reviews for: listing #51303 - Princeville, Hawaii Condo rental

Bali Hai Sunsets, Spectacular View from Cliff's Edge
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  yes
  • type  Condo
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Pali Ke Kua
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $200 - $225 /nt

sort by:

Sunset Serenade

Review submitted: April 16, 2014   Date of arrival: April 1, 2014

Our stay at Sunset Serenade was fabulous--the newly remodeled kitchen and bathrooms now complement the beautiful new hardwood floors and furniture. Everything you need is right here: beach chairs and towels, snorkel equipment, ice chests, not to mention a fully-equipped kitchen (love the granite countertop), ceiling fans, and tasteful furnishings. And then there is THE VIEW. Kauai is a beautiful island, but regardless of where we spent our day, coming home to the view from our lanai was a thrill every day, as was waking up to have morning coffee/tea and looking out on the blue Pacific, Hanalei Bay, Makana Mountain, and Pali Ke Kua/Hideaways Beach. The sunsets have to be seen to be believed. Mary is a delight to work with--very responsive and accommodating. We will be back . . .

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for taking the time to post a review and for your glowing comments. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay. A note of clarification: We do not guarantee that snorkel equipment will be available. The gear that you used was most certainly left by a previous guest. Snorkeling masks/fins and boogie boards are not items that we provide. Though, as you noted, sometimes that equipment is available for guests to use. We look forward to welcoming your return visit to Paradise!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

On the Edge of Paradise

Review submitted: March 26, 2014   Date of arrival: February 13, 2014

We recently enjoyed our stay at a wonderful condo at Pali Ke Kua in Princeville. It was the most well-supplied condo we've ever stayed in. The king beds were very comfortable and the baths and kitchen were very nice and updated. Mary went out of her way to make her guests feel comfortable and welcome, including a gift basket and personal note. We loved having morning coffee and evening wine sitting in the tall chairs on the lanai enjoying the view and the sound of the waves. Mary was so thoughtful, well-organized and responsive. We look forward to our next visit.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Outstanding!

Review submitted: September 15, 2013   Date of arrival: August 7, 2013

Truly a beautiful place to stay, inside and out. The description was totally acurate, with views to die for. Wanted to find something wrong with it, so I wouldn't have to share! Mary is a delight to work with. She has been responsive throughout the process. The unit was clean and well stocked with EVERYthing one would need. (linens, spices, beach chairs)
The condo does tend to be warm in the afternoon, especially the upstairs bedroom. If one keeps the shades drawn and fans going, it's not too bad. And it cools off at night. Be prepared for a lot of rain on this part of the island.
The beach is definitely a schlep down a steep walkway. But well worth the trip. Beautiful snorkling and shade awaits you! There is an outdoor picnic area halfway down, with a BBQ. Certainly not intended for everynight use; but could make for a nice outing. There are no grills allowed at the condo.
Explored the Queens Bath and other snorkling spots in the area...ALL beautiful!
The best resturants we found were the little shack stands around the area. The Dolphin was very popular and had decent fish. But a long wait for pretty bad service and loud bad music. Better to buy their fish for cooking at home (but not on a grill) :O
All in all, a lovely time! Can't wait to return.
p.s. The condo wasn't really big enough for more than 4 people. So leave the kids at home!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect Place to Retreat with fantastic views!

Review submitted: September 3, 2013   Date of arrival: August 24, 2013

Perfect place to retreat for a quiet, peaceful stay with one of the most outstanding views on Kauai of Bali Hai. Mornings and evenings were perfect on the lanai, cool breezes throughout the day. Walk down the winding path below the condo with beautiful views along the way to arrive at a beautiful beach area that has lots of privacy. Ideal for couples traveling together with privacy of separate bedroom/bath areas. Lovely, comfortable condo, full of amenities and very well maintained. Would stay here again and again!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

erin

Review submitted: August 25, 2013   Date of arrival: August 17, 2013

Amazing!!!! Such an ideal location!! The snorkeling below really is the best that we saw!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

FABULOUS!!

Review submitted: August 25, 2013   Date of arrival: June 29, 2013

We stayed in Pali Ke Kua the first two weeks in July. This condo is everything a vacation home should be! First off, this condo was spotless....clean....super clean!! We didn't have to wash every dish, glass, pan or piece of silverware before using it (something we have done in EVERY rental we've stayed in!). There are so many extras in this condo. From blenders to beach chairs, you'll find everything you could possibly need to make your stay enjoyable and effortless.

Most of our time was spent outdoors but we did manage to enjoy breakfast on the lanai every morning and were lucky enough to catch a few sunsets and rainbows. We spent time hiking, snorkeling, zip lining and shopping but our favorite pastime was hanging out at Haena Beach. This beach is beautiful and less crowded then most of the other popular beaches.

We highly recommend this vacation rental. It is comfortable, clean, well stocked, and nicely located. The lack of air conditioning during the day was a concern but by nightfall the place cooled down considerably. Thank you, Mary. Your condo was perfect!! Looking forward to returning soon!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Best stay in Princeville!

Review submitted: August 19, 2013   Date of arrival: August 11, 2013

We have been coming to Princeville, Kauai for 12 years and our family feels that our stay at Pali Kea Kua was the best! You cannot beat the location, the view, the condo and the private beach below. The "extras" that the condo has, makes traveling easier too. Cookbooks, beach chairs, umbrella, 3 coolers and even a bucket and shovel. Very quiet and a perfect location! The sunrises, rainbows and sunsets that we saw have created lifelong memories! Communication with both Mary and Michelle are excellent and we cannot wait to book another trip with them.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Breathtaking beauty on Northshore of Kauai

Review submitted: July 25, 2013   Date of arrival: July 18, 2013

Our family loved the condo, truly one of the best sunset views on the island. Nice tradewind cross ventilation design kept things cool in the July heat. We lowered the shades and walked down to the quiet, serene beach in the afternoons.
Well worth the price, we would definetly stay again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Totally impressed!

Review submitted: July 24, 2013   Date of arrival: July 14, 2013

My wife and I were completely blown away by the beauty and splendor of this condo. It's bright and well-appointed throughout. We wondered if the unit could possibly live up to the gorgeous photos online, and it certainly does -- and then some! The view from the lanai is awesome; we spent a lot of time out there, dining and watching the magnificent sunsets. The trail down to the picturesque little beach is a definite plus. Great location here, too, as it's just a few minutes' drive to the lovely town of Hanalei and, beyond that, the dramatic hike along the Napali Coast. We are SO GLAD we chose this condo, it was definitely a highlight of our Hawaiian vacation. Book it, you'll be glad you did.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

BaliHai sunsets

Review submitted: March 18, 2013   Date of arrival: March 3, 2013

Property was just as described. Loved the view. Couldn'tgetanybetter.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A wonderul vacation!!!

Review submitted: February 21, 2013   Date of arrival: February 2, 2013

We just got back from 2 wonderful weeks in Kauai, during which we stayed at Pali Ke Kua vrbo #101895. It is everything it is stated to be, and more. We drove around a lot and saw all the sights to see on the island, and each evening it was so great to come "home" to such a beautiful place. We would highly recommend this vacation rental condo. From the first contact with the owner, to our last day there, we were not disappointed one bit. It is clean, the bed is comfy, and it is stocked with just about everything you could want. Loved having our breakfast on the lanai every morning and watching for whales!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Paradise!

Review submitted: November 27, 2012   Date of arrival: October 26, 2012

I stayed at PKK205 for 2 weeks in Nov.2012. It was even better than advertised, and exceeded all my expectations (a much over-used phrase, but true in this case.)
This was my 6th visit to Kauai. I knew Pali Ke Kua was one of the few places that could provide me with the view of NaPali that I wanted. I was looking for a 2BR/2BA unit to share with a friend.
When I arrived at the condo, it was very clean, nicely decorated with comfortable furnishings (and a very comfortable bed!!), and a well-equipped kitchen. The bedrooms/baths are large and similarly furnished, so no one gets stuck with twin beds. The grounds at PKK are well-kept, and the pool area was recently refurbished and is very nice.
I would definitely recommend this unit to 2 couples, or 2 singles who value their privacy.
Nearby attractions which we enjoyed are: NaPali Coast hike/Ke'e Beach,
Limahuli Gardens,
Queen's Bath,
Anini Beach,
Hanalei Bay/kayak Hanalei River,
Hanalei Farmer's Market

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A nice place to view the north shore

Review submitted: July 17, 2012   Date of arrival: July 9, 2012

This condo is a nice place to stay to enjoy the views of the north end of the island. We just got back from staying there on the second part of our honeymoon. The unit is very well stocked with most of the items you may need to enjoy your stay (binoculars, coolers, blender, microwave, nice beach chairs, ipod docking station, dvd player, etc.). The photos are fairly accurate, although there is now newer living room furniture. The owner is very nice and helpful, and so is their local contact person.

The only drawback to this unit is that there is no air conditioning. While that is probably not an issue during most of the year, it does get warm/hot during the days in July. And, when it rains, it gets muggy inside. They try to make it bearable with extra fans and blinds, but it still gets very warm the last couple of hours before the sun goes down. I personally enjoy sleeping in a pretty cool room, so that was a problem. We did not even attempt to sleep in the upstairs "master" bedroom. It would be nice if the association modified their rules a little to allow for discrete A/C units. I know that at least one rental unit in this complex has a portable A/C in the master bedroom, which is a great idea!

The other drawback is that the only BBQ is at the bottom of a STEEP hill. It would also be nice if the complex added a few more grills near the pool. We grilled steaks several nights, and it is a pretty tough walk back up the hill when you are carrying a bunch of stuff. Actually, it is a pretty tough walk at any time! If you do make it to the bottom of the hill, there is a pretty nice little beach. Unlike some comment that I read, you cannot walk along the beach from here to the St. Regis. Between this complex and the St. Regis, there is a public parking lot that has 6 or 8 spaces. From there, you can try to walk down a dangerous path to a bigger beach. I would warn you not to try it after it rains, because the red clay is very slippery, and there are a lot of spots that you can fall and get hurt.

From this complex, the town is only about a 10-15 minute drive. If you continue through town to the end of the road, there is a park and a great place to snorkle (Tunnel's beach). I was able to spend a lot of time snorkeling with a large sea turtle.

We would definitely stay at this unit again if we go back, but I would pick a month a little cooler than mid-July. The owner and her local representative were a pleasure to work with!

Recommended for: sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

All the comforts of home

Review submitted: July 11, 2012   Date of arrival: July 3, 2012

The condo itself was exceptionally well kept, clean and welcoming. The view was amazing.
But, if you are looking for a beach this is not the place for you. The path to the beach is steep, quite the workout, and the water there is too rocky for swimming. We had to drive to a beach every day.
Kauai is a very rainy area, especailly the north shore, which I didn't realize when we booked in Princeville.
For better weather stay closer to the airport on the southern point.

Recommended for: adventure seekers

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Can I go back NOW?

Review submitted: May 22, 2012   Date of arrival: April 27, 2012

Hi Mary,

THANKS FOR THAT VIEW!!!

The condo was clean, comfortable, the furniture cushions updated since the photo, and every appliance seemed fairly new and more than adequate to me. Also, every last little thing you could possibly need or want was right there waiting at the unit, including a dash of olive oil and some spices. In looking at websites prior to the trip, people were concerned about internet and cell service at some other PKK condos, and I can only say we never had a bit of trouble with his PC, my Ipad, or either Verizon cell phone. People were also worried about the pool renovation, which is finished beautifully, and air conditioning, which was absolutely unnecessary in early May.

The view, fluffy towels, beds, and pillows, and proximity to everything are the most important part of a vacation for me. Oh, did I mention the view? During our stay, there were a few windy days and several rainstorms. Your balcony was always perfect, though, with a very gentle breeze. Oh, it was also fun watching the Nene geese landing on the lawn right in front of the balcony each morning and evening. Oh, and then there were those sunsets and rainbows.

Until next time,
Mindy

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Exceptional Experience!

Review submitted: April 19, 2012   Date of arrival: April 3, 2012

When you first walk into this unit you are drawn through to the lanai where the spectacular view has to be one of the best on the island. The cliffs you see are rumored to be the inspiration for Puff the Magic Dragon who lives by the sea in a land called Hanalei playing with his dear friend Jackie Paper. We enjoyed watching the surfers who were catching waves from sun up to sun down. We also enjoyed spotting a constant stream of whales passing through, spouting, breaching. The owners thoughtfully supply a set of binoculars.

The condo itself was very clean and welcoming. The bedrooms had large, extremely comfortable beds and en suite bathrooms. There was a washer and dryer to clean the suits and towels that we were using daily. The kitchen was well stocked with the utensils, tableware, and appliances that we needed for our stay. The WiFi was fast. No roughing it here.

The grounds of the Pali Ke Kua complex were well maintained and lush with local flora. The pool area was newly tiled and had a great view. We came here daily to swim and relax in the hot tub. There is a restaurant here, but we never tried it out. There is a beach access walkway right in front of the unit. It's a sloping concrete path (no steps) that zig zags down to the beach area. This was a beautiful beach, but not where we did our swimming. There was a clearing close to the beach with a cookout area for Pali Ke Kua guests.

There was so much to do in the area. Ziplining, kayaking, surfing, boogie boarding, mini golf, golf, snorkeling were all close by. A grocery store and post office for mailing postcards were within a mile. Hanalei was absolutely charming with shops and restaurants. If you watched the movie 'The Descendants" with George Clooney many of the sites will be familiar to you. The fountain and drive they show leading up to the hotel where his character stays is also the road where Pali Ke Kua is located, so watch the movie to get a sneak peek of what's in store for you. If you don't watch it, the owners have left a copy for you to watch during your stay.

Speaking of the owners, this review wouldn't be complete without expressing how wonderful they are to work with. We didn't have any mishaps but if we had we knew that they would be more than reasonable to work with. They hire a local independent property manager who only works with a few properties to make sure you are a priority. You are in the hands of good people who you can tell want to make sure your trip is amazing.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Home Style Paradise

Review submitted: November 21, 2011   Date of arrival: July 15, 2011

We felt so at home! Our view was A+ and the condo met all of our needs. We'd love to stay here again. Major plus: private beach at base of trail that starts at the condo doorstep. I was in heaven snorkeling over coral. The weather was tropical perfection. The condo had all the amenities one would expect from a hotel plus more! Princeville at a fraction of the cost of St. Regis! Joy!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Ginny

Review submitted: July 12, 2011   Date of arrival: June 6, 2011

It is a beautiful place, and we really appreciated special touches like fresh flowers. The local contact was most responsive (we had a minor issue with the upstairs toilet) which was corrected timely. The condo was in great condition, and the views are just as shown on the website.

There were 3 of us and it was “the trip of a lifetime”. Kauai is truly a garden isle and a mystical, beautiful paradise. The owner was very responsive and we highly recommend this. Summertime is esp good for swimming/snorkeling on the north side. The access here is very good (paved path to beach--about 10 min away).

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Our Favorite Place!

Review submitted: May 16, 2011   Date of arrival: April 13, 2011

We had the pleasure to stay in this lovely home in April for seven wonderful nights. We are so fortunate to have found our new favorite place to stay on the island! From the moment we walked through the door, we knew we had found something extraordinary. The view was magical, serene and romantic! We explored and snorkeled everyday, but looked forward to our return each evening to relax on the lanai. We enjoyed sunsets, rainbows and the tranquil sound of the waves. The house was immaculate and well stocked. From the beautiful decor, comfortable beds and gorgeous floors, we felt welcomed and cannot wait to return! The owner was extremely helpful and professional, and it is evident the love and care she has for her home. We highly recommend staying here.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful!

Review submitted: April 18, 2011   Date of arrival: April 1, 2011

We stayed from April 1-8, 2011. It was our first time to Kauai. Whale watching with breakfast on the lanai along with sufers in the morning into the evening. The photos are accurate, the condo is clean and the kitchen has everything. The pool is perfect for those who do not want to tackle the ocean. We contacted the owner directly, and she was very gracious. We would highly recommend this property.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Beautiful Place To Stay

Review submitted: November 21, 2010   Date of arrival: October 16, 2010

We stayed in this suite in October, 2010 and were very pleased. The view is just as good as the picture shows, perhaps even better. The condo was large and spacious, well equipped, and clean. The location is also just about as good as it gets on the whole island, close the island's best beaches, close to a grocery store, close to the St. Regis. This condo really offers you everything you could hope for!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review