reviews for: listing #51118 - Playa Negra, Costa Rica House rental

TreeTop Romance 200M to Pacific in Gated Community Slps 2-6
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Rancho Playa Negra
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $113 - $164 /nt
    $680 - $980 /wk

sort by:

Romantic getaway

Review submitted: August 19, 2009   Date of arrival: August 7, 2009

We enjoyed our stay at the house in Playa Negra. It is a beautiful home with wonderful views. The house was very comfortable and clean. Cody & Sunshine made us feel so welcome. They were very helpful when we had any questions or issues. The kitchen was fully equipped with everything we could possible need. The bathrooms had great showers and the towels were fluffy. The bedrooms were very comfortable and had plenty of room for clothes and luggage. The massive amounts of windows made the house bright and airy. We really appreciated the use of the washer and dryer downstairs too!
We were entertained every morning by the monkey family trekking through the trees surrounding the house. The iguanas came down from the rooftop to eat some of the greenery in the back yard. We awoke every day to the beautiful songs of the parrots and other exotic birds. The yard and surrounding area was always alive with the sounds and movements of wildlife. The balcony areas were used several times a day, from morning coffee, picture taking, and relaxing after swimming to cocktails at night. It truly felt like paradise.
The local restaurants were very good and reasonably priced. The local people were very friendly and most speak English. The prices at the Hotel Playa Negra gift shop are very good, as opposed to some of the shops around Playa Tamarendo. Café Playa Negra has a great Tico breakfast, the Villa Deevena is gorgeous and the food delicious, for dinner.
When, not if, we come back to CR, we will be staying here at the Mango Tango! We loved it.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are so excited when guests get to experience our favorite parts of Guanacaste, Costa Rica; the wildlife, amazing scenery and warm locals. We fell in love with the howler monkeys, lush tropical foliage, flowers, brilliant blue skies, mountain and ocean-scapes 15 years ago. Owning, renovating and self-managing our vacation home in Playa Negra allows us to offer extradinarily low rates; while providing a high quality accomodation in a tranquil natural setting close enough to the beach to hear the waves breaking, yet simultaneously surrounded by trees. Surfing, zip lines, horseback riding, shell combing, fishing, snorkling and sunbathing can wear anyone out; so It is important to us to provide our guests with vacation comforts including comfortable beds, soft towels,extra pillows, ample kitchen gadgets, tealights for romantic spa style showers, beach towels and other personalized touches. We are always looking for new ways to help our guests' experience be special! We realize that vacations are hard-earned and a time to be cherished; and do our best to help our home contribute to the most pura vida Playa Negra, Costa Rica vacation possible.

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 

Contact whit nature and calm

Review submitted: February 8, 2014   Date of arrival: January 13, 2014

The presence of the wild forest and of a small river in the backyard of the villa, has permit us to see alot of beautiful birds,iguanas,howling monkeys,squirrels,ect...
We have appreciated the pool who was well cleaned, a must due to the heat,The kitchen was well equiped, the livingroom and diningroom very confortables.
It takes a car to live there because it is a remote place.
Jarrod and Meaghan the managers were always there to help us.
Jean-Claude and Henriette, from Québec Canada.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Cool Spot in Playa Negra

Review submitted: November 22, 2013   Date of arrival: November 2, 2013

Very nice house in very safe gated community. The house is very well set up with 3 bedrooms and full kitchen with every possible piece of equipment that you would need. The pool and outside area is very nice and well set up for dining al fresco if you wish. We had a great time at Pura Adventura zip lining and horse back riding. The local restaurants were very good with great prices at Buena Vida and fantastic meals at Villa Deveena (best restaurant I have been to in years) I would suggest a car for getting around but you can walk for hours up and down the beach if you like. Overall we loved Costa Rica and Casa Mango Tango was a great base to use and the best overall value possible for a rental property.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A true get away!

Review submitted: August 13, 2013   Date of arrival: August 1, 2013

Wow! We had amazing trip! It was very accommodating for my 18 month old. The location is unbeatable, playa negra is simply wonderful!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

This place offers the best of everything!

Review submitted: June 10, 2013   Date of arrival: May 29, 2013

Our family of three loved our stay here. With so many choices we had a hard time deciding which property to book. Shortly after reserving Mango Tango I knew we picked the right one. The owners Sunshine and Cody go out of their way to make sure your stay is perfect. Sunshine sent us a ton of information on the area, her attention to detail is amazing. Cody actually took the time to draw us a map to a local park. The house itself is beautiful. When looking for a property were going back and forth about an ocean view. While this rental doesn't have one, it makes up for it with its privacy and lush landscape. It is also within close proximity to many beaches. You can hear the waves while sitting in the pool. Mango Tango is just as nice on the inside. The house has everything you could possibly need. Everything was well maintained and the furnishings were extremely nice. Sunshine is a very talented artist and interior decorator. I can't say anything negative about Mango Tango. The owners made our trip even better than I could have imagined.

Owners response: Many Warm Thanks! To hear that guests enjoyed their time in Casa Mango Tango, and that it made their vacation special; is incredibly rewarding. We know as well as anyone that vacations are expensive due to ticket costs and limited days off work. The valuable vacation time needs to be a treasure for guests. This is Costa Rica; so as long as guests anticipate a few 2nd world quirks; we think you'll find that Casa Mango Tango is a great value. We strive to keep our home pretty and welcoming; the primary forest right out the windows creates its own magic. A sincere thank you to guests who brighten our lives, and take a little time to share their experience. We hope you'll be back!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great house, awesome location

Review submitted: April 1, 2013   Date of arrival: March 9, 2013

We had a great time here,my wife fell in love with the house. The house was nicer than our own one in Atlanta!! The pool was awesome, our 5 month old loved it, but loved the family of 10 monkeys that ate breakfast with us every morning even more. Very quiet, very private. The photos are not wrong, the place is really that nice. Playa Negra was amazing, lots to see and do, lots of good places to eat. The pool guy Elvis was by far one of the coolest people, he came by cleaned up the yard and the pool and couldn't have been nicer. Cody and Sunshine have done an excellent job with the whole experience. We had a wonderful time and will be back with our older boys to surf.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Beautiful place!

Review submitted: March 13, 2013   Date of arrival: November 5, 2012

My lover and I stayed here for a week on our first excursion to Costa Rica. This place is exquisite and Sunshine was a joy being very helpful throughout our stay. Really enjoyed the privacy and having no kids for the week!! We rented a Landcruiser, which came in handy with some of the very bumpy dirt roads!! We drove around most of the surrounding region including trips to Arenal and Rincon de la Vieja. Very much recommend the zip lines in both places and the really fun tubing trip in Vieja! Also, recommend not driving after dark as everyone seems to come out on the streets at night on bicycles or on foot or just socializing and it is scary trying to avoid hitting them! Watch out for dogs and horses too! Beaches are all amazingly different and worth exploring. On our last evening there, we had a little tussle with a friendly raccoon over who was going to get the steak from the grill... but worked that out after a bit of a battle. Couples or families can't go wrong staying here. We definitely hope to return! Thank you for a wonderful vacation!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Quiet & peaceful escape

Review submitted: February 5, 2013   Date of arrival: November 22, 2012

In the week I visited Costa Rica I drove over 800 miles. By far I found Playa Negra to be my favorite location. The house is exactly as pictured. Sunshine and Cody go to the extreme to make the stay memorable. The restaurants in the area are great. The thing I miss the most is falling asleep watching the trees sway in the wind. Each beach was a little different. The beach nearest the house has lots of lava- a must see!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great, relaxing vacation

Review submitted: January 20, 2013   Date of arrival: January 4, 2013

Our stay at Casa Mango Tango was great. The kids loved the pool and it was a short walk to surfing and snorkling beaches. The house was perfect, with comfortable beds and games and movies for the kids. Sunshine and Cody were super accomodating and there to help when we needed it!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Away from it all!

Review submitted: August 6, 2012   Date of arrival: July 4, 2012

What a wonderful place! My husband, 9 month old daughter and I stayed here for two weeks. We had a wonderful time! Being limited by our daughter and the heat this place was like heaven. The pool is partially shaded so even when it is hot and sunny out babies (or those with sunburns) can still be outside and not worried about getting too much sun. There is a beach (with smooth pebbles not sand) just 5 minute walk from the house. At low tide there are great tide pools there. For us it was the best of both worlds! Elvis, the grounds taker was wonderful. He took great care of yard and pool and although by husband's Spanish is limited, visited with him while he worked. Rebekah, the housekeeper came once during our stay while we were away. We left in a bit of a rush and left both laundry and dishes. When we came home we were surprised to see that while she was there she did all the dishes and finished the laundry! Such a treat and totally unexpected!! Sunshine and Cody, the owners, also responded to all of our questions and concerns promptly. We have stayed at a number of places from homeaway.com and only one other places provided a welcome basket. We were expecting the same type of thing here, the cheapest items in the basket...this was not the case! The welcome basket was more then we could have ever expected and did exactly what it was supposed to do - it made us feel welcomed!
The kitchen has everything that you could want - even a deluxe wine opener. We found some very nice wines at the grocery store in Tamarindo. On our last day here a group of monkeys paced through and stayed up in the trees near the house for a number of hours.
We had a wonderful time here and have many memories that I am sure no other place could recreate.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Beautiful Home and Perfect for a Family Vacation!!

Review submitted: April 16, 2012   Date of arrival: April 7, 2012

Mango Tango is a perfect getaway for a family vacation. We had 2 families (3 kids) total and it was absolutely the perfect set-up. There is plenty of shade for the kids so they are not getting too much sun. The pool was the perfect entertainment in the early morning hours and then we would head to the path and walk down to Playa Negra, a great safe adventure for everyone!! The kitchen has everything you need and more!! Internet didn't work well but that actually was a plus because we were able to completely disconnect from home, which was nice.

Highly recommend this home and the hospitality of the owners!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

relaxing getaway

Review submitted: February 10, 2012   Date of arrival: January 27, 2012

We stayed a week at Casa Mango Tango. A beautiful place to stay. There were just two of us so we stayed on the upper floor where we enjoyed the breezes throughout the night. Sunshine gave us a lot of information about the surrounding area which was great because we had never been in Costa Rica before. I thought there would be alot of mosquitos, but there were not. I thought it would be difficult to navigate, but it wasn't. The roads are all very well marked.

The property was clean and well kept. Nice decor and comfortable too. While it was not really a snorkeling spot, it was a wonderful spot for beaching it and learning to surf and boogie boarding. The zip line I thought was a lot of fun! And the resaurant choices all around were very good; particularly DeVeena (delectable) and Kon Tiki(value and yummy) and the pizzaria which had the best ceviche, go figure. Playa Negra is a quiet surfing town surrounded by a very hospitable and warm community.

Negatives were that we could not find any fresh fish grill for ourselves and there is a resort down the way that advertises messages. Just make sure it's the woman you get and not the man.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Almost Paradise!

Review submitted: February 1, 2012   Date of arrival: January 18, 2012

We returned a week ago from our vacation in Costa Rica. Wish we were still there! Our stay at Mango Tango was fantastic! Sunshine and Cody are wonderful hosts who did whatever they could to ensure our stay at their house was enjoyable, and they succeeded! The house is well maintained and better than the online description suggests. The neighborhood is quiet with easy access to the beach. Playa Negra, where the house is located, is a small community but still has several nice restaurants. We especially enjoyed Lola's on the beach. There's also a great zip-line canopy tour at Pura Aventura about a 20 minute drive from the house.
I'd highly recommend Mango Tango to everyone! We'll be back when we can stay longer!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Amazing!

Review submitted: January 22, 2012   Date of arrival: January 7, 2012

We just returned from 11 fabulous days at Mango Tango. We travel as often as possible and have not yet returned to the same spot—until now. We have already booked for our vacation next year!

Mango Tango is a beautifully appointed quiet and secluded home tucked into the jungle next to a placid river. Sunshine was there to greet us when we arrived and walked us through the house pointing out everything we might need for our stay. She then walked with us down the path to the beach and described what we would find in each direction. Her cheery welcome and enthusiasm for the area really got our vacation off to a wonderful start.

Sunshine has a great eye for decor—upscale but comfortable. Original art, beautiful furnishings, accessories and fabrics, quality bedding, thick soft towels, and for the first time that I can ever recall at a rental property—really comfy beds!

Breakfast on the balcony or patio felt like dining in a private park reserve—the resident dominant iguana made his territory clear with constant head bobbing while he trolled the property—he was joined by egrets, herons, kiskadees, land crabs, and geckos—we kept our binoculars close at hand. While the howler monkeys did not pay us a visit this time, we could hear their calls throughout the day.

After hours of walking the beach or playing in the surf---beaches stretching for miles with hardly another soul in sight--we returned to this lovely home for laps in the pool, floating with a drink in hand, or peaceful reading in the hammocks. We enjoyed our evenings in almost as much as our time outdoors—cool breezes wafting through dining room windows with all of the sounds of the jungle to accompany our candlelight meals (prepared in a very well appointed kitchen.)

We bought groceries in Santa Cruz and prepared our own meals most days, but did have dinner one night at Villa Deveena – it was excellent!

Very little ambient light in the area so the stars were amazing—and the security very responsive. We strapped on headlamps one night for a walk to the beach and were joined within minutes by one of the guards—very friendly—just checking to make sure we were from Mango Tango.

We enjoyed the home and surrounding area so much that we did not stray far—but we did enjoy a day trip to Guatil for Choretega Indian pottery shopping and found a great shop where they demonstrated hand building pottery techniques. We purchased several pieces that we brought home in our carryon luggage—all were stur

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Guests are the memorable part of renting by Home-owner! We are passionate about how a home looks and feels. However, our time greeting guests has really made us appreciate the people interactions. Sometimes, as the home-owner, you feel a little anxious greeting your guests, wondering if Mango Tango meet their expectations? We have created a booking letter that is perhaps the longest on the planet, Ha Ha, to help make sure our guests will be thrilled with their choice, and prepared to understand Costa Rica's 2nd World quirks. Talking with guests has helped us to continuously improve Mango Tango's booking information, guest welcome letter and website. Along the journey we have met so many warm, interesting, even inspiring, couples and families that will always be a part of our happy life memories. Hearing guest stories of what made their personal trip special also reminds us of why we fell in love with so many aspects of Playa Negra & Costa Rica. Thank you to our valued guests for great conversations, appreciating Mango Tango's ambiance and making our home rental a success.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Wonderful choice!

Review submitted: January 9, 2012   Date of arrival: December 26, 2011

We stayed on Mango Tango these new years vacations and we had such a wonderful time!!!! The house was really great. Perfect for families since it has three beautiful bedrooms and complete kitchen very well equipped. The pool is perfect too.... its surrounded by trees, giving you some shadow for Costa Rica's sunny days. All the trees surrounding the house its what I really loved about the house! (makes all the difference when comparing with the rest of the houses in Rancho playa negra). I would definitely visit Mango Tango again in next vacations! Thanks for Sunshine and Cody for being available and so kind the whole vacation!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Nice house

Review submitted: December 27, 2011   Date of arrival: December 16, 2011

The house is nice and the owners put a lot of effort into making it a nice space and a pleasant stay. A few quirks such as a poorly functioning toilet and no dishwasher make it a little more high maintenance than some might like. We did not see any monkeys while there (10 days) but did see iguanas and birds.
Playa Negra has very few locals and is primarily a US surfer community, so if you want local color this may not be the town for you as traveling around the country can be time consuming (even though distances may seem short on the map).

Recommended for: families with teenagers, sight seeing

Owners response: We are thrilled to hear when guest's appreciate our home decor & the effort we put into helping our guests be comfortable.

Our lovingly decorated cottage with private pool & patio is a Budget Conscious rental in a gated community; dishwashers are available in some of the larger homes in our ocean-front community that cost 3 to 6 times the amount of our Holiday Rates. 2 years ago we purchased low-flush toilets in an effort to be eco-conscious. We agree they have begun not to work as well as regular flush, & will replace the upstairs with regular flush this month, while keeping downstairs low-flush for drought times. Our Guest's vacation comfort is far more important than eco-friendly when it comes to flushing!

To provide an idea of Playa Negra's diversity, of 8-9 restaurants: 2 are French owned, 1 Peruvian, Hotel Play Negra is Swiss & Tica owned, 3 restaurants are Tico Owned, 2 Restaurants are US Owners. The Zipline is Tico & French owned, 3 surf shops owners hail from 3 different countries, the 3 small groceries are all Tico owned. To experience purely Guanacastecan culture (a mix of indigenous cultures as Guanacaste was once considered part of Nicaragua),enjoy a 35 min. drive inland to bustling Santa Cruz. The 3rd largest town in Guanacaste has Huge Fiesta & Bull-riding in early January!

The coastal pueblos on both coasts of Costa Rica boast a wide range of cultures! A helpful quick read is "The Ticos" Social & Cultural Change by Biesanz, which shares that Costa Rica's culture is a mix of Spanish, a variety of Native Cultures and large German influence. Later Chinese,French,Italians,other Central & South Americans,Canadians, Americans & many others came to enjoy the stunning beauty of Costa Rica.

This week (Dec 28-31) is the local Fiesta Civica de Paraiso, 10 min inland where all of the locals (& a few borracho touristas) will test their skills against big bulls in the ring and celebrate their conquests with music, dance, food, and a 100+ horse parade on Sunday.

We always hope that our guests will enjoy the Howler Monkeys napping and eating in the trees throughout our yard. The monkeys move around the town seasonally, depending on what trees are fruiting or getting tasty new leaves. You can read through guest reviews to get an idea of which months they visit the most!

It doesn't get much more authentic than Playa Negra and the town of Los Pargos, for a truly unique Costa Rican experience with a balanced amount of Western comforts.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great Surfing - Lots of Nature - Family Friendly

Review submitted: June 10, 2011   Date of arrival: June 9, 2011

This was our second trip to Mango Tango. Last year, my college aged son and I spent a week here then explored and surfed the rest of the Pacific Coast of Costa Rica. This year, my wife and other college aged son were able to join us. We chose to spend our entire two weeks in the Playa Negra area since we felt that the surfing options were the best in all of Costa Rica. The powerful right reef break of Playa Negra is just a short walk away. The boys and I particularly enjoyed the great beach breaks of Junqillal and Marbella, while my wife relished the more gentle waves of Avellana and Tamarindo. We loved having so many choices of quality surf breaks within 30 minutes.

Our hosts, Cody and Sunshine Qualls, have put a great deal of effort to make Mango Tango a great lodging choice. The furniture, decor, kitchen appliances, utensils, etc. are well stocked and well thought out. Everything we needed was supplied. Our bedroom had big glass doors that opened to a sitting balcony that felt like stepping out to a tree house. I particularly enjoyed watching the monkeys and hearing the birds in all the trees surrounding the house. The living room has two walls of windows that bring the tropical outside in. A new addition from last year is a nice sized swimming pool, which was perfect for a quick dip to cool off, or a nice place to sit and enjoy nature in the evenings.

Overall, Mango Tango has been a great place to enjoy the surfing and nature of this beautiful part of Costa Rica.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Paradise!

Review submitted: March 15, 2011   Date of arrival: December 17, 2010

We had so much fun staying at Mango Tango the week leading up to Christmas in 2010. Sunshine and Cody are wonderful hosts and filled us in on everything we needed to know. The house is cozy and comfortable. The kitchen has everything you need and the view from the dining table makes every meal special. We loved seeing the wildlife right outside our windows. We spent most days at the nearby beaches but it sure was fun for our daughters to jump in the pool before breakfast or after dinner.
Other highlight of our trip were horseback riding and the fantastic local food. We will be back for sure!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Fantastic House. Fantastic Beach. Fantastic Vacati

Review submitted: March 13, 2011   Date of arrival: February 23, 2011

We had the absolute pleasure of staying at the Mango Tango Beach House for 8 nights and had a most wonderful experience. The house itself is modern, spacious, and furnished absolutely beautifully, with all the ameneties and brand new appliances. It was 5-Star accommodation for sure. And the added luxury of having a private pool was really special for us.

Sunshine and Cody really thought of everything in their house to make it super comfortable for vacationers including DVDs for those evenings you just want to chill in front of the t.v.

The location of the House is also perfect! It is within easy walking distance to the beautiful Playa Negra Beach and the Playa Negra Hotel, which is a good place for lunch and to learn to surf. And a simple drive to other towns in the area including Tamarindo and Janquilla.

We would definitely consider staying at the Mango Tango Beach House again the next time we return to Costa Rica, and in the meanwhile envy anyone else who has the pleasure of staying there.

Thank you Sunshine for all your assistance in setting up our booking and making sure our stay was smooth and enjoyable, even though you weren't able to be there.

Matt and Mandy

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Mandy and Matt were warm and wonderful to work with. They had to endure several flight schedule changes, and then a community water outage at the beginning of their trip from a power surge that caused pump damage and left our gated community without water for over 48 hours. In our booking email we inform potential guests that power and water outages can be typical in Costa Rican life; but were so impressed and grateful that they had such a positive attitude to a long weekend with only the pool while waiting for the community repairs to be completed. We have finished a 2-3 day water tank in Casa Mango Tango's storage bodega, and are expecting delivery of a pump part to soon have a back-up water source, other than the pool and ocean ha ha; for those emergency situations. The beauty and peace of Costa Rica make it worth the occassional 2nd World inconveniences, and water/ power outages happen far, far less than a few years ago; but we do want to make Costa Rican travel as comfy on our guests as possible. We missed out on meeting Mandy and Matt in person due to our own trip to the US, and very much hope they will be back in the near future - so we can treat them to a pool-side Fish Taco & Jumbo shrimp BBQ! Thank you both for your patience and warmth.....we have met some awesome people from Toronto!, Pura Vida Sunshine & Cody

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Lovely and relaxing Playa Negra getaway

Review submitted: March 5, 2011   Date of arrival: February 20, 2011

We loved everything about Mango Tango. The house is clean and beautifully decorated. It is appointed very well, there was really nothing it was lacking. The kitchen is fully stocked (and we did a lot of cooking), the living area is comfortable and nice. There were a some board games (Scrabble!) (and a tv with some movies---you might want to bring a few Netflix if you are into this). The bedrooms are lovely and romantic. The pool is nice and we were happy to have access to a washer/dryer. Every afternoon when we would return from the beach we would feel that great feeling you get when you are returning 'home'. Our hosts Sunshine and Cody were available if we needed anything (which we didn't), but respected our privacy (which we loved). We would definitely recommend the Mango Tango to friends and relatives. The town is a bit sleepy (which we like), so come prepared to entertain yourself. The beach is lovely, best at low tide--you can walk a long way, then take a trail over a bluff to another amazing beach.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Trip of a Lifetime

Review submitted: February 22, 2011   Date of arrival: February 5, 2011

Thanks to Sunshine and Cody for allowing us to stay at their beautiful home. We ended up taking a lot longer getting to Mango Tango from San Jose - a bit of a car rental nightmare - and we missed the check in time - by over two hours. Sunshine came as soon as I called her and made sure we had everything we needed without complaint.
The house is nicer than what we imagined from the web pictures and the pool was fantastic! Being set back from the ocean made the location very private and the beach was a comfortable walk down the road. We got quite a kick out of the iguana's that obviously knew that the house had bananas in it and made a point of coming by for a nibble each morning. Howler Monkeys made an appearance on our first morning and then again on our last day, almost on cue.
We stopped at Cafe Playa Negra and checked in with Lula, the local travel agent, who booked us on two great adventures - Adventure Tours Guachipelin and the Blue Dolphin Sunset Cruise - both were real highlights of our trip and I strongly recommend both of these. Lola's, which is a ten minute drive, has the best grilled tuna salad, period.
If you want to see some pictures from our trip go to YouTube and search "Playa Negra Mango Tango" which should bring you to our "Trip of a Lifetime." Note that my mother was bit by a dog (the dog didn't mean to bite) but was properly sewn up by a kind doctor at a clinic in Santa Cruz - a testament to the kindness of the people in Costa Rica.
We are planning to return to Costa Rica and, if the opportunity is still there, we will try to get back to Playa Negra.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"Great Place to Stay"

Review submitted: May 27, 2010   Date of arrival: April 24, 2010

Great house, great location. Cody and Sunshine are great american hosts, which totally helps if you dont speak spanish. The house has everything you need. The backyard is an estuary filled with wildlife. And its walking distance to the beach and playa negra surf spot. Highly recommend it for a home base for a surf trip OR for a family/friends looking for a great place to stay in Costa.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 27, 2010   Date of arrival: April 24, 2010

"Perfect"
This house and our stay was more than I ever expected. It was the ideal location for getting away from it all and a perfect home base for a surf trip with 3 of your closest friends. Sunshine and Cody were great and I know that we will be returning in the future.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"We Knew That We Would Be Returning"

Review submitted: April 26, 2010   Date of arrival: December 9, 2009

After a magnificent drive up the Pan American Highway – with stops and detours along the way – we arrived at Cody and Sunshine’s house in mid-afternoon. The greeting was warm, full of invitation and friendship and glowing like the beautiful day that surrounded us. We had seen pictures of the rental house in which we were to stay, but it didn’t prepare us for its charm or the fact that it felt like we had just walked through the doorway to home, albeit 3000 miles away from North Carolina.

Beautifully decorated, bright and airy with French doors and windows that bring the beauty of the outdoors close enough to surround you with its fullness, as well as a well-stocked kitchen, bathroom, laundry and entertainment facilities, this home provided for all of our needs and gave us a magnificent nucleus from which to experience the many wonders of Costa Rica. It is like a delightful tree house with all the comforts of home and more!

As our time in Costa Rica went on, Cody and Sunshine made sure that our needs were met, gave suggestions of where to go and what to do, sent the local fishman to our door with superb local fish, and in general, made us feel cared for without intruding on our private time. They were perfect hosts, with that delicate blend of conscientiousness and unobtrusiveness.

There is much to revel in and much to remember as I write these words. Long walks on hot, sandy, sometimes rocky, beaches while holding hands or collecting shells, afternoon swims in the warm Pacific waters, awakening to the chorus of birds, falling asleep to the rich darkness and night sounds, sitting late at night under a canopy of stars, some blazing through the sky allowing wishes and soft ahs, the taste of chalupas, fresh coconuts, Corvina and, oh, the sweet juicy mangos, the dark eyes of the natives and their friendly countenance, the rolling amber of the Costa Rican Spanish, the thrill of Monteverde, the power of Volcan Arenal, the ease and flow of precious days and simply beautiful nights…these are but a few of the treasures that I returned home with.

Our thanks to Cody and Sunshine for their use of their beautiful house but especially for their warmth, care and consideration. We await the days to come until we can once again return.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 26, 2010   Date of arrival: December 9, 2009

When I go to a foreign country, I go to experience its beauty, its culture, its people and for the adventure of newness and exploration. Our visit to Costa Rica in December, 2009 provided all of that and more. It was my first time to Costa Rica and Stephen’s second time and by the time we left, we knew that we would be returning. Leaving the airport, we decided to stay in Tarcoles at the Cerro Lodge to catch our breath and ease into Costa Rica’s beauty as well as its roads. We were greeted by the owner as if we were family who had stopped by for a visit. We breathed in the warmth and the colors, bright red hibiscus bushes, soft blue hydrangeas, startling oranges and yellows of unfamiliar flowers and we felt our bodies shift into an easy contentment. Later, we dined in the warm open-air veranda on fresh fish and local vegetables as we watched the sky fill with colors and an abundance of stars. It was only the first night, and not only were we in love with each other, but Costa Rica had taken a hold of our hearts.

After a magnificent drive up the Pan American Highway – with stops and detours along the way – we arrived at Cody and Sunshine’s house in mid-afternoon. The greeting was warm, full of invitation and friendship and glowing like the beautiful day that surrounded us. We had seen pictures of the rental house in which we were to stay, but it didn’t prepare us for its charm or the fact that it felt like we had just walked through the doorway to home, albeit 3000 miles away from North Carolina.

Beautifully decorated, bright and airy with French doors and windows that bring the beauty of the outdoors close enough to surround you with its fullness, as well as a well-stocked kitchen, bathroom, laundry and entertainment facilities, this home provided for all of our needs and gave us a magnificent nucleus from which to experience the many wonders of Costa Rica. It is like a delightful tree house with all the comforts of home and more!

As our time in Costa Rica went on, Cody and Sunshine made sure that our needs were met, gave us suggestions of where to go and what to do, sent the local fishman to our door with superb local fish, and made us feel cared for without intruding on our private time. They were perfect hosts, with that delicate blend of conscientiousness and unobtrusiveness.

There is much to revel in and much

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 21, 2010   Date of arrival: July 24, 2009

What a wonderful getaway! Sunshine and Cody made it their top priority to
ensure we had a comfortable stay. This was my 5th time to Costa Rica and
my boyfriends 8th and staying in their cottage was by far the best stay we
have ever had. Tropical plants and howler monkeys surrounded the outside
of the home! The upstairs was clean and open. All of the furnishings
seemed new and were very comfortable. The bath and beach towels were
fluffy and we had plenty to last our 8 day trip. Both bedrooms upstairs had
enough space and furniture to store our party?s belongings. The balconies
on each bedroom were great for monkey watching and we even spotted a
crocodile floating down the river! The kitchen was equipped with everything
we needed during our stay and once again everything seemed in excellent
condition. The downstairs bedroom was spacious, clean and comfortable.
We felt very safe in this home due to its location, alarms and gates. The
location was wonderful. The walk to the beach was about 2 minutes and we
were able to view some incredible sunsets on top of a cliff in the
neighborhood. Sunshine and Cody were excellent hosts! Cody was out the
door in seconds when we thought we needed him to pull our rental car out
of window high mud! Sunshine recommended Pura Aventura for a canopy
tour and we agree with her 100%! Pura Aventura is in Rio Seco about 15
minutes away it was the best canopy tour we have been on in Costa Rica
and the guides were very nice. They offer horseback riding too. We took
Sunshine up on another recommendation and ate at Villa Deevena. This
place has excellent gourmet food with a nice ambience. Another great place
to eat is Caf? Playa Negra. Fresh seafood at reasonable prices, we always
had nothing left on our plates when we were finished! I would definitely
stay with Sunshine and Cody again they really made this trip one we will
never forget!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 21, 2010   Date of arrival: November 20, 2009

The service was wonderful, the owners couldn't be any better. The house was just the right size with the extra private room downstairs. The location was close to the beach but, still private and very quite. The best thing about the house was the affordable price and the least best thing was the shower heads but, better to take a shower outside anyway!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Week in Paradise

Review submitted: February 16, 2010   Date of arrival: January 28, 2010

This is a wonderful home and I would highly recommend renting it for a week/month in paradise. We were lucky enough to see crocodiles everyday and every morning we were greeted by a huge black iguana. Sunshine and Cody were extremely nice and didn't mind us bothering them with questions. It is also a great location if you want to book trips through Swiss Travel as the drive is only an hour to their head quaters. The people of Playa Negra are extremely friendly and welcoming. I can not say enough about how much fun we had during our visit in Playa Negra. Thank you Sunshine and Cody for allowing us to stay at your beautiful house and we are already planning our trip to return.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Review submitted: February 8, 2010   Date of arrival: February 8, 2010

Our stay at Sunshine and Cody's home was magnificant! My husband, three boys and myself stayed in the home for 2 weeks and were very pleased. The home included everything we needed and the location could not have been better. There was never a dull moment with great wildlife in our backyard everyday. The walk to the beach was short and offered something for everyone- snorkling, surfing, swimming, beachcombing and dining all within walking distance! The home is located on a river with lots of trees that provided a great spot to beat the mid-day heat. The entire house is set up with a great relaxing experience in mind, gorgeously decorated, newly remodled and very well kept. The boys (8,9, and 11) were never bored!! It was truly a place where you could relax and enjoy your vacation- and that is a lot said when a whole family is satisfied! The only thing we did not enjoy was leaving and hope to return ASAP!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

It is a beautiful home with wonderful views.

Review submitted: February 5, 2010   Date of arrival: August 7, 2009

We enjoyed our stay at the house in Playa Negra. It is a beautiful home with wonderful views. The house was very comfortable and clean. Cody & Sunshine made us feel so welcome. They were very helpful when we had any questions or issues. The kitchen was fully equipped with everything we could possible need. The bathrooms had great showers and the towels were fluffy. The bedrooms were very comfortable and had plenty of room for clothes and luggage. The massive amounts of windows made the house bright and airy. We really appreciated the use of the washer and dryer downstairs too! We were entertained every morning by the monkey family trekking through the trees surrounding the house. The iguanas came down from the rooftop to eat some of the greenery in the back yard. We awoke every day to the beautiful songs of the parrots and other exotic birds. The yard and surrounding area was always alive with the sounds and movements of wildlife. The balcony areas were used several times a day, from morning coffee, picture taking, and relaxing after swimming to cocktails at night. It truly felt like paradise. The local restaurants were very good and reasonably priced. The local people were very friendly and most speak English. The prices at the Hotel Playa Negra gift shop are very good, as opposed to some of the shops around Playa Tamarendo. Café Playa Negra has a great Tico breakfast, the Villa Deevena is gorgeous and the food delicious, for dinner. When, not if, we come back to CR, we will be staying here at the Mango Tango! We loved it.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

October 10-18, 2009

Review submitted: October 28, 2009   Date of arrival: October 18, 2009

I cannot say enough about the place. I've traveled extensively throughout Central American and I must say that the house makes a vacation much more relaxing. The house is very well maintained and provides most of the creature comforts at home. I would highly recommend to anyone traveling as a family or a close-knit group.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Review submitted: August 19, 2009   Date of arrival: August 19, 2009

We enjoyed our stay at the house in Playa Negra. It is a beautiful home with wonderful views. The house was very comfortable and clean. Cody & Sunshine made us feel so welcome. They were very helpful when we had any questions or issues. The kitchen was fully equipped with everything we could possible need. The bathrooms had great showers and the towels were fluffy. The bedrooms were very comfortable and had plenty of room for clothes and luggage. The massive amounts of windows made the house bright and airy. We really appreciated the use of the washer and dryer downstairs too!We were entertained every morning by the monkey family trekking through the trees surrounding the house. The iguanas came down from the rooftop to eat some of the greenery in the back yard. We awoke every day to the beautiful songs of the parrots and other exotic birds. The yard and surrounding area was always alive with the sounds and movements of wildlife. The balcony areas were used several times a day, from morning coffee, picture taking, and relaxing after swimming to cocktails at night. It truly felt like paradise. The local restaurants were very good and reasonably priced. The local people were very friendly and most speak English. The prices at the Hotel Playa Negra gift shop are very good, as opposed to some of the shops around Playa Tamarendo. Café Playa Negra has a great Tico breakfast, the Villa Deevena is gorgeous and the food delicious, for dinner. When, not if, we come back to CR, we will be staying here at the Mango Tango! We loved it.

Owners response: Robin and Party we hope to see you back next year. You brought your Texas warmth and happy spirit down to us in Costa Rica and we enjoyed having you as guests! Pura Vida

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: August 10, 2009   Date of arrival: August 10, 2009

What a wonderful getaway! Sunshine and Cody made it their top priority to ensure we had a comfortable stay. This was my 5th time to Costa Rica and my boyfriends 8th and staying in their cottage was by far the best stay we have ever had. Tropical plants and howler monkeys surrounded the outside of the home! The upstairs was clean and open. All of the furnishings seemed new and were very comfortable. The bath and beach towels were fluffy and we had plenty to last our 8 day trip. Both bedrooms upstairs had enough space and furniture to store our party’s belongings. The balconies on each bedroom were great for monkey watching and we even spotted a crocodile floating down the river! The kitchen was equipped with everything we needed during our stay and once again everything seemed in excellent condition. The downstairs bedroom was spacious, clean and comfortable. We felt very safe in this home due to its location, alarms and gates. The location was wonderful. The walk to the beach was about 2 minutes and we were able to view some incredible sunsets on top of a cliff in the neighborhood. Sunshine and Cody were excellent hosts! Cody was out the door in seconds when we thought we needed him to pull our rental car out of window high mud! Sunshine recommended Pura Aventura for a canopy tour and we agree with her 100%! Pura Aventura is in Rio Seco about 15 minutes away it was the best canopy tour we have been on in Costa Rica and the guides were very nice. They offer horseback riding too. We took Sunshine up on another recommendation and ate at Villa Deevena. This place has excellent gourmet food with a nice ambience. Another great place to eat is Café Playa Negra. Fresh seafood at reasonable prices, we always had nothing left on our plates when we were finished! I would definitely stay with Sunshine and Cody again they really made this trip one we will never forget!

Owners response: Lindsay and Zack and their friends were wonderful guests! They were kind, and took such great care of our home; we look forward to seeing them back in Costa Rica next year!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A Perfect Week in a Perfect House

Review submitted: July 20, 2009   Date of arrival: July 11, 2009

My girlfriend and I had the wonderful opportunity to stay in this house, and we will not soon forget it. The house is beautiful and the pictures of the surroundings do not do justice to how picturesque and well-maintained eveything is. The community is safe and secure, and the house is so comfortable and accomodating. The small town is a wonderful place to experience Costa Rican culture, and it is one of the most relaxing and friendly places I have ever been to. Sunny and Cody could not have been more friendly or helpful. They went out of their way to make sure our stay was just perfect, and they seemed to be genuinely happy to have us staying at their property. They were both incredible, and I truly look forward to staying in Playa Negra again. Rent this house, and I assure you that you will have one of the best experiences that you can imagine. I cannot thank them enough for everything they did for my girlfriend and I. The house and the owners are all amazing!

Recommended for: families with teenagers, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: April 1, 2009   Date of arrival: April 1, 2009

Awesome place to stay, it was really comfortable. Great location, real close to the beach and town. Great landlords. I would highly recommend staying here.

Owners response: Great group of guests. Surfing group took wonderful care of home and left in excellent condition! Thank you.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review