reviews for: listing #51120 - Galveston, Texas House rental

Best Discount Rates !! Beach Views from Large Balcony !!!
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $100 - $275 /nt
    $550 - $1,250 /wk
    $1,000 - $3,000 /mth

sort by:

Galveston Beach Pad

Review submitted: August 21, 2013   Date of arrival: August 16, 2013

We had a great time! The house was very clean and there was plenty of room for my family. Great location...1 1/2 block from the beach, walking distance to the Pleasure Pier.

Ms. Diane did a great job during the process of the leasing and returned my calls and emails.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Galveston Beach Pad

Review submitted: December 27, 2012   Date of arrival: November 19, 2012

The Galveston Beach pad is a super cute rental that is large enough for big families, and is pet friendly. The neighborhood was safe and friendly. My only complaint would be lack of water pressure and the kitchen was lacking in some basic items. The rental process was very easy. We did have to inquire several times about our refundable deposit, which was not refunded in the allotted time stated on the lease agreement, but Diane did apologize for the delay, and it was refunded. We have yet to receive the cleaning fee. As noted on the lease agreement, there will not be a cleaning fee if the home is left in the same condition as upon arrival. We spent over an hour, paying attention to every detail, cleaning the home prior to departure. We left the home in better condition than when we arrived. Diane stated to me that she could not refund the cleaning fee (you are forced to pay it at the beginning of the rental) because her cleaning company was already scheduled to clean the home, and since she had to pay them anyway, she couldn't pay us back. I found this to be incredibly dishonest and inappropriate, so for that reason, I would not recommend renting to family and friends, which is a shame because it's a nice home.

Owners response: I did refund the renters cleaning fee in full. The Lease Agreement states that you do get your cleaning fee refunded but I also asks that you do not even pay for it up front but that you just leave the house the way you found it and there is no charge.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

The Beach Pad!!!

Review submitted: May 18, 2011   Date of arrival: May 13, 2011

This is my first Beach House rental in Galveston. The neighborhood is a little scary Looking at first but it is actually very nice. No problems with Neighbors and actually had a great time with the down stairs renters. The only problem we had was with the Booking there were some mix ups with the dates and who rented what but Dianne was very accommodating and everything worked out. The water pressure HAS BEEN FIXXED!!!! The house is AMAZING the kitchen was beautiful. Waking up to the sun in those windows, and looking down at the beach from the balcony was absolutely wonderful. There is a Big Screen TV in the living room. The kids were able to watch movies in the room with the Bunks. The Hotel Galvez is in walking distance and has a really cool Ghost tour. Nothing beats a day in the sun. We will be doing this much much more and will definitely return to this awesome Beach Pad <3

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Galveston Beach Pad

Review submitted: April 20, 2011   Date of arrival: April 15, 2011

The only thing keeping this "Pad" from being excellent is the neighborhood in which it is located. It is somewhat daunting when you first drive up to the house. However, once inside, all that changes. We rented the upstairs for a weekend and it was great. Especially loved was the upstairs deck which had a Gulf view and was a great place to relax early in the morning. The property was nicely refinished, very clean and well maintained. The proximity to the beach is a major plus, especially when it starts getting very hot and crowded. It was a great weekend. Well worth the price. Everyone enjoyed themselves and we would definitely come back.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

An Honest Review Of The Beachpad- Upstairs Unit

Review submitted: March 31, 2011   Date of arrival: March 21, 2011

When we got there we were very impressed! It looked much better than the pictures and the location was perfect. Only a 3-5 minute walk to the beach and also within walking distance to bars or a short inexpensive cab ride. Everything was peachy until we started using the place. When we pulled out dishes to use, most of them were filthy! We had to hand wash pretty much every plate in there and some of the cups were also dirty as well. I would recommend bringing your own dishwasher soap since the one in there was harder than a rock and obviously did not do the job in the dishwasher. There was sand all over the floors when we first got there which we did not mind, its a beach house next to the beach its gonna happen but there was also sand in one of the queen beds. There was white stuff on one of the comforters on a queen bed and we elected not to use it since we had no idea what was on the comforter! The water pressure was not fixed like it was said in a different review because we were worried about the water pressure as well since there were 7 of us. Took a while to get us all showered and ready. Hopefully the water pressure will improve for your trip. Be cautious about the deposit situation. There is a "cleaning lady" who comes in and cleans the beach pad and also the other house the owner owns, then reports back to the owner about the shape of the house and then the owner makes the decision on the deposit. Obviously the cleaner cannot be that good if there was sand all of and it was dirty when we arrived! The inspection of the place should probably come from the owner herself right after the guest check out so there is no question to how the place was left!

Very satisfied about the house its self and the location. Very unsatisfied about the way the checkout process was handled.

Recommended for: tourists without a car

Owners response: I have hired new Cleaning Lady! She is Honest and excessively concerned with details in her cleaning. Water pressure was fixed by changing out the Shower Heads with new ones.

Helpful votes: 9 / 10

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great Beach House!

Review submitted: December 1, 2010   Date of arrival: July 21, 2010

we will defintly be going back to one of your properties and i have refered your website to some of my friends because my husband who is the pickest person was extremely happy with my choice this year!

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Ok for my first time

Review submitted: August 10, 2010   Date of arrival: July 23, 2010

It was a cute little beach house. Not in the best neighborhood, but okay close to the beach. Was upstairs so I don't recommend for anyone over 65. Had one bath for 8 people which made it tough! The one thing I really didn't like at all was the PRESSURE of the shower. What could have been a quicker shower since there were 8 people made it longer because of the poor pressure (Trickle). I didn't like how the pay pal thing worked out seems like I spend more money by paying to use pay pal and then didn't get my deposit at 100% because of pay pal again!! :( This was my first experience renting a beach house. Now that I know how it works I'm sure I'll ask a lot more questions before I rent again.

Recommended for: tourists without a car

Owners response: The plumber come out and the pressure is great now and I have canncelled the fees for using Pay Pal.

Helpful votes: 9 / 10

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review