reviews for: listing #51799 - Carolina Beach, North Carolina Condo rental

Fantastic Condo Right on the Beach
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  yes
  • type  Condo
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Sea Colony
  • sleeps  5
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $99 - $135 /nt
    $450 - $850 /wk

sort by:

Great place to rest and relax!

Review submitted: January 23, 2014   Date of arrival: December 24, 2013

My family and I were able to get away for a quick Christmas vacation. The owner was very easy to work with and responded promptly to our questions. The condo was clean, well maintained and nicely furnished. Our children were happy to find the unit had wi-Fi, and cable television in the living room. It was very peaceful and quiet due to the holiday. Not wanting to cook, we were able to find a nice local restaurant open for dinner on Christmas Day! We will definitely return. I would recommend this property to others.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Good vacation turned into a stressful situation

Review submitted: October 17, 2013   Date of arrival: August 10, 2013

The location and the view are amazing.The condo was nicely decorated but the bedroom is located in the back of the unit, close to the dumpster and the garbage truck woke us up a few times.When we arrived, I put my 9 month old down to crawl around. When I looked at her, her hands and knees were black with dirt and she had a glob of someone's hair in her hand from the bedroom. I decided to vacuum and mop the entire place since it obviously wasn't before we arrived. I found more globs of hair in the bathroom and the living room and the toilet looked as if it were never cleaned (dust and hair on the top of the tank and behind the seat). The previous people left nail polish and remover on the dresser and hair clips and clothing tags were under the dresser, which the cleaning lady never discarded.I never contacted the owner because it was something I could handle. A week later I was contacted by the owner through an email explaining to me that the cleaning lady found damage done to the tv in the bedroom by what looked to be like spray paint or some kind of paint. The email also explained how the 5 over sized couch throw pillows were missing and how hard they are to replace not to mention how expensive they are. Not only did I have to read this in an email and not receive a phone call about such a distressing matter, but I was being blamed for the damage on the tv (that we never even used because it didn't provide cable tv even though in the condo description it says 36" and 42" tv with cable). Not to mention we had absolutely nothing spray like or aerosol.I was also being asked for an explanation about what I did with the 5 pillows and that she was keeping most of my deposit.I was beside myself. I am in a profession where people trust me with their lives every day. With that said,I have respect for peoples belongings as well as their properties and WOULD NEVER do such a thing. When I called the owner she didn't have time to talk to me but kept telling me she has had this specific cleaning lady for 10 years. I contacted my credit card provider and filed a dispute but 2 days later the owner contacted me and left me a message saying the pillows were found on the patio AFTER another family had stayed there an entire week.Never did I receive an apology from her but I was now being told I placed the pillows on the patio for whatever reason and whatever I sprayed the tv with was removable. Complete unnecessary stress and not to mention, ridiculous situation.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great Place!

Review submitted: September 20, 2013   Date of arrival: September 12, 2013

This was a great place to stay! Very clean and comfortable. Very close to pier and restaurants. Owner was very helpful and polite. We had a great time and would definately stay here again!

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

an unexpected delight!

Review submitted: July 8, 2013   Date of arrival: June 26, 2013

My wife and i were meeting with about 30 of our friends at the end of June for a beach vacation. We realized we needed some time together due to our schedules and hectic life before launching into a 'vacation" with our friends. We found this place online and the owner allowed us to rent by night. It was perfect - not just the dates, but the comfort, location and view. What an incredible surprise for us - thanks for helping us prepare for our time at the beach with our friends.

Recommended for: romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Awesome Anniversary Trip

Review submitted: May 17, 2013   Date of arrival: May 4, 2013

My wife and I decided to visit the beaches of North Carolina for our 25th anniversary trip. We could not have found a better place to stay. The accomodations were top notch and the area was beautiful. My wife said it was the best trip she had EVER taken.

The pictures only give a small sample of how nice this place actually is. Both the interior of the condo and the surrounding area. The owner was very helpful and kind, even with a couple changes I had to make.

I would highly recommend this as a great place to stay.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect Family Vaction

Review submitted: August 21, 2012   Date of arrival: August 11, 2012

What a wonderful week I shared with my kids & grandchildren! The condo was set up exactly as it had been described on line, Plus all the extra items that were avaliable for our use in the storage facility for our daily visits to the beach or secured swimming pool. The Condo was very clean and well furnished, the kids were right at home and easily settled into a nightly routine as if we were home. Rhonda (landlord) was very polite and readily available to answer any questions we had. I would recommend this property to everyone, of all ages. It was very secure & family oriented. Conveinently located to local shops, Fishing Pier, Seafood Restaraunts, Aquarium, ect..We almost even had our vehicle towed due to our forgetting to place our dashboard security parking pass! lol. My daughter and I were already discussing plans for next year before we even returned home. It was such a relaxing atmosphere to be sitting on the private deck each morning to watch the sunrise, the morning joggers and individuals with their dogs walking and collecting seashells on the beach and the greatest thrill was the morning the whole family enjoyed watching a pod of at least 18 dolphins jump into the air and swim up the Coast as they were feeding! The kids were so excited, What lifetime memories were made from that! We look forward to returning to Carolina Beach and Sea Colony in the near future for another great family vacation.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Best Vacation in 14 Years

Review submitted: August 14, 2012   Date of arrival: August 4, 2012

We had a great time! We've been enjoying summer vacations at the NC beaches for the past 14 years and this condo was by far the best. We greatly appreciated the cleanliness, beautiful decorations, and the very well stocked kitchen. We certainly hope to return for another visit in 2013

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Best Beach Vacation in 14 Years

Review submitted: August 14, 2012   Date of arrival: August 4, 2012

We had a great time! We've been enjoying summer vacations at the Carolina beaches for the past 14 years and this condo was by far the best. We greatly appreciated the cleanliness, beautiful decorations, and the very well stocked kitchen. We certainly hope to return for another visit in 2013.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Vacation

Review submitted: July 22, 2012   Date of arrival: July 14, 2012

Had a wonderful stay at the beach. Nice clean condo. Everything was described well. Very close to the beach and other shops. Grocery store was within minutes along with a Ace hardware. The beach was not crowded and there is a restaurant on the beach that has good food and live music. I recommend anyone that's looking for a nice quiet vacation to check this out.

Recommended for: age 55+, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Couldn't have asked for more

Review submitted: December 16, 2011   Date of arrival: November 1, 2011

After spending literally months searching for a place to stay in Carolina Beach for 2 months, I chose this condo because of it's location, the look of the inside & the square footage. For the money, you can't beat it. I looked at several other places that were smaller & charged more money & weren't as nicely decorated. This place was everything that I could have imagined & more. I LOVED watching the dolphins feeding & playing in the surf everyday. I would highly recommend this unit to everyone. The owner is extremely accomodating, patient & understanding. I was very sad to leave.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Couldn't have asked for more

Review submitted: December 16, 2011   Date of arrival: November 1, 2011

After spending literally months searching for a place to stay in Carolina Beach for 2 months, I chose this condo because of it's location, the look of the inside & the square footage. For the money, you can't beat it. I looked at several other places that were smaller & charged more money & weren't as nicely decorated. This place was everything that I could have imagined & more. I LOVED watching the dolphins feeding & playing in the surf everyday. I would highly recommend this unit to everyone. The owner is extremely accomodating, patient & understanding. I was very sad to leave.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Wonderful place to stay, home away from home

Review submitted: September 20, 2011   Date of arrival: September 9, 2011

My girlfriend and I hated to leave the Condo and come back home. The Condo looks out to Ocean, it is ideally situated in Carolina Beach. You have private access right to the beach. The owners communicate with you about the rates, what you will want to bring, how to get the keys, etc.

I cannot say enough good things about our stay only that we will be booking this Condo again either next year or the year after, but we are definitely staying here when we come back to Carolina Beach.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Great View!!!!!!

Review submitted: August 14, 2011   Date of arrival: August 6, 2011

Great place for rest and relaxation. My husband and myself so enjoyed our stay at this great oceanview condo. We enjoyed having our early morning (6:30a.m.) coffee on the deck and watching as the sun rose in the sky ~ takes your breath away! So wonderful to have the sight and sound of the ocean right in front of you. Had great weather.
Lots of restaurants to choose and eat at, but the best food was at the "little" Shucking Shack a little ways up the road. Ate there twice and they have the best fish 'n chips outside of England.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

wonderful location!

Review submitted: July 25, 2011   Date of arrival: July 9, 2011

Just wanted to tell you what a wonderful time we had at your condo! We loved the place, the way you had it decorated and how close it was to everything. We had some friends come over one night and they were very impressed with the condo. I know we would love to rent it again sometime. I will recommend your place to all my friends who are looking for a one-bedroom condo at CB!

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Relaxing

Review submitted: July 10, 2011   Date of arrival: June 25, 2011

My sister and I had a very relaxing time in Carolina Beach. We each had our own bed, which were both comfortable. What we liked was getting up and walking from the condo to Kure Beach pier, which is exactly 3 miles round trip. Watching the pelicans dive for food was very entertaining while we walked. Shopping is a must for both of us, and going to Southport and some of the shops in Carolina Beach provided us our "fix". There is a lot more to do than shopping, however. There are plenty of walter sports, hiking, museums and more. We were surprised at how well equiped the kitchen was, and how we ate a lot more in the condo than out. That wasn't in the plans, but it was just nice to sit on the deck and watch the waves roll in. When we got there we left "life" on hold and just relaxed.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Exceeded our expectations. Great place!!!

Review submitted: May 24, 2011   Date of arrival: May 7, 2011

I cannot say enough great things about this Condo and its location. My husband and I have rented many places over the years, but we have to say this was absolutely the best. The Condo was spotlessly clean, very modern and tastefully furnished. It is even nicer that the photo's show. The location is great, only steps from the beach. The view from the balcony is wonderful. Even at night watching the moon glistening on the ocean was beautiful. The Condo has every modern appliance you may need. On this visit, it was only my husband and I. But there is plenty of space and could comfortably fit 5 people and not feel crowded. Plenty of restaurants and shops closeby. Great parking spot under Condo, keeps the car shaded and keeps it cool.
We will definately visit again and would recommend this place to our family and friends.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

We love this place and will be back

Review submitted: January 31, 2011   Date of arrival: January 28, 2011

My 6 year old son and I decided to take a beach weekend. I did a lot of looking around online before settling on this adorable 1 bedroom condo with an amazing deck and view, just steps to the beach. It was recently renovated and is beautiful with very tasteful furnishings and fixtures. The owner is accommodating and wonderful to work with. We can't WAIT to go back. A true gem but easy on the wallet.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Excellent Condo

Review submitted: November 9, 2010   Date of arrival: September 10, 2010

This place was wonderful. It was very clean and had a well-equipped kitchen. The view of the ocean was great, along with the easy access to the beach. My wife and I were very happy with this rental and would definitely stay here again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great condo!!

Review submitted: October 7, 2010   Date of arrival: September 25, 2010

The condo was exactly as pictured. We had a wonderful time, wish we
could have stayed longer!!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great, relaxing place

Review submitted: September 30, 2010   Date of arrival: September 18, 2010

The room was very nice and relaxing, the view of the ocean was wonderful and it was nice being able to just sit out on the balcony and enjoy it. It's within walking distance of a great breakfast place (Granny's Country Kitchen) and a nice grill/bar (Ocean Grill/Tiki Bar). Within very short driving distance to many other places.

The condo was clean, the furniture was nice and it was described very accurately.

The only complaint would be the internet, the speed was very slow except for late at night, and while I didnt go on vacation to browse the internet, I do need to use it occasionally and it was very slow. This wasnt enough to negatively impact my stay though, just an observation. It is functional enough to use.

Recommended for: sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great, relaxing place

Review submitted: September 30, 2010   Date of arrival: September 18, 2010

The room was very nice and relaxing, the view of the ocean was wonderful and it was nice being able to just sit out on the balcony and enjoy it. It's within walking distance of a great breakfast place (Granny's Country Kitchen) and a nice grill/bar (Ocean Grill/Tiki Bar). Within very short driving distance to many other places.

The condo was clean, the furniture was nice and it was described very accurately.

The only complaint would be the internet, the speed was very slow except for late at night, and while I didnt go on vacation to browse the internet, I do need to use it occasionally and it was very slow. This wasnt enough to negatively impact my stay though, just an observation. It is functional enough to use.

Recommended for: sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Not your typical NC beach condo

Review submitted: August 23, 2010   Date of arrival: August 18, 2010

This was our 2nd stay at this fabulously decorated and furnished end-unit condo. My family loves all of the amenities of the unit along with the pool, covered parking, serene views, and convenience to area activities. The place is always extra clean and has everything we could ever need. It is obvious that the owner takes pride in the appearance and goes the extra mile to ensure that all of the creature comforts are there for our enjoyment and relaxation. We look forward to our next stay here and highly recommend this condo for anyone interested in a N.C. beach getaway. Thanks!!!!

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Perfect Get-A-Way!!!

Review submitted: June 29, 2010   Date of arrival: June 19, 2010

This was our second year in a row to stay in Carolina Beach at this condo and we loved this trip just as much as we loved our trip last year. The condo is wonderful, the owners are fantastic and Carolina Beach is the perfect get-a-way for a family. From the free movie in the park, to kid’s night, to the free concert and fireworks there is so much to do you will wish you stayed two weeks! The condo is warm and inviting and the pool on the property is perfect. You can't beat sitting on the porch swing and listening to the waves at night. I have been recommending this trip to all of my family and friends. Try Granny's Breakfast across the street, we would suggest the Shrimp Omelet. The aquarium is close and is a fun rainy day activity and the boardwalk is great (we love the Island Ice Factory). It is impossible to put into this small paragraph what all we loved about our trip, but we can definitely say we will be going back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

One of the best places I've stayed at.

Review submitted: June 11, 2010   Date of arrival: May 27, 2010

The pictures on this website gave the condo no justice. The condo was far better then I could have ever imagined it would be. It was very clean, and gave off a relaxing vibe with the decor. The pool area and all the walkways were very clean. I enjoyed waking up in the morning and looking out at the amazing views of the beach. What I enjoyed most was the private access to the beach and parking space tucked under the condo. I enjoyed the condo so much I will be returning again next year. Also, the owner was very quick to respond to all question, and was very professional.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Fantastic Condo!

Review submitted: May 27, 2010   Date of arrival: May 15, 2010

This was a wonderful place to stay. The owner's description of the condo was very accurate. The place was clean, and nicely decorated. The pool and grounds were kept up well, and the private access to the beach gave us a spot in the sand to ourselves. It was also nice to have a close shady parking space directly under the condo. The owner was quick to answer any questions and very easy to deal with. We will definitely stay here again!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review