reviews for: listing #51312 - Traverse City, Michigan House rental

Beautiful Cottage w/ All-Sports Lake Access, Air Cond, WIFI
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Duck Lake Peninsula
  • sleeps  10
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $245 - $325 /nt
    $895 - $1,700 /wk

sort by:

EXCELLENT!!

Review submitted: October 1, 2013   Date of arrival: September 20, 2013

This cottage is kept in an excellent state by the owners...they make sure you have everything you need and let you know what isn't available. The neighbors were nice enough to come over and offer for our boat to be moored at their dock during our stay. Quiet neighborhood but close enough to Traverse City for supplies and fishing on the bay. We had an excellent time, was quite comfortable and plan to return next year. With my father being ill the past year we have rented quite a few places and this is by far the cleanest and most comfortable that we've experienced. WELL DONE Lisa & Steve!!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great Location!

Review submitted: September 1, 2013   Date of arrival: August 18, 2013

Our family enjoyed our stay at the cottage. It was clean. The kitchen was great. We made most of our meals there. There is a shower in the laundry room which is very convenient especially with children. The area was quiet and peaceful.

The location was great. We were close to grocery stores and gas stations. Traverse City was close by we went there a few times. One day we rented a pontoon boat on Torch Lake. Visited Sleeping Bear Dunes. We had a picnic at a park in Suttons Bay. There were also days of hanging out and relaxing at the cottage taking walks, reading books, watching movies, taking naps, making smores.

We didn’t want to leave. It’s a place we would recommend to others and would go back again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Family Fun Getaway

Review submitted: September 26, 2012   Date of arrival: September 20, 2012

Our Family wanted to get away for the weekend. We looked on line and found this cottage.
It was very quiet and well maintained – It was fully stocked with everything you needed.
Except towels and Food (which we knew)
Traverse City, Leelanau Peninsula and the Old Mission Peninsula were close by.
So if you’re going for wine tasting or shopping or just need to get-a-way, this is a great place-
Thank You for allowing us to rent your Cottage.
The Becks

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Memories galore for our family!

Review submitted: August 7, 2012   Date of arrival: July 28, 2012

We spent a lovely time in this Traverse City Area cottage. We took advantage of various entertainment opportunities in the area, along with taking many walks, runs, etc. on the peninsula. The neighbors were friendly & welcoming in the surrounding homes that were lived in, during our stay. It was a peaceful area & provided us a great place to get away & relax. The owners checked with us early in our stay to see if we had questions, concerns, needs. We appreciated their checking with us. We visited Sleders, Boone's & the Traverse City Pie Co. for several of our meals, along with local fast food locations, in addition to using the firepit for hobo pies & somemores. The cottage was well supplied in the kitchen area for our needs for additional meals that we prepared.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Annual Family Vacation

Review submitted: July 27, 2012   Date of arrival: June 23, 2012

Spent another fantastic week at this rental. The house is extremely clean and well maintained. The home has a well equipped kitchen and it's nice to only have to bring food and bath towels. The neighborhood is great for walking and bike riding. We had no issues with the home and would definately come back for another visit. The fishing is great for sunfish and seems to be a fairly calm lake withbot a lot of boaters or jet skiers. The home is also convenient for traveling to amenities, sightseeing, and entertainment opportunities in nearby Traverse City area.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Poor value for the money -- rent elsewhere

Review submitted: July 23, 2012   Date of arrival: July 14, 2012

Having read prior reviews, I wonder if we stayed at the same rental as the other reviewers. The cottage is extremely dark and the laundry area reeks of dog. Air conditioning does not work in one of the upper bedrooms, which we discovered on a 95-degree day. The shower heads in the showers release almost no water. There are cantilevered balconies that are fastened to the cottage in a structurally unsafe way. We were already disappointed with our stay, when we received the shocking news that the owners had confiscated our entire security deposit. Although we had failed to empty bathroom wastebaskets and did not vacuum the floor before leaving (which we assumed were included in the rate), there were certainly no major issues with how we left the rental. The owner proceeded to accuse us of stealing a chair cushion and said she suspected we were lying about the number of guests staying there (which was 2 adults and 2 children). I am left feeling not only like I did not receive good value for our money, but that I have been personally attacked. If you prefer to be "nickle and dimed" for a dingy rental, you may want to try this place. The week prior we stayed at a bright, spacious cottage 3 miles from this cottage and with similar water access. It was the same price, the air conditioning worked, and we were given no hassle about the condition of our move-out. You can do a lot better for the price without losing money for forgetting to empty the wastebaskets upon leaving

Owners response: Unfortunately, cleaning up after this group involved a lot more than emptying a few wastebaskets! It would appear they actually had a large house party with many more guests than claimed on their rental agreement (two adults, one child), and perhaps did not have time for a proper cleanup. They used all six beds and left messes throughout the house including 8 ½ bags of trash. A throw pillow showed up missing and was never found. Our housekeeping crew struggled to get the place in shape for the next rental, and we were understandably charged extra for the additional time and effort. Fortunately there was no permanent damage to the house. We have rarely had to make a claim on any guest's deposit but unfortunately it was necessary in this case to cover our costs.
Interestingly, the reviewer’s comments are very much at odds with the conversation we had with her husband shortly after they checked in. At that time he was very pleased with the house and even complimented us on its upkeep. Nor did they report any problems during their stay. The negative remarks only occurred after the reviewer learned her security deposit would be applied to cleaning costs.
We have enjoyed sharing our vacation home with other families and groups who appreciate it and care for it as we do, so this experience was disappointing for all involved. Perhaps we have been fortunate this type of thing has not occurred before. Regardless, we are still committed to providing clean, safe, and enjoyable accommodations for our guests, as indicated by the excellent reviews we have received in the past. Nothing has changed; it is the same well-built cottage it has always been, with all systems in safe, working condition. Over-sized windows and doors provide lots of daylight, with blinds for privacy as needed. We are not aware of any strange odors, either, which may have been due to all the trash this group left behind. Thanks so much for your business over the years, and we look forward to many more!
Sincerely, Lisa and Steve

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

A perfect vacation

Review submitted: August 22, 2011   Date of arrival: August 1, 2011

This home and location were the perfect northern MI vacation. From here, it's a quick drive to the Traverse City beaches, to Interlochen, and to many other surrounding cities. The home is very spacious and fit our family of 6 easily. The A/C was nice on a couple of the days where the temperatures were extreme. Overall, this was a great choice of rental home for the week, and the owners were very gracious and informative. Great memories... Thanks!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Family vacation

Review submitted: July 26, 2011   Date of arrival: July 16, 2011

Stayed a week and thoroughly enjoyed our vacation. House is extremely clean and inviting. Very comfortable for my family of 5. Fishing and lake access was good. My teenage boys were happy with internet connection. Very convenient to travel to Traverse City and surrounding area for sightseeing. We will definitely keep this place in mind for a future visit to the area. Owner even called day of check in to make sure everything was as we expected it to be.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Duck Lake Cottage

Review submitted: June 27, 2011   Date of arrival: June 16, 2011

I stayed a long weekend with 5 of my friends, and the first thing that you notice is that the pictures don't do the place justice. The cottage has the perfect up north feel to it with a gas fire place in the living room to the wood paneled walls. The cottage itself was perfect and is only a 20 minute drive from downtown traverse city. The only thing that we were slightly disappointed about duck lake peninsula was that there is not a nice beach area to go lay out and hang out by the water. There are several access points to go swimming on the lake, and a boat launch, by my friends and I decided to go to the Traverse City state park to enjoy the beach up there. However, the duck lake cottage was perfect, not far from Traverse City, and Steve and Lisa are fantastic friendly owners that are enthusiastic about making your trip as great as possible! Highly recommended!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Duck Lake Penninsula

Review submitted: August 26, 2010   Date of arrival: July 3, 2010

Nice, quiet neighborhood with access to good fishing lake, tennis courts, playground. The house itself is furnished very comfortably with everything working well. We had ages 1 - 60 and everyone enjoyed accommodations. Also, a nice reference book for the area was at the cottage that was very helpful to allow us to choose from the many activities available in the beautiful Traverse City area.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Beautiful home clean and nice quiet setting

Review submitted: August 14, 2010   Date of arrival: August 7, 2010

My family and I just came back from our vacation in Traverse City. We stayed at this property and enjoyed ourselves. The home was clean and accommodated our needs. It was a quiet neighborhood that we could ride our bikes around in and sit near the lake and watch the sun rise and set. Would vacation here again. Picture shows it just as it is. Thanks

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review