reviews for: listing #51177 - Key West, Florida House rental

Key West Home - Midtown Area
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $3,000 - $3,400 /mth

sort by:

Fabulous Family Vacation

Review submitted: June 18, 2012   Date of arrival: June 1, 2012

This home was perfect for our family vacation. Everyting about the home was accurately described, and exceeded our expectations. I am picky when it comes to pillows and bedding. Much to my surprise, ALL three of the beds were accompanied by the highest quality bedding and pillows. We all slept like babies! The location was perfect for walking to Smathers Beach, a quick ride down to Higgs Beach, and a "straight shot" to the Duval area. The owners were friendly, and quick to respond to all my questions. I highly recommend this property to anyone who is looking for vacation rental.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Our stay October 2010 & 2011

Review submitted: November 19, 2011   Date of arrival: October 1, 2011

Comments pertaining to above rental property that we first rented in October 2010 & again October 2011. We always had looked forward to returning to one of our favorite places Key West, Florida. We found what we thought was a good vacation home rental. The rent was reasonable and the house has everything that you could want to make your stay enjoyable. Plus the fact that it is within walking distance of a nice beach. Those are the positives regarding this property. As far as the not so positive aspects there are a few. #1 it is located across from Key West High School so you do have the problem of students arriving around 6:30 am. Also because it is a high school they have a high school band that practices daily. #2 The house lies in the direct path of Key West Airport. #3 If it happens to rain for any length of time plan on the 1st floor becoming flooded. It happened twice in one week with over 12" of rain during our last stay in October 2011. It did happen to flood but minor in 2010 also. During the 2011 flood we lost luggage and an expensive computer because of the flood. When we raised concerns about this we were told we could no longer rent the house which we had already reserved for May & Oct. 2012. #4 the single story house on the right has an owner who exhibited an arrogance that was unacceptable, he played his music loud most of the day and it seems that he was always working with a power saw on his boat, it was quite annoying. And finally he had a rather large black dog that at various times wandered around unleashed which he said he had because he had been robbed. Since we had small children with us we were concerned for their safety. We were willing to overlook these issues because of the all inclusive price.

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

you can't pass up the two weeks in december

Review submitted: November 11, 2010   Date of arrival: January 1, 2010

ahh... was there in January 2010, just couldn't believe the space... it was unusually cold for florida... but this rental was the best... can't believe there are two weeks still available in december of 2010... wish I could be available for those two weeks...

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We have loved your house....

Review submitted: January 5, 2010   Date of arrival: September 1, 2009

Larry and I have made ourselves perfectly at home since 9/1 at 1622 Dennis. Its a lovely home and we have more than enjoyed our time here...
...again our vacation in your home was the very best either of us has ever had! Its a great house!

Helpful votes: 2 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Rental

Review submitted: January 5, 2010   Date of arrival: March 21, 2009

We are back from our trip and had a fantastic time. The house was exactly what we were looking for, and we really enjoyed ourselves.

Helpful votes: 1 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Re: VacationRentals.com - Rental Inquiry

Review submitted: January 5, 2010   Date of arrival: May 1, 2009

We arrived last night and the house looks great! John was very helpful. Sleeping in the top bedroom with the windows open is very peaceful.

Helpful votes: 2 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We had a wonderful time

Review submitted: January 5, 2010   Date of arrival: November 1, 2009

I just wanted to send a quick note to you to thank you for our wonderful holiday in Key West. Your house was a beautiful place to spend the month of November. It was well equipped with everything we needed and more. Initially, we were welcomed by John and throughout our stay he made sure that everything was in order and that the pool was sparkling clean. The location was excellent for us with its close proximity to the beach and it was an easy bike ride to the grocery stores in one direction and downtown in the other. Thank you so much for renting us the new bikes for the month. We survived quite well for the whole month without a vehicle. We always used taxis at night and they were quick, efficient and inexpensive. We really enjoyed using the back deck for barbecuing, sun tanning and relaxing meals. We became very fond of a couple of stray cats that visited as well. The high school across the road was not an issue at all, in fact it was extremely quiet. The neighbours as well were also very private and quiet. We would definitely recommend your rental home to friends as it was spacious, clean, comfortable, convenient and reasonably priced.

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review