reviews for: listing #51573 - Paris, France Apartment rental

Montorgueil-Walk to Louvre, Pompidou Centre-Free Airport P/U
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  no
  • type  Apartment
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community  2nd Arrondissement
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $1,700 - $1,950 /wk

sort by:

Great stay

Review submitted: December 22, 2013   Date of arrival: August 28, 2013

The apartment was wonderful. The location cannot be beat, in a charming authentic Parisian neighborhood yet close to all the main sites. We loved the Juliette balcony facing the street from above and the wonderful book collection. The management team was highly responsive, courteous, and friendly, and we received our deposit back promptly. The apartment is well stocked with appliances for cooking-nothing fancy, but totally sufficient. One minor point I would make is that the pillows weren't comfortable. However, the mattress was solid and we slept well overall. The building has an elevator, which is great. Note there is no AC, but when it's not too hot (which it wasn't when we stayed) the cross breeze from open bedroom and living room windows is far more pleasant anyway.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Live Like a Parisian!

Review submitted: November 5, 2013   Date of arrival: October 19, 2013

Walk out your door, rent a bicycle, grab a bite at the oldest bakery in Paris and truly live like a local! Wonderful location and amenities. The apartment was well equipped and perfect for the three of us (three adults). Xavier was at the airport to greet us and welcome us to the City of Lights. He even stayed to make sure that the wifi was working properly and give us a tour of the apartment building and interior. Just remember you are in the heart of the city...so, there is a slight hum of the subway and late night party-goers on the street below. Nothing that can't be adjusted to, or just bring a pair of earplugs (not necessary, but convenient if you are a light sleeper). The landlords are amazing and communicate efficiently - they even provided us with a welcome booklet with lots of useful information prior to our trip. So, eat, drink & be merry!!!

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Apartment was fine but the correspondence with owner was agonizing!!

Review submitted: November 3, 2013   Date of arrival: May 29, 2013

It took forever to get confirmation, the rental contract, and final documents from the ower. I was VERY nervous if everything would come together and found myself frantically searching for other options. All in all the apartment was adequate and in a fantastic location. The pedestrian street was very handy and had everything we needed. The metro was an also an easy walk. The apartment had some wear, not worth the high price. There were stains on the furniture and my husband himself got up and reclipped the drapes on some of the clips that had been pulled off. You could hear the metro at night. We pretended it was thunder and found some fans to create some "white noise". The kitchen silverwear drawers had a bunch of crumbs etc. I let the owner know. The apartment had all the emenities however and was fine. Nothing was unbearable about the apartment, just the agonizing wait to get information from the owner, questions answered, and documents. Incidentally our last day the maid showed up knocking on our door at 8am. REALLY?

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wife

Review submitted: October 3, 2013   Date of arrival: September 7, 2013

We had a wonderful time at Rue Montorgueil. We stayed two weeks. The proximity to restaurants, food markets and the metro was terrific. We enjoyed shopping and museums. We would recommend the property to others because of location and convenience. Everyone was helpful in answering all or our questions. We would recommend a thorough cleaning inspection. Also, the driver did NOT have our name at the airport thus creating a lengthy wait as I called him twice. The last two items are not show stoppers, but can make the visit more enjoyable.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Home away from Home

Review submitted: September 9, 2013   Date of arrival: July 17, 2013

The apartment was wonderful to stay at. It offers a lot of space and has all the appliances we needed. The neighborhood is great and has all kinds of bistros, cafes, and pharmacy. Very nice. Major museums are within walking distance. We had a great time. I would highly recommend to anyone. The listing description is right on. The owner was very helpful in helping us find our way to the condo from the airport. The condo was very clean and well maintained.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful Apt. in a Great Neighborhood

Review submitted: January 15, 2013   Date of arrival: September 22, 2012

What a nice touch to have Xavier pick us up at the airport, take us to the apt., & give us a complete overview of all the appliances & amenities & how everything worked. It started the trip off right, & it all just got better & better. The apartment was great - we really appreciated the street view in the living room so that we could watch the activity below and the quiet bedroom on the other side of the apt. - the perfect arrangement for us. We love that area - we took full advantage of the wonderful markets & the shops on Rue Montorgueil - & the great living room/dining room combination was perfect for entertaining friends for long lunches or dinners.
We had a great week in a great apartment.
Thank you!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect place to stay in Paris!

Review submitted: November 26, 2012   Date of arrival: October 2, 2012

We stayed here 10 days and would absolutely stay here again -- great location! Walking distance to most everything. Also very nice to have a ride from the airport when we were tired from our flight -- nice to know we did not need to worry about how to get to our place.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Home, it's where I "Hang My Hat"

Review submitted: June 9, 2011   Date of arrival: May 1, 2011

As a vacation rental property owner myself, I was very particular in where I was going to spend my 60th birthday in Paris. Looking over the vast amount of flats to rent, I settled on one; this one, and this one only. It was my dream come to life as we lived for one too short week in Paris! The caring and professional way Ana answered my every question (and there were many,many of them), even going so far as to put me in contact with previous guests, shows the caliber of excellence you will find at "My Home in Paris".
The apartment immediately felt like we had always lived there as we became a part of the neighborhood, literally. Rue Montorgeuil had EVERYTHING we needed just around the block. Friendly fish mongers, beautiful displays of wonderful vegetables and fruits, aromatic breads and cheeses, amazing wine shop and patisserie (Collette was my favorite), and helpful Parisians for decoding the French way of marketing. The two metro stops take you anywhere you want in mesmerizing Paris. We used the Navigo Decouverte pass for unlimited travel anywhere the bus or metro goes in Paris; it was great!
I cannot say enough about the wonderful stay we had at 14 rue Bachaumont. The photos and description of the property cannot display the actual persona of the place you will come to know as "My Home in Paris". The comfort of the bed, the completeness of the kitchen (even the laundry soap is provided) and the amenities of cable, internet and free phone calls to the US were just the bubbles in our champagne. We loved every minute of our stay and could tell that those who came before us did too by the little love gifts each one who stays there leaves behind. Bertie, you are one gracious hostess in this sunny spot I will always think of with fond memories and call "home" whenever I can go to Paris!

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Great apartment,greater location.......

Review submitted: October 17, 2010   Date of arrival: March 27, 2010

We had a great time in this wonderful apartment!
Location could not have been better.You can walk to the Louvre,Orsay and Pompidou museums,and Rue Montorgueil is have a block away!!
Rue Montorgueil is full of great little restaurants, boulangeries, pastisseries,wine and grocery stores.
Xavier picked us up at the airport and gave us information of everything related to the apartment.
We can not wait to go back again!!!!
Muy buen apartamento en un lugar insuperable!!!
Esta situado en una zona peatonal,a unos 50 metros de la Rue Montorgueil,que esta llena de restaurantes,panaderias,etc.
Desde el apartamento se puede caminar a los principales museos de la ciudad.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

July in Paris

Review submitted: August 31, 2010   Date of arrival: July 23, 2010

We could not have enjoyed this apartment more. It was clean and comfortable.....quiet! The kitchen had everything we needed, plenty of towels, nice bathrooms! The shops and restaurants in our neighborhood became some of our favorites, and the 2 block walk to the Metro was super easy!!!! We will absolutely stay here again.....hopefully soon!

Recommended for: sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Fantastic location in Paris

Review submitted: July 14, 2010   Date of arrival: May 22, 2010

I thought the apartment in Paris was just wonderful. It was a great way to spend a week in Paris. The apartment was very warm and cozy and gave you the feel of how living in Paris would be. I especially liked the wonderful floor to ceiling windows that opened up. It was so nice to have the shops and unbelieveable market right there on your street, and it was such a good location, being that close to the Louvre, Notre Dame and other locations. The book of instructions was very helpful, and it was so nice to be able to call the United States at no charge. I also especially liked having such a great book collection there. Thank you so much!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Charming place to call home in Paris

Review submitted: July 14, 2010   Date of arrival: June 30, 2010

I enjoyed my stay at this lovely, large, and sunny apartment. The nearby market and cafe area, Rue Montorgeuil, provides all you can ask for in terms of dining and shopping for food for the apartment. The apartment is also close to many lovely sights including the Louvre and St. Eustache Church, Two nearby Metro stops, Sentier and Etienne Marcel, are very convenient for travel to other areas of Paris.

Xavier picked us up at the airport. He was most engaging, and we appreciated the information that he provided. We used his service to return to the airport when we left Paris.

You will love this apartment in the 2nd arrondissement!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Fantastic Paris Location

Review submitted: April 30, 2010   Date of arrival: April 9, 2010

We just returned from a week at this property and it was exactly as described, only better. We were picked up at the airport by Xavuer and swiftly transported to the apartment. During the drive he pointed out places of interest and we also arranged for a Paris Night tour with him. The apartment was excellent. It is located 1/2 block from two main pedestrian streets where food and drink abound. The property is well equipped, clean and well maintained and perfectly located. Quite by chance, our 2nd afternoon we wandered into St. Eustache Cathedral and were able to witness a French Wedding. The location is perfect for walking to the Louvre, to Les Halles and also close to cab and bike stands. We could not have been more happy and if ever we are lucky enough to return to Paris (by-the-way, we fell in love with Paris) this apartment will be our location. We could not have been more happy. During our preparation time, the owner was excellent in answering our questions, calming our fears and reassuring us of the excellence of the location. The price was excellent, particularly compared to what we paid in London. We would recommend this flat with no hesitation.

Recommended for: age 55+, people with disabilities, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 21, 2010   Date of arrival: February 10, 2010

I had such a magnificent time in Paris, and it was so nice to call this apartment home during my stay. Everything you needed was provided--no detail left out. The driver was very nice and informative, and we felt we were in good hands. The reservation process was also no fuss. Great location! Couldn't have had a better stay while on vacation.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: March 22, 2010   Date of arrival: March 22, 2010

I had such a magnificent time in Paris, and it was so nice to call this apartment home during my stay. Everything you needed was provided--no detail left out. The driver was very nice and informative, and we felt we were in good hands. The reservation process was also no fuss. Great location! Couldn't have had a better stay while on vacation.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: September 4, 2009   Date of arrival: September 4, 2009

I am afraid to say too many good things about this fantastic apartment. It will no longer be a well kept secret! Do not waste time looking for other options in Paris. This is the place to rent.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: June 1, 2009   Date of arrival: June 1, 2009

First, having your own driver meet you at CDG is definitely the way to enter Paris when you are groggy from an overnight flight from the US. Second, the apartment is as good as advertised and better! The place is well kept, well appointed, convenient and very comfortable. We certainly had no trouble sleeping. And eating is greatly enhanced by the proximity of Montorgueil! We had fresh fish, fruits, vegetables, eight grain bread, baguettes, cheese, several wine stores and three mini supermarts all in easy walking distance. Finally, the apartment is well located; everything is easy to get to. We could walk most everywhere and only used 8 Metro tickets each in eight days. We ended up using the Metro stop Entienne Marcel exclusively because it was always on the way. We’d rebook this apartment in a flash!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: April 5, 2009   Date of arrival: April 5, 2009

This apartment is highly recommended, and the description is accurate and if anything understated! We are seasoned and frequent travelers; stay in at least 10 hotels a year. This is a lovely way to let Paris unfold. The location is superb, an easy bike ride (or walk, or metro) to just about anywhere you want to go - the West Bank, Eiffel Tower, the Louvre, the markets, etc etc. Free bikes right outside your door (learn to 'work' the system to make them free!)Gastronomic treats at every turn! The hosts provide small details to make you feel welcome - the perfect combo of 'at home' and a welcome guest.

Juliavolando

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review