reviews for: listing #5166 - Destin, Florida House rental

Windsong By The Sea Home Private Pool & High Speed Internet
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Crystal Beach
  • sleeps  9
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $1,000 - $2,350 /wk

sort by:

Great Place to stay

Review submitted: September 7, 2009   Date of arrival: August 29, 2009

We all enjoyed Windsong by the Sea. The location was great ! The beach was an easy walk. The home was very comfortable and had was stock with all that we needed. All of us agreed that we made a good choice by staying here. Thanks Terri for the use of your vacation home. Hope to come back again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Great location /great house

Review submitted: June 23, 2014   Date of arrival: June 14, 2014

After staying in Destin for a week, we decided to stay for an extra week. ( don't be surprised if you do the same).
I started looking for another house to rent when I saw this charming Bungalow. Luckily it was less than 2 blocks from our first rental.
Terri called back immediately after I left her a voice mail , she was so accommodating to us , allowing us early access so we could transfer food from one house to the other. The walk to the beach is approx 3 blocks, and mostly shaded which was wonderful, especially with little ones.
The layout of the house is open which I loved, because I never felt out of the action while in the kitchen. The house was well equipped , clean and most of all had a very homey feel and Terri was awesome to work with. I have no doubt we'll be back and highly recommend this rental to either a couple looking to get away or a family with kids like ourselves ( 5) from 18-5.
After 13 years of vacationing in Destin, I got my first two weeks thanks to Terri and her kindness .!!
Wish I was there right now. !
Hope to see you sooner than later Terri!!
Have a great summer.

Ps. As I said, I've been coming to Deatin for 13 years, have used just about every rental co. Without a doubt , VRBO or owned and managed by owner is the way to go.

Recommended for: families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Owners response: Monica, I really appreciate your wonderful review of Windsong by the Sea. It was a real treat having you and your lovely family stay here for your extended vacation. I hope, and certainly welcome, your family coming back anytime. You were such a joy to have!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful Location would love to stay here again!!

Review submitted: April 1, 2014   Date of arrival: March 22, 2014

I was traveling with a group of friends and am so happy that we stayed at Windsong by the Sea!! We had a great time the house is only a couple blocks from the beach and with in walking distance of several restaurants. The owner was very helpful and wonderful to work with. The property is clean and well kept. We did several large group dinners over the week and the kitchen had everything that we needed we also enjoyed the pool and was thankful to have it when a few of the days a little cool to be at the beach. I would definitely want to stay here again and recommend it to anyone going to Destin.

Owners response: Thanks so much Tabitha for your kind feedback! And I am delighted that you and your friends had a memorable spring week in Destin. You were all wonderful guests, and I would certainly welcome you back to Windsong by the Sea anytime!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Windsong by the Sea was wonderful

Review submitted: February 19, 2014   Date of arrival: July 6, 2013

We were first time renters and Terry made everything easy. All questions were answered and upon arrival we were thrilled to find the house ready and waiting. It was clean and felt like home. The week we were there was such fun and Windsong by the Sea was perfect. So perfect that we are returning again this year.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great

Review submitted: October 17, 2012   Date of arrival: September 24, 2012

Had a great time. House has everything you need and more, and the location is great. Short walk to the beach, mall, restaurants, goodwill etc. great for kids, as there is a box with toys. owner of the house is very friendly and replies quickly to questions and concerns. we had a wonderful time at windsong by the sea.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great time

Review submitted: October 16, 2012   Date of arrival: October 6, 2012

We enjoyed our stay here. Not being on the beach, but so close was great. Much more privacy and the pool kept us cool. Everything was available that one would need. Our dog had a great time also. We hope to some day stay here again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly

Owners response: Thank you Ch and K! I appreciate your kind words, and I'm glad you had a great vacation. Please come back again and stay at Windsong!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

So Glad We Came Back!

Review submitted: August 28, 2012   Date of arrival: August 18, 2012

After a 4 year absence from staying at 'Wind Song By the Sea'...our just recent return visit emphasized how much we've truly missed it! Everything was as we remembered it plus some! The king bed in the Master was a most comfortable delight! The fenced yard was ideal to let our "kids" Desi & Lucy...the (Westies) enjoy playing all day! Even the rainy all day on Sunday was enjoyable, sitting and relaxing on the large front porch! The fully equipped kitchen with all the necessary accoutrements made for easy cooking and dining all week! The pool of course is a BIG plus!
Our stay was literally a "home" away from "home" only with the most beautiful white sand beach just a block away! Come enjoy!
Terri...you're a 'sweetheart'! Thanks for everything!!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: Thanks Soky and Jon, for your loyalty and kind words! Windsong awaits your return again soon; she always enjoys your presence!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Our first trip to Destin in years

Review submitted: July 30, 2012   Date of arrival: July 14, 2012

Easy access to beach and shops. Wonderful that our dogs could share in the vacation! We all enjoyed our stay.

Recommended for: families with young children, pet-friendly, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great location

Review submitted: June 17, 2012   Date of arrival: May 19, 2012

The owner, Terry was very nice to work with. The house is in a great location. It was easy to get everywhere you would want to go in destin (beach, shopping restaurants, etc.). The house is clean and has everything you would need for a nice vacation in Destin. We enjoyed sitting on the front porch in the evenings. The pool was nice and we enjoyed coffee in the morning on the backyard deck. We would recommend this vacation home.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Perfect Family Memories!

Review submitted: June 11, 2012   Date of arrival: June 2, 2012

My family and I just got back to Texas after staying 7-wonderful days at Windsong-Destin! The kids thoroughly enjoyed the pool (so did I-not having to give them baths everyday). Just a note: the parking can only accomodate 2 average cars, no more. We had a Tahoe, GMC Terrain, and a GMC 4-door pickup that barely fit...after tucking the Terrain in the far corner for the week. Other than that, I'd gladly rent again and again!!!!!!

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks Michelle, I'm glad you and your family enjoyed yourselves and I hope to have you again soon! Sorry about the tight squeeze on the driveway; it will accommodate 3 cars but you do have to park on the far right side to fit them in. I do appreciate your thoughtfulness in not parking on the grass and saving my sprinkler heads :o). Take care, and thanks again for the nice rating!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Spring Break with 5 grandkids

Review submitted: April 1, 2012   Date of arrival: March 24, 2012

Windsong By The Sea was a very nice home to stay in. It was clean, nicely furnished and homey. The walk to the beach was short and pleasant. We like having our own place and being away from the higher traffic area. My 9 and 6 year old granddaughters spent a lot of time in the pool. It is small, but it was fairly warm and they enjoyed it. Our stay was very enjoyable, and Terri was very accomodating. We hope to stay there again sometime.
We also liked the Crystal Beach area. Beautiful, family beach.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great place to stay!

Review submitted: July 25, 2011   Date of arrival: July 9, 2011

We just loved Windsong bt the Sea! The neighborhood was nice. It was just a short two block walk to the beach and everyone in the neighborhood walked. We loved that we were able to bring our dogs with us. The gate around the property was fantastic, because the dogs could be loose in the yard. We all spent hours in the pool and enjoyed it as much as the beach! The enclosure around the pool was also nice so that we could have the dogs with us there and didn't have to worry about them. The house layout was perfect. Very comfortable. Everything we needed was there. Even the barbecue was great! We would definitely love to stay again. The week went by too fast! Thanks so much Terri! The Carpenters

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: March 25, 2010   Date of arrival: March 6, 2010

We had a great time at Windsong! We went shopping, ate at great restaurants, and fished. Your beach home was warm and cozy, and we didn't want to go home! Thank you Terri!

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Review submitted: December 9, 2009   Date of arrival: December 9, 2009

We really enjoyed our stay at Windsong and the location was terrific. Very close to all the shopping and a nice walk to the beautiful beach. The house was very nicely kept up and Terri was always available to answer any questions we had. We highly recommend Windsong for your beach getaway! The Dunphys

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Review submitted: September 13, 2009   Date of arrival: September 13, 2009

We enjoyed staying in your vacation. It was very close to anything that we could possible need or want. The beach was an easy walk, just two blocks. The house is very comfortable and stocked. We hope to get a chance to come to Destin again, and stay at "Windsong by the Sea"

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Review submitted: September 9, 2009   Date of arrival: September 9, 2009

Dear Terri and Julian,
Please allow me to personally take the time to thank you for allowing us to stay in your home. We found the house very unique and comfortable. The home was very clean and it had all the necessities needed for a vacation stay. We loved that we could sit outside and watch the kids swim while we enjoyed the grill. It was a wonderful experience and we could not ask for more. The area is very quite and the kids had a wonderful time. The walk to the beach which is about 2 blocks down was a wonderful experience as we viewed the lovely surrounding areas of other homes. We discovered the outlet mall which was just 8 miles down and had lots of fun shopping. We loved your home and would gladly return. We hope we can visit again next year. With Love, The Loza's.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Review submitted: June 22, 2009   Date of arrival: June 22, 2009

We had a great time in Destin and this house was a perfect location for walking to the beach or driving to local dinning and night clubs. We were not ready to leave!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Review submitted: February 25, 2009   Date of arrival: February 25, 2009

We stayed at this great house in Aug 07 and could not have asked for a better place to stay - other than maybe if it was in Hawaii - but we can't have everything! Terri was a dream to work with and literally there was not one thing we could have complained about! The pictures of this property do not lie! My husband, 2 almost adult kiddos & our beagle felt so welcomed and the community was fantastic!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: October 20, 2008   Date of arrival: October 1, 2008

We could not have asked for more, the house was great!!! The location is a dream. We were a short walk from the beach, which was beautiful, I grew up in Florida and will take Destin anyday!! We brought our dog, and even though we could not take him on the beach the house is located in a wonderful neighborhood perfect for walks... We can not wait to come back!!!!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: September 29, 2008   Date of arrival: September 1, 2008

Windsong is the best place to stay on the Emerald coast! This was our second stay, and the only place we will come back to! Thanks for the upgrades to the home, they were appreciated. We had a wonderful time as always, thanks to your lovely home!
John, Britt, Scout and Booger Clowdus

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Windsong by the Sea

Review submitted: September 1, 2008   Date of arrival: August 23, 2008

Just spent a great relaxing week at Windsong By The Sea. The house was clean, comfortable "a home away from home" so to speak. Close to the beach, close the shopping areas and restaurants etc. Having your own private pool a huge plus for us. We will be back next year without a doubt and will recommend the property to friends and family.

If I was to have a negative comment it will be regarding the upkeep of the landscape. It needs LTC, plants are overgrown, weeds somewhat out of control, but again I am seeing it through my gardening eyes, having won yard of the month at my house. Aside from that in my opinion, it is a wonderful vacation home.

Thank you Terri for letting us enjoy your home.

Jon & Soky

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, tourists without a car

Owners response: Hi Soky,

I forwarded your review to my landscaper. At the end of August, and at the end of the terribly hot summer, I'm sure you are right about the yard looking tired. Thanks for your other positive words!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: October 15, 2007   Date of arrival: October 1, 2007

What a GREAT place! We will NEVER stay in a hotel or condo again after being spoiled by Windsong by the Sea! The prices are great, the home had everything we could possibly need, Terri was a pleasure, and the overall experience was exceptional! We will be back to this terrific home! Thanks Again! John, Britt, Scout and Booger Clowdus :)

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: August 23, 2007   Date of arrival: August 1, 2007

Our stay at Windsong By the Sea was absolutely the best!! We have always stayed in condos but that has changed after our visit to your beach home in June. We loved the privacy, the pool, the extra nice grill (the seafood was wonderful on the grill) and especially the nice home. Thanks Terri and Rene, we will definitely see you next year!JR, Tina, Shane, Brandon, Bethany and Turbo (our dog, he loved it too!) Stout

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: August 23, 2007   Date of arrival: August 1, 2007

Hi Terri, Oh, how I wish that I could come down to Crystal Beach this winter. Buttons & I enjoyed our stay last year so much. The palm trees and plants around your home are beautiful as well as the Crystal Beach location. I know that I will be back down to Destin and I sure do hope that your rental schedule can accommodate me. You are a super landlady!!!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: July 21, 2007   Date of arrival: July 1, 2007

Dear Terri,
It was like the Ya Ya's (Sisterhood) came to Destin! We had a wonderful time at the beach house. The pool was a great place to float and chat with friends. The colors were bright and tropical. Everything you needed to make your stay comfortable was provided wth much thought and care.
Thanks Terri!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: June 9, 2007   Date of arrival: June 1, 2007

Terri, My family and I had a great experience in Windsong By the Sea. It was our first trip to Destin and we had the best time! (We are all missing the ocean now that we are back in KY). Windsong was a great place to stay. It was very clean and nicely decorated. There were plenty of towels and the pool was great! I would definately recommend Windsong by the Sea for anyone looked for a nice quiet setting, close to the beach and close to great restaurants and shopping. The beach was great, we loved the white sand. I can't wait to return to Destin. Thanks again Terry, my sisters, daughter, niece and I had a great vacation!!!!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: April 4, 2007   Date of arrival: April 1, 2007

Mr. and Mrs. Jullian thank you for allowing the nine of us to come into your home. The house and everything around it was beautiful. All of us had a great time and enjoyed staying at Windsong By The Sea.
Thank You,
Chad, Ashley, Danny, Jill, Matt, Bree, Ramon, Jackie, and Joe

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: March 1, 2006   Date of arrival: March 1, 2006

This is a comment from our guest book:
Terri, We have thoroughly enjoyed our first long-term "snow bird" stay at Windsong and Destin. We have found our 'home away from home' and are excited to return next year! Your home is lovely and very comfortable. You have all the necessary things we needed and so much more!! Our 'babies' thank you, too! They love it here and we loved having them with us. Thank you Terri!

Sigrid and Arnie--Roanoke, Illinois

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: October 25, 2005   Date of arrival: October 25, 2005

This is a comment from our guest book:
Thank you Terri and Rene' for sharing your wonderful home with us. This was our first trip to Destin and we can't wait to come back. To celebrate our first anniversary, we dined at the Beach Walk Cafe (your suggestion) and it was perfect! On Sunday, we enjoyed the great weather poolside. We had "all-you-can-eat" crab at the Crab Trap. On Monday, we shopped in Seaside and ate at Bud and Alley's--also yummy. We also had a blast dropping some dough at all your nearby shops. FOOD, SUN & SAND...What a terrific trip!! THANK YOU.

Deirdre and Bob--Cordova, TN

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 13, 2005   Date of arrival: August 13, 2005

This is a comment from our guest book:
We thoroughly enjoyed our two week stay here at Windsong By The Sea. Your home is very comfortable and convenient to everything we wanted. We were in the pool every day! Except for the 2 1/2 days when we had rain, the weather was beautiful! We hope to come back again soon. Thanks for everything Terri!

Dan, Linda, Tyler and Suzanne
Maryland Heights, Missouri

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 30, 2005   Date of arrival: July 30, 2005

This comment is from our guest book:
Terri,
The beach home was wonderful! Destin is such a joy to visit. Our family visiting from Norway did not want to leave!! I look forward to the future at our place at Windsong. My family and I don't want to go anywhere else.

John, Michelle and children--Midland, Georgia

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 23, 2005   Date of arrival: July 23, 2005

This comment is from our guest book:
Terri,
We enjoyed your home here is Destin. Your location is wonderful. We hope to be back in the near future. Thank you for all you did for us--and for the new dryer! Best wishes in your rental business!

Hayes, Laura, Josh, Ashlyne, Ericka and Lauren--Mt. Pleasant, Texas

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review