reviews for: listing #51394 - Traverse City, Michigan Cottage rental

Cozy Cottage Overlooking Fife Lake
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  Cottage
  • baths 
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Village of Fife Lake
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $125 - $165 /nt
    $750 - $990 /wk

sort by:

Great Stay!

Review submitted: May 28, 2014   Date of arrival: May 21, 2014

We stayed here while attending our sons graduation from Interlochen Arts Academy high school, which is about a 1/2 hour drive from the cottage. Enjoyed the porch every evening looking out at the lake. The pictures and description is exactly as it appears. Very nice neighbors and surrounding areas. We had a baby fox visit and my 25 year old daughter saw her first snake while we walked along the railroad tracks, (we live in a place with no snakes). Thanks for the great stay.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Come and be part of a Northern Michigan vacation/getaway! Our cottage is available April 1 - November 15. Come take advantage of all that the north country has to offer. There is much to do or time for peace and quiet as you see and experience the outdoor beauty all around. Give us a call and make your reservation. You will be glad you did!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Geogeous Cottage

Review submitted: July 24, 2013   Date of arrival: July 14, 2013

This cottage was amazing! Beyond our expectations. The pictures really do no justice. We travel a lot and this place is definitely the most well taken care of and cleanest place we have stayed. Very well stocked with everything you could possibly need. Most places we stay at with kitchens have real sparse supplies and never enough of what you need. These owners thought of everything when it comes to this. A HUGE plus is it also has a washer and dryer!! Which traveling with two kids 3 and under was a huge blessing for us...and they supplied the detergent! My daughters loved the porch overlooking the lake. The view from there is gorgeous as well. You can see the sun rise every morning and watch the boats on the water. I told my husband if it wasn't so far away I would want to live their year round. You will not be disappointed!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Gorgeous Place

Review submitted: July 24, 2013   Date of arrival: July 14, 2013

This cottage was amazing! Beyond our expectations. The pictures really do no justice. We travel a lot and this place is definitely the most well taken care of and cleanest place we have stayed. Very well stocked with everything you could possibly need. Most places we stay at with kitchens have real sparse supplies and never enough of what you need. These owners thought of everything when it comes to this. A HUGE plus is it also has a washer and dryer!! Which traveling with two kids 3 and under was a huge blessing for us...and they supplied the detergent! My daughters loved the porch overlooking the lake. The view from there is gorgeous as well. You can see the sun rise every morning and watch the boats on the water. I told my husband if it wasn't so far away I would want to live their year round. You will not be disappointed!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great cottage, amazing views!

Review submitted: August 25, 2012   Date of arrival: May 9, 2012

Great cottage! Lots of space. We were traveling with our son who was 15 months at the time, and asked if a pack-n- play was available for him to sleep in at the cottage. The owner was able to find and put up a pack n play, and our son slept perfectly every night. We enjoyed the surrounding area, and nearby village which had a nice restaurant - serving broasted chicken.. stunning. Thanks to the owners for a great stay and super easy transaction. If we're planning another visit to the Traverse City area, we'll be hoping to rent this cottage again!

Recommended for: families with young children

Owners response: This reveiw speaks for itself. We want to offer the best possible facilities that we can for folks who come not only from the U.S. but other countries. We believe the Fife Lake/Traverse City area offers many, many opportunities for vacations full of adventure or quiet time for relaxing to the haunting calls of the loons floating across the lake. Let us help you enjoy the vacation or weekend you have been dreaming of. Questions? Give us a call. John and Sally

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Amazingly Beautiful Cottage

Review submitted: August 1, 2012   Date of arrival: July 27, 2012

This house was beautiful! 5 girlfriends of mine stayed for a weekend and all wished we would have taken a long vacation. The house has this wonderful breeze that keeps everything comfortable and cool as well as a porch full of windows that outlooks the beautiful Fife Lake. Everything was very clean and the owners are the sweetest people. We would definitely come back and are already talking about when we should try and rent this cottage next year for another girls weekend.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway

Owners response: "The girls" said it all!! Come see for yourself. We're waiting to hear from you.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful time over the 4th of July

Review submitted: July 11, 2012   Date of arrival: July 1, 2012

My family and I stayed at the cabin over the 4th of July week and had a wonderful time. We had never been to the area so we were taking our chances and trusting that the pictures and description of the cabin were accurate. They were spot on!! The cabin had a very homey feel and had all of the amentities that we needed. Despite the area going through a heat wave and the cabin not having AC, we remained comforable with the ceiling fans and lower nighttime temperatures. At the suggestion of the owner, we stayed in Fife Lake for their fireworks and just pulled chairs and a blanket to a spot behind the cabin vs fighting crowds and traffice. What a show!! The town itself put on a great show but there were also random other fireworks being shot off from various areas of the lake that we could see.

For those boating, the lake is perfect. Not an overwhelming one but a decent size that always appeared to be like glass and never choppy. Unfortunately, we did not have a boat and may look into renting one for a future visit but for those who have one, it is perfect!!!

It is close Traverse City (and a gorgeous drive in between which can only be breathtaking in the fall) and we spent a few days there. We canoed as well on the Manistee River which was a lot of fun (although a bit longer than we expected).

If you are looking for a cute getaway cabin, definitely look into this cabin.

Owners response: Summer go by too fast? Come spend a few days this fall in beautiful northern Michigan. We are now booking late August through mid November. Come see the seasons change from the vantage point of our cottage over looking the lake. We look forward to your call. John and Sally

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Just like home only better...

Review submitted: June 27, 2012   Date of arrival: June 7, 2012

Well this was our last stop on a 2 week vacation. Wow if had we went here first we would not have wanted to leave. The cottage was very clean, comfortable, cozy and peaceful. It made me feel at home, and that says a lot. The view of the lake was nice and relaxing. The access to the water was relatively easy. The screened in porch was the place to sit in the mornings and just listen to nature. In the evenings it keeps the mosquitoes out. This is a place that we want to return too, and hope to do so next year!! I could only imagine what the lake would look like in the fall… Only downer was the grill it just was not what we expected.

Owners response: We enjoy sharing our cottage overlooking Fife Lake in Michigan's north country. It is a unique setting in a small northen village just 25 minutes from Traverse City. There are opportunities to settle in and enjoy the quiet or get out and take on the challenge of hiking, biking, and even parasailing on West Grand Traverse Bay. Or perhaps you would enjoy a horseback ride along the Boardman River just minutes from Fife Lake. There is tubing on the Boardman or the larger Manistee River nearby with canoes and kayaks available at various rentals on the rivers.

Begin making plans to spend some time in northern Michigan by letting us know the dates you would like to come. We offer you a clean, well appointed, and comfortable cottage at a reasonable price. Contact owners: John and Sally

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great time at Fife Lake

Review submitted: May 25, 2012   Date of arrival: May 14, 2012

We had a really pleasant, short stay at the cottage! The rooms were comfortable and the location was perfect as well. The little town at Fife Lake is really neat to walk around, and it's not far from larger attractions like Traverse City or Old Mission Point. The cottage was also fairly well stocked, but be sure to bring a few key items depending on how picky you are i.e. seasonings for food. We also did not find much in the way of grilling tools and resorted to using a fork and small spatula from the kitchen, but we also could have overlooked them somewhere. Overall though, it was a great stay and we really had an excellent time. The host was very friendly and made sure everything was clean and ready and that we had what we needed. Thank you!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Escape the word at this charming lake cottage

Review submitted: April 26, 2012   Date of arrival: April 20, 2012

This was my second time at the cottage. Redone, clean, & lots of charm..only 40 minutes to Traverse City wine country :). So relaxing and beautiful lake views. They provide coffee, tea, and they even provided us a bottle of Riesling which was wonderful and unexpected. Owners are very helpful, if u need anything they are a phone call away. Make sure to bring your own toiletries as those are not provided, but we like to bring our own anyways. Make sure to bring or buy firewood as well as the fireplace adds to the charm. It's a great way to reconnect with your spouse away from tv, Internet and phones. We will be back every year.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: We look forward to new renters at our "cottage with the view" who love the adventure of northern Michigan. Come see us and you'll go home rejuvenated!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Peace & Quiet

Review submitted: April 10, 2012   Date of arrival: April 5, 2012

Our family stayed at the cottage on Fife Lake and truly had a wonderful time together. It is very quaint and clean. The view in the sun room of the lake is breathtaking as the sun comes up and glistens off the lake in the morning. We enjoyed breakfasts watching the birds outside the kitchen bay window. There are old railroad tracks along the lake and enjoyed a walk into town following them. If you truly enjoy nature and peace this is the place for you. The owners had everything in place and even had a wonderful bottle of wine waiting for us on the kitchen table. We look forward to coming up again soon to take in some fishing. We also traveled into Traverse City and enjoyed the Dunes and state parks which are within driving distance and lots of stores and restaurants to choose from. P.S. The beds are very comfy! Sue & Tom

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fife Lake Cabin

Review submitted: July 19, 2011   Date of arrival: July 12, 2011

Loved the cabin! Description and pictures were very accurate. Very clean. Owners were wonderful in providing all the information about the area and where we could find activities such kayaking,canoeing,tubing...plus more. Traverse City only a short 20 min drive. Rented a ski boat at a boat rental at the Holiday Inn in Traverse City to go tubing. Great rates compared to others in area.Great place to get away from the city life. Quiet and peaceful. Cabin on hill with dock nearby for swimming and sunbathing. Neat train track following lake edge which you can walk to the small downtown. Great for all ages, depending on what you want to do! Would go back again!!!

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Total relaxation!

Review submitted: May 15, 2011   Date of arrival: May 6, 2011

Absolutely fantastic! The cottage was exceptional in every way, total comfort and seclusion. Everyone we met in Fife Lake were so kind and welcoming, it was hard to leave. Doing business over the internet with the owners was done with zero hassle or red tape. One e-mail exchange and the deal was set. Sooo simple! I truly can't say enough at how pleased we were. Felt guilty for not taking the kids, but it was our getaway weekend and we had such a good time, we plan to make it a ritual.
Mike & Monique

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Perfect Setting

Review submitted: September 10, 2010   Date of arrival: August 28, 2010

We had a blast, thank you. You have a perfect setting. "The Gals"

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review