reviews for: listing #51746 - Surfside Beach, Texas House rental

La Casa De Playa
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Village of Surfside
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $150 - $300 /nt
    $750 - $2,100 /wk
    $2,850 - $4,500 /mth

sort by:

Great rental is Surfside!

Review submitted: July 31, 2013   Date of arrival: July 21, 2013

Can't say enough about how nice and accommodating the owner is! He took great care of us from start to finish. House was much better than described! Kitchen was well stocked. House was clean and comfortable...and cool! The a/c's worked great. We had six guests and there was plenty of room. Very short walk to beach and jetty for fishing. Would highly recommend!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 4

 

Amazing!!

Review submitted: July 25, 2013   Date of arrival: July 11, 2013

I stayed and extended weekend with my husband, our two kids and my best friend and her husband. The home was bid enough for all. We had everything we could ever need that was provided by the home owner. All we had to bring was us, our cloths and food. Roy the home owner was very pleasant and only a phone call away. We had absolutely not worries the entire stay spending out days on the beach and out night in the hammocks under the upper level of the home. Make sure to bring your sunscreen and mosquito spray and your stay will be a pleasant one!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 4

 

A GREAT Family Get Away!

Review submitted: August 11, 2012   Date of arrival: August 6, 2012

Our family enjoyed such a wonderful get away at La Casa de Playa. It fit our family of six very well, was decorated so nicely, and was equipped with everything we needed...very accommodating. It was a pleasant stroll from the beach, and no neighbors crowding too closely. My family loved the hammocks and swings below the house and a large deck surrounds most of the house. We have rented several houses at Surfside and spent less on this one and enjoyed it so much more.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly

Owners response: Our family really enjoys it when another family has a chance to have fun at our house at the beach "La Casa De Playa"
We make every attempt to keep our pricing where the average family can afford to enjoy it. Jan, my wife, has done all the decorating and our son and family in the Houston area are our "clean up crew".
Thanks for the nice words and we look forward to you visiting again.
Roy

Helpful votes: 3 / 5

 

Peaceful vacation place!

Review submitted: August 2, 2011   Date of arrival: July 25, 2011

Great place! We wanted beachfront, but waited too late. Luckily I happened upon this rental! We thoroughly enjoyed our week in Surfside. This home is close enough to walk to the beach. Did I mention the laundry room? Well, it is stocked like a beach store! We used the umbrellas, chairs, beach towels, and toys all week. The twin hammocks are awesome, too! Great owner, as well. Very friendly and helpful! (My only complaint is that we didn't get to use the dune buggy that is at the house! Ha Ha! That would have been a blast!) If you are looking for a clean, peaceful house near the beach...don't hesitate to rent La Casa De Playa! You won't be disappointed! Thanks for helping us have a great family vacation in beautiful Surfside! We will be back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 11 / 11

 

Awesome Get Away

Review submitted: July 20, 2011   Date of arrival: July 14, 2011

My family and I had a wonderful stay at La Casa De Playa. It was a home away from home! Very clean and had everything we needed to have a great vacation. It is just minutes away from the beach. My family and I will be back next summer and will suggest this house to our friends.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Owners response: It is heartwarming to hear from our guests that they feel like La Casa De Playa is their home away from home. We see it every time we check the house after each rental. Everyone moves things to suit their preferences, and we really enjoy some of the ideas they come up with. We feel we have done our job if you feel relaxed enough to "feel at home".

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Best beach House at affordable price

Review submitted: June 15, 2011   Date of arrival: June 10, 2011

This is the best beach house at affordable price I ever rented. My family enjoyed 4 days weekend trip. Nice beach, clear water and the park near by.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Owners response: We love it when families enjoy staying at La Casa De Playa (The Beach House). It was originally intended for our family use only, but we do enjoy sharing the good times.We have found that executives find it a welcome retreat as well. The high speed internet means they can keep up with business while relaxing at the beach.

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

surfside stay

Review submitted: October 5, 2010   Date of arrival: September 17, 2010

The house was decorated nicely and very clean. There were soaps, tissue, toilet paper and paper towels there for us to use as long as we left a replacement behind! The balcony is huge and gated which was perfect for our dog. We had a good, relaxing time.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 11 / 11

 

Awesome!

Review submitted: July 24, 2010   Date of arrival: July 10, 2010

This is the best beach house we have stayed in! We had 6 people stay in the house & there was plenty of room, house cooled off quickly & loads of beach toys & chairs to take the beach. The place was immaculate. Granted there are alot of misquitos, but if you have spent ANY time on the Texas coast, you KNOW to bring off replentant with you! Thank you again for the great week!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 10 / 10

 

Great Value!

Review submitted: July 22, 2010   Date of arrival: July 18, 2010

This is a great rental! My family enjoyed our stay here so much that we are already trying to figure out when we can return. When we first walked in the door we noticed how clean it was and how nicely it was decorated. It was hot when we first arrived since the air was turned off, but it cooled down within an hour. We all slept very comfortably - each in our own bed! The house is loaded with supplies for the beach. I have stayed in places that cost 3 times as much that did not have near as much to offer. I am giving it 5 stars because it is clean, comfy and an excellent value!!

Helpful votes: 11 / 11

 

Not what we expected!

Review submitted: June 30, 2010   Date of arrival: May 29, 2010

This property, and Surfside, in general was not what we expected. After arriving at our destination we had to fight vicious swarms of mosquitoes just to make it in the front door, (even with bug spray on we never could enjoy those hammocks and outside patio area.) First impressions of house itself...hot & stuffy. AC took forever to cool down part of the house, kitchen area never cooled down. Sleeping arrangements very uncomfortable for a family of 4 plus parents...pull-out couch was a joke...did I mention plastic covered pillowcases & mattresses on all of the beds. Bathroom tub needs a desperate make-over...my kids were scared to go in it. Water is not suitable to drink (would've liked to known this ahead of time)...and the water in the water cooler tasted worse. Beach was nice...except for these little yellow bugs that came out of the rocks and bit you when the wind blew a certain way. You'll also need to climb over a rock wall to get to the sand. The best part of the whole experience though was losing electricity and water for almost 6 hours overnight (which apparently happens often...again would've liked to have known that ahead of time!)...try sleeping on plastic sheets in 90 degree weather without AC!

Owners response: Yes, we do believe this was not what was expected by this renter.
The mosquitos are prevalent(there's even a Moquito Festival every July), but the village has a vigorous abatement program.
The A/C(both units new this year) reduces the temp from 104 to 84 in 45 minutes. The A/C company says that is normal.
The plastic covers on the beds are for the protection of our renters, and are covered with cotton padded mattress covers.
The pull out bed in L/R is a $3200 Broyhill Queen. It is uncomfortable, and we have added an air mattress for those who want to use it.
We received no calls from the renter about electrical problems, so we could not respond.
Out of 25 renters over the last two years we have only held the cleaning deposit one time, and this was it. In that time we have had many nice cards and notes telling us how they and their children and grand children enjoyed the place. This renter evidently did expect much more than a small vacation home at a reasonable rate was able to provide. We are sorry for their distress, and offer free rentals to people who have a bad experince which was not beyond our control.

Helpful votes: 8 / 9

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review