reviews for: listing #5119 - Napa, California House rental

Italian Inspired Villa on 1.5 Acres in Napa
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths  3
  • hot tub  yes
  • community 
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $575 - $675 /nt
    $2,950 - $3,950 /wk
    $10,000 - $12,000 /mth

sort by:

Perfect Home Away from Home

Review submitted: December 3, 2009   Date of arrival: November 21, 2009

This home was even more beautiful than it looks in the pictures. The location is great, the amenities are incredible and the layout very private. We filled the house with 8 family members and were very comfortable. The pool/jacuzzi were a hit along with a real-wood fireplace for the chilly fall nights. The kitchen is fully-equipped and the downstairs galley came in handy for our Thanksgiving dinner. We certainly enjoyed our stay and I would highly recommend this property.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 16 / 17

 

Great house!

Review submitted: August 22, 2014   Date of arrival: August 15, 2014

We loved this place! A few girlfriends and I stayed here for a relaxing weekend, and it was just that -- the home is lovely, the beds are comfy, and the pool and hot tub are perfect -- the house was a great place to come back to after a day of wine tasting. I would definitely stay here again. Also, the whole process (from inquiring about the house through check in/check out) was very smooth.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful Get-away

Review submitted: May 29, 2014   Date of arrival: May 18, 2014

This house turned out to be better than we could have ever imagined. Great areas for outdoor activities including a wonderful terrace, pool with hot tub and an adjoining patio. Spacious interior and well-appointed kitchen upstairs with downstairs providing privacy at same time (important for the 6 month old grandbaby!). Secluded location but still convenient to Hwy 29 - only 10 mins to downtown Napa or Yountville. Too good to be true!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful house and great location!

Review submitted: March 1, 2014   Date of arrival: February 19, 2014

We stayed here with two other couples to celebrate my 40th birthday. The house had plenty of room for us, was very comfortable and is beautifully decorated. We enjoyed the hot tub but can't wait to come back when we can also enjoy the pool. The location is very convenient - near grocery stores and other shopping, but it still feels secluded. We can't wait to go back!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

One of the Best!

Review submitted: January 26, 2014   Date of arrival: January 9, 2014

My husband and I have stayed in many properties throughout the US, Canada and Europe and we have to say that this property was one of the best ones we have stayed at. It was exactly as described and very clean. The kitchen was just what we needed for a long weekend. And finally the location is perfect for a weekend wine tasting in Napa and/or Sonoma. Great restaurants are close by as well as a wonderful grocery store. We highly recommend this property.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Fantastic Home!

Review submitted: October 14, 2013   Date of arrival: October 10, 2013

We rented the villa with 2 other couples. The house and grounds are beautiful! We enjoyed all being together versus staying in a hotel in separate rooms. We really enjoyed using the spa and sitting out back by the gorgeous pool. The kitchen has everything you need to cook and a great table that seats 8 people for dining. The owner and property manager are very efficient and answer any questions you might have. I would highly recommend this house. We would definitely here stay here again on a return visit to the Napa Valley!!! :) :)

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful Villa - we will be BACK:)

Review submitted: September 23, 2013   Date of arrival: July 28, 2013

We had an excellent time staying at this great house with an amazing pool and hot-tub! Our trips to Napa generally keep us north towards either Calistoga or St. Helena renting homes there. This time we chose this house based on availability - not sure if we'd enjoy the Napa location or not. We ended up LOVING the Napa location. We always look for a pool and nice kitchen. We generally choose to shop at Sunshine Foods and the Meat purveyor in St. Helena and then cook at home. After long days of wine tastings - up to 8 a day - we are pretty tired getting back, so something that can be thrown onto a grill or in to a pan on a gas stove are right up our alley. The kitchen had all the items a chef needs to prepare excellent dinners. We had a great time - four adults - hanging out at the hot-tub and pool in the evenings drinking the wine we bought. Although the guys wanted a fridge by the pool so they wouldn't have to go upstairs to grab a beer. We thoroughly enjoyed our time at the spacious home and the owner was very gracious and details throughout the home show they care. It was fun to pick the berries and eat them at breakfast. The peaches & lemons weren't ripe yet, but depending on the month you choose to stay, you might have extra treats! There were beautiful plants & tree's - even a bunch of olive trees! We had a family of deer; a Doe and two fawns that kept an eye on the house. We couldn't figure out how to actually go in to the adjoining vinyard, so we stayed on the property. Easy access to downtown Napa (restaurants & shops). We always enjoy at least hooking up with one french restaurant while in the area, so going in to Yountville was very convenient from this location. Going with just one other couple was nice - plenty of room for more, but this was nice for us - we each really had our own space (and floor!). Also, I too received the downpayment back within a few days. I always received quick responses to my emails when booking and everything went perfectly for our trip. We'd love to stay there again, just as soon as I have saved up enough to afford more of the wine I fall in love with:)

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Family Get Together

Review submitted: September 15, 2013   Date of arrival: June 30, 2013

We spent a glorious week with three generations at this great property. The house met all our needs and surpassed our expectations. We all spent most waking hours outdoors enjoying the pool, hot tub and the comfortable outdoor seating area. The location was private and peaceful, yet close to all amenities and easy access to wineries and SF. We've already booked for next summer!

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Highly Recommended!

Review submitted: July 2, 2013   Date of arrival: June 23, 2013

We visited Tuscany 2 years ago, and staying in this house brought back fond memories and made us want to go back! It is beautifully designed and decorated, and all the provisions, right down to the quality appliances - were perfect. We've stayed in many VRBO's, and none have supplied so many pool towels! My only suggestion for improvement is to put the exhaust fan and light in the lower bathroom on separate switches. The fan is very loud and we couldn't hear the other person talking in the adjacent bedroom while it was running. (The owner agreed and is planning to make changes during a rental break.) Speaking of the owner, Thom was always kind, quick to answer any questions we had, and prompt in returning our deposit.

The house it just at the edge of town yet has a secluded feel to it. We saw 3 fawns and a doe in the driveway one morning and were entranced. The patios, pool and spa were delightful, and the landscaping was gorgeous. In fact, the warm spa during the cool Napa nights was a perfect place to end our day. We had an unusually rainy 2 days at the beginning of our week, but the covered patio made it easy to enjoy being outdoors anyway. And who wouldn't enjoy their morning coffee (or evening glass of wine) on the balcony overlooking a vineyard?

So glad we chose this place!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

A+ Property!!!

Review submitted: April 29, 2013   Date of arrival: April 20, 2013

I have rented many vacation homes, but I must say this property was one of the best! The location couldn't be better, completely private yet only a few blocks away from everything, including one of my favorite vineyards. The property was spotless both inside and out! All the beds were extremely comfortable which is a rarity for sure! There wasn't a thing we looked for that we didn't find with the exception of a Dominos game! In addition to all that, the owner/realtor was extremely personable and professional, and answered all our questions promptly. I highly recommend this vaction property for anyone looking for a memorable vacation in beautiful Napa Valley.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

A perfect place to stay!

Review submitted: March 20, 2013   Date of arrival: March 10, 2013

We chose this property as the base for a long planned family vacation and birthday celebration for our middle daughter. When we arrived,we were pleased to find that the photos just didnt do the home justice. There were were five adults and our 8 month old grandson in the group and the layout and amenities were perfect; our daughter and her husband had the lower level suite that included bedroom, bath, and living room for the toddler's crib.

As something of a chef, I appreciated the well equipped kitchen; top flight appliances and an excellent gas range. I cannot say enough about the efforts that the owner went to in order to make us happy; I had asked about large pots for cooking lobsters and they were provided; The day we arrived, I noticed there was no coffee grinder, and asked, and the next day there was a brand new one.

The grounds are beautiful and immaculately maintained; even in early March, all of the lush landscape was coming alive with color. We were blessed with a week of sunny weather in the mid 70's and the ideal location of the house gave us a perfect base whether heading to the wineries or to downtown Napa for dinner.

All in all, I cannot say enough about how well this property worked out for us!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Italian Villa in Napa

Review submitted: October 15, 2012   Date of arrival: October 5, 2012

Great house - looks exactly as shown in the pictures. Three very comfortable bedrooms and 1 sleep sofa. Kitchen was modern and great for cooking breakfast each morning. Only used the grill once (so many great restaurants in St. Helena/Napa/Sonoma/Glen Ellen) but was great for a casual dinner purchased down the street at Whole Foods! Julie, property manager, met us for check in and we never had to contact her again - everything was just fine with the property. The pool area is beautiful and at night, the pool/hot tub multi-color lights are fun. House was clean and the rental was very easy - received full deposit back within 2 days of checking out. The house is situated in Napa between Sonoma and St. Helena wineries so going either direction is at least a 20 minute drive - we did a lot of driving the week were there but we were expecting it.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

A fabulous week in Napa

Review submitted: August 8, 2012   Date of arrival: July 18, 2012

We just spent a week on a multi-generational family trip to Napa and this house was fabulous! If anything, the photos do not do the property justice. Imagine yourself sitting on the terrace in the early morning under a crystal clear sky, looking out over vineyards and sipping coffee... spending time in the pool and hot tub which were perfectly maintained and clean... barbecuing on the terrace... and exploring Napa -- what's not to love? The house was well maintained and clean with enough space to give everyone their own private areas. The kitchen was well equipped and allowed us to cook as a group. We would highly recommend this to anyone wishing to have a more personal experience in Napa and will definitely return ourselves in the future.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Best house in Napa!

Review submitted: July 16, 2012   Date of arrival: April 6, 2012

Thank you for providing our group with an amazing experience right in the heart of Napa. The home is beautiful and the highlight for us was the amazing heated pool. I was ambivalent about having the pool heated for our stay in April, but I'm so glad I did. The entire group simply loved having the large heated pool and it was a natural gathering place during the weekend. The house came well supplied with cooking utensils and we were able to prepare wonderful breakfasts each morning. We also used the grill to cook some steaks and they turned out perfectly.

We found the location to be absolutely perfect! Close to town to stock up on groceries but secluded enough to be our own private eden. We didn't have any problem with road noise. I honestly can't think of anything that could be improved.

All-in-all an amazing stay! We can't wait to return and are already looking for dates on our calendar!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Amazing Villa!!

Review submitted: September 30, 2011   Date of arrival: September 21, 2011

My husband and I just returned from 3 nights/3 days in Napa with 2 other couples. I cannot say enough about how wonderful the property was. The views are spectacular and we enjoyed relaxing by the pool and hot tub. The kitchen was great for cooking/grilling outdoors. Everyone had plenty of space in the 3 bedrooms/3 bathrooms. I highly recommend this property and will definitely rent it again in the future.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Paradise in Wine Lover's Paradise

Review submitted: August 22, 2011   Date of arrival: June 11, 2010

Our family rented the house for a week last summer and it was the pefect vacation. We had a family breakfast each day before setting out each day to wine taste and sight see then came home each evening to make a fabulous dinner and sit in the jacuzzi each evening. We had a two year old, dog, singles, and married couples and all cohabited perfectly! The house and property are amazing and you couldn't ask for a better location to tour Napa, Sonoma and a day trip into San Francisco.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Mothers Day Trip 2011

Review submitted: May 17, 2011   Date of arrival: May 6, 2011

This was our first trip to Napa and we could not have been happier with the home, the property and the amenities. I really believe the home is more beautiful that it appears and the description is quite humble but accurate. The location of the property was great leaving us short distances to Napa and Sonoma. The pool/jacuzzi and beautiful roses and landscape made our stay relaxing especially after a long day sipping on wine. We handled most of the reservation process through email, fast and courteous. Questions were answered immediately. While on site, we experienced a routine "house" mishap and the managing agent jumped in and handled it promptly. The managing agent and the staff at the house were pleasant, helpful and professional. I would gladly recommend this home.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Family Reunion

Review submitted: April 23, 2011   Date of arrival: March 30, 2011

For my wife's 50th birthday celebration, we stayed at this lovely property. Her family came in from various parts of the country, and the house was very roomy allowing privacy for everyone. For a portion of the week we even had one couple sleeping in the screened in porch on an air mattress! The pool and spa are wonderful, as well as the sitting area adjacent to it. After an afternoon of wine tasting, we would soak and relax by the pool before cooking a feast in the gourmet kitchen. The dining room table can accommodate eight people comfortably. The location although on a busy road, is very private and looks out on the vineyards. In the week we were there we saw no neighbors and really felt isolated, even though right down the street are supermarkets, a liquor store and anything else you might need to shop. I would recommend bringing alond a portable ipod player to supply music. Also, the bedroom next to the pool is the best, with it's own private bathroom! A great time was had by all, and we will have future reunions at this house.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

fantastic home!

Review submitted: November 23, 2010   Date of arrival: November 11, 2010

I organized a girl's getaway, so we wanted something more conducive to girl time than a hotel. When I looked for rental houses, I kept coming back to this one. And I'm so glad I did.

It was fantastic house, well decorated, very comfortable. The jacuzzi under the stars was awesome, as was the fireplace.

We didn't want to leave!!! And we can't wait to go back.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Great House for a Couples Trip

Review submitted: October 20, 2010   Date of arrival: September 30, 2010

Thought this was a great house for all of us to stay in (3 couples). The house is just as it is pictured. Makes you feel like you are in Italy. Decorated very nicely and made us feel comfortable right away. Views off of the terrace were great for the time of year.
House is located to the south, so we tried to visit wineries up north and work our way back to the house. We ate breakfast and dinner at the house as a group. Enjoyed the hot tub almost every night. Was great to have a place that we could talk about our adventures of the day in a nice setting. Would be tough to get that with a hotel stay and all of us in different rooms.
Only problem during our stay was that the gas ran out in the grill and the back up tank was not full. We did not realize to call and get it taken care of. Also the house is located next to a somewhat busy street and wish that we could have been in a location that we could take morning walks. The road made for easy access to get to everywhere though. Other than that we had a great time and hope to do it again in a year.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

3 couples

Review submitted: October 19, 2010   Date of arrival: October 7, 2010

We recently rented this house with 2 other couples while in Napa for a wedding! It was the perfect spot for all of us. The pool and hot tub were beautiful and a perfect place to gather and relax every afternoon and evening. The house was perfect, the furnishings are beautiful, beds are very comfy and the house was clean. Each couple had more than enough privacy yet plenty of spaces to hang out and enjoy each other. The house has a great flow and is so convenient to grocery stores,restaurants and shops and of course vineyards! I would recommend this house and hope to rent it again! We all loved it.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The house is beautiful-amazing stay in Napa!

Review submitted: October 1, 2010   Date of arrival: September 23, 2010

Hi Thom/Julie,
Just wanted to thank you for everything this past weekend. The house was beautiful and made our stay in Napa amazing! We loved every minute of it and appreciate all the detail that was put into the house. The pictures online did not do it justice! If you ever consider selling it- I am interested :)
Hope you have a wonderful week.
Alexis

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Summer 2010

Review submitted: August 8, 2010   Date of arrival: July 24, 2010

We stayed here with our 3 kids (11, 8, 6) for 1 week this summer and found it to be a perfect house for all of us. The kids loved the pool and hot tub and we all enjoyed the proximity to Napa's conveniences while still bordering a vineyard. The house is large, well decorated and laid out in a way that provides lots of personal space. Although not ideal for toddlers (stairs, pool, slippery tiles), it worked well for our kids. Convenient location with Whole Foods, Trader Joe's, Target etc and access to Rt 29 (main artery for the valley) 5 mins by car. Also a short 10 min drive in the other direction to one of the best vineyards in the valley (Hess Collection). Would stay here again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Review submitted: July 13, 2009   Date of arrival: July 13, 2009

Our group of 4 loved this very large and beautiful home. The owners have beautifully restored this home to have the feel of an Italian villa without the cutesy fake frescoes. It reminded my husband and I of a beautiful home we rented in Tuscany. The upstairs has a master bedroom and bath with a large living/dining/kitchen area and a very nice balcony overlooking a vineyard and mountains. The downstairs has 2 bedrooms and baths with a living area and small kitchen. We spent most of our afternoons by the very nice pool, on the covered patio that has very nice furniture, or in the jacuzzi. The home is very convenient to everything and we could get anywhere within 20 minutes. We only wish we had stayed longer!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: May 20, 2009   Date of arrival: May 20, 2009

A few girls and I rented this BEAUTIFUL house for a Napa weekend getaway in early May. It was well-equipped, from a fully-stocked kitchen to towels to extra sheets. The two rooms downstairs had poolside views and opened up right to the lounge area and spa/pool, and the master bedroom opened up to a wrap around balcony. It's a spacious house with plenty of places to hang out. The decor and style of the house were also very cute! It felt like we were somewhere in the Mediterranean!

Our only critique was the lack of lighting upstairs in the dining/living room areas. In addition, there was NO light or patio furniture on the deck with the BBQ grills.

Communication with the owners was very smooth and professional. I would highly recommend the place! We didn't want to leave the house the whole weekend!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: April 10, 2009   Date of arrival: April 1, 2009

Hi Thom,

Just had to let you know what a wonderful time we had in Napa and the villa was absolutely beautiful. We didn't want to leave. I regret it so much not to have stayed there longer. It was better than what I had expected... location, scenery, peaceful, cozy, easy access to everything, beautiful decor, (I can go on and on). I would definitely recommend it to my friends. I especially want to thank you for the price you let me rent it for. That was so kind of you. Thank you so much. Hope we left everything to your satisfaction.

Thank you,

Helpful votes: 5 / 7

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: March 10, 2009   Date of arrival: March 1, 2009

We stayed for four days in early March 2009. The house far exceeded our expectations. The photos do not do this place justice. The accomodations are roomy, amenities are plenty and it is decorated beautifully. We had no idea that the home can be considered two apartments which made it nice if you are an early morning waker and the rest of your party is still nursing their heads in bed. The view of the vineyard just beyond the pool is amazing. The home is conveniently located and not far from the main drags to most of the wineries. This place made our stay in Napa even more special than we had hoped. We would recommend this villa to anyone visiting the area and we intend to stay there again.

Helpful votes: 6 / 7

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: December 8, 2008   Date of arrival: December 1, 2008

Hi Thom,

I just wanted to let you know that we thoroughly enjoyed this past weekend at your vacation house! We had booked this location to celebrate my 40th birhtday party and we were totally impressed. It was even better than we had expected! The location was very centrally located, the house was spacious with beautiful views from every window, the beds were comfortable and the decor throughout the house was consistent inside and out. I've rented other places that have been furnished with "leftover" furniture/decor but this was not the case at your Villa.

I spent some time Sunday morning taking some photo's of the house and thought I would share them with you. Feel free to use any of them if you wish. I'm pretty sure you can save the photo's from this link, but if not, let me know and I can re-forward them to you in a different format.

Thanks again! I'm sure we will be contacting you in the future for additional reservations.

Sincerely,
Joetta McFadden

Helpful votes: 4 / 6

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: November 7, 2008   Date of arrival: November 1, 2008

We had a lovely party for my mother at this amazing little Villa. It's actually more beautiful in person. We loved the jacuzzi at night (even in the rain). Our only complaint was the lighting. It was difficult to get enough light...tends to be on the dark side but that didn't detract from our celebration. Thanks for a great stay! We would highly recommend this rental.

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 

Fabulous Home in Napa

Review submitted: July 22, 2008   Date of arrival: July 5, 2008

We found the property to be even more lovely than the pictures on the website. We had 3 couples sharing the house and found the pool & hot tub and outside entertaining area great. The house was perfect with the separate sleeping & bathroom areas. We did some gourmet cooking a few nights and found all cooking & dining ametities we needed and then some. Very private layout for entertaining. Great location for our needs. Our overall stay was fabulous. Thank you for a wonderful week. Staff was very attentive in booking and at check in and check out.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review