reviews for: listing #51188 - Tamarindo, Costa Rica Condo rental

Exclusive Diria Ocean View Penthouse, 4 BR, walk to beach
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  yes
  • type  Condo
  • baths 
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Diria Resort
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $425 - $575 /nt
    $2,800 - $5,500 /wk

sort by:

Great penthouse with great views

Review submitted: August 17, 2009   Date of arrival: August 20, 2008

My thanks to you and Lourdes for making our stay at the Diria Penthouse a memorable one! The property itself is beautiful and we enjoyed watching the sunsets from the balconies. The location--perfect--we could walk to everything. We always felt very private and the space is great. Thanks again for everything! We will be back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Jorge: It was our pleasure having you and your family! We hope to see you all again very soon.

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Best Available in Tamarindo

Review submitted: February 20, 2014   Date of arrival: February 8, 2014

Recently travelled to CR with a group of 16 friends. We rented several condos at Diria with the Penthouse being our gathering spot. Great accommodations and the staff at BlueWater is absolutely great to work with.
The condo itself is very spacious. Everything you need for a comfortable stay. The mattresses do need to be upgraded to match the quality of everything else in the condo, but other than that it is as advertised. Daily maid service was great. The sewer smell described in other posts does appear, just plug the kitchen sink drain and it is gone. Evidently not vented correctly, but easy enough to take care of.
The staff at Bluewater was great. They were booking everything we requested, even last-minute excursions. Couldn't ask for better service.
Don't hesitate in booking the penthouse condo, you'll be very happy with your decision.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Outstanding property with outstanding service by Bluewater Properties

Review submitted: February 5, 2014   Date of arrival: January 24, 2014

Our second trip to Tamarindo was another wonderful experience thanks to Becky and her Bluewater Properties staff. This time we stayed in the Diria 601 4 bedroom condo and I must say it was even better than the Diria condo we stayed in last year. The views are unparalleled and having two full balconies on the lower level was great since it allowed us two options to escape the heat or if the winds were two much in a particular direction. Having the lower level opened up to host a pool table was great. Never thought we would use it that much but we wound up using it quite a bit. On those nights we did not go out it was a great option that kept us entertained for hours. The view off the ocean facing balcony is just amazing! The kitchen is top notch with Viking appliances. We did have a few issues (the washer failed) but as usual the Bluewater properties staff were right on it and replaced it the next day. Bluewater also did a great job of arranging all our travel and helped book our tours. Our travel was quite involved this time as we spent two days up in the rainforest but they did their usual excellent job in making sure everything was on time with great service. I can say unequivocally that when I come to Costa Rica, Bluewater will be the first place I call to get any recommendations, make any reservations, or just answer some questions.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are always glad to hear when our guests have a wonderful time at the Diria. Diria 601 penthouse is truly one-of-a-kind. Thanks again for your repeat business and hope you'll be back for a 3rd time next year! Pura Vida, the team at Blue Water Properties of Costa Rica

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great but note the following:

Review submitted: March 14, 2013   Date of arrival: February 16, 2013

Just spent 2 weeks in this condo with 2 other couples. For the most part we loved it, however, things to note are as follows:
you have to cross the street to order to be ocean front;
you are not allowed to bring your own drinks or snacks while around the pool areas and the ocean front lounge chairs (kind of defeats the purpose of renting a condo);
continuous sewer smell in the condo.
Mateo and Andrew (the guys that manage the property) were awesome - responded to all of our concerns right away, however, the sewer smell was never resolved.
The condo location is fabulous - walking distance to everything and Tamarindo is an awesome town - lots of great restaurants.

Owners response: Thanks for your review! I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed our Concierge staff/customer service. In regards to the smell, it has since been corrected and appeared due to work that the Diria Hotel was doing on the pumps to the condos. It is advertised that the beach is across the street from the condos--not on the same side as the condos. In regards to food/beverages at the 10,000 SF free form pool: We emailed the owner of the hotel, as we have no written law/by-law stating that this is not allowed. sorry if you did experience that and appreciate you bringing it to our attention. We hope to see you again in the future! The Blue Water Properties Team

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Surpassed vacation spot and the best lodging..............

Review submitted: January 26, 2013   Date of arrival: January 12, 2013

This was our first trip to Costa Rica and we nailed it on the head for an unsurpassed vacation spot and the best lodging. You don’t need to plan on doing anything else but relax and enjoy the Diria Experience—the fabulous, never ending beach and giant surf, pools, dining, and accommodations—everything within walking distance. Thank you to the Blue Water Property Staff for making such a dream trip come true.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Blue Water Properties of Costa Rica

Review submitted: January 24, 2013   Date of arrival: January 13, 2013

I failed to mention in my previous posting this wonderful group of individuals who made our trip possible. Thank you Becky, Andrew and Mateo.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Amazing!!!

Review submitted: August 2, 2012   Date of arrival: July 23, 2012

WOW!!
We knew it was going to be nice from the pictures but we had no idea just how wonderful the place would be until we walked in. We fell in love with the Penthouse in Tamarindo!!! What an AMAZING time we had and the condo was so much more than what we had ever expected. The place was so beautiful and so well taken care of. It was also great to be able to use all of the amenities of the Diria hotel. The pools and beaches were great. We did not have a car and we didn't need one. We were close to everything in tamarindo and could walk everywhere.

Also a shout out to the guys at Blue Water as well. They were so nice and helpful when we picked up the keys. They knew we were coming and were all ready for us when we walked in the door. I have already told everyone I know how amazing you all were.

We are already thinking about our next trip back to Costa Rica. We could not have picked a nicer place to have stayed.

Thank you again for all of your help while we were getting ready for our trip. You all made it so easy.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Magnificent property, more grand then pictures show, tastefully decorated and comfortable.

Review submitted: July 10, 2012   Date of arrival: June 28, 2012

This penthouse has plenty of living space and balconies with amazing views.
We used Blue Waters suggestions for excursions and even had a great chef come in 2 different nights to cook us dinner, this was a nice treat.
We rented a car to get to different surf areas but you don't need one if you are staying in town, everything is within walking distance.
Cleaning service came everyday for light cleaning and changed beds at least once during the week. We took advantage of the excursions and went horseback riding, ATV in the jungle and beach, Sunset cruise aboard the Hibiscus with snorkeling and dinner included, Boat cruise through jungle with Crocs and white-faced monkeys.
Booking again for next year.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great review for Penthouse at Diria

Review submitted: July 8, 2012   Date of arrival: June 19, 2012

Our stay at the penthouse at the Diria Hotel was great. The accomodation were excellent. The hotel it is attached to was good, the shared homeowner's pool has a swim up bar cabana that was not open for the time we visited in June, but you could call from the bar and they would bring whatever. The house was clean and beautiful. ran into a water issue on our first night...a bit inconvenient, they said it was the whole complex. They got the water on the next day for showers ext. and were helpful and apoligetic....we went out that night. The homeowner below us visited us one night as we played pool to ask us to stop banging our pool sticks on the carpet, he was nice, mentioned he has had a problem with noise before, we complied and we didn't see him again, he was nice just wanted some quiet on his vacation. I think the pool table is right over his room. I would recommend the penthouse and recommend Blue Water Properties. Thumbs Up!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Hi Janet: Thanks for your review. As you can imagine, things sometime happen which are completely out of the control of the property manager. The issue with water was repaired within 24 hours and we also refunded you your first night due to the inconvenience you encountered. Other than your first night, I am glad you were able to enjoy the vast majority of your vacation and we hope to have you back soon. Best wishes, the Staff of Blue Water Properties

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Spectacular Tamarindo Condo

Review submitted: March 24, 2012   Date of arrival: March 18, 2012

Diria #601 far exceeded our expectations. It is truly a great place to stay during your Tamarindo vacation. We came here as a group of 10 friends (the large couch was plenty comfortable and large enough to sleep two people if necessary) and we had a great time.

The condo is beautiful, luxurious and well-maintained, with gorgeous views of the ocean and the town from every window. The pictures almost don't do the condo justice, it is that nice. A very short walk to the beach, town, and the Hotel Diria main resort, we spent much of our days out and about, but very close to the condo. Becky and her staff are very professional and helpful in making your stay in Tamarindo fantastic. All in all, highly recommended, and we will definitely be back!

Recommended for: tourists without a car

Owners response: Nick, thanks so much for the kind note. I am always happy to hear when our guests have a great time at Diria 601. We hope you will come back to Tamarindo soon. Best wishes, Becky and the staff at Blue Water Properties

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great views!

Review submitted: February 26, 2012   Date of arrival: February 7, 2012

There were 7 of us that stayed in this condo. It is in the heart of Tamarindo, only a block away from the beach. The grounds and condo are secure and safe with a guard at the gate at all times. The penthouse itself is roomy and clean. There are windows and balconies showing the great views of the ocean and sunsets. We always gathered on the large balcony with dining table every morning with views of the ocean for tea/coffee/breakfast before a day at the beach. The kitchen is a little small for how large the place is, but it had everything we needed. Could maybe have used some more wine glasses.

The 4 bedrooms are very different and not equal to each other, although they are all very nice....2 are master suites which are clearly the ones you'd want to stay in....they are huge, have private balconies, and have great views. The 3rd bedroom is smaller with a queen bed and has great views but no balcony, and then the 4th bedroom was small with a double bed and a small balcony with an okay view. Each room had it's own private bathroom. It took a few days to figure out that the air conditioning for the small room was controlled through the thermostat in one of the master rooms.

The common area is huge and great for gathering and entertaining, in fact we had a chef come in to cook 11 of us dinner one night. I would recommend that. It was only $30pp and included appetizers, salad, fish, steak, and dessert. They did it all including the clean-up.
Housekeeping came daily to sweep, but we mainly washed our own towels.
We got great use out of the washer and dryer and dishwasher.

The only thing that I would say this place was missing was a stereo system.....I was surprised there wasn't one. There was a radio with some cheap speakers, but no way to hook up an ipod to them. It was a little out of place in a fancy penthouse suite. Definitely needs a stereo system.

The pool area is huge, uncrowded, and even had monkeys in the trees!

The photos are exactly how it looked. The property manager, Becky, was great to work with. The condo is in a great location! Only a block away from Nibbana, the best place for 2 for 1 happy hour drinks from 5-7pm. It's a fabulous beachfront restaurant too! Seasons restaurant is THE BEST though. If you want great pizza, head to La Boula. Everything is a 5 minute walk away.

I highly recommend buying booze right when you land at the airport at their duty free shop. CHEAP!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: Hi Andrea: We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay at the Diria penthouse. It's a great property and location for sure. We hope to have you back soon in Sunny Costa Rica! All the best, Becky & the BWP Staff

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Excellent Penthouse Villa at the Diria!

Review submitted: August 24, 2011   Date of arrival: August 18, 2011

We stayed for 5 nights with 2 families and 5 young children ages 4-11. The location was excellent in Tamarindo! It was great having the washing machine and the full kitchen. The kids could watch t.v. or play pool and we had very easy beach and pool access. This place is walking distance from everywhere you will need to go in Tamarindo. Becky and her staff were wonderful with assisting us with any trip and travel plans. We would highly recommend.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are always happy to hear when our guests have a great vacation! We hope to have you back again in the near future.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Lovely Vacation

Review submitted: February 14, 2011   Date of arrival: February 5, 2011

We just returned from our 8 night stay in this beautiful condo. I can't express to you in words how lovely the veiw are and how wonderful the accomodations are. The pool is wonderful along with it's swimup bar, menu and fantastic staff. The location of this property is central to everything yet set back enough on the property to keep your vacation quiet and relaxing.
Thank you very much Rebecca for making our vacation perfect!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, pet-friendly, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay at the Diria penthouse and hope to see you again in the future!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Best family vacation ever!

Review submitted: January 3, 2011   Date of arrival: December 26, 2010

Thank you so much for the wonderful family vacation. It would not have been possible without all of your efforts to assure that our every need was met. Blue Water Properties of Costa Rica are unbelievable. The penthouse was gorgeous and we all felt like it was paradise. Of all the vacations that our family has taken during the holidays this one was voted the best by our family. If is very stressful as parents trying to find a place that will accommodate 8 adults and 2 grandchildren and it was easier than ever letting you do it all. Everything was so organized and on time and thank you for everything and hopefully we will see you again,

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Gorgeous condo, walking distance to restraunts, beach, shopping

Review submitted: November 28, 2010   Date of arrival: November 10, 2010

Our trip to Costa Rica was enhanced by staying at Diria, Penthouse! Blue Water Properties are amazing to work with. Jose & Becky are VACATION savers...
Becky responded to an email on a late Sunday night! The condo is perfect for couples, families, and kids! You are in walking distance to shopping, the beach, restraunts, and bars. We rented a car, but found out we really did not need it. The security staff was friendly, even though we came and went a few times a day. Thank you for contributing to such an amazing trip to Costa Rica, we will be back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Absolutely Beautiful!!!

Review submitted: August 4, 2010   Date of arrival: July 9, 2010

We have travelled to Costa Rica on several occasions and have stayed in various resorts, vacation homes and hotels, the Penthouse in Tamarindo is simply the best place we have visited. The view was spectacular for any of the 4 terraces with a totally unobstructed view of the beaches and surrounding mountains. The accomodations were excellent for our party of 6 with plenty of room to find your own space if you needed to. The kingbed in the Master's Suite was a little hard, however, it worked for us. We use the kitchen daily for all our meals and the market was only 3 km down the road and had everything we needed and more, but there were plenty of nice resturants nearby if you wanted to eat out.

Having direct access to the Diria Resort was also a wonderful plus for us. We had access to two pools and the beach was only minutes away. We walked the beach every morning during the week we were there it was not very busy and very enjoyable.

We really enjoyed working with Blue Water Properties, from our first contact to the time we left, they were very helpful and friendly. I would recommend them to anyone who asks if they are travelling to CR. We really appreciated their advise and recommendations for activities to do while in Tamarindo.

Tamarindo is a surfing town and our daughter had a wonderful experience with her first surfing lesson. There are many options for lessons, however, our experiece with Costa Rica Surfing was great.

We can't say enough about this property. It is on the top two floors of this unit and is situated at the end facing the beach, in our opinion, the prime condo unit in the whole complex, (if not in Tamarindo!!). We would definitely recommend this location to our friends and family.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Owners response: We hope to have you back as our guests! Just a note that the owners recently upgraded all the rooms with new brand name pillowtop mattresses. They are very comfortable....

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Family-Friendly!!!

Review submitted: July 9, 2010   Date of arrival: June 18, 2010

We just returned from a week's long stay at this beautiful penthouse. Two families, both with young children, had enough room to roam and play. Anything we needed was right at our fingertips. We just placed a call and received great service. The photos used are very accurate. And the place is well kept. Tamarindo is a cute, surfer town with wonderful international restaurants. The Diria Resort, where the penthouse is located, has great pools and is always kept very clean!! Every morning the staff was out tending to the resort's grounds. The best thing about where we stayed is that you can drink right out of the tap and eat the produce without having the worry of getting sick (like you might in other countries). They have advanced water filter systems which made us feel better considering we had young children with us.

The staff at Blue Water Properties went above and beyond. If this penthouse is not right for you, they have other options that may be more suiting to your needs. One of their staff, Heiner, spent his day off as our driver for one long day trip to Lake Arenal. He had his childhood buddy, Marco, be our guide. Marco is currently getting his Master's in Ecotourism, so we thought, "Why not?" It was the best part of our trip!!! No regrets!! They came over the night before to plan out our day and really took into consideration the ages of our young children (22mo, 6, 9). Everywhere we went was perfect for everyone: Animal refuge, a random sloth in the tree (which apparently had been there for weeks), the hanging bridges in the rainforest, and the Baldi hot springs (with waterslides!). In between all of that, we stopped at a restaurant that had the best Costa Rican food and their rice and beans were so flavorful. They ended our tour by driving us down a road to view the volcano's lava pouring down the sides. SPECTACULAR!!!

Yira and Becky in the office were fantastic, hospitable, and always available to communicate with us whenever we had questions. We accidentally left my son's lovey in the bed sheets and they helped find it and put it in the mail right away. My son was ecstatic to see his Tigger:)

Don't doubt for one second that this penthouse or Blue Water Properties is right for you. You won't regret it.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: March 14, 2010   Date of arrival: March 14, 2010

Working with Becky Clower was a dream-come-
true! She and her associate Lourdes are very
professional, kind, communicative, available and
absolutely MADE our vacation trip to Tamarindo
the most positive trip I've ever taken to date. The
property was above and beyond what the pictures
and description described on the listing. It is a
gorgeous property within walking distance to all of
the amenities Tamarindo has to offer! The views
from the property are stunning. We travelled as a
party of 8 and all of us were blown away by the
beauty of the property and the location. We all had
plenty of room to either socialize or rest and we
thoroughly enjoyed our time there. A beautiful
property managed by Blue Water Properties: the
cream-of-the-crop in honest representation!
Kudos Becky & staff!!!

Owners response: Joanie, thanks for the kind words. We sure hope to see you very soon and glad you were able to celebrate your birthday the best way possible! Becky, Keith and the BWP Team

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: January 24, 2010   Date of arrival: January 24, 2010

Becky-
We had a wonderful last-minute and first trip to Costa Rica. The condo was magnificent. It was great to awaken each morning to beautiful views of the ocean and mountains. The amenities were top notch. We will definitely stay with you in the future. Thanks.
Teresa

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: January 5, 2010   Date of arrival: January 5, 2010

We had an absolutely wonderful time - 2 families of 4. There was more than enough room for all of us and the ocean views were fantastic. Not a detail was overlooked. The kids loved the pool(s) that were ours to use at the Diria Resort. We often ate lunch there after a morning of boogie boarding and body surfing in the Pacific. An excellent "supermercado" is less than a 5 minute walk from the complex. Bathsheba (costaricacatering AT yahoo DOT com) prepared a great meal for the whole crew on our first night. Becky arranged our flawless (and very comfortable) transport from Liberia. We will be back again! Pura Vida!
Chris Gaffney - Toronto

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: January 1, 2010   Date of arrival: January 1, 2010

We loved the Adventure Tour and had a wonderful time in Tamarindo! The penthouse condo was spectacular! Over and above our expectations. Thanks so much for everything.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: October 14, 2009   Date of arrival: October 14, 2009

I just wanted to thank you for the wonderful experience we were able to enjoy in the Tamarindo "Diria Matapalo Penthouse". The penthouse was amazing, we all enjoyed it greatly. We didn't expect this type of luxurious hospitality for what we paid for. The views from each room are awesome, the master bedroom is incredibly enormous, with great finishes and a great bathroom as well. The other rooms have a large area to fit everything one needs for vacationing and more. The beds were extremely comfortable in each room, we had no complaints from the 8 of us that were there. Pool table was of quality, and living room area was more than comfortable for our group. We actually enjoyed the college football game on saturday, LSU vs Florida gators in the living room. We had a blast! Best part about it all, was that everything is walking distance from the main strip, Bars, restuarants, stores, mall, etc... not to mention the beach which is one block away. Thank you for this experience we were able to enjoy to the fullest! I will reccommend this to everyone I know!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: September 1, 2009   Date of arrival: September 1, 2009

The Diria Penthouse is a beautiful property! We all definitely give it a thumbs up. We had a great time. Thanks again for everything. The tours and transportation Lourdes and Becky set up for us were great. We'll be recommending this property and your services to our friends and family!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: August 8, 2009   Date of arrival: August 8, 2009

Becky, thanks so much for everything! We had a wonderful time at the penthouse and will return next year. The office manager, Lourdes, was so friendly and helpful with booking our car and tours. The entire group loved this place and the amazing views and we just want to thank you all again for a great time. We hope to do business again real soon and we’ll be in touch!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: March 25, 2009   Date of arrival: March 25, 2009

Our time at the Penthouse in Tamarindo was truly a dream come true. I am speaking for all of us when I say that we had a fabulous time and the Penthouse was just beautiful. Bathsheba, the chef you recommended we use at the property, was not only a wonderful chef, but a great person. Thanks again!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review