found it in these quaint rustic cabins. The main structure is a remolded 80 year old hunter cabin with cool hand carved redwood beams, high ceilings, and skylights that look up into the massive old redwoods. The little studio is an adorable lofted love nest, that we had a hard time getting my parents out of for daily activities! The furnishings were comfortable, tasteful and complete, including kitchen ware! The cleaning list took about 30 minutes to complete and our deposit was refunded within a couple of days of our departure. There was a wide spread power outage during our stay and the property manager showed up within 20 minutes with a report, extra flashlights and even checked on us first thing the next morning...super helpful and she also had great information about local hikes and attractions not listed on any websites! The drive to the end of the road takes you to Los Padres National Forest and there are also a couple of marked hiking trails along the way. These are amazing hikes that should not be missed: we did 3 just up the road. It was so nice to finish each of our 3 hour hikes and just drive 5 minutes down the road and be back in our cozy cabins! There is no cable (or satellite) for TV, but a nice variety of DVD's and VHS movies, along with several games that we played during the power outage in candle light and in front of a warm fire. Highly recommended vacation pad!

Rating:5 out of 5

Recommended for: Pet-friendly , Adventure Seekers , Girls Getaway , Sightseeing , Families with Teenagers , Families with Young Children , Romantic Getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great Sisters Weekend!

Review submitted: August 30, 2011   Date of arrival: August 5, 2011

Thank you Lisa for being so helpful. Our sister weekend was great and the 2 bedroom cabin was comfortable even with it's rustic charm. When I come to California to visit each summer, my 2 sisters and I always pick a different place to stay where we can do some shopping, sight seeing and just have some fun catch up time. This was a great spot for that! Horseback riding near by that takes you on the beach, this was a great experience.

Rating:4 out of 5

Recommended for: Adventure Seekers , Girls Getaway , Sightseeing , Families with Teenagers , Romantic Getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Two Hidden Jems!

Review submitted: August 30, 2011   Date of arrival: August 12, 2011

What a stunning place for a weekend getaway or vacation! I have to admit, I am a huge fan of the Redwoods, beach, and outdoors. These 2 cabins exceeded my expectations. They are nestled among a grove of Redwood trees and positioned next to a babbling brook. It was amazing to take in the sights and sounds of the towering Redwoods and cool running water from any position on the property. The owner was incredibly helpful in answering any questions or concerns. I would recommend this property to my friends and family and I plan to return to the property in the future with my family. The property was clean and well maintained. Day trips around Big Sur were a breeze from the property. I would suggest the following attractions: Pfieffer Beach, McWay Falls in the Julia Pfieffer Burns State Park, Nepenthe restaurant (main attraction is stunning ocean view), and the River Inn Restaurant (main attraction is river in the back, great for soaking your feet in the summertime). Enjoy

Rating:5 out of 5

Recommended for: Age 55+ , Adventure Seekers , Girls Getaway , Families with Teenagers , Families with Young Children , Romantic Getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review