reviews for: listing #51422 - South Padre Island, Texas Condo rental

Wake up in Paradise, Great Beach Views from every Room
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  yes
  • type  Condo
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Ocean Vista Towers
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $199 - $339 /nt
    $1,000 - $2,373 /wk

sort by:

Family Vacation

Review submitted: May 17, 2014   Date of arrival: May 9, 2014

This was my first trip to South Padre Island. Condo was everything I needed plus more. Staff was great and friendly. Kids had a great time in the pool and on the beach. Water was a little colder than I thought it would be but still the family had a wonderful time. Condo was equipped with all the essentials that I needed and a great view. Loved the washer and dryer with 3 small children. Thanks Robert for letting us stay in your condo had a blast. Would rent from you again!!!!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great condo, great location!

Review submitted: August 8, 2013   Date of arrival: June 9, 2013

This was our first stay in South Padre and at Ocean Vista. The owner was very cordial and responded quickly to all my questions. The location within the island was super. Close to everything. It is a gated complex and is very secure. Also, it's on the second floor, not far from the elevator, so you can either take the stairs or the elevator. It overlooks the pool and the beach. The building is well-maintained and all the employees were very friendly. The condo itself is very nice. It's nicely decorated, clean, comfy, and has everything you'd need. The washer and dryer were very convenient. The views from the family room and master bedroom were awesome. Great beach access too, just down the stairs, around the corner and over the boardwalk, which is also gated. We would love to come back here next year. Beautiful, comfy, and relaxing.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

This is What Retirement is All About!!

Review submitted: April 3, 2013   Date of arrival: October 1, 2012

My husband, two fur babies and I spent the entire month of October in this heavenly paradise by the ocean! We woke to beautiful sunrises right outside the bedroom floor to ceiling windows. Even on stormy days, it is breathtaking here. The views are just too awesome for words! The people on this island and in Port Isabel are so friendly and outgoing. We made many new friends! Manuel and his family are so much fun (Manuel's Mexican food PI). We parasailed in Port Isabel and went on several dolphin tours....the best is the really small, personal tour offered by a lady and her husband on a small boat; book it out of the Sea Life Aquarium in PI. A bit of an issue going off season and trying to get umbrellas, etc. We took our own awning and still had to pay to have it put up every day, but,this was the only "issue". Owners great to work with;however, I would recommend not dealing with cleaning person. She used her key to "come on in" once when we were napping (I'm disabled and couldn't get to the door quick enough); she was there to give me my linens back they put up in error. All in all, the most perfect place we have ever spent our vacation. Onsite management was wonderful to work with, so were all the guys!! Local restaurant guide on coffee table there, we added some to it and agree with all the others! My husband loved the fishing, both from the pier in PI and going out on the boats. He also did some bank fishing from the south end of the island at Isla Blanca Park,another nice place to sightsee; while down there, eat at Dirty Al's, it's great!! Also, Pier 19! Just not enough words to let you know what a relaxing lifestyle you will find, especially in this condo and working with these owners! It only gets a little loud on weekend nights, but not too terribly bad. Love walking to the burger joint next to condo....Boomerang Billys? Burgers are perfect and the fur babies could sit outside with us. I would recommend Oct. in order to see Sand Castle Days, you will never forget it. Hopefully, owners will always share their beautiful condo with those of us less fortunate, what a blessing. Shame on me for forgetting to do this review until I saw a picture of our vacation on the computer!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Awsome Family Time

Review submitted: August 2, 2012   Date of arrival: July 21, 2012

We have gone for 3 years in a row now and this is the place I can actually call home away from home. We usually stay 1 week during the summer but this year have found ourselves going about a total of 3 weeks. This is the best room you can ever stay in have never had any problems ;) love it. My kids are always eager to come back and enjoy their summer due to the great people here. Planning to go over again soon and hopefully a month for next year ;) SUPER RECOMMENDED!!!!!!!!!!!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

kay

Review submitted: May 13, 2012   Date of arrival: April 30, 2012

This was my second time to stay here and it was even better this time !! If u are not renting this condo u are missing out the price is right, on the beach, and close to everything, owner is a pleasure to deal with will be staying here again on my next trip down!! thanks Robert!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, people with disabilities, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Fun in the Sun

Review submitted: September 27, 2011   Date of arrival: August 20, 2011

Our family stayed at the condo the end of August, 2011. We were so pleased with the choice we made to stay here. From the start, the owners were very thorough when giving us information on the condo, the complex, and places to go. Any question we had, they answered. The condo was just as beautiful as the pictures; very well kept and lacked for nothing. I would highly recommend this condo and will definitely be looking to stay here again real soon.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

kay

Review submitted: September 27, 2011   Date of arrival: September 19, 2011

stayed a week here and really enjoyed the condo; but was disappointed that I could not open the patio door from the master bedroom; could not have our rental umbrella and chairs in front of condo and no one at the condo rents as they are all owner owned; so we sat in front of boomerangs billy's and walked out the front of condo's to public cross over closer way to our set up. We ate out each nite and enjoyed ,Blackbeard's, The Big Donkey, Sea Ranch, these are always good and never disappoint. Breakfast at Grapevine Cafe is always good. Would recommend this as our over all week was very enjoyable.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Thumbs up from Lake Jackson & Austin

Review submitted: August 27, 2011   Date of arrival: August 13, 2011

We spent 5 nights here in August 2011 with my husband's cousin and his wife. When we arrived, we had an agenda of things we wanted to do in the area. All that went out the window when we settled into the beautiful condo. We pretty much stayed close to home, wandering back and forth between the pool area and the beach. The unit was even nicer that we had expected and the owners have made sure there are lots of little extras to add to your comfort. We are gourmet cooks and found everything we needed to make some fabulous meals there. You can do your major shopping at the Super Walmart of H.E.B. at Port Isabel and fill in what you need at the Blue Marlin IGA which I enjoyed walking to. We were grateful to find this wonderful Pet Friendly property and our Sheltie and Golden Retriever had a great vacation too. Just make sure to abide by all the rules for pets and everything else, such as the hours you may have your shade shelter up at the beach (9am to dusk). They really do enforce the rules there, and that is a good thing. We are all ready planning our next visit. We all felt so very much at home.

Recommended for: age 55+, people with disabilities, girls getaway, pet-friendly, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Relaxing & Comfortable

Review submitted: July 21, 2011   Date of arrival: July 3, 2011

Our family of five stayed here during the fourth of July week. The condo itself was clean, comfortable, and, as described, very well-appointed. We had all of the pots, pans, utensils, etc., we needed to cook the majority of our meals in-house. The washer & dryer allowed us to pack half of our usual clothes & towels, as well as giving us the ability to wash those icky beach towels. The view from the balcony is beautiful and so relaxing. The grounds are well-maintained, and we observed many staff members working hard each day to keep the property clean. We loved the pool and especially the hot tub, and we were able to watch our older children from our balcony. We would definitely stay here again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Our "Winter Texan" getaway place

Review submitted: March 31, 2011   Date of arrival: January 4, 2011

The owners of this condo are the best. Their description of this unit is "right on". The condo association is also doing some nice groundwork to make Ocean Vista look and feel like the semi tropical getaway that it is. You have everything you need for a great vacation. This has been our 3rd year here, and as "Winter Texans" we are looking forward to coming back in 2012 for our 4th.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Ocean Vista 203

Review submitted: July 20, 2010   Date of arrival: July 10, 2010

First, being a gated condo gives you a complete sense of security. The description was completely accurate. The property was clean and well maintained. The property was decorated very appropriately. The owner provided excellent customer service in letting us know all about the condo and the different places to eat and enjoy in South Padre. There was a complete kitchen so that one could eat in and not have to get out. I would recommend this property to a friend. Our favorite restaurants was Scampi's and the Sea Ranch. The Palms had great drinks and was just a short distance. The Pirate's Landing Adventure Ship was great for families. Para-sailing was also great. The bird reserve was super also. There were many other things to do, but we mainly enjoyed the view from the balcony on the second floor, listening to the waves roll in. It was awesome to be located right on the beach. It was a very enjoyable and relaxing place to stay. We totally let go of all stresses.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review