reviews for: listing #51220 - Austin, Texas House rental

Casual, Cool and Welcoming - Barton Bungalow
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Zilker
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $125 - $450 /nt
    $900 - $1,200 /wk
    $2,600 - $3,500 /mth

sort by:

Wonderful Quiet Neighborhood

Review submitted: June 30, 2014   Date of arrival: May 21, 2014

A friend of mine and I and I spent close to a week Austin to research the different neighborhoods as I am relocating there this summer.

The Barton Bungalow was absolutely perfect. Plenty of room, well equipped kitchen. The master bathroom has a separate room with the sink and vanities with great natural light, and a walk-in closet. I cannot say enough about the lovely screened-in back porch. Morning coffees and evening cocktails in shaded bliss.

The neighborhood is quiet, walking friendly, tucked away from the hustle and bustle of downtown but close to everywhere we wanted to see and experience. Fabulous eating cuisines from trailers to high end restaurants, and everything SoCo has to offer.

Even though Eric was not in town during my stay my conversation with him was so pleasant and he made us feel completely comfortable. He assured me of his availability if we ran into any issues. There were none!

We enjoyed our time there immensely. Thank you for a lovely stay Eric.

Owners response: Thank you for choosing to stay with us! We appreciate your kind words and helpful tips to future guests. We hope to meet you after your relocation to Austin!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Not first choice...but should have been

Review submitted: June 2, 2014   Date of arrival: May 15, 2014

A work buddy and I planned a long weekend trip to Austin (a city neither of us had visited) for a few days of bike riding. When it came to choosing a place to stay, we used VRBO exclusively. Price (high) and availability (places we liked kept getting booked) took one option and another off the table, so we ended up staying here.
It should have been our first choice all along.
The Barton Bungalow was absolutely perfect. Great home, plenty of room, in a superb location. The screened-in back porch and the great back yard were just icing on the cake. The great location, off Lamar, was perfect - it made every trip we made out on and around the town a piece of cake.
The home was so wonderful that my buddy and his wife (who live 3 hours away, but are still new to Texas) consider buying a home in the same area as a weekend getaway.
I can't recommend the property highly enough. As a fellow VRBO owner, I'm very picky and particular when it comes to staying away from home. EVERYTHING about this house was top shelf, perfect, just right and absolutely great.
We're planning a return trip for 2015 and we won't look any further than the Barton Bungalow. You shouldn't either!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Absolutely Fabulous!!

Review submitted: May 8, 2014   Date of arrival: April 24, 2014

Everything I needed in walking distance. Every morning coffee on the patios screen porch while I listen to the owls outside. PEACE! Can't wait to go back.

Owners response: We're so glad you enjoyed the house. You've already contacted us about another stay, which is the best recommendation of all! Thanks.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great stay near Zilker Park!

Review submitted: April 4, 2014   Date of arrival: March 17, 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Barton Bungalow. The house was just as described; clean, comfortable, cozy and in a wonderful location. The beds were extremely comfortable. We especially enjoyed the huge screened back porch. The only thing that would have made it better would be to have a king bed in one bedroom. Eric stopped by to see if we needed anything and was able to provide us with dining suggestions. We were within walking distance of so many great restaurants (Odd Duck, Barlotta, Uchi, Barley Swine, Olivia) and many food trucks. The Saxon was great for live music. The location was great for walks to Zilker Park and through the neighborhood. We seldom used our car. I would definitely recommend this property. We would stay there again when we visit Austin and look forward to doing so in the future!!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Relief from snow

Review submitted: March 12, 2014   Date of arrival: January 1, 2014

My wife and I spent January and February in Eric's property. It is well located in a quiet neighborhood on a street with little traffic. I was able to walk to the YMCA and downtown. The home is well equipped in the kitchen and has a good washer and dryer in the hall. The beds are very comfortable. The master bathroom has a large walk-in shower, large separate room with the sink and vanities, and a large walk-in closet. The other bathroom, off of the hall, is also quite nice and accessible to both bedrooms and the living room. We didn't get to take advantage of the large, well-kept yard. The owner is responsive to needs and is close by. It was a great two months away from winter up North.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children

Owners response: So glad you enjoyed your stay. Austin's winter was strange this year, but it was still quite a bit warmer for you. Hope we can welcome you again in the future!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderful little bungalow

Review submitted: January 30, 2014   Date of arrival: April 29, 2013

Thank you for letting us stay at your wonderful little bungalow this weekend. All the things you have done to the place make it unique and a perfect place to get away to. Everything went smoothly and we were able to have a great weekend!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Barton Bungalow review

Review submitted: December 3, 2013   Date of arrival: November 23, 2013

My stay at the Barton Bungalow was wonderful. The house was clean , cozy and convenient to downtown and Lady Bird Lake. Eric was immediately responsive to any concerns and questions I had. I come to Austin occasionally and would try to stay at this house again. I highly recommend booking this home for anyone who wants to stay close to downtown.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks so much for staying with us. We look forward to welcoming you again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

great location and ambiance

Review submitted: July 19, 2013   Date of arrival: May 7, 2013

We stayed in this home for over a month while we were having some renovations done on our house. So being from Austin we were looking to find a place that would take dogs and be close to downtown. We were so fortunate to find this bungalow situated in one of the most interesting and perfectly located neighborhoods in Austin. This is a walking, friendly, serene neighborhood tucked away from the hustle and bustle of downtown but close enough to take advantage of the best park in Austin, downtown music scene, fabulous eating cuisines from trailers to high end restaurants, and South Congress'(SoCo)variety of activities. We felt like we were on vacation. It was also nice to relax after work in a screened-in back porch while the dogs played in the fenced in back yard. The description of the property was accurate and the owner was wonderful to work with and responsive to our questions. I would highly recommend this to anyone who is in Austin for some of most notable events, SXSW, ACL, the races at COTA, or just want to experience Austin. All you have to do is walk out the front door and it's there either by walking, biking or a short drive.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you! You were great guests. I hope we can welcome your family or friends again sometime.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Barton Bungalow

Review submitted: April 1, 2013   Date of arrival: March 29, 2013

The house was great for our last minute getaway, fully equipped kitchen, great covered patio, and in a quiet neighborhood. The reason we booked the house was due to our dog needing a yard and we were pleasantly surprised when we arrived and saw how large it was. We normally end up with a yard that is so small that our dog won’t even use the bathroom in so that was definitely the best thing about the house for us, especially because we could watch him from the covered patio. If you barbecue, I would recommend doing it before it gets too dark or else you won’t be able to see anything and bring your own tongs. Overall, it was a great house and a bargain for the price. We will definitely be back!

Recommended for: pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Barton Bungalow

Review submitted: March 25, 2013   Date of arrival: March 29, 2013

The house was great for our last minute getaway, fully equipped kitchen, great covered patio, and in a quiet neighborhood. The reason we booked the house was due to our dog needing a yard and we were pleasantly surprised when we arrived and saw how large it was. We normally end up with a yard that is so small that our dog won’t even use the bathroom in so that was definitely the best thing about the house for us, especially because we could watch him from the covered patio. If you barbecue, I would recommend doing it before it gets too dark or else you won’t be able to see anything and bring your own tongs. Overall, it was a great house and a bargain for the price. We will definitely be back!

Recommended for: pet-friendly

Owners response: Thanks for staying with us and for the suggestions. The interior of the house was repainted last year and we are planning some backyard improvements this summer. We will be sure to add lighting for the barbecue area!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great House to Rent in a Great Location

Review submitted: November 16, 2011   Date of arrival: November 3, 2011

This house was a fantastic find in a great neighborhood and location in Austin. It is very close to Barton Springs and only a short ride to all the downtown attractions. The house is perfect for a long lazy weekend or an extended stay with family. The ammenties are great with a fantastic kitchen with and a great screened in porch in the back to enjoy the outside. There is a grill in the back as well if needed. The rooms were very comfortable and very clean,much cleaned then many fine hotels. We were there on a football weekend and found the neighborhood very quiet and peacful which was nice on a hectic weekend.

I would highly recommend staying at this house for many types of trips to Austin.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Love the Barton Bungalow

Review submitted: May 4, 2011   Date of arrival: April 23, 2011

We loved our stay at the Barton Bungalow! It provided calm and luxury while we were having work done on our house. It was very much a real home with all the comforts and charm one hopes for (only much cleaner, immaculate, in fact). We appreciated the spaciousness of it too--especially the bedrooms and master bath. The front porch rocks!--great breezes on the hill and lots of shade under the oaks and pecans. The house had everything we needed and more. Thanks Eric for a great week!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

A beautiful home to stay in the heart of Austin

Review submitted: February 16, 2011   Date of arrival: December 14, 2010

I am originally from austin and had been living in california going to school. when i finished school i decided i wanted to move back the my original home town. i chose to stay at the Barton Bungalow while i looked around for a more permanent place to stay. This house was reasonably priced and absolutely beautiful on the inside. Both bedrooms were very spacious, and the pull out couch-bed was also very comfortable. The master bathroom and closet were enormous. Located just south of the river, it is 5 minutes away from pretty much anything you would want to be doing in austin. Tons of bike trails, and even a lovely bicycle rental store just at the bottom of the hill. countless gourmet restaurants within walking distance. Also just a hop skip and a jump away from the downtown life, and the craziness of 6th street. A must see for anyone new to Austin. The owner of the house was extremely pleasant as well. he came to the house on christmas eve and gave me a bottle of alcohol to warm the spirits. Even one more bonus to my stay were the pecans. i came just after pecan season and the entire neighborhood is littered with pecan trees. get up early and take a walk around the block the snag the pecans the neighbors and squirrels haven't gotten to yet! All in all i was very pleased with my stay, and if anyone i knew was coming to visit Austin, i would recommend this house before any other.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Come and enjoy the best of Austin

Review submitted: January 23, 2011   Date of arrival: October 12, 2010

I've got three words to say about the Barton Bungalow: location, location, location. For those of you in the know, the area south of the river is the eclectic and energetic heart of Austin. We rented this charming home as our first step in moving to Austin. We figured we'd rent the Barton Bungalow for a few weeks while we found a long-term rental and began our search for the perfect Austin neighborhood. It only took a few days to realize we'd already found the perfect neighborhood and we jumped right from the Barton Bungalow into buying our own home.

If you want to lay the car keys down and hit the pavement I'd suggest: fabulous cup of coffee (Boite), sprucing up (Bird's Barbershop), movie+beer = two thumbs up (Alamo Drafthouse) and delicious Mexican (Chuy's). On Day 2… Cinnamon Rolls (Moonlight Bakery), B-fast Tacos (Maria's Taco Xpress), Vietnamese Sandwiches (Lulu B's). On Day 3… Throw on your walking shoes and open yourself up to nearly inexhaustible choices of South Congress and Downtown.

The Barton Bungalow is a very comfortable home. While only a few blocks off of Lamar it is on a quiet residential street with big beautiful trees. Both of the bedrooms are very spacious with the master bedroom featuring a sun-drenched bathroom and spacious shower. My favorite feature is the screened-in rear patio. It's a perfect place to have a glass of wine and relax at the end of the day. Or to enjoy your own home cooked meal (but this is Austin, so do as the natives do, and get out there and eat, drink and be merry).

Enjoy your stay in Austin!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review