reviews for: listing #51859 - Seattle, Washington House rental

Romantic Ocean Beachfront Bungalow!
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Magnolia
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $228 - $275 /nt
    $1,330 - $1,900 /wk

sort by:

"WOW"

Review submitted: February 1, 2014   Date of arrival: November 29, 2013

Dear Bill & Mary, both myself and my wife Kim want to thank you for letting us rent out your cottage in November of 2013. We had a wonderful stay, and WOW! what a location. I'm not sure why the person(s) from Portland would only give you 1 star? I can only assume "They just didn't get it" here they are, in what I assume to be a multi-million dollar location, with spectacular west facing views, including Mount Rainier, the Olympic mountains, Elliot bay marina, and even a view of the city, what more could you ask for:-) The cottage is small, but enough for 2 adults, and two children, even for adults if you are up for the adventure. The cottage was (in my mind) well equipped, very clean, and had all we needed. We did have a couple of small issues, I contacted Mary, she took care of them immediately. We would highly recommend staying hear, not the Ritz, but great location, and very cosy. FYI: We booked the house next door for the whole month of January 2014, that's how impressed we are.
Thanks again Bill, and Mary, we will be back. Best regards. Peter & Kim

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great vacation spot!

Review submitted: July 23, 2012   Date of arrival: July 3, 2012

My husband and I spent a beautiful week at the bungalow. Everything was as described. Clean and well equipped. Waking up to a view of the Olympics and Mt. Rainier was awesome! Bed was very comfortable, too. Only glitch was getting on the internet- later found if you located yourself near the kitchen, we found the connection worked much better. Close to downtown Seattle, but far enough away to enjoy the quiet. Loved falling asleep to the sound of the waves. Highly recommend!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Fabulous.

Review submitted: June 20, 2011   Date of arrival: June 4, 2011

We had a wonderful time in this bungalow. It is small but has everything you need. The kitchen was well set up. Our 8 and 9 year old had a fun time in their "clubhouse", the loft. The views were breathtaking and right out the windows. We loved hearing the ocean and being right on the beach. We spent hours during low tide finding sea life and exploring. We actually hardly made it into Seattle to do touristy things as we really just enjoyed the quiet and serenity where we were staying. There are some great restaurants within easy walking distance and a grocery store within a 3 minute drive. The owners were very kind and helpful. I would highly recommend this property and we hope to go back soon.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Amazing, Relaxing Beach Getaway!

Review submitted: May 25, 2011   Date of arrival: May 12, 2011

We recently stayed at the Beach Bungalow and we loved the property. It has an amazing view of the Puget Sound directly in front and you can hear the waves lapping at night, and a view of Mt. Rainier to the left (on clear days) and the Cascade Mountains to the right. We saw sea lions (we think) and a lot of gorgeous sail boats and even huge container ships. We loved the fire pit and the wood laid out for our use. Our friends who lived in Seatlle kept saying - I can't believe this spot is in Seattle. We were very close to the city, which was great.

There was construction of a studio apartment being added behind this property which was a little less than ideal and we had issues with the wireless, but the workers and the owner were wonderful about making sure they weren't too loud on the construction and they tried to help us with the wireless - so that was great as well.

Oh and one other review mentioned there was no heat, but it was cold when we were there at night and they had about six space heaters for our use. We used one and it heated the whole room - it was never an issue. I know I had worried about that once I read it, but now that I stayed I would never be concerned about it.

Overall we thought this was a fantastic little spot and we plan to come back for sure. Thanks so much for a lovely vacation!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: We really appreciate the detailed and well thought out review. Yes, we are under construction with a beach studio on the property. We should be finished with construction in a couple weeks. The contractor is very aware that our guests come first. While the contractor is on site, he is going to install a heating system in the bungalow and we will remove all space heaters.

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

4 nights on Puget Sound

Review submitted: March 15, 2011   Date of arrival: March 5, 2011

This is a wonderful place, close to the city, but wonderfully peaceful. The photos in the description are very accurate and the house was spotlessly clean when we arrived. It is VERY well equipped. with linens, paper products, dish soap, dishwasher detergent, hand soap, basic seasonings, a complete laundry facility with detergent, spot remover, dryer sheets, etc, a fantastic barbeque, and a fire pit on the downstairs patio. The furniture was comfortable and the bed was divine. The only thing we missed is there are no reading lights in the living room or next to the bed. The overhead lights in the living area did not serve this purpose, so the only place reading was possible at night was the bedroom with the overhead lights on. The owner was very helpful and tried hard to resolve the internet issues, but we were never able to access the wifi which is located in the house next door. They though it was my computer, but I had my tec person check it when I got home and he said it was working fine. I had no trouble using it in the King Street Station on the way home, even though the link was the Sounder train 100 yards from where I sat. We never had difficulties driving to or from downtown or to the zoo, our favorite spot in Seattle. We cooked local seafood for ourselves in the well equipped kitchen and ate only 2 meals out. The local Albertson's store was friendly and helpful and we discovered that the best place to buy fresh seafood is at the Uwijimaya in the International district. They had live dungeness crabs for 4.99 per pound, 1/2 the price of pre-cooked crabs at Pike Place Market and twice as good.The market is also a great place for shopping for souvenirs and trinkets for kids.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great Private Getaway

Review submitted: February 25, 2011   Date of arrival: February 18, 2011

I rented this beach cottage for a romantic getaway for my boyfriends birthday and it was a great success. We really enjoyed the privacy, location, scenic views and cleanliness of the cottage. The cottage comes with everything to make your stay comfortable and convenient. We will definitely be coming back! It was so cute and romantic! The only inconvenience or slight problem we encountered was securing an internet connection..for some reason it kept disconnecting, but other than that it was truly a lovely getaway!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Great Private Getaway

Review submitted: February 25, 2011   Date of arrival: February 18, 2011

I rented this beach cottage for a romantic getaway for my boyfriends birthday and it was a great success. We really enjoyed the privacy, location, scenic views and cleanliness of the cottage. The cottage comes with everything to make your stay comfortable and convenient. We will definitely be coming back! It was so cute and romantic! The only inconvenience or slight problem we encountered was securing an internet connection..for some reason it kept disconnecting, but other than that it was truly a lovely getaway!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Misleading information

Review submitted: December 4, 2010   Date of arrival: November 24, 2010

Photos of this property are misleading--it is tiny in all areas except the bedroom. Kitchen tiny and ill-equipped(even though we checked regarding this since we were planning Thanksgiving dinner), bathroom tiny, steep steps down to the property that are not mentioned, space heaters only source of heat(also not mentioned) and it was freezing inside. When it says 4 people then 2 better be very small children as the loft is tiny also. Unable to watch TV without getting a neck strain. We were unable to get in when we arrived because the property had not been cleaned even though we had gotten permission for an early check in. We were unable to stay here--too many things wrong with the property that we were not prepared for and we would not recommend this place to anyone.

Owners response: Please don't read too much into Mallory's review. The property is exactly how we advertise it... the home is 950 sq ft and not conducive to entertaining for the holidays (unless its summer, where there are many outdoor entertaining spaces). Mallory forgot to mention that we offered up our own home in Queen Anne where her and her party had Thanksgiving dinner. The day prior to her check in, Seattle had record breaking snowfall and our cleaning crew couldn't drive to the home. We scrambled to find a local gal who was just finishing up when Mallory arrived.

We have many returning guests who book every year. The beach bungalow is an awesome hotel alternative and if you need more space for holiday dinners, rent our 3 bedroom beach house next door: VRBO.com/207969.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

WONDERFULLY RELAXING!!!!!

Review submitted: November 18, 2010   Date of arrival: October 28, 2010

Only my husband, myself & Puget Sound!!!! This was a wonderful vacation home!! We drove into the city for shopping, eating & sightseeing, then found refuge as we returned to a beautiful & cozy home on the water! Sat outside in the chilly weather, lit a fire and melted away. Listening to the waves crash as we fell asleep didnt hurt either!;) You will not be disappointed!!!!! Thank you!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Amazing Location!!

Review submitted: October 24, 2010   Date of arrival: September 29, 2010

This location was absolutely perfect! The home is so amazingly close to the water, unlike many homes in the immediate area. We were minutes to downtown, yet felt like we had our own private hideaway. It is truly a perfect location for a romantic getaway. I would stay here again in a heartbeat. Thank you.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We're so glad you liked the home. Cheers!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review