reviews for: listing #511661vb - Holualoa, Hawaii rental

Hale Pohaku - Oceanfront Condo Steps from Beach! Complete Remodel Jan 2014
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  Condo
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • rates (USD)  $ 219 - $ 359 / night
  • sleeps  4
  • pets considered  no

sort by:

The best place we could have stayed at!

Review submitted: July 7, 2014   Date of arrival: June 14, 2014

Rating Details:
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
This was a little piece of paradise and it really made our vacations. Also the turtles were always at the nearby beach and were beautiful to watch.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A great place to stay

Review submitted: July 3, 2014   Date of arrival: May 26, 2014

Rating Details:
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
We stay here for a week. It was nice and clean.. It is a kids friendly place. My daughter like it too.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Gorgeous View

Review submitted: May 25, 2014   Date of arrival: May 1, 2014

Rating Details:
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
Everything about the place was as advertised. The condo was completely furnished with everything needed in a vacation rental from binoculars to shot glasses, the ocean is only 100 feet away and the sound of the waves lulled us to sleep each night. Down on the rocks of the beach, one can enjoy the sight of the basking sea turtles every day. The view from the lanai was gorgeous and entertaining as well as we watched parasails, spinner dolphins, kayakers and folks enjoying snorkeling.
We'd highly recommend this condo!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Awesome views

Review submitted: May 6, 2014   Date of arrival: January 30, 2014

Rating Details:
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
We enjoyed a fabulous stay at this condo in February. I delayed writing the review until we had made our reservation for another week. ? The view is outstanding – wonderful waves, beautiful sunsets, distant surfers, occasional whales. The condo was nicely furnished and the kitchen appropriately supplied. The beds were comfortable and everything that we needed was there including some extras such as binoculars, guide books, local tips. There are only a few condos in the building so the pool seemed almost private. The building is ventilated with louvered walls so there is a nice breeze. As a result of the louvers, you constantly hear the waves on the rocks. We enjoyed the constant wave noise but some may not. It was awesome to have a reserved parking space. A special callout for the pizza and beer at Kona Brewing. Get it “to-go” and enjoy the view from this condo's lanai!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Beautiful Home!

Review submitted: April 25, 2014   Date of arrival: March 17, 2014

Rating Details:
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
Hale Pohaku was a VERY nice condo! It was apparently recently remodeled and the owner did a beautiful job! We were able to peek in to the neighboring unit when it was being cleaned and could tell that the owner went to great lengths to modernize this unit! WELL DONE! The unit was VERY well stocked in the kitchen area! Plenty of dishes and silverware and cookware. We are used to staying in condo units where you MIGHT have salt and pepper but there was quite an array of spices and cooking supplies in the pantry! A pleasant surprise. The condo was quite comfortable even without air conditioning and we enjoyed hearing the waves crashing...especially as it lulled us to sleep at night! Thanks to the owner for opening their home to us. We felt very comfortable and felt like we had all the amenities available to us as if we were in our own home!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful Times

Review submitted: April 3, 2014   Date of arrival: February 20, 2014

Rating Details:
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was more than helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
A friend and I stayed at Hale Pohaku for 12 days. The unit was clean, spacious and had all the amenities we needed and also had recently been thru a remodel that turned out very nicely. The location is great and the property very private and peaceful. The lanai is definitely the spot to hang out at, as the views and sunsets are different and remarkable everyday. We spent hours watching the humpback whales and saw Spinner dolphins as well, not to mention the Honu. All in all, a most wonderful and relaxing vacation. Only thing I can think of that would be nice would be that BBQing be permitted in the pool area.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Awesome Condo right on the water!

Review submitted: April 2, 2014   Date of arrival: March 7, 2014

Rating Details:
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
Lovely remodeled condo with an amazing view! Everything you need is at the condo including cooler, beach chairs and towels, plus the kitchen has it all. We saw turtles everyday on the beach and watched the whales breach from the lanai. We loved how the glass doors opened all the way across the lanai to open the entire condo to the ocean. We hated to leave!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful Vacation!

Review submitted: March 11, 2014   Date of arrival: February 15, 2014

Rating Details:
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Hale Pohaku. The view was fantastic with whales, dolphins & sea turtles to entertain us. A lovely and relaxing time.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Paradise in paradise

Review submitted: March 3, 2014   Date of arrival: February 12, 2014

Rating Details:
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
For starters we had an off street, reserved, parking space. Inside simply added to our delight. New, top of the line appliances with plenty of counter space, excellent furnishings, and plenty of room for four people. Oh, did I forget to mention the view out the ocean facing wall of sliding doors that all open? We kept the screen doors closed most of the time to make sure no birds flew in. There were no bugs to keep out, just a bird that flew by now and then. Bedrooms were great along with all the other rooms. Plenty of cross ventilation to allow the ocean breezes to flow through. Really our only non-excellent comment would be the gate leading to the beach was locked with no way of accessing it from the condo. Great place with a great location. We especially enjoyed watching the whales from the lanai.

Manager responded on 2/25/2014:
Thank you for booking Hale Pohaku and staying with Kona Coast Vacations! We are glad you enjoyed your stay and we want to apologize for the difficulty in accessing the beach through the gate. Great news, the Association for Hale Pohaku has now repaired the gate and there are keys to the gate provided on the same key ring as the pool key. We hope to have you stay with us again for any future visits to Kona!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A Real Oceanfront View!

Review submitted: February 5, 2014   Date of arrival: January 12, 2014

Rating Details:
I was more than satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was more than happy with the location.
The vacation rental was very clean.
The property manager was more than helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
The view is incredible...we absolutely loved the kitchen and lanai. Kitchen had nice appliances and was well equipped. The only drawback is there is no air conditioning so you have to leave the windows open. The surf pounding all night is noisy, as well as some traffic noise from Alii drive. It is worth it though, just bring ear plugs. We spent most nights having dinner on the lanai watching the sunset...can't get a better view at restaurants for certain. Also it was so easy to get in/out to the car as it was a marked parking spot close to the unit. We would definitely go back. Loved it.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review