reviews for: listing #51706 - Key Colony Beach, Florida Condo rental

Enjoy your own Private Tropical Beach SEE Pics-READ REVIEWS!
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  yes
  • type  Condo
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Sea Isle Condominiums
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $995 - $1,895 /wk

sort by:

Perfect vacation!!

Review submitted: January 4, 2010   Date of arrival: December 14, 2009

Key Colony Beach is the most perfect spot on the planet. Many thanks to the owners for providing our family a beautiful, clean, affordable corner of paradise for a week. I hope we can go back sometime....

Thanks Again!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: I knew your family would love the Keys...it's a great place to form memories that will last a lifetime. There are so many things to do...fishing, dolphin encounters, snorkeling and kayaking not to mention the all the great restaurants that are on the water.
Please come back soon.

Helpful votes: 34 / 37

 

Best Kept Secret!!

Review submitted: July 17, 2014   Date of arrival: November 9, 2013

WOW!! Myself, my wife, and our son first rented Michael’s condo a few years ago and had the perfect vacation. I would love to leave a bad review and keep this place a “best kept secret” but such a review would be untrue. This Key Colony privet beach condo is truly a perfect spot for a family vacation. Me and my wife had our quite mornings sipping coffee under the grass hut and took long walks on a quite beach. My family kayaked from Sombrero Beach in to the mangroves and kayaked a guided tour of sugarloaf key. I could go on and tell you all about Dry Tortugas National Park, Key West, the fishing from the beach and the boat, or even the snorkeling at John Pennekamp Coral Reef State Park but it would take up far too much space. What I will say is even with all the fun we had, the best part of the experience was my dealings with Michael, the owner who helped me plan an affordably fun family vacation that won’t be forgotten. Thank you again Michael!

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Fantastic vacation in the American Carribean

Review submitted: June 2, 2014   Date of arrival: May 24, 2014

My family could not have been happier with this Sea Isle condo, which is just steps away from the beach and the pool. The beach is gorgeous!! And we had a nice view of the ocean from the shaded balcony off the master bedroom.

The condo was clean, recently updated, and was thoughtfully stocked with everything we needed. (e.g., wi-fi and Netflix, linens and towels, cooking utensils, a hairdryer in each bathroom, beach chairs & toys.)

The location is a great jumping-off point to local attractions like Bahia Honda State Park, Key West, and the Dolphin Research Center. There is a coffee shop and a great waterfront restaurant/bar, Sparky's Landing, in easy walking distance of the Sea Isle condos.
We had excellent snorkeling right off the beach in Sea Isle; I recommend you bring some inexpensive snorkeling equipment and skip the tourist-y and expensive snorkeling trip!
The Sea Isle complex was uncrowded while we were there, and the owners were very easy to work with.
Thank you for a fantastic vacation in your delightful home!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thank you

Review submitted: November 4, 2013   Date of arrival: October 12, 2013

Thank you very much for the opportunity to enjoy such a beautiful spot in the Keys of Florida. We truly had a wonderful time during our week in the area recently. Sea Isles is a great property with both the beach and pool as cool respites for relaxation. We tried to get in as much activity special to the area as we could in a week. So much left to do on another trip! The condo was very comfortable and we appreciated all you have done to the unit to create that “beachy” atmosphere.

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We almost felt like we had the place to ourselves!

Review submitted: November 4, 2013   Date of arrival: August 24, 2013

Michael,

I just wanted to thank you for allowing us to use your condo in Key Colony Beach. We were very happy with the location, condo and beach! It was very secluded and was not crowded with other guests. We almost felt like we had the place to ourselves!

I am back home in Indiana now, and very sad to leave the Keys. We loved your place and will definitely consider your location if we venture to Key Colony in the future.

Thanks,
Tamra

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

What a spectacular location

Review submitted: November 4, 2013   Date of arrival: October 12, 2013

Hi, Michael!
Thanks so much for sharing Condo #13 with us last week! What a spectacular location on the Keys, as well as in the complex! We had a wonderful week...weather was perfect, condo was perfect, pool was perfect....boo hoo, now it's back to reality, lol!!!

We LUV your condo, and kept commenting on how clean it was, and how close to the pool it is! We spent every night sitting down by the beach watching shooting stars over the ocean! We saw tarpons/pelicans at Robbie's Marina, went to the Dry Tortugas and toured the fort and snorkeled (saw two barricuda!), went to Big Pine Key and saw the alligators at Blue Hole and also lots of Key Deer, went on a picnic to Bahia Honda State Park and walked on the bridge, went on a glass bottom boat ride to the coral reef at Pannekamp State Park (saw two nurse sharks!), toured the Sea Turtle Hospital (awesome!), took walks around your neighborhood in the evening and saw an owl and a huge land crab, saw the sunset at Sunset Park, took the trolley tour of Key West and toured Hemingway's House (ate at Sloppy Joe's on Duvall St.!), saw the "African Queen",and spent lots of time in the pool!

We ate at Alabama Jack's, No Name Pub, Sparky's, Key Colony Inn, Sunset Grille (twice...loved the music!), Island Fish Co. (across the street near the Holiday Inn), and Sloppy Joes. We had several picnic lunches at state parks or by the pool! Life is GOOD!!! We got back to PA and had to wear our sweatshirts this evening due to cool rainy weather...ugh! I wonder if the resident iguanas miss us as much as we miss them, lol!?! It was interesting reading everyone's suggestions for restaurants and things to do that they wrote in your notebooks! We thoroughly enjoyed our time spent at Key Colony, and all four of us want to thank you for sharing your "piece of Heaven" with us! Thanks again for a FANTASTIC vacation!!!

Tim & Sharon

Helpful votes: 12 / 12

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thank you for such a wonderful vacation

Review submitted: November 4, 2013   Date of arrival: April 27, 2013

Thank you for such a wonderful vacation. We could not be happier!
The condo is beautifully decorated and roomy. Most of the week we spent at the beach. Crystal clear waters, no waves, absolutely perfect for swimming,relaxing and fishing. We LOVED the beach front Grill and ended up using it every day.
We tried the Marathon lady for fishing. Captain and crew are great and scenery is breathtaking. Sparky'sLanding restaurant was our favorite. They had live music and great view.

This was a perfect vacation, and we are definitely planing to return next year.

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

PERFECT!

Review submitted: November 4, 2013   Date of arrival: September 7, 2013

I just wanted to take a minute and tell you how much we enjoyed the condo!! What an amazing place and the surroundings were PERFECT! Your description of the condo and everything involved were profoundly accurate. The Manager of the property, Meghan, was outstanding as well as far as her customer service and we appreciated our interaction with her and everything she helped us with. I definitely am looking forward to coming back and can't wait!

If it isn't too much trouble, would you mind sending me the pricing for different times through out the year? More than likely will be taking my husband and parents along on the next visit, but I'm just not sure of the time of year I would like to visit again.

BTW....we went to the Sunset Grille on our last night, WOW, what an amazing atmosphere! If we had gone there earlier in the week, I know for a fact we would have gone back a few times!!!!

Again thank you for opening up your home to me and my girl friends (they enjoyed too!).

I look forward to seeing some pricing so I can start my next planning adventure!

Sincerely,
Sharla

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Has to be one of best beaches in US.

Review submitted: August 7, 2013   Date of arrival: July 20, 2013

This place was as described, condo very clean and as advertised. Condo owner is very nice and pleasant to deal with. I wanted my kids to experience clear water and a beautiful beach. This was that and more. Beach was relaxing and Bahama like. I plan on returning as quickly as possible. I highly recommend this place as consideration when looking to book an island-like trip to Bahamas or one of the other islands. A great alternative for those looking to stay in US. Would have to agree it may well be one of the best private beaches in US.

Helpful votes: 5 / 8

 

Wonderful vacation experience

Review submitted: May 19, 2013   Date of arrival: May 4, 2013

My girl friends and I pick a vacation destination once a year and this year it was the Keys. We enjoy blending in with the locals. The condo was very clean, the beds were comfortable, and it was cheerfully decorated. The best part was that the heated pool and the white sand beach were just steps away from our front door, since we were on the ground floor. We rented bicycles for the week and toured the Key Colony neighborhood which was gorgeous. Happy hour at Sparky's, which is just up the street, has 25 cent shrimp and a fun atmosphere. We used the snorkel equipment, however a person would have to go elsewhere to see tropical fish. We did see some schools of mullets. In the evenings we took advantage of the Netflix account and watched some movies. We would recommend this property to a friend. Thanks for a great vacation experience.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 12

 

Perfect place to stay in Keys

Review submitted: March 25, 2013   Date of arrival: March 16, 2013

We had a great time at the condo. The sandy beach was really nice, the ocean a bit too cold for swimming. But the pool was perfect for that. The condo was clean and has the perfect location for a lazy vacation.
It's close to the Turtle Hospital and Dolphin research center. Our son loved both. We enjoyed dinner at the Key Coloney Inn and Butterfly Cafe.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

We will never forget this vacation...ever!

Review submitted: December 6, 2012   Date of arrival: November 10, 2012

Our family had an awesome time in your condo. We are from Michigan and loved the 80 degree weather. Our kids were in the pool & ocean non-stop. It was very clean and well maintained with a large seating area at the beach…we can sit on the large lawn area on the white sandy beach. The views on the property are breathtaking with the tropical plants, bushes and palm trees. We really enjoyed watching the sunrise every morning on the beach. Perfect location, very close to restaurants and activities. We already booked next year....We highly recommend it!!!! Thank you!

Owners response: Jim,
I'm very happy you enjoyed your stay. Everyone told me how they enjoyed seeing your kids snorkel and swim all day. You are blessed to have such a wonderful family. Please send your favorite photos so I can put them on my website.

Michael

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 

We loved the Private Tropical Beach!

Review submitted: December 5, 2012   Date of arrival: October 20, 2012

Last October, my family and I enjoyed a week in beautiful Key Colony Beach. First, I'd like to say that the photos do not give this property justice. As you can see, the condo is clean, spacious, and modern. This we had expected from the photos, and especially after talking to Michael. What we did not expect was the completely non-crowded, immaculately-kept grounds and beach; white sand, privacy, and crystal-clear water.

This was our first Keys visit. We flew into Miami and then drove straight to the condo. The central location gave us the opportunity to explore ALL of the Keys. Honestly though, we spent most of our time on that beach! If you do stay at this condo, take Michael's advise; the local snorkeling is
amazing! Also, there is a golf course within walking distance.
Recommended for everyone!

Owners response: Thank you!

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Great getaway in Paradise

Review submitted: December 5, 2012   Date of arrival: November 17, 2012

I loved it, my wife and kids loved it. We were on the beach; it was so peaceful and tropical. We never ran out of things to do, we went to the Dolphin Research Center, snorkeled, fished, paraglide, Kayaked, enjoyed great restaurants on the Gulf and Ocean side (Our favorite is The Island Fish Co) We spent a day in Key West where we check out historic places and museums, at dusk we went to Mallory Square to enjoy the street performers. The condo was beautiful, clean and spacious with flat screens TVs in the bedrooms. We already booked next year. Thank you for sharing your wonderful home with us.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you and please send a few of your favorite photos so I can put them on my website.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Best Vacation Ever

Review submitted: April 18, 2012   Date of arrival: April 7, 2012

Absolutely the best vacation we've had. Everything surpassed our expectations. The condo was spacious, comfortable and clean with all the comforts of home. The pictures don't lie, the grounds and beach are beautiful!
The owners happened to be there also during our stay and couldn't have been nicer. He made sure everything was perfect.
Wish we could've stayed longer. It was worth the long trip from Michigan.

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

A Perfect Honeymoon!

Review submitted: October 12, 2011   Date of arrival: October 2, 2011

My husband and I stayed here for our honeymoon and not only was the condo perfect, but so was Key Colony Beach! This was our first time to the Florida Keys and we loved our entire stay there! The water is clear and beautiful, and we saw wonderful wildlife. The condo was so clean, beautiful, and peaceful! We could not have asked for more! Michael and his family supplies everything you could ever need for your stay (beach chairs, extra towels, snorkel gear, and much more). All in all, we had a fantastic experience and we can not wait to return again in the future! We loved Leigh Ann's coffee shop (super tasty coffee and breakfast) and we loved going to Sparky's for dinner and listening to the live music! Michael was very helpful and also available when we had questions or needed help!

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

This was a perfect vacation...

Review submitted: September 15, 2011   Date of arrival: September 3, 2011

This was a perfect vacation...
The Condo was beautiful, clean, accessible to pool, beach, and close
enough to restaurants and shopping......My husband and I were worried
that we would not have enough activities around......Most restaurants
have music.....featuring local artist.....Very Very good.
And you can always visit other Keys-- which we did....but Marathon is
our choice.

We certainly will return......

Freida and Milton
Thomasville, N.C.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Wonderful Stay in the Beautiful Florida Keys

Review submitted: September 13, 2011   Date of arrival: September 3, 2011

Three friends and I shared the condo for a week. We all agree that it was the most wonderful, relaxed vacation we have had in years. The condo is very comfortable and everything you need is right there. The kitchen is well equipped if you want to cook. If not, there are many restaurants and fast food stops nearby. The pool and beach exceeded our expectations. Just steps away from the door was a very well maintained pool. Laundry facilities also just steps away. The beach is a wonderful surprise! There is a grassy lawn with chairs so that you can sun or relax in the shade of palm trees. We enjoyed the tiki hut for a shady respite from sunning. Grills are available for cooking out. We only ventured away from the condo complex for dining at El Siboney (great Cuban), a drive down to Key West and we also spent a great afternoon at a must see...Bahai Honda State Park. What an awesome beach. Hope to return again and again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Our stay in Key Colony Beach at Sea Isle

Review submitted: January 28, 2011   Date of arrival: January 8, 2011

Everything about this condo was great: the condo itself, the owner, the people who live in the complex and of course, the area. Even the police always wave to you. Key Colony Beach is a nice, self contained city with great places to eat, rent or charter boats, even snorkel or scuba dive. I had planned to dive, but the wind had visibility down to less than ten feet. Maybe next time?
The grounds of Sea Isle are beautiful. The groundskeeper, Gustavo, works very hard at keeping them that way.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 16 / 16

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We loved your condo and private beach.

Review submitted: January 15, 2011   Date of arrival: January 8, 2011

Hi Michael - We're leaving tomorrow morning, and just wanted to let you know that we loved the condo! It's a great place to spend a week in the Keys. Tell your parents we're glad they rent it out, and hope we have an opportunity to come back again sometime. Thanks for all your help.

Rosemary

Helpful votes: 5 / 6

 

PERFECT! Especially for first time Keys visitors!

Review submitted: November 27, 2010   Date of arrival: October 7, 2009

Last October, my family and I enjoyed a week in beautiful Key Colony Beach. First, I'd like to say that the photos do not give this property justice. As you can see, the condo is clean, spacious, and modern. This we had expected from the photos, and especially after talking to Michael. What we did not expect was the completely uncrowded, immaculately-kept grounds and beach; white sand, privacy, and crystal-clear water.

This was our first Keys visit. We flew into Miami and then drove straight to the condo. The central location gave us the opportunity to explore ALL of the Keys. Honestly though, we spent most of our time on that beach! If you do stay at this condo, take Michael's advise; the local snorkeling is
amazing! Also, there is a golf course within walking distance!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 9 / 10

 

We loved it

Review submitted: March 30, 2010   Date of arrival: March 20, 2010

Searching the internet for an appropriate location in the keys to spend a week as a part of celebrating our 25th wedding anniversary was not easy. But we can only say: We found the best place!

All the locations were like shown on the pictures or even better.

As we Germans did that for the very first time, we had a lot of questions, which all were answered very quick by Michael the owner. Even if there were some difficulties and delays by paying with PayPal we experienced fantastic support by him. For others, who may use PayPal in the future from overseas, I recommend, that the PayPal-pay-request should go to an e-mail-address that meets to the PayPal account of the payer.

During our stay we had the great fortune that his parents also stayed there in the first floor. They took care about all our concerns and even more. Great people - We only say:Thank you very much!

The beach was fantastic. Private and clean and never busy.

We visited several restaurants in the area and were happy with all of them.

We were accompanied by a couple that lives in Florida and we all came to the same result:

A PERFECT WEEK!

If we ever could come back to the Keys, there is no doubt that this is our first address we ask for.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

We loved it

Review submitted: March 30, 2010   Date of arrival: March 20, 2010

Searching the internet for an appropriate location in the keys to spend a week as a part of celebrating our 25th wedding anniversary was not easy. But we can only say: We found the best place!

All the locations were like shown on the pictures or even better.

As we Germans did that for the very first time, we had a lot of questions, which all were answered very quick by Michael the owner. Even if there were some difficulties and delays by paying with PayPal we experienced fantastic support by him. For others, who may use PayPal in the future from overseas, I recommend, that the PayPal-pay-request should go to an e-mail-address that meets to the PayPal account of the payer.

During our stay we had the great fortune that his parents also stayed there in the first floor. They took care about all our concerns and even more. Great people - We only say:Thank you very much!

The beach was fantastic. Private and clean and never busy.

We visited several restaurants in the area and were happy with all of them.

We were accompanied by a couple that lives in Florida and we all came to the same result:

A PERFECT WEEK!

If we ever could come back to the Keys, there is no doubt that this is our first address we ask for.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

FANTASTIC

Review submitted: February 8, 2010   Date of arrival: December 6, 2009

We 40, 41, 6 and 4 years old simply enjoyed the 10 days at this place. We will not forget this stay. It's a chance to have also at holiday a homelike home.
If I could I would love to come back into this condo.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review