reviews for: listing #51781 - Destin, Florida House rental

"LION GATE" a Bayfront Estate w/ Pool and Waterside Deck
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Bayside in Destin
  • sleeps  10
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $1,400 - $2,800 /wk

sort by:

Spring Break in Style

Review submitted: April 6, 2013   Date of arrival: March 23, 2013

A beautiful place to stay and an overall wonderful experience. We had a great week at the house. The house was equipped with everything we could possibly need as well as lots of little extras that the owner left for our use. She went out of her way to make sure that we had a wonderful stay and would want to come back. We stayed here with our two teenagers and another family who had three teenage girls. There was plenty of room for everyone. The only boy in the group loved the pool house and slept there all week. The kids enjoyed playing all the games and working puzzles that was there for our use. There are many great books to enjoy and lots of cozy places to sit and read. We asked about golf courses and the owner had a list waiting for us about all the area courses. The driveway was a great place for the kids to ride scooters. This house was equipped with many more amenities than we usually find when we rent. Henderson Beach State park is very convenient and the park passes saved us $6. per car every time we went to the beach. I cannot say enough about how nice a rental this is. We plan to come back next year.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 5

 

Vacationing at its Finest!!! Love, Love, Love!

Review submitted: October 27, 2012   Date of arrival: August 11, 2012

At first we were leary of renting a property for our one week vacation versus staying in a hotel. But, after searching high and low for a property, we sunk our claws into this place with no reservations. And we were more than pleasantly surprised when we arrived. The pictures online do not do this place justice... it is magnificent and so serene and peaceful! There were 10 of us (6 adults and 4 kids) and we all thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Lion gate is like a home away from home; it is large enough where you are not bumping into each other, yet cozy enough that you all can enjoy each other's company! I hated leaving to go out anywhere... my husband and I want the floor plans for this place! During our stay, we were either at the beach, at the harbor or in the pool! The guys were fishing on the dock for two days straight I think because it was so convenient for them. The owner has practically everything you need for your stay from beach towels to fishing equipment to all the kitchen utensils! I cannot say enough good things about this house and our stay! We are planning our trip next year and will definitely stay at Lion Gate! It was absolutely magnificent and we hated to leave! Thank you Kathy for allowing us to occupy your lovely home! We are looking forward to our next visit!

Helpful votes: 3 / 6

 

Perfect Spot for a Destin Family Vacation

Review submitted: June 24, 2012   Date of arrival: June 16, 2012

Love, love, love Lion Gate! Our family of 11 needed a large home that could accommodate our 26' boat and jet ski, and this property was perfect.

Let me start with the location. Just outside of the hustle and congestion of Hwy 98, large lot with oak trees, right on the bay. What more could you need? Using the back roads was so much nicer than getting stuck in the awful Hwy 98 traffic. Sunsets and sunrises over the bay, cool breezes, and peaceful evenings.

The house itself is amazing. Tastefully decorated but still feels very comfortable. We were all at ease immediately. Very large bedrooms with tremendous closet space. Our son inflated his queen sized air mattress in one of the closets, that's how large they are. The kitchen and bathrooms are stocked with everything you could need. Extra towels, blankets, and sheets are available. We have never stayed in a condo that was as well stocked from top to bottom as this house is. The owner sincerely wants to make your stay enjoyable. My father likes his quiet space, so the pool house worked great for him. Cute and cozy. We had friends over for dinner one night and wanted for nothing to prepare our pasta meal. The beautiful candles on the tables made the evening extra nice. Cooking burgers and hotdogs was easy because there is even charcoal provided for the grill! The pool area has lounge chairs, umbrellas, beach towels, pool toys, and sunscreen. The kids were swimming day and night. The blender from the kitchen yielded some tasty pina coladas, too!

We were needlessly worried about the water depth for our boat. It draws about 2 feet of water but we could pull it up to the dock at low tide. Other bay side house rentals couldn't accommodate our boat, but Lion Gate could! Our brother-in-law's jet ski fit easily into the lift, making it convenient to use whenever the mood struck. If you love having a private dock for your vacation, this house is for you. The kids delighted catching crab off the dock, and my husband caught redfish and trout. Need to bring our kayaks next time. In our boat, it took about 10 minutes to get to crab island. Jones Bayou boat launch is a beautiful facility and easily accessible. There was plenty of parking space at the house for our 3 trucks, mini van, jet ski trailer, and boat trailer.

In short, our family of seniors, adults, teenage boys, and toddlers all loved this house. We'll never rent a condo in Destin again as long as Lion Gate is available.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 5

 

Serenity at its finest!

Review submitted: April 18, 2012   Date of arrival: April 7, 2012

What can I say about Lion Gate? Well, the pictures definitely live up to their promise and then so much more. The view is just indescribable. Definitely worth waking up to every morning and witnessing as the sun sets every night. The furnishings are beautiful and adds to the character of the house. It definitely makes it feel very cozy and comfortable. The beds and linens compare to that of 5 star hotels. Definitely very relaxing. The kitchen is nicely stocked with all the dinnerware and appliances for just about any need. The pool was a lot of fun. Despite the cold water, which we already expected because of the time we visited, it was still difficult to get the kids to come out; me included. The chaise lounges by the waterside got a lot of use for sunbathing and just lounging around. The dock offered a lot of fun for the kids. We were able to go crabbing with the crab cages and go fishing for minnows with the nets that were found in the garage. We were able to just jump off the dock and collect hermit crabs to the kids' amusement. The dock also made it convenient to get on and off the waverunner. So much outdoor activities to do, like badminton and paddle ball, with more than ample space in which to do them. Since the house sets back quite a bit from the street, the peace and quiet of the place was not disturbed by the steady traffic. Let me also mention that the intercom system in the house was another source of amusement for the kids. The season pass for Henderson Beach was nice to have. If only we had remembered it sooner.

As for the owner, Kathleen was simply wonderful. She was quick to respond to my requests prior to our arrival and was very good at offering information that may be useful for our stay. Case in point, I had inquired about boat rentals during our stay and although she didn't have information on it, she went out of her way to canvass the area for the most reasonable rates and made recommendations based on the information she gathered. We also took in the sights at the Harbor as Kathleen had recommended and that was nice. From there we did a dolphin cruise and also went parasailing.

Just the serenity that Lion Gate offers is priceless. Definitely a consideration for us again for a relaxing vacation in the future. How do you put the feeling that this house provided into words? You simply cannot. You just have to experience it for yourself.

Thank you again for allowing us to stay and look forward to future visits at Lion Gate.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Beautiful, Awesome, everything you could want...

Review submitted: February 28, 2012   Date of arrival: February 23, 2012

This home is one of the best (if not THE best)homes we have ever rented for vacation. We actually had planned a very small, intimate wedding and although the day was gray, windy, and cooler than we hoped for, the home was so beautiful and welcoming and we didn't even notice the gray and wind. We were even lucky to get a little sunset for a few minutes during the ceremony on the back lawn overlooking the bay. This is a home - not a house you simply rent. You could not have anything you would need to ask for - everything is there - The rooms are reminiscent of a very VERY upscale hotel - beds that are so comfortable with linens that are at the top of an exclusive, select boutique line. The ad is just as it stated - adults can stay in rooms designed for adults! Two (count 'em) TWO gas fireplaces that were so fabulous to use for romance and for ambiance on the cool, grey evenings. Beautiful property - nicely maintained - especially the screened in pool. What you see in the pics is even better in reality...Rooms are huge, absolutely well-appointed, simply beautiful. There isn't anything you would need in the kitchen for whatever you would want to cook. Every imaginable appliance is there. And if you have older kids you can put them in the sleepable pool house with their own TV...they would have a mini vacation away from parents! The owner is an absolute dream to deal with - I have NEVER dealt with anyone better, nicer, or more accomodating. If you pass this home up you will be missing something special!! And there is a beautiful boat dock to dock you boat at! The bay is at your back door - the beach is probably 5 minutes away! Everything is just a few minutes away restaurant and entertainment wise but you would never know that where you are on the bay. If you have elderly or disabled people with you the downstairs bedrooms are perfect for them and the home is very quiet so if you do have small children, you can keep other areas of the hme quiet for those who like peace and quiet.... I cannot say enough about what a wonderful time we had and we will definitely be back for the warmer weather. And NO..I am not a relative of the owner or anyone else she knows...we looked at many places, beginning with beachfront homes, for several months before we both looked at each other when we came across Lion Gate and knew this was where we were going to say "I DO!" Thank you Kathleen for such a wonderful memory! And we will be back to make more memories!!!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Amazing, beautiful, fabulous.....

Review submitted: February 28, 2012   Date of arrival: February 23, 2012

This home is one of the best homes we have ever rented for vacation. We actually had planned a very small, intimate wedding and although the day was gray, windy, and cooler than we hoped for, the home was so beautiful and welcoming and we didn't even notice the gray and wind. We were even lucky to get a little sunset for a few minutes during the ceremony on the back lawn overlooking the bay. This is a home - not a house you simply rent. You could not have anything you would need to ask for - everything is there - The rooms are reminiscent of a very VERY upscale hotel - beds that are so comfortable with linens that are at the top of an exclusive, select boutique line. Two (count 'em) TWO gas fireplaces that were so fabulous to use for romance and for ambiance on the cool, grey evenings. Beautiful property - nicely maintained - especially the screened in pool. WHat you see in the pics is even better in reality...Rooms are huge, absolutely well-appointed, simply beautiful. There isn't anything you would need in the kitchen for whatever you would want to cook. Every imaginable appliance is there. And if you have older kids you can put them in the sleepable pool house with their own tv...they would have a mini vacation away from parents! The owner is an absolute dream to deal with - I have NEVER dealt with anyone better, nicer, or more accomodating. If you pass this home up you will be sorry!! And there is a beautiful boat dock to dock you boat at! I cannot say enough about what a wonderful time we had and we will definitely be back for the warmer weather. And NO..I am not a relative of the owner or anyone else she knows...we looked at many places, beginning with beachfront homes, for several months before we both looked at each other when we came across Lion Gate and knew this was where we were going to say "I DO!" Thank you Kathleen for such a wonderful memory! And we will be back to make more memories!!!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

January 7, 2011

Review submitted: January 8, 2012   Date of arrival: July 26, 2011

My family and I had the pleasure of renting this beautiful home last summer. It is a home and not just a vacation rental. We enjoyed the beautiful sunrises and sunsets each day from the pool and dock areas. It is very spacious with room to relax and entertain. We purchased fresh shrimp and had low-country boil a couple of evenings. We have teenagers and the upstairs was their haven. The house is just beautiful and we feel so fortunate to have found it.

The bedrooms are so comfortable all with tv's. You have wireless internet if you need to check work e-mails.

There is a laundy room that provides washer/dryer with iron.

The beach and restaurants are close by along with shopping. The house is located on the inlet waterway. It is a quiet neighborhood and we all enjoyed this.

The owner is one of the finest people you will ever meet. She is always concerned to make certain they you are happy and everything is taken care of.

It is just a wonderful way to spend a vacation and you do not want to leave!
So very relaxing in every way....

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you so much Ellen, you and your family took such good care of the house, it was an absolute pleasure to have you as guests. I am thrilled that you are coming back this summer and look forward to seeing you all again. Thanks again and stay warm.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Family Spring Break

Review submitted: September 27, 2011   Date of arrival: March 30, 2013

My family (husband, 16 year old daughter, 11 year old son and 3 year old daughter) stayed at Lions Gate with their Grandmother and Grandfather. The grown ups each had a more than spacious room with our own bathrooms. The kids even had two full baths to use! We had an AMAZING time. We spent alot of time at the house and really enjoyed it. We also used the beach pass 4 days and it was great! Nicest beach we had ever been too and it was never crowded! The kids loved to pool, the games, fishing off the dock and catching hermit crabs!! My husband and father-in-law spent alot of time fishing off the deck. There was plenting of fish to catch and lots of room on the dock to just sit in their chairs and relax. I really enjoyed checking out all the art work in the house! It was liking having your own personal musuem. The house was warm and inviting and Kathleen was the best!! She had left many Easter items for my kids to enjoy on our stay and they loved it! We spent many nights sitting outside and never heard anything but the water. Kathleen made sure everything was there that we would need,extra blankets in every room, lots of books both current and old, and lots of towels! There was plenty of room when everyone needed a break from eachother. We all had a space of our own. My three year old loved having "fancy" dinners in the dinning room. The kitchen had everything we need to make big meals at night. Any questions we had for Kathleen, she was quick to address. I would recommend this house to everyone. We will be back again! Thanks Kathleen for all your care and attention!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

lions gate

Review submitted: August 5, 2011   Date of arrival: July 16, 2011

We rented lions gate for ten days in july. We had a beautiful vacation. The house is not your typical rental, it is warm and inviting, very comfortable and full of beautiful art work. The bay and pool are perfect for water lovers. The bay is shallow enough that its great for floating and paddle boarding. It was nice to not have to worry about linens/towels/pool floats/beach chairs ect. The house has plenty of cookware for those who like to cook. We had our family reunion there and had plenty of room for all of our guests and kids. The rooms are very spacious. Beds are comfortable. There are plenty of bathrooms which is great(4 on the main floor - one upstairs). Any of our minor needs were immediately taken care of by the owner, she was available and pleasant. She was very concerned with making our stay pleasant. The photos do not do this home justice. I would have loved to see a photo of the kitchen - it was very large with great counter tops for cooking and serving and had a large eat in table, as well as a formal dining room. Two beautfiul fireplaces. If this house is available for rent again next year we would definitly rent again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Somehow I just saw this review now. I remember you all very well, you were wonderful guests and I want to thank you very much for your kind words.

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review