reviews for: listing #51494 - Studio City, California House rental

Luxury home near Universal Studios and Hollywood
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  7
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $250 - $275 /nt
    $1,650 - $1,800 /wk
    $6,000 - $6,500 /mth

sort by:

We highly recommend this house!

Review submitted: February 8, 2014   Date of arrival: January 29, 2014

We came to the house on Hartsook from Illinois to get away from the terrible Midwest weather.
Last year we spend February in Florida and when we arrived it was filthy dirty with lots of problems. So, we were apprehensive upon our arrival here in Southern California. Our worries were quickly removed when we walked in to this beautiful house that was immaculate! The property manager went to great lengths to have the house just perfect for us (even had fresh flowers throughout the house!). This house has EVERYTHING! The attention to detail is amazing and we highly recommend staying here. Neighborhood is quiet, safe and close to everything. If we had to say something critical about our experience here it would be that there was not clock radios upon our arrival (big deal, hu?). However, one call to the manager and she had an iPod in our hands by the end of the day!

Randy & Laurie Hughes, Illinois

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect

Review submitted: January 19, 2014   Date of arrival: January 1, 2014

We were a group 16 people gathering in LA for a family wedding. We couldn’t have picked more perfect places to stay. We rented the main house and guest house plus Helen has another unit within walking distance of the Hartsook houses located Westbrook. I highly recommend any of these places; there was ample room so we weren’t all on top of each other. We liked to cook our own meals in the well-stocked kitchens; everything you could possibly need was there. Lots of fluffy bath towels, to the wonderful candles throughout made our stay like being at home. There are plenty of books to read, handy brochures to get you around town plus you are in a great location close to restaurants and grocery stores. These units are very homey with nice backyards for BBQ, I can’t say enough, this is the only way to go instead of a campy hotel, and they are clean and well managed. The only bad thing is we didn’t get to meet Helen in person. Oh and the personal touch of a welcome basket was awesome. Thanks so much Helen!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful LA Holiday!

Review submitted: January 10, 2014   Date of arrival: December 21, 2013

My husband and I stayed in the Hartsook House with my parents over the Christmas break to visit my brother in Studio City. Everything about the house was great, but we especially enjoyed cooking Christmas dinner in the well stocked kitchen. We visited Venice Beach, Malibu, and downtown LA easily from the house. My only suggestion for the house is to get a stronger wireless router, so that wifi works better in the bedrooms. We would love to stay in the house in the future!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful home from home

Review submitted: January 2, 2013   Date of arrival: December 8, 2012

My family and I (5 of us) stayed in this lovely spacious home at the beginning of December. It was absolutely perfect. Everything you could want for a holiday home. The home is beautifully decorated throughout and very comfortable and clean. It is close to Universal Studios and Warner Brothers and close enough to Disneyland. The drive isn't too far to Santa Monica beach. Very good position for us. There are plenty of books/brochures on the local area, attractions/shopping and restaurants for you to use. There are a lot of shops locally and a range of eating places. The kitchen is stocked well with food stuffs and a lovely starter hamper for when you arrive. The owner provided great customer service before we arrived, providing us with a huge amount of local information, responding quickly to emails with any queries, which was appreciated as we were arriving from Australia and never been to America before. I would definitely recommend this property to both families or couples.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Wonderfully appointed, cozy home

Review submitted: November 20, 2012   Date of arrival: November 15, 2012

Incredible vacation / temporary home -- this truly is a gorgeously appointed home where every detail is thought of. The kitchen is fully stocked and there are plenty of linens for each of the lovely bedrooms. The backyard is beautifully manicured and privately fenced. Lovely neighborhood, very central. Highly recommend!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Charming Home!

Review submitted: July 31, 2012   Date of arrival: July 22, 2012

We rented this home for a reunion celebrating an uncle's 100th birthday that lives close by. It far exceeded our expectations and provided a comfortable, inviting space for us to spend time together as a family. The neighborhood is quiet and safe with easy access to the freeways. Helen is a wonderful owner and was so accommodating to all our needs.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect location!

Review submitted: March 20, 2012   Date of arrival: March 13, 2012

We loved staying in this beautiful garden home. The beds were so comfortable and the neighborhood quiet. Although we spent the majority of our time sightseeing, we couldn't wait to return at night. The property is spotlessly clean and Helen left us a delicious snack basket for our arrival. We ordered the Thai place she recommended and were very impressed with both the food and speedy delivery. The home is close to Hollywood area and Universal and many restaurants. We have stayed in many VRBO properties and this is the most beautiful of them all. Thank you so much Helen!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

¡ Por fin me decidí¡ ¡Directo Madrid-Los Angeles¡

Review submitted: September 29, 2011   Date of arrival: August 15, 2011

Mi decisión de viajar a los Angeles con mis hijas la tomé cuando me enteré que Iberia viajaba directamente a Los Angeles. Pero no queriamos ir a un hotel, a una habitación impersonal. Queriamos ir a una casa americana, y ¡menuda casa¡ Queriamos ir al supermercado, guardar los alimentos en el frigorífico, cocinar, lavar y secar nuestra ropa en esas estupendas máquinas americanas, queriamos dormir en esas camas enormes (comodísimas). Queriamos conocer como viven los americanos. Lo cierto es que se necesita el coche para todo, todo está cerca, pero en coche.
La casa de Helen está muy cerca de una salida a la autopista desde donde te comunicas fácil y rapidamente con los diferentes barrios "famosos" de Los Angeles: Beverly Hills, Hollywood..., y muy cerca de Universal Studios.
La casa ya nos pareció bonita en las fotos, pero cuando llegamos allí alucinamos. Todo precioso, grande, limpio, acogedor. Hasta el mínimo detalle que te pueda enamorar: flores naturales (lirios, creo) en floreros pequeñitos en los baños, cocina y en las habitaciones (ortensias). La cocina con todo tipo de electrodomésticos pequeños y de utensilios de cocina. Filtros de café, azucar blanca y morena, unos sobrecitos de café molido para la llegada...como si estuvieramos en nuestra casa. Jabón y suavizante para la lavadora...No tuvimos que comprar ningún producto de limpieza.
El jardín supercuidado, con su mesa de cristal y sus sillas, su barbacoa y unas pequeñas fuentes de agua que hacían muy acogedor el jardín.
La descripción de la casa no se desvía en absoluto de la realidad. Nos encantó y es para recomendarla con un sobresaliente.
Está enmarcada en una zona tranquila, con supermercados y gasolineras cerca, En resumen, nos sentimos maravillosamente cómodas en la casa, en la zona, y en Los Angeles.
Helen tiene un gusto exquisito y es muy minuciosa con todos los detalles con los que ha vestido la casa y hace que te sientas como en tu propia casa.
Un pequeño contratiempo: no nos funcionó bien internet en la casa, pero no nos enturbió para nada la estancia.
Nos alegramos mucho de haber elegido esta casa, fue un acierto fantástico.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

It´s a wonderful home

Review submitted: June 11, 2011   Date of arrival: February 11, 2011

We had the opportunity to stay in this house in February this year. Since we returned we felt the need to share our great experience, which exceeded our expectations. The house is simply beautiful, completely furnished, with details that will make you feel welcome and at home.
Added to this is the hospitality of Helen, whom we are grateful and who were very admired because the presentation of the house is immaculate.
We sincerely hope to return someday.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great stay -- definitely recommend it!

Review submitted: April 12, 2011   Date of arrival: April 2, 2011

Great place, glad we chose to stay here! We definitely felt at home and appreciated how Helen has thought of every detail. The house is great and has everything you can possibly need. I never write reviews on anything but this time I felt compelled to recognize the great value, cleanliness, excellent location, graceful decor and positive feel to this place. Book it without hesitation.

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Beautiful House in an excellent location

Review submitted: April 4, 2011   Date of arrival: February 22, 2011

We stayed at this beautiful house for a week and could not of asked for anything better. The house was spotless and in a nice/safe neighborhood. The owner was very helpful and made our stay very enjoyable. I could go on and on about how much we enjoyed the house, but to keep it simple this house is definitely worth renting. The comments posted other people who have stayed here are very accurate.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Impressively clean, comfortable and convenient

Review submitted: April 1, 2011   Date of arrival: March 12, 2011

If you are looking for an extremely clean, well-cared for vacation home packed with amenities, this is it! The decorator is to be commended for the warm, inviting and comfortable atmosphere. Everything in this house is excellent quality, from the furniture, to the pots and pans, to the towels, to the personal care items. My friend and I did a "girls getaway" and were delightfully spoiled at this home. We elected to cook some gourmet dinners which was very easy due to the well-stocked kitchen. (And, when I say well-stocked, I mean not only cooking utensils, but also olive oil, seasonings, food processors, ziploc bags, etc.) We hardly had to buy anything except for the main ingredients, which was quite convenient. We spent our mornings sitting in the tranquil, beautiful back yard, drinking our morning coffee, listening to the babbling water fountains, breathing the fragrance of the many flowers, delighting in the eye-popping colors of the flowers and greenery, watching the many hummingbirds and birds at the feeders, and occasionally entertaining a neighboring cat who would stop by to visit. Bliss!!! We work in extremely stressful jobs and we were very relaxed and pampered at this wonderful bungalow. The house is in a safe neighborhood and is also conveniently located to grocery stores and the freeways. We took many a day trip while there -- Ronald Reagan Presidential Library, Hollywood, La Brea Tar Pits, Beverly Hills, PCH-1 coastal drive, Santa Barbara, Griffith Observatory -- to name a few. We also ate at Wolfgang Puck's Spago which was a nice experience. THIS HOME IS HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

More than a house, this is a home

Review submitted: February 28, 2011   Date of arrival: January 22, 2011

We were absolutely amazed with this lovely home. It truly exceeded all of our expectations. It was stocked with so many useful things. From fragrance candels in each room to hand lotion at every basin to a completely fully equipped kitchen, the house has it all plus more. What we saw in the photos was excactly what it looked like in person. The owner was helpful with every information request we bugged her with. We would definitely recommend this home to family & friends. We actually would love to stay again if we can. We had a rental car so it was a great location. It was clean & well-maintained. The best place we stayed in on our trip through the US & Canada.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Dear Ann-Maree,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We tried to provide our guests with everything we thought they might need or want while staying in the house and we appreciate you noticing. Hope you will return and stay with us again in the future.
Cheers,
Helen

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A retreat in the middle of the city.

Review submitted: January 5, 2011   Date of arrival: December 31, 2010

The pictures and description of this property do not due it justice. It is very beautiful and Helen has made sure all of your needs will be met. From the lovely furnishings, indoors and outdoors, to the plush bedding, to the fully (and I mean fully) appointed kitchen, to the robes in the closets, it was a relaxing and fabulous property. We were sorry that we did not have one more day in LA to really have time to enjoy this city retreat. The property was very clean, even the white couches in the den!!!! I would definitely recommend this property to couples or families.

It was conveniently located to the freeways and made getting around LA easy.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful Family Vacation

Review submitted: December 28, 2010   Date of arrival: December 19, 2010

We spent 3 nights celebrating my father-in-laws birthday in this home. The weather in LA was rainy, but we didn't mind one bit being cooped up in this wonderful home. It was a great central location to everything we wanted to do. It is beautifully decorated and had everything we needed. We were very comfortable with 5 adults and an 18 month old. Helen provided a pack-n-play and there were even bedtime stories to read. The yard was beautiful and the covered parking was a plus. We had a great time and would stay here again if we travel to the LA area.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Getaway

Review submitted: September 8, 2010   Date of arrival: September 3, 2010

My friends and I recently stayed here for this past labor day weekend. It was exactly what was in the pictures if not more. The place has lots of character. Helen was very pleasant! The house is fully furnished with everything one may need in order to make their stay away from home more convenient. It truly is close to everything!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Our favorite house

Review submitted: August 18, 2010   Date of arrival: July 19, 2010

The location is great, extremely well equiped, very homey house. One of the best thing of renting this house was dealing with Helen, the owner of the house. She was extremely pleasant, very accesible and accomodating.
The house was impeccable and had many amenities such as shampoo, soap and conditioner dispensers in every bathroom, and the most wonderful bedding which was highly appreciated after a whole day touring the city.
We are looking forward to staying there when we visit LA again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Our favourite rental property

Review submitted: July 24, 2010   Date of arrival: July 15, 2010

Our family stayed at Helen's rental property while on holiday in LA. The home has been renovated beautifully and fitted with quality furniture, beautiful linen and the kitchen is equipped with everything you could ever want. We have rented many vacation rentals during various visits to USA, and this property is by far the best we have rented. Helen's has truly thought of everything you could ever want for. My communications with Helen were excellent prior to staying here. The photos and description of the property are accurate. The house was spotlessly clean. I would not hesitate to recommend this property to anybody.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

An Excellent Choice

Review submitted: June 18, 2010   Date of arrival: June 8, 2010

Our group of 5 from San Antonio spent 6 nights in this house during June of 2010, and we were all very happy with our decision to stay here. The house itself is spacious and beatifully decorated. The pictures online are a very accurate representation of what you will see in person. The back yard and patio were a great place to spend the afternoon and evening. We fired up the grill a couple of times during our stay. The kitchen was loaded with cookware, cooking utensils, and dishes, so we cooked our own food several times to save a little money. Bring your blu-rays or watch the satellite TV on one of the 3 flat screens in the house. The internet connection was fast too. The house was pretty central to everything we wanted to do, so we never had to drive very far to get to the attractions we wanted to see. Helen was always available by phone and email to answer any questions we had. She is very easy to work with and has done a great job with this place. We would definitely stay here again if we make it back to LA. Highly recommended.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Beautiful home close to Studio City, Burbank and Valley locations as well as freeways

Review submitted: April 28, 2010   Date of arrival: April 13, 2010

We stayed in this beautifull home 4/13/10 through 4/20/10 while we were there for our son's wedding. It was one of the best decisions we made. The home was more than anticipated as the photos don't do it justice as far as the great layout and flow of the home. The house is beautifully and tastefully decorated and stocked with absolutely everything you could possibly need and more! Just bring your clothes. It is in a nice neighborhood with easy access. The home was very very clean and so comfortable. Because of the layout it can accomodate a small family or a larger group depending on what choices you make between the main home, the extra bedroom, or the guest house (or all). We were in the main home plus the extra bedroom and had 6-10 people there on various nights and everyone was very comfortable. (Even the two who got the sofa beds said they were comfortable--which many times isn't the case). It really provides very nice options for families. The backyard was beautiful and everyone enjoyed being able to enjoy the great patio and barbecue. Helen was so nice, informative, helpful and accomodating if we needed anything. When we arrived there were fresh flowers in each room and fresh fruit and cookies in the kitchen. How nice! Because we were there from out of town for a wedding and no one else, other than our son and future daughter-in-law lived in Los Angeles, it was absolutely fantastic that we had a location all other family members (who stayed in hotels) could come and congregate and visit--and they did! Even though we didn't do other sightseeing, this house would be a great base for those wanting to do other sightseeing in the Valley, Burbank, Universal Studios, Hollywood and beyond. You have to drive when in LA so why not stay in a great home rather than hotel. You certainly get more for your money! Our entire family, as well as all who visited, thoroughly enjoyed being able to relax, visit, and eat together, inside and out! We all highly recommend this home and will return!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Review submitted: January 11, 2010   Date of arrival: January 11, 2010

We rented the entire house when we were in LA for
a family wedding over Labor Day weekend. It far
exceeded all of our expectations! Having stayed in
one of Helen's properties before, we knew we could
expect nothing but the best...and we were right!
The house was spacious, clean, and impeccably
decorated. It is perfect for both small and large
groups of people! A great location, and reasonable
pricing make it the perfect alternative to a hotel!
The enclosed backyard was perfectly manicured
and unbelievably serene! Helen is very helpful and
always available should you have a question. A
friend traveling with me uses a wheelchair and
found it to meet his needs for accessibility. We
highly recommend this house, and will definitely be
returning to it the next time we are in LA!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Review submitted: August 10, 2009   Date of arrival: August 10, 2009

We stayed at the property 8/1 - 8/8 and thoroughly enjoyed it! The appointments are first class and the owner made our stay as comfortable as possible with welcome fruits and cookies as well as provided us with recommendations for our stay in the area. The house was very clean and I am extremely picky. I am so happy I didn't stay at a hotel - I'm quite sure none of the amenities would have compared with our Studio City / Valley Village home. All of the linens were high quality and the backyard was beautifully landscaped. I can't say enough about this property except for the fact that we will be back! Five star rating!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Excellent value, close to everything

Review submitted: August 7, 2009   Date of arrival: July 25, 2009

My family stayed here during our vacation in July 2009. We were within 10 minutes of all of the touristy things, very close to the interstate, grocery stores, shopping, etc. We had excellent communication with Helen before we went and while we were there. It felt like we were staying in an old friend's house because she anticipated every one of our needs, and even made a play yard available for my baby. She even left us fruit and water for our arrival. The kitchen is completely stocked for cooking, including spices and everything else you would need. The linens are of a very good quality. The neighborhood is quiet and feels safe. We were very impressed and would definitely recommend this to our family and friends. When we go to LA again, we will be staying here!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Don't Hesitate

Review submitted: June 2, 2009   Date of arrival: May 19, 2009

You will never regret renting this lovely comfortable home. These photos really depict the real thing. It is spotlessly clean, beautifully and practical furnished and fitted with everything you need. Absoutely no disappointments. We were sorry we didn't have more time there.There were 6 of us including a 5yr old so we had the 3rd bedroom as well.
The beds and bedding were wonderful!
Thanks Helen for making our short time in LA so enjoyable.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Satisfied Family, First Class

Review submitted: April 12, 2009   Date of arrival: April 2, 2009

We stayed at Helen's home when visiting family in the LA area. We traveled with our three school age children and were so very satisified with this home. The bedding, towels, furnishings, kitchen and decor is really first rate. I have never stayed in a rental home with such a well stocked kitchen. You won't be disappointed in this property. Helen is a great host, so easy to work with, even had a fruit basket waiting to welcome us. The yard is being landscaped so we look forward to using the patio next visit. The neighborhood is safe and quiet. There are great grocery stores close by and the location is so very central. If you fly in and out of Burbank airport you are only about 10 minutes away so it is super convenient. I highly recommend this home!!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We very much appreciate our guests taking the time to write a review as it is very helpful to fellow travelers to know that others had a good experience. Thank you Jeanne!

Our new landscaping project will be completed by the last week in April,'09 and until the end of April we are offering the property at a reduced rate. We look forward to welcoming returning guests, as well as our future guests to enjoy our beautiful new gardens, patio and fountains etc.

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Review submitted: March 11, 2009   Date of arrival: March 11, 2009

Yes the pictures do this wonderful home justice. Helen has done an absolutely fabulous job in renovating this home. She's thought of everything and it truly feels like a home away from home. Comfortable, clean, great neighborhood, close to Universal Studios and Hollywood, easy access to the freeways, impeccably decorated and furnished, and a tremendous host. We felt like we were staying in the penthouse of the Beverly Hilton (only better). And a tremendous value - I can't imagine ever staying in a hotel again if I could find a place like Helen's everywhere I went. Helen is extremely helpful and takes pride in making sure your stay is a great one. I would consider a friend after our experience. I would highly recommend staying here as you won't be disappointed. 5 stars out of five.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: February 14, 2009   Date of arrival: February 14, 2009

Stunning well appointed interior. No expense spared on luxury amenities, typically found only in 4 and 5 star resort hotel properties. Upon arrival, a basket of fruits, cookies and water welcomed me and my collegues. Thank you Helen. Quiet neighborhood just a short drive to Hollywood, Burbank and surrounding communities. Its the best home in Valley Village.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review