reviews for: listing #51146 - Whidbey Island, Washington House rental

Possession Shores Beach Cottage - On Beautiful Cultus Bay
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Possession Shores
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $150 - $185 /nt
    $950 - $1,150 /wk
    $3,200 - $4,000 /mth

sort by:

Great Vacation Get Away

Review submitted: July 31, 2012   Date of arrival: July 21, 2012

Great view. Comfortable, very clean cabin to stay. We loved no television, as were entertained by the 2 bald eagles, the ship traffic, the sun shining on the water and the sunset. We loved sitting on the deck with a glass of wine from the Washington and relax each night after a busy day. Saw deer all around us and they would not run if you came close to them. The cabin had a large yard that our grandchildren loved. Would definately recommend this cabin to anyone that wants comfort and views.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Amazing extended getaway!!!

Review submitted: June 10, 2012   Date of arrival: March 6, 2012

A stay here should be a "must do" on everyone's bucket list. Incredible water views and sunsets. Lots of wildlife including deer, eagles, birds, herons, osprey, bunnies, and seals. Nice privacy. Quiet, peaceful neighborhood. Beach combing, clam digging, crabbing, and beach and wooded trails accessible right from the cottage. And very pleasant and wonderful owners. I loved my stay. It was tranquil and wonderful inside and out. Thanks for this home away from home!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Possession Shores (Cultus Bay) Lovely Spot to Stay

Review submitted: August 20, 2010   Date of arrival: August 17, 2010

"Incredible view & sky, 1st night, 2nd night & 3rd night; comfortable and peaceful. Would come again."

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Home Away From Home

Review submitted: April 5, 2010   Date of arrival: June 9, 2009

We have stayed at the Possession Shores Beach Cottage now several times, in all seasons! It is certainly becoming our "home away from home"! This charming cottage has everything you need for a cozy, heartwarming holiday. We enjoy the comfortable space and wonderful deck and yard. There is easy access to a beach that has so many wonders and a view that can't be beat!

In spring and summer the beautiful beach begs to be played on all the day long and we retreat to the cottage sanctuary and spend lovely evenings watching the most amazing sunsets from the large deck. The serene view of shipping traffic and mountains is something special! In summer the twilight seems to last forever, and when the long day is done a soak in the lovely clawfoot tub is relaxing and peaceful. We love to wake and have coffee again on that big beautiful deck!

We've enjoyed the fall colors and brisk winter weather while hiking on the many trails Whidbey has to offer and take our time tasting wines at the Greenbank farm, while always having a warm cozy place to come back to and relax again in that wonderful tub! We enjoyed a lovely Christmas holiday at the cottage (complete with snow!!) and there is something so special about being so close to the water with those million dollar views while staying toasty warm in front of a crackling fire!

The owners are lovely and easy to work with and the property is always cared for and groomed beautifully. This beach retreat gives you the feeling of being away from the outside world while still having easy access to the many wonders Whidbey has to offer. We enjoy always a meal at Cafe Langley and a brunch at Braeburn and we can't miss bagels at Kiichli's Bagel Bakery-all just a few minutes away from this special retreat.

I would highly suggest this property for anyone, especially couples, looking to relax and enjoy some of the simple things in life and the beautiful surroundings this property has to offer. The inside of the cottage is well provisioned and provides a very comfy bed and seating areas for reading or just lounging. I can imagine also this property being very family friendly with all the outdoor activities right in front with the wonderful beach or being a great place for a few friends to meet and retreat!

We love this cottage and will be back again and again! Thanks for the wonderful hospitality and sharing this gem with us-We look forward to bringing our new baby and teach her the art of beach bumming!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

A Pleasant Surprise

Review submitted: February 13, 2010   Date of arrival: August 17, 2009

Although we're native Washingtonians, we chose to retire to Hawaii, returning home occasionally to soak up the smell of Puget Sound and the wonderful evergreens that we miss. This little cottage has it all; wildlife, including eagles, deer, rabbits and seagulls, abound. An ever-changing scene on the water below - ships, orcas, boats of every size and description coming and going. Comfortable accommodations to relax in and the wonderful tidelands to explore, clams to dig, not to mention the ease of launching your own boat on the ramp below and cathing your own crab dinner. AND awesome sunsets over the Olympics completes the picture. We WILL return! Skip and Sharon

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, people with disabilities, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Charming and quiet off-season retreat

Review submitted: February 8, 2010   Date of arrival: December 12, 2009

Having had the wonderful experience of being raised on Whidbey Island, and also raising our own family there, we were looking forward to our winter retreat in the "old stomping grounds" and hoping to find that it is possible to go home again. While we have been away from Whidbey for some time, it was a relief to know that some things never change; the tides still rise and fall on pristine island beaches, the sun rises over the snow-capped Cascades and sets beyond the distant peaks of the Olympics, the seagulls still swoop and soar over the ferry as it makes its way back and forth from mainland to island and life still goes on in a quiet pace in the small towns of South Whidbey(Langley, Clinton, and Freeland). Langley retains its rural charm and a visit to Cafe Langley should be on every visitor's to-do list...the Mediterranean menu and intimate atmosphere will not disappoint!

Our stay at the Possesion Shores beach cottage was wonderfully relaxing, and we highly recommend traveling to Whidbey during the quiet off-season. The cottage is charming and fully equipped for a comfortable stay. The views are stunning and I would imagine in summer it would be wonderful to lounge out on the deck and breathe in the solitude. We had light snowfall during our off-season visit and it was very cozy indoors. The antique clawfoot tub was very welcome!

There is plenty to do on Whidbey, or nothing at all, whichever mood suits you. We were happy with the tranquility of the bluff location, and rambling beach walks below. Of course, being able to watch Lucy & Desi in "The Long, Long Trailer" in front of a cozy fire must be the ultimate way to unwind on a quiet December evening! We came home refreshed and ready to weather the rest of the coming Washington winter...and already we are planning a return trip to our new "home away from home" back on Whidbey. Maybe this summer? The deck overlooking Possesion Shores is beckoning...

Recommended for: romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review