reviews for: listing #51858 - Seattle, Washington House rental

Stunning Oceanfront Beach Home
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Magnolia
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $290 - $450 /nt
    $2,030 - $2,900 /wk

sort by:

Wonderful Vacation Rental

Review submitted: May 18, 2014   Date of arrival: May 7, 2014

We just returned home after a ten day stay at the West Galer Beach House. The beach house lived up to all our expectations. The house is located right on the shore very near the Elliot Bay Marina. The lower patio is directly on the waters edge at high tide and, at low tide, offers wonderful walks on the beach. The home itself is older and shows its age, but nonetheless very comfortable and welcoming. All of the appliances worked great (washer/dryer, dishwasher, heaters, oven, etc) and made our stay much easier than staying in a hotel. The house is pre-stocked with many things you might need on a vacation, but don't think to pack (like a hair dryer and even a lint roller!). The stairs into the home and down to the beach are a bit steep, but well worth the journey. We had no need to contact the owner or rental service while we were there as we had no problems at all, but our experience with Mary during the rental process tells us that we would have received immediate help if any problem had arisen. We would definitely consider staying here again in the future.
Special thanks to Mary for her personal attention and responsiveness throughout the rental process.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Thanksgiving with our daughter. AWESOME HOME TO SHARE FAMILY

Review submitted: December 20, 2013   Date of arrival: November 27, 2013

We had the opportunity to spend 5 days in this fabulous home during the Thanksgiving Holiday. Our daughter and her husband shared the home with us. It is a great home to share family and good times. After reading some of the earlier reviews, we were very skeptical. So, I contacted Mary, who manages the property. She was very forthright and honest. She was extremely helpful in answering all my concerns. After our conversation it became clear that there had been a series of circumstances that was out of their control that had occurred. We found that the owners had addressed every one of the problems. We found the home in excellent condition, very clean and extremely well equipped. It was a true pleasure to stay in this home. The location right on the Sound is beyond awesome. The view of the Olympics across the Sound on a clear day was spectacular. The home has a great room with a great woodburning fireplace. The home has the feel of a very cozy beach cottage. Mary was extremely helpful during the entire process. She went out of her way to make sure our stay was comfortable. We can't wait to visit our daughter again in Seattle so we can again stay in this wonderful home. You will love it if you stay here.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Medical School Graduation experience excellent

Review submitted: September 5, 2013   Date of arrival: June 21, 2013

Even with some of the challenges this property has, tough access, weeping lower bath wall, no parking the home is in a fantastic location. Right on the water, you cannot beat the wow factor upon entering. We celebrated our daughters recent graduation from medical school here with some extended family in for the occassion. We were able to gather all intimately without the hassle of restaurant reservations and traffic. Everyone had a great time. The kitchen was well equipped and we were grateful for the success of our stay. I know we made unforgettable memories here! We don't sweat the small stuff! :-)

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Serious problems with rental - read entire review

Review submitted: July 31, 2013   Date of arrival: July 20, 2013

The downstairs bathroom has water leaking into it from an outside source. Some days it is bad enough that it threatens to flood the adjacent two bedrooms. The owner is fully aware of the problem, and has placed a wet vac nearby for renter use. Of course, the owner did not warn us of this problem in advance... As a result of the water issue, the entire lower level smells bad, and the bathroom is unusable.

In addition, we had the luxury of an increasingly bad odor on the upper floor. Eventually we found the mouse corpse. There is a broken cat door which has a cat-sized permanent hole and may have been responsible for rodent access.

The house is in a beautiful location and is comfortably furnished, so I managed to give it two stars despite all of the deficits. I will not rent from this owner again because he was not honest enough to warn us about the problem. The adjacent property and the parking area for both properties appear to have been recently hit by a landslide, so there are additional concerns.

I have used vrbo to rent vacation properties in three other states on many occasions. This is the first time I have had problems.

Owners response: The northside of the bathroom has a masonry wall. Behind that wall is a pump system that was recently replaced. However, some water is still penetrating around the base of the toilet and shower stall. My contractor is working on a permanent solution.

We identified that a rodent was in the house and set several traps and it was caught.

Last winter, a large tree fell from the city park across the street into the carport and parking area, bringing with it a great deal of mud. The tree and mud have been removed.

If you have any additional questions or concerns, please call owner Bill Moorman at, 206.919.2191

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Deeply disappointed with the house and management

Review submitted: January 18, 2013   Date of arrival: November 18, 2012

We were extremely excited about renting this house for a family Thanksgiving reunion. However our expectations quickly deflated after arriving. Even more frustrating was the property manager's dismissive and condescending attitude when we tried to request an appropriate refund for the laundry list of issues we dealt with during our stay.

The house does have great views but is older and needs some serious repairs. I would not recommend this house. It's definitely NOT worth the rental price.

The following is a list of the deficiencies we found while staying at the rental:

1. Small baggie of marijuana was found by my two-year old daughter in the centerpiece on the dining room table.
2. Leaking water in downstairs bathroom (filled half the bathroom with approximately 2" of standing water making the toilet unusable). Also resulted in a musty smell in the downstairs area.
3. Unshielded heating air vents at the base of the wall that became so hot they caused 2nd degree burns on the hand of my 9-month old nephew when he touched one. The episode resulted in an ER visit.
4. Stained and filthy carpet
5. No lights along the outdoor stairway leading down to the house
6. Dead bugs caked all over the exterior of the front door
7. Damp clothes in the washer upon arrival
8. Damp clothes in the dryer upon arrival
9. Inadequate number of towels for the house and kitchen
10. Inadequate hot water. Only one person at a time was able to take a shower with warm water.

Helpful votes: 29 / 29

 

Traveling again!!

Review submitted: November 16, 2011   Date of arrival: November 10, 2011

My in-laws don't like to travel and rarely leave their hometown in Colorado. I convinced them to try this beautiful home in Seattle right on the Sound. Before the trip was over they asked me to bring them back again, a HUGE accomplishment. The house was perfect, beautiful and comfortable. We had everything we needed and the owner was very helpful in getting us familiar with the area. The fireplaces on the patio and in the family were used every night and it felt like home away from home. Thank you!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Perfect, beautiful, and cozy!

Review submitted: April 11, 2011   Date of arrival: April 1, 2011

My husband just retired from the military after 22 years of service. We had traveled but never taken a real family vacation. Washington is my home state and I wanted to show our kids the other side of Washington. We looked into hotels, bit with a family our size (6kids ranging from 1-18) staying at a hotel didn't fit our needs. This house fit us perfectly and then some! We loved the views, the comfort of the house, and the proximity to downtown. Driving in and out of downtown was easy! We were able to see everything we planned and more! We even had time to just relax. The TV was only used once and that says TONS with our kids. They loved the beach when the tides were out, watching the boats, and they even got to watch the coastguard practice a water rescue!! The manager and owner were wonderful, professional, accomodating, helpful, and great to work with! The house is comfortable and cozy. The amenities were great and we can't wait to come back! Our kids rated this spring break the best ever! Thank you for helping us give this trip to our kids! I am running out if space or I would go in and in! We LOVED this house and would definitely do business with them again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Fantastic beach house!

Review submitted: March 30, 2011   Date of arrival: March 9, 2011

We stayed at the beach house with our 4 kids (ages 7 - 10) for spring break and it was exceptional! The house was exactly as it was advertised and the pictures don't do it justice. We arrived very late at night and everything was ready and waiting for us. The owners were very responsive and provided good information on local activities. I'm a runner and found the little "village" of Magnolia a great place to run. We also enjoyed the easy access to great local restaurants and downtown Seattle. I've recommended this house to several of our friends who visit Seattle regularly and the kids insist that we stay there again next time.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great location

Review submitted: February 1, 2011   Date of arrival: January 18, 2010

Our stay at this home was pleasant and everything was as advertised. The home was very clean and at a good location to get most places we visited in Seattle. Parking was provided for one car with room for more down the hill nearby. The view of Elliot Bay off the lanai was spectacular with one day of sunny weather in January we saw the Olympic and North Cascade range and Mt. Rainier. The living, dining and bedrooms were comfortable. The kitchen was smallish but well supplied and totally adequate for our needs. Took several walks on the small beach and saw many starfish and other sea creatures at low tide at nighttime. Overall, an extremely nice vacation rental home, especially for families. Our 8 year old especially loved it.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Wonderful Thanksgiving on the Sound.

Review submitted: January 4, 2011   Date of arrival: November 17, 2010

We stayed for a week over Thanksgiving. This is a wonderful home. Beautiful inside and out. One entire side of the home faces the Sound. The first morning I woke up here it was the most breathtaking sunrise right from the bed. The house is very comfortable and has everything you need. There were even a number of condiments and coffee left behind by previous tenants. My only suggestion is to provide some other activities, ie books, movies, and board games. Also personally, I would replace at least one of the mattresses as I prefer a firmer bed, but we just swapped them around. Overall, we all LOVED this house and we were very comfortable. We had the fireplace going nightly and again the views were just breathtaking. It was wonderful just sitting and watching the boats coming and going in the Sound and the gulls waiting to be fed. The patio is very nice too, we just didn't get to use it due to weather.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Stunning view

Review submitted: December 22, 2010   Date of arrival: December 1, 2010

Wow, we loved this house...beautiful views, large indoor and outdoor gathering space for large family, comfortable beds, large dining table...we had a great vacation and had no trouble relaxing in this home.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great Place for Our Reunion!

Review submitted: December 5, 2010   Date of arrival: October 22, 2010

I met three girl friends at this lovely home in October 2010. We were old high school friends (from the 60's) and decided to get together for a weekend. What a wonderful ambiance to set by the fire on a rainy Seattle day and catch up on many years of activities since we had seen each other. The house was hard to find for all of us (I was in a cab and even the cab driver had trouble). However, once there we had a laugh about it and it worked out great for the rest of the weekend.

What a beautiful setting - we so enjoyed being right on the water and watching the ferries and sailboats go by. It wasn't warm enough to sit on the deck, but the windows surrounding the living room make you feel like you're right outside! We loved the village of Magnolia and enjoyed the unique shops and restaurants there - so much easier than driving into Seattle city, especially after dark!

The downstairs bedrooms and bathrooms were spacious but seemed musty or damp as if there'd been water in the downstairs level at some point. With the proximity to the water when the tide was in, it wouldn't have surprised us at all and we were still very comfortable staying down there.

This would be a great place to bring young children in the summer time to play on the beach and in the water - you wouldn't need to drive anywhere!

All in all a great place to stay!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Great view and location

Review submitted: October 25, 2010   Date of arrival: October 17, 2010

We had a fantastic visit to Seattle staying at this house. The view was incredible and we enjoyed watching all the action on the Puget Sound. The beds were warm and comfortable and the internet service was great. It was convenient to downtown and we made many trips in and out. We also liked the Magnolia area itself. There were 3 couples and we all felt like we had our space. Would love to rent it again.

Recommended for: girls getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review