reviews for: listing #51371 - Key West, Florida Studio rental

Little Palm - Absolute Dream Cottage w/Private Hot Tub +
  • bedrooms  0
  • pool  no
  • type  Studio
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  yes
  • community 
  • sleeps  2
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $198 - $268 /nt

sort by:

Enjoyed Our Stay

Review submitted: July 2, 2012   Date of arrival: June 9, 2012

Recently stayed here and had a lovely time. Couple ages 30-31. It was really nice, clean and private. The place is well kept and it is easy to reach management. Nice little kitchen area, ice a plenty, and grill so it's easy to cook and make drinks, small fridge too. Hot tub and tiki were real nice; great place to relax and read. Outdoor show was only ok, nothing fancy - but not a huge need for this IMO. It was easy to walk to anything - beach (Fort Zachary), Duval, restaurants, etc. Overall a fabulous time at a good price.

Only Complaint:
*It's hard to get more towels, especially beach towels. Cleaning staff didn't do much other than make the bed and change towels out - never added new soap or conditioner to box, empty from day one.

Additional Comments:
* Like any tropical climate - you might see ants, a cockroach and many geckos. If you keep the area clean, they stay away. The house never had any problems (nor the grounds) unless we left a cocktail out (sugar!) or food out and unwrapped. Be smart and you'll be cool.

* It's not terribly quiet - close to bars, roosters, etc. but it was not too disturbing. We expected this but clearly some people don't get this. If you want VERY quiet, do not stay anywhere in this area as it's made for easy access and partying on Duval.

* DO NOT park in "Residential Parking" as you will get a ticket! It would have been nice to be warned about this - to me I was there as a residential user, but if you don't have a city sticker you are screwed!

Recommended for: families with young children, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 12 / 12

 

no peace and quiet...

Review submitted: November 10, 2011   Date of arrival: November 3, 2011

We just stayed in the little palm for a week. Very cute cottage, Pictures are accurate, place is well kept, great walking distance to most duval locations, maid service was good, but don't forget to put the do not disturb sign out on the patio gate because there is no door for them to knock on!

The problem we ran into was the bar/restaurant on duval, about one block immediately behind the cottage. They play really loud music with the bass turned up loud from 11am to 2am (15 hours a day). if you didn't get up early and enjoy the patio before 11am, you had to spend the rest of the day listening to "thump, thump, thump," of the hip hop sounding music. if you shut all the doors and turned up the tv you can almost drown it out. We ended up staying away from the room as much as possible....not the nice peaceful vacation cottage we had hoped for.
If you want peace and quiet, make sure you stay a few blocks farther away from Duval.

Recommended for: tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 20 / 22

 

Cutest Cottage

Review submitted: November 4, 2010   Date of arrival: October 21, 2010

We love staying in little palm it was so cute and you got so much for the price. I loved that we still had maid service to bring new towels and refresh the place since we were go go go all the time. I loved the mini kitchen and bbq, so we had the option of staying in for a meal. The hot tub was a nice touch, if it wasnt to warm at night to use it. I really loved how sucluded we felt right off of main streets but our own little world. There was a disavantage to all the plants surrounding it though, lots of bugs and lizards. We got bit many times at night, but then again its Florida and you have to expect some of that, I felt that was the only time I was being dive bombed by misquitos was at the cottage. Overall very romantic for a honeymoon. Huge bed but really only room for two which was perfect for us. Deffinetly reccommend!!

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 18 / 18

 

May be better choices

Review submitted: September 29, 2010   Date of arrival: September 16, 2010

We were a little disappointed in the overall experience for the price. The outdoor shower was a shower head only in a tiny corner of the fencing, not very appealing and not something that I would advertise. The indoor shower was beautiful, but so small that you almost had to turn off the water to soap up, and then turn it back on to wash off.
For the price, we could have stayed on the waterfron, perhaps giving up a little privacy but getting more amenities.

Helpful votes: 22 / 22

 

Poor hospitality

Review submitted: December 4, 2009   Date of arrival: November 24, 2009

May or may not have a problem with no see ums, maid service was unreliable and did nothing except take out trash, our hot tub was not cleaned, there were open trash receptacles on the courtyard where a rat ran 4 inches from our feet as we left, and we had noisy neighbors. Despite an email complaint (with pictures) of other issues to management, nothing was addressed. My husband called only to be told we were trying to get our vacation "for free." Would not rent from Bone Island Vacation Rentals again.

Helpful votes: 79 / 80

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review