reviews for: listing #51247 - London, England Apartment rental

Stunning River View Apartment
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  no
  • type  Apartment
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Canary Wharf/Odyssey
  • sleeps  5
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (GBP) £100 - £170 /nt
    £2,250 - £2,700 /mth

sort by:

Appartement impeccable pour rester quelques jours

Review submitted: March 16, 2014   Date of arrival: February 24, 2014

Nous sommes restés quelques jours sur Londres et ne sommes pas décus par l'appartement. Il y a aussi une salle de gym au rez de chaussée et un gardien à H24 à une centaine de mètres, où nous avons laissé nos bagages les premier et dernier jours pour profiter au maximum de Londres sans contrainte. Le propriétaire est sympa. Pour le centre de Londres, compter 30 minutes: il faut prendre le bus (5mns d'attente et 5 mns jusqu'à Canary Wharf) puis le métro (20 mns jusqu'à Oxford Circus).

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Bel appartement et agréable séjour

Review submitted: February 27, 2014   Date of arrival: February 15, 2014

Nous avons passé un très agréable séjour à Londres.
Pouvoir profiter du calme et du confort de l'appartement de Philip avec sa vue sur la Tamise a été très appréciable. L'appartement était propre, lumineux, spacieux et bien décoré.
Rien ne manque.
Le bus à deux pas permet d'accéder directement au centre de Londres (ou il y a énormément de choses à découvir, surtout avec des ados).
Nous avons beaucoup aimé la situation géographique : le centre de canary wharf et les docks.
Philip est à l'écoute du besoin de ses locataires et vraiment très serviable.

Nous conseillons vivement un séjour dans son appartement, plus sympathique que l'hotel.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Excellent

Review submitted: February 9, 2014   Date of arrival: January 6, 2014

Nous sommes revenus de Londres depuis quelques jours mais nous sommes encore sous le charme de notre séjour dans ce magnifique appartement.
Appartement décoré avec beaucoup de goût , trés propre ,fonctionnel , calme et en plus avec une vue magnifique sur la Tamise.
Idéalement placé pour visiter Londres avec des transports en commun proches de la location et sans avoir le bruit du centre ville.
Nous voyageons beaucoup et de tous les appartements que nous avons eu l'occasion de louer celui ci est certainement le plus beau et le plus confortable.
Merci à Philips pour cette location et à bientôt pour un prochain séjour dans votre adorable appartement.
Monique et Christian

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

New Year's Eve in London

Review submitted: January 17, 2014   Date of arrival: December 29, 2013

Our group contained 5 persons and we wanted to spend a few days around New Year's Eve in London. We really enjoyed our stay and the basis for a nice stay is definitely a nice, comfortable accommodation like this apartment.
It is based directly at the Thames with a nice balcony on river-side.
The apartment surpassed all our needs: Enough space for 5 persons, bathroom and kitchen equipped with all required stuff, TV, internet, comfortable beds...
We could relax perfectly because the neighbourhood is very nice and quiet.
And there is a bus station right in front of the apartment, so you can reach all the important places in London in few minutes.
Whenever we will return to london, we definitely would like to stay in this apartment.

Helpful votes: 1 / 3

 

Affordable 5 Star Flat on the River Thames

Review submitted: October 9, 2013   Date of arrival: September 25, 2013

Philip Jones's apartment answered our wishes for an alternatve to expensive and tiny hotel rooms that was homey and away from the crowds and traffic jams of central London. The Odyssey at Orion Point was perfect. I am sitting here sipping my morning coffee from our 3rd floor balcony right on the Thames. 13 days no rain but a late night storm that blew away by morning. Flat exactly as advertised . Just a short bus ride to the very fast ferry or the DLR or the Jubilee Line will whisk you where all the action is located but came back to our quiet, modern accommodations waiting for us. Pub with a real chef across from us and a very good Sushi/Asian Bistro on the ground floor of our unique round stand out building. Brits of all cultures welcomed us almost like family giving us directions and even a guided tour of the Crown Jewels and the Tower of London as their guests. Our landlord was perfect and made sure that our linens and towels were freshened during our stay. I rate him 5 stars too. Back to Orion Point. Two quick markets a few steps away for fresh baked on premise, bread and croissants (yes, they have chocolate ones as well as delicious ice cream if you are so inclined) Using this apartment as our base we did the Cotswolds, Blenheim Palace and viewed the Crown Jewels at a large discount from retail. My wife is handicapped and we found this apartment ideal as there are two fast lifts that always worked. There is a very fineJapanese restaurant at the street level and a pub across the street with a surprisingly good chef. The salmon was great and my favorite was the black board Chicken special. With transportation so convenient, we saw the sights and dined at several 4 and 5 star restaurants including the Arch, Corus and Savoy. The French Bistro in Harrods was very good as well. The DLR takes you to Greenwich in just a few minutes where we had 3 meals that were quite good and loaded up on souvenirs since it was close to the apartment. We enjoyed the inexpensive, swift river "Buses" operated under the auspices of TFL. Taking the bus in front of the apartment to the wharf then getting on one of twin hulled ferries that go about 25 miles per hour speed you toward central London where you can walk or catch buses to all the sites. That was our favorite transportation. Great photos from the water. Put all this together with a very helpful owner who lives nearby was the icing on the cake. We love Orion Point.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Perfection

Review submitted: June 25, 2013   Date of arrival: June 16, 2013

Just returned from an 8 night stay in this apartment. Because we are seasoned London travelers (try to go annually), we wanted to try a new area of the City as a homebase. We were not disappointed.

The apt. is clean, spacious and modern -- every amenity for your visit. The owner, Philip, was gracious and even helped us arrange a car to take us to Heathrow (good thing we did because the Heathrow Express wasn't running the day we flew home).

First, Canary Wharf reminds us very much of the Embarcadero Center/Financial district in our home City of San Francisco -- vibrant, energetic, new. The apt. is a 5-10 min. bus ride to Canary Wharf where you catch the Jubilee Line to the center of London (5 stops away).

The area is quiet, and the view of the Thames is spectacular. You can hear the water lapping at the shore in the bedroom. (Peaceful when struggling w/ the timechange.)

Restaurants:
Hub Bub Pub (across the Street) -- food is terrific; don't be put-off by the downscale atmosphere.
Asian/Fusion food -- ground floor of the apartment building. We ate there twice.
Carluccio's at Canary Wharf -- we enjoyed their deli counter to make our own antipasto for eat-in dinners on the apt. balcony; dined in the restaurant once.
Philip has additional restaurant recommendations which we will explore when we return (hopefully, 2014).

The location of the apt. encouraged our desire to explore Greenwich. Great market there (vibrant on week-ends) and we enjoyed visiting the Cutty Sark.

Overall, a terrifc vacation. The apartment is comfortable, accessible and stimulates a new way to explore the London experience.

We can hardly wait to go back.

Claire and Alan Barnes (San Francisco)

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Beautiful Apartment

Review submitted: April 19, 2013   Date of arrival: March 15, 2012

the apartment is reaallly nice, super close to the river, location can't be better .. and the place is beautiful totally will come back there any time

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A Wonderful Apartment

Review submitted: April 19, 2013   Date of arrival: April 6, 2013

I want to let you know how much we enjoyed your wonderful apartment. It was a peaceful retreat after our days of dealing with the crowded city. If I can post any positive comments anywhere, please let me know. We really loved our time there and hope to return again someday. It was perfect for us.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great alternative to a hotel

Review submitted: March 19, 2013   Date of arrival: March 9, 2013

My wife and I visit London frequently and always stay in a hotel. For a similar price to a good quality hotel, you can stay in this excellent apartment, looking straight onto the river. The apartment itself had everything you need and is very comfortable. There is a convenience store round the corner, or a 10 minute walk to Tesco Express. Mudchute DLR is a 10 minute walk away. However we used our Oyster cards and jumped onto the regular bus system right outside on Westferry Road. The 135 takes you to Liverpool Street within 25 minutes. Shame the weather was so cold otherwise we would have enjoyed sitting on the balcony.

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Fabulous London Flat

Review submitted: October 21, 2012   Date of arrival: October 11, 2012

This gorgeous flat is located about a 15 min walk from the Canary Wharf tube stop (very quick and easy bus connection to avoid the walk).
The place was as described, and full of light and warmth.
The owner was friendly and accommodating.
Definitely have lunch at Carluccio's at Canary Wharf!

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Living on/with the river

Review submitted: September 23, 2012   Date of arrival: September 13, 2012

Stunning is the right word. It is like living on/with the river, always something to see. The appartment itself is nice, clean, and with everything you might need (a lot of space and light, good bed, good kitchen).
Phillip was waiting for us when we arrived and was very kind and helpfull. And it was the right neighbourhood: shops and restaurants nearby. We like the Docklands and If we go to London again ....

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Lovely apartment @ Orion point

Review submitted: July 12, 2012   Date of arrival: July 2, 2012

We spent 3 days at this apartment at Orion Point and we really enjoyed our stay. The apartment is well furnished with a comfortable bed and all you would need for a short stay in London.

Despite the fact that it rained every day we were there, it is a good location to get out and explore the Isle of Dogs and for getting into Canary Wharf for dinner and with a small shop nearby for your basics like bread and milk and a gym on site we could not have asked for more.

I have no hesitation in recommending this property for anyone looking to stay in London but who want more than just a basic hotel room.

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Wonderful

Review submitted: December 26, 2011   Date of arrival: December 9, 2011

Lovely, well-decorated and equipped apartment in Canary Wharf area. Very spacious. Spotlessly clean. Beautiful view, quiet and safe. A little far from central London but public transportation was easy.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 

A delightful apartment!

Review submitted: October 4, 2011   Date of arrival: September 20, 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed our vacation stay at this apartment. We appreciated the open and up-to-date decor and spaciousness. The property was very clean and well maintained. It was a wonderful change from the busy day. We especially enjoyed watching all the river traffic and dinner cruises! Phillip was a most gracious host. I would stay again and recommend it to a friend.

Recommended for: age 55+, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Great Stay in London!

Review submitted: September 30, 2011   Date of arrival: September 16, 2011

My visit to London while short (four days), was great and made even greater with my stay at this apartment. Upon arrival, I was warmly greeted by Adson who got me set up with keys and oriented me to the apartment and amenities. The apartment itself was well equipped, the kitchen and bathrooms are modern and well equipped with everything needed for a comfortable stay (dishes,pots, pans, towels, etc.), the bed was spacious and comfortable. There was local travel information, and maps that were made available to guests which I greatly appreciated.

Philip, the owner was gracious and very responsive to my many questions (and I had a lot since I was booking sight unseen from the U.S.) and in my opinion, he went above expectations with his responses.

Initially, I thought being based in Canary Wharf would be too far from the attractions I was interested in seeing, but it was very convenient to get to the “Tube” and light rail, and then to central London via the Jubilee Line. It was nice to come back every evening to a calm and quite apartment at the end of the day.

Phillip gave great directions to the apartment from Heathrow using public transportation, which made things easy. Unfortunately, I did not take a taxi as he recommended form the Canary Wharf station, and I ended up getting very lost. So follow any directions or suggestions he has to avoid my mistake!

There wasn't enough time for me to explore all that Canary Wharf has to offer, but it's a neat area, and worth spending some time strolling around. I would absolutely stay again, and would definitely recommend this vacation rental to others.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay in London and that the apartment was comfortable for your stay. I was more than happy to answer all your questions - I'm here to help - but thank you very much for the compliment!

Canary Wharf is an exciting area to be with the gleaming towers of the financial district juxtaposed with the historic docks and warehouses, as well as the historic Museum of Docklands (with free entry!). Shopping and eating is great too with the three shopping malls of over 200 shops, outdoor and indoor bars and restaurants and there are some lovely river walks all around the 'island'. I hope you got to see at least a little of it.

Yes, despite the apartment being just a short distance from the Canary Wharf tube station and easy to get to when you know how, I always recommend people to take a taxi from there the first time as it is inexpensive and so much more convenient than lugging round suitcases while jet-lagged and not sure where you are going - and prevents you getting lost! :)

Thank you very much for your custom and I hope we will see you again on your next visit.

Best wishes,
Philip

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Absolutely great

Review submitted: May 11, 2011   Date of arrival: May 4, 2011

Super view!! Great location in a cosy neibourghood. Peaceful and silent, with excellent public traffic communication. The flat was clean,well equipped, and the balcony with river view is luxury. No noice at night time. I had a most pleasent stay with three teenagers.
All the arrangements with the owner worked really smoothly. Just a perfect place!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review