reviews for: listing #51754 - Waikiki, Hawaii Studio rental

Trendy Studio Condo - 1/2 block from beach
  • bedrooms  0
  • pool  yes
  • type  Studio
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Waikiki Grand
  • sleeps  2
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $99 - $129 /nt
    $690 - $900 /wk
    $2,000 - $2,400 /mth

sort by:

Location, location, location

Review submitted: June 10, 2013   Date of arrival: May 30, 2013

People say it is all about location, location, location. This condo was perfect for our visit, my returning to the island and my girlfriends first visit. The first thing she noticed was that we were right next to the beach. Easy walking distance to a number of places for you to check out. We had a a very nice vacation, it was quiet, cozy and very comfortable. We have already started our planning for a return visit.

Owners response: Glad you and your girfriend had fun in Waikiki. We look forward to your next stay with us.
Enjoy your summer!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great Condo!

Review submitted: November 9, 2012   Date of arrival: October 31, 2012

This condo had it all! Great location (1/2 block from the beach). The room had all the extras we needed (beach gear, kitchenette, etc.). Lorie was great and was very quick to respond to all of my calls and emails. The only issue we had was that the internet was spacey. Other than that, it was fabulous! The room is perfect for a couple that want to enjoy all of Hawaii. We rented a car and parked at the Waikiki Banyon parking garage (3 blocks away) for $12/night. That gave us the freedom to go wherever we wanted whenever we wanted, but the bus would have been an easy option. It's a little small for anything over two people, but for couples it is perfect! We'd definitely recommend this condo to everyone and would gladly return ourselves!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Perfect Location, Great Condo!!

Review submitted: November 5, 2012   Date of arrival: October 24, 2012

This was our first time to Oahu. It was the perfect condo and location and very clean. It's perfect size for a couple. It is right next to the beach which we loved, and there are boogy boards and chairs inside the condo which we brought every day. We also loved to go to the 10th floor and eat breakfast and relax in the sun in the beach chairs. The buses are right outside the door which we took the Diamond Head for a beautiful hike. The snorkeling was awesome at Hanauma Bay. We also loved Germaine's Luau. We ate at Lulu's sports bar right next door, fun crowd and night life there too. I highly recommend this condo and cannot wait to go back many times. Thanks Lorie and Brad!!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are glad you enjoyed your stay. Isn't the view of Diamond Head from the 10th floor amazing? Even more amazing is the view from the top of Diamond Head overlooking the ocean and Waikiki Beach. I just love the picture perfect view from the top.

Come and visit Waikiki again for more exciting adventures...

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Wonderful First Time Oahu Vacation!

Review submitted: October 31, 2012   Date of arrival: October 14, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here for our first Hawaii vacation! I was drawn to this studio from the pictures- the modern/artsy decor caught my eye...and it was even more beautiful in person- everything as described. This studio is in a great location, we were able to walk all over Waikiki from there and there was lots of shopping and great restaurants nearby. For exploring more distant attractions, we took the bus (very easy and convenient) and rented a car one day to drive up to the North Shore.
The studio was clean, inviting, comfortable...my boyfriend and I like to cook our own meals, and the kitchen had everything we needed to do so. We got our groceries at a market around the corner and at Safeway, which was about a mile away. Every morning, we woke up to the pleasant sounds of birds at the Honolulu Zoo (which was right across the street) and had a nice view of Diamond Head.
Lorie and Brad provided us with a lot of helpful information on activities to do, and in the studio, there were bus route guides which were helpful. Lorie was very communicative and friendly in all the arrangements before, during and after our stay. We would definitely stay here again, such a great place! Thank you so much Lorie and Brad, we can't wait for our next Hawaii vacation!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: You are very welcome. I am glad that you found everything as you expected and it is my pleasure to assist you and all our guests. It is important to us that our guests maximize their limited time in the island by providing helpful tips and information.

I hope you stay with us again on your next visit to the island.

Take care!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Fabulous place!

Review submitted: November 22, 2011   Date of arrival: November 15, 2011

Wonderful experience. The condo was super and the location even better. The condo was fully loaded with everything you need including full kitchen, snorkels, chairs and boogie boards. The 10th floor balcony was perfect for watching sunsets over Waikiki beach. Just steps out the front door was a bus stop. Great for day trips to Diamondhead and Hanuama Bay.
The condo owner sent bus schedules, things to do and very responsive to my many emails.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great Little Condo, yet Big Enough to Feel at Home

Review submitted: July 30, 2011   Date of arrival: January 10, 2011

We spent some time in this beautiful little condominium in 2010 and 2011.
Owners were great. Location is just across the Street from the beach, so we could easily walk up and down early in the morning or late at night without having to worried. The building a great security around the clock, so we always felt safe. Our friends would have to get on the bus to come to the beach, mornings and evenings. We felt really lucky, because we could plan our day without having to rely on public transportation.
Thanks Lorie and Brad
Bernadette and Joe

Owners response: Thank you, Joe and Bernadette.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay each year. Sorry I did not get a chance to meet with you in person when you were in San Francisco in June. I hope I get to meet you one of these days.

Take care and enjoy what's left of the summer!

Lorie & Brad

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Nothing but PARADISE!

Review submitted: June 7, 2011   Date of arrival: May 13, 2011

The condo was AMAZING! I met Josh out in Hawaii who is currently deployed over in Afghanistan for his 2 week R & R. Lorie was such a great help and I can't thank her enough for everything she did for us. She even knew that Josh was proposing to me out in Hawaii! :-) The condo has everything you need and so much more! The kitchen has so many appliances in it for you to cook meals and even a blender so you can make Pina Coladas (I love them)! They have an iPod Home and we listened to our iPods when cooking and getting ready for the day which we really enjoyed! I loved hearing Josh sing since I haven't seen him since October! The laundry machines on site were nice to have since we were there for 2 weeks. Plus it's nice to have when needing to wash towels especially the ones you take to the beach after you get all of the sand off of them. The view was amazing of the mountains from the condo and you could see the beach out the front door as well as enjoy the beach on the 10th floor. It was a perfect location, just a block away from the beach. Everything was convienent where we were located and the shuttle service at the Waikiki Grand Hotel is really good at picking you up when you need them. I looked all over for a condo and for someone that was flexible because we didn't have a specific date for Josh for when he would get there. Josh got there late the night before and she let us have the condo that night as well so he could get some sleep before picking me up the next day at the airport. Lori is such a great rental owner! This is definitely a nice, clean, quiet, convenient, and beautiful condo! The condo made our trip relaxing and amazing as well as everything else in Hawaii! I could go on forever about our experience in Hawaii because it was a dream come true for us and Lorie was such a big part of it! We are already talking about going back and staying in the same condo because we loved it so much! Thank you so much for everything again Lorie! We will definitely keep in touch! Hawaii was PARADISE for us! :-)

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: I am absolutely thrilled for you and Josh. I am glad to be able to help and be part of an exciting moment for you and Josh. We wish you both happiness and a lasting relationship. Good wishes on your wedding plans and new teaching career. You and Josh deserve that long awaited vacation. Hope to hear from you again someday soon.

Take care!

Lorie and Brad Leveen

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Privet, Quiet, & Clean!

Review submitted: May 26, 2011   Date of arrival: April 4, 2011

Excellent Condo! Good view of the mountains, very close to the beach. Well equipped kitchen for making a meals. Owners were very easy to work with and very friendly. Ad was spot on for description. I have recommended it to my family and would defiantly stay again when we go back! I did a lot of research for different places to stay on our honeymoon, and this condo has it all.

Thank you Lori for your hospitality and directions, very helpful!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks, Bryan

I am glad you and your wife enjoyed your honeymoon and loved our little condo. It was a pleasure to have you both. My husband and I wish you the best of the future and hope to hear from you again soon on your next visit to the island.

Take care!

Brad and Lorie

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great condo! Great location! Great Owner!

Review submitted: May 10, 2011   Date of arrival: April 29, 2011

We loved our stay in this condo! The ad was a great indicator of what the condo looks like! We actually thought it was nicer in person! The floor to ceiling full wall of windows were perfect for watching the sun come up over the mountain in the mornings! The location was great for us! At the end of the strip, it allows for less street noise and more privacy. It is less than a block away from the beach! The 10th floor deck's view is spectacular! The bed was comfortable and the full kitchen was stocked with everything we needed to make a proper meal. The owners are also great! Quick to respond and eager to share information! We would gladly stay in this condo again during our next stay in Waikiki!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you Brandon and Tiffany for a nice review.
We also appreciated all your ideas and suggestions. It was a pleasure to have you both. Take care until your next visit.......
Have a wonderful summer!

Lorie and Brad

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great Studio Steps Away from the Beach

Review submitted: April 30, 2011   Date of arrival: April 16, 2011

We had such a wonderful stay on Oahu in the condo! The studio condo at the Waikiki Grand was just perfect for us. It had everything that you would need, from beach chairs to boogie boards. It was so clean and nicely updated.

We enjoyed the location of the condo as well. It was just steps from the beach, ABC market, Starbucks and everything in downtown Waikiki. It was awesome!

Thank you to Brad and Lorie for letting us stay in their great condo! You two were so helpful and we really appreciate it!

Thanks - Jeff & Beth

Recommended for: adventure seekers, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks, Jeff and Beth.

It was a real pleasure having you stay with us. It is our goal to provide our guests the best quality of service. I am glad we meet all your expectations. We hope you visit the islands and stay with us again.

Mahalo,
Brad and Lorie

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Fabulous!!

Review submitted: April 7, 2011   Date of arrival: March 26, 2011

I have been to Hawaii several times growing up, and found this condo to be a perfect place to stay!! Being right across the street from the beach was great... We would start our morning with a run, go to the Starbucks right next to the condo, watch some beach volleyball at the beach and use the sun deck at the condo to lay out in the afternoons!! We loved that it had boogy boards, lawn chairs for the beach and a full kitchen to made food without spending a fortune!! At night we loved Lulu's and Tiki's... all within one block from the condo.

We would highly recommend this place to anyone!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you, Julie and Corey

We are glad you enjoyed your stay.
Have a fun and wonderful summer!

Lorie and Brad

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great Place!

Review submitted: June 3, 2010   Date of arrival: May 21, 2010

This is the perfect place for a couple; we enjoyed the size and proximity to everything.
The studio is clean, modern, and bright. You truly can walk to the beach in under one minute. In the mornings, the Starbucks is adjacent to the place and at night, it is easy to walk into Waikiki or up Kapahulu for dinner and or shopping.
We are looking forward to next year’s visit. I have rented many condominiums on vacations before and this place lived up to its advertisement.

The owner was friendly and handled everything with ease and expediency.

Many mahalos and alohas.

Oliver

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Ann

Review submitted: January 6, 2010   Date of arrival: January 5, 2009

“Thanks for letting us stay at your condo, we had a wonderful time. I loved the location. I will definitely recommend your unit if I know of anyone traveling to Waikiki.”

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Kim

Review submitted: January 6, 2010   Date of arrival: January 3, 2010

“We had a wonderful time in Hawaii, I had to drag my parents away. Your place was great! Very clean, great location and I would definitely recommend it to anyone. Love the art and the fun paint on the walls.”

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Casual, comfortable, convenient! Love this condo!!

Review submitted: January 5, 2010   Date of arrival: November 11, 2009

Location, location, location! If your idea of perfection is having a beach a few steps away, you'll love Lorie and Brad's "trendy condo". I love this condo so much, that I booked a 2nd trip 3 months later for my 3rd time in this building, and my 10th trip to Oahu. What I love: convenient kitchen with everything in it... soapstone counters, humongous sink (washing dishes was so easy, I never used dishwasher) a 2 burner stove, big microwave, 2 under counter fridges (not huge, but TWO of them, so everything fits. Fridges do not pump ice, but you'll find a big, free, hotel ice machine in the ultra clean laundry room downstairs.) Real bathtub with shower, nice comfy bed, TV if you want it, stereo for your tunes. 100 times more convenient and relaxing than your average Waikiki hotel room. The colors are pretty wild, maybe nothing you would want in your own home, but isn't getting away from home the whole point? The lighting at night is fantastic, everything is on dimmers. Tradewinds blow through this condo every afternoon/evening ...makes hanging out here heavenly. If you're super picky, need to be waited on, and like things ultra predictable and beige, this might not be your best choice. The pool is nothing special, but if you love to surf and ocean swim, this is def. your place. We brought two SUP surfboards, and long bike locks and secured our boards to the board storage rack by the pool (they were too big to fit in the rack, which was filled with resident's boards anyway). No guarantees on board storage... a short board will fit in your room. (Elevator can probably handle an 8 or maybe 9 foot board.) My advice: get unpacked, put on sunscreen and wheel your empty suitcase up to the super Safeway (hot 1/2 hour walk). Stock up on food and lots of bevs. This walk will get your body used to the climate (the condo has ultra powerful air conditioning if you need it). Buy LOTS of liquids, fruit, snacks... you'll be glad you did. If you're hungry, there are tables, chairs and lots of choices of ready-made food including great ahi poke from the Safeway fish department. Take a taxi back for like $6 (and TIP well so the driver will pick me and my massive groceries up too next time!). My favorite thing... take your new local friend or traveling companion up to the roof with a few chilled brews, and some pupus (snacks). Crack some chips, and hang out at a table, watching lines of waves come in. OUTSTANDING views from the roof. Hope Lorie and Brad will save a date for me!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 15 / 15

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review