reviews for: listing #51863 - Key Largo, Florida Apartment rental

Beach, Canoeing
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  no
  • type  Apartment
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Harry Harris Park
  • sleeps  1
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $1 - $1 /nt
    $1 - $1 /wk
    $1 - $1 /mth

sort by:

Awesome!!! Dont pass this chance up!

Review submitted: August 14, 2013   Date of arrival: July 28, 2013

This is the most amazing hideaway you could ever find!! Tom & Carol are just amazing as well!! We had the most incredible host/hostess you could ever ask for and the apartment was spot on!! We stayed 7 days and had the most incredible time on the water, motorcycles, going out to eat, or just hanging out up on the tiki bar!! Toms amazing as a captain on the boat and in the water! he makes you feel very safe when aboard. Great instructor as to how to dive as well!! The fish you'll will see him bring up are "out of this world", and he makes it look so easy!! Carol is the most unique, genuine, down to earth person you'd ever want to meet as well!! Truly enjoyed our time there!! We will definitely return SOON!!..DONT PASS THIS UP!!!!!!!!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: Hello Joe & Marie, We had a great time with you also. Looksing forward to your return. If we can find the time we will also like to visit you.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Tom and Carols

Review submitted: April 26, 2013   Date of arrival: April 14, 2013

Description of studio apartment was precise, very clean, tidy and well appointed.
Tom and Carol proved to be the best of hosts creating a very relaxed enjoyable atmosphere and sociable all the time. Loads to do locally and Key West only a couple of hours away and easy driving conditions for a Brit. The diving experience is a must, an exhilarating experience and so, so, much fun. The way Tom catches the fish is amazing. Would crew for you anytime Tom...!
Thanks for a fantastic vacation home and so many fond lingering memories.

John and Denise

PS Hopefully we will be making another booking soon

Owners response: We love having people like you around. Always looking for a good time and open to what we have to offer. We hope to see you again.

Tom & Carol

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

great vacation rental

Review submitted: February 24, 2013   Date of arrival: February 12, 2013

We just returned from our trip and had a wonderful time. The apartment facilities and location were perfect. The area is quiet with a beautiful beach very near. There were lots of restaurants and things to do. Tom and Carol did a great deal to make our stay enjoyable. Tom also was a patient and knowledgeable snuba teacher.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

great vacation rental

Review submitted: February 24, 2013   Date of arrival: February 12, 2013

We just returned from our trip and had a wonderful time. The apartment facilities and location were perfect. The area is quiet with a beautiful beach very near. There were lots of restaurants and things to do. Tom and Carol did a great deal to make our stay enjoyable. Tom also was a patient and knowledgeable snuba teacher.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Weekend get away

Review submitted: May 21, 2012   Date of arrival: May 19, 2012

This is a little slice of paradise that Tom & Carol find joy in sharing with those that just like to kick back and enjoy life. How can you tell? for starters their hospitality it is genuinely kind and they make you feel right at home. One of the first things Carol said was " just make your self at home" and we did. Our studio room was neat,clean and well equipped with all the the things you'd need even free WiFi. From the tropical land scape to the suspension bridge to the other building, ya gotta try it! it was cool. There is also a nice Indian river canoe available ( at no charge) that we used and paddle through the mangrove creek outlet from Dove cove, it was awesome!!! gotta try it. Oh! if you go with your wife it will test your marriage it's fun try it out. The highlight of our stay with Tom & Carol was the boat trip with Tom to Pickle reef. If you like snorkeling don't pass it up it is a 10+ to see Tom in action doing what he's been doing for years(catching fish by free hand was a treat) Oh! and not to mention Tom is a good teacher and is very patient if your new diving or snorkeling, My wife stated to me later that Tom made her fell very comfortable being out on the water.If you want to kick back and unplug and create some good unforgettable memorys stay at Tom & Carols.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Owners response: We had a great time. It was a perfect day. The water was crystal clear amd calm.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Place

Review submitted: April 3, 2012   Date of arrival: March 24, 2012

My wife and I stayed in Tom & Carol's studio for a week and it was perfect for our needs.

They were both wonderful host' and we enjoyed staying at their home very much.

we had a chance to take the canoe out one afternoon which was very nice, we walked over to the park one day and enjoyed the beach area, went up and had a couple drinks at the roof top Tiki bar one evening and best of all went out on a dive trip with Tom the next morning after we arrived - It was an experience like we've never had before & was really quite amazing!

This is an ideal rental unit for all types of travelers and if you have large parties they also have a two bedroom unit available. We highly recommend this property for it privacy, quiet neighborhood and it also makes a great base camp dues to it's close proximity to everything.

When you go you should definitely stop at the Sunrise market nearby for a Cafe Con Leche to start your day, have breakfast on the beach @ Morada Bay (very reasonable) and at least one dinner at Islamorada Shrimp Shack (we had four & a lunch here it was so good).

Thanks!
Mike & Terri Waterford MI

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We feel we have a great place here and a good location. There's lots to do even if the wind in blowing and we can't get out on the boat. We try to spend a little time with all our guest and treat them like friends and not just visitors.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

From a French Family

Review submitted: December 23, 2011   Date of arrival: August 28, 2010

Dear Tom
We spent a very nice time in your house and we really appreciated.
Your collection of fish is amazing and diving was a great experience for us as it was the first time!
Thanks From Lyon in France

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Sharing what I love with my family

Review submitted: December 23, 2011   Date of arrival: November 29, 2010

Tom & Carol
Thank You so much for everything, especially for the boat ride / diving. It really was a joy for me to finally share something I love with my family. Kari

Thank you so much for taking us out on your boat and teaching us how to dive. I had a marvelous time canoeing and looking at the fish as well. Thanks again! Hannah

Thank you so much for taking us to dive. We all had a lot of fun and your fish are amazing :) and thank you for letting us stay here. Sarah

Tom
We made amazing memories here, thanks in large part to your first-class hospitality. I can't thank you enough for helping me to give this weekend to my family. Tim

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderful Time

Review submitted: December 23, 2011   Date of arrival: April 9, 2011

Tom & Carol
Thank You so much for having my husband, son and I here in your home. We had a wonderful time and your house is absolutely perfect! We wish we could have stayed longer and we hope to return and go diving with you soon. Thank you for your canoe, and rooftop with a breathtaking night time view. Your hospitality is lovely and we thank you so much for everything. Next time, we will make sure to have a drink with you all!
Sincerely Wendy

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great Hospitality

Review submitted: December 23, 2011   Date of arrival: December 20, 2011

Maraming Salmat for your hospitality. We had A great time diving/snuba:). I Had fun with my first snuba experience:).

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

8/17/2011-8/19/2011

Review submitted: December 23, 2011   Date of arrival: August 19, 2011

Tom & Carol
Thank You For your hospitality. You are a wonderful couple who we feel are our new friends. The experience of staying here was wonderful. The privacy on the sun deck was special for us.
Thank you also for the time on your boat. We're so glad you joined us at Snappers. It was fun getting to know you. Hope your trip on your RV will be fun.
We will be back.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great place to run away to

Review submitted: October 20, 2011   Date of arrival: September 2, 2011

I really really needed to run away from life and decided a trip to the keys was a great place to do this. I had very recently become single (not my idea). I found the add for this studio via the internet and emailed the owners. They were very prompt in answering me back and we made the reservation. I arrived and immediately was welcomed. The studio is very charming and comfortable. The owners invited me to go out with them and their friends on the most beautiful "go fast" boat on Saturday and it was SO MUCH FUN. I was really made to feel like a friend, not a guest. I snorkeled and Kayaked at John Pennecamp park on Sunday and by the time I had to return to the real world,I felt like I could. This weekend was the most stress relief I've had in many, many months. The roof top deck was a great place to chill and listen to music. I would recommend this place to everyone. You will not find more hospitable hosts.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are gald you had So much fun that is our goal!!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Vacation A+

Review submitted: May 29, 2011   Date of arrival: May 20, 2011

The owner returned my called promptly, gave me all the details & I made a deposit. Upon arriving at the apartment we were please to find it just as pictured. It was clean,comfortable and well maintained.It was just what we were looking for. The location was great. Within walking distance to a small park(Harry Harris) that has a nice swimming cove & boat launch. Without the crowds. Area was peaceful and charming. Outside the hustle & bustle of the bigger towns (like Key Largo) but withing short driving distance to all the attractions ( Pennykamp state park, wildbird sanct., diving museum, ect). The local food was amazing. I highly recommend Marker 88, Craig's & Snappers restaraunts. The owners live on the property and are very knowledgable about the area and attractions. They made us feel welcome and are very friendly. We are looking forward to our next trip and will rent here again...

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks for staying with us. We hope you come back soon. Its always nice to have quiet responsable people staying with us.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Feb. 1/08 FROM: PETERBOROUGH, ONT., CANADA

Review submitted: February 5, 2011   Date of arrival: February 5, 2011

Feb. 1/08 - 5:30 PM Upon arrival - open door & found an exceptional room!! We travel all the time - retired - this has been the best! We're here for the month so will have further comments on restaurants shopping, etc. Our vacation starts now. PS I checked out the fish tanks before unpacking. Sunday, Feb.17/ 08 - We're having a ball great weather, seafood is exceptional. Tom & Carol are the best!! Tom took us out on the boat - Ian tried diving for the second time in his life - loved it - we went and bought him a wet suit the next day!! I haven't dove yet but plan to. We've been down to Key West a couple of times now. There's too much to do in just one trip and will probably go back yet again. It takes about 2 hrs. each way ( to go & come back) We ate at a cuban restaurant & ordered one of their local dishes it was a platter # 81 - I'd order it again for sure - Keep in mind we shared it - Thank goodness! Too much food for one person. Restaurants- Seafood / Steaks - etc. 1. Bentley's MM 82 - make a reservation so you'll get in. 2. Ballyhoo's MM 98 - good food too! 3. Hogs Breath - Key West 4. Hog Heaven MM 85 - south into Islamorada (left hand side) just over the bridge. 5. Snapper's MM 95 - Tom & Carol's local lunch spot great tuna! 6. Snook's MM 99.9 - on Bay side about 5 miles north - Happy hour - Sunsets. 7. Pizza - Boardwalk MM 89- just south before bridge - all fresh ingredients. 8. Breakfast - Harriette's - bisciuts are awesome. Winn Dixie - just south about 2 miles on right hand side for groceries. Sites to see: - Tom's fish tanks - If Tom invites you out on the boat - GO! - Bird sanctuary - about a mile north - bay side - Free - they would like a donation though. - Butterfly habitat in Key West - just awesome!! They even had one of our own Monarchs. March 1/08 Moving day - ugh!! - Don't want to go home and guess what? We're not!! YAHOO. We're staying another month Tom & Carol have rented us a room in their duplex about 5 minutes. from here. We've been hearing about the weather back home & certainly don't want to go there!! We've had & still will - a good time - hey - if we're staying another month it says it all. Tom & Carol are the best host & hostess you'll ever have. We've been all over the US of A from east to west, north to south & We'll be back guaranteed. Ian & Charlene

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Mar. 1-9, 2008 from Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

Review submitted: February 5, 2011   Date of arrival: February 5, 2011

Had a great time - a wonderful apartment, close to all the Keys & Everglades. Lee found the rocking sea too much for her stomach but Brian loved snorkeling at John Pennecamp & diving with Tom & Dana twice - a great set up with the tubes for air. Incredible coral variety of shapes & colors - & variety of extraordinary fish. After disappointing snorkeling in Cuba - this was spectacular - a dream I've had for decades. We both enjoyed delicious fish dishes at Snook's ( a great evening of dancing to Jimmy Ray's music) & Snapper's , & Hobo's & in Key West - Blue Heaven. And the beaches at Bahia Honda & Harry Harris Park ( & the upside down jelly fish). And the Key Deer & the wild bird center, & the everglades - Mahogony Hammock guided walk & Anchorage Trail at Royal Palm. Great weather in spite of many forecasts of rain. Thanks to Tom & Carol for generosity & hospitality! Back to the snow now, after watching reports of winter storms all week on the weather channel. Brian G. & Lee S.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Mar 29/2008-April 05/2008 - Tony & Helen

Review submitted: February 5, 2011   Date of arrival: February 5, 2011

Tony & Helen- Meadow Lake, Saskatchewan, Canada. Great little mid efficient room. Better than just a hotel room. Close to Harry Harris Park for a little sun. Laundromat @ MM90 2.50 a load - went a few times had laundry from our 10 day cruise we had just come off of. Most liquor stores open from 9-11pm. Most attractions open from 9-5pm. Went to Key West Butterfly Conservatory open 9-4:30 that was quite interesting. Of course best of all are our great host & hostess Tom & Carol - Very accomadating & easy going. What ever you need to know just ask them. They have a very interesting business but then life down here is so different from wheat farms & pulp mills of all sorts. We very much enjoyed hearing about other kinds of business. Saw a lot in Key West and walked about 8 km or about 5 miles that day. Tavernier also is a very nice little town. We hope to be back some day. Tom & Carol took us by boat to Snapper's Wow what a fast way to go, very quant and down home place to go. Thanks a lot Tom & Carol 7 good luck in your renovations! What a shark! COOL!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

April 8-13,2008,Bob & Leslie San Diego, California

Review submitted: February 5, 2011   Date of arrival: February 5, 2011

We have had an excellent, enjoyable stay. We made ourselves at home and you have certainly been a part of it. Thanks for your hospitality. And for fixing up such a great Pied-A-Terre here in the Keys. We particularly enjoyed joining Tom & Dana on a hunting expedition (though, of course, we were just tourists) and happy hour with Tom & Carol. We also enjoyed scuba diving with Quiescence divers, a very professional outfit, and a nice meal at the Num Thai restaurant in Key Largo. (between MM103 & 104) Also, the Florida Keys bird rescue center just up the road to the north (MM 93.6) and the turtle rescue center in Marathon ( MM 48.5) were worth while. Go to the former ( bird rescue) for the 3:30 (do it yourself) Pelican feeding, and make a reservation for a tour of the latter ( turtle rescue). We found Key West Very touristy, loud, and expensive, But enjoyed the Mel Fisher Treasure Museum and found a decent, moderately-priced meal at Cowboy Bill's, 628 Duval St. We had a great stay! Thanks, Bob & Leslie

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

April 16-19,2008 Ron & Nicki & family

Review submitted: February 5, 2011   Date of arrival: February 5, 2011

Well what can we say. After 14 yrs. of doing business with Tom & Carol, it was great to finally meet them in person. And of course they are even more wonderful people than we already knew they were. Thank You Tom & Carol for having us down and we hope to see much more of you in the future. Ron & Nicki & Family.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

May/15/2008 Jeff & Becca, New Jersey

Review submitted: February 5, 2011   Date of arrival: February 5, 2011

First of all the apartment is perfect, couldn't have dreamed of anything better, & Tom & Carol are very nice, down to earth people great host & hostess. Tom took us out on the boat today to go diving, it was a first for both of us and I think we found a new hobby. May/19/2008 Went out diving a few times now & we can't get enough of it, it's absolutly beautiful down their. Also went to a few places for dinner & drinks - Snapper's just north of here was a great place for food, and you can feed wild Tarpon right on the docks, great atmosphere. Hog Heaven has a great night life (try & get Max the bartender). Harriet's was a great little place for breakfast (MM 95) on bay side. Anne's Beach about a 1/2 hour south was very nice & shallow, you can literally walk out about 100 yrds before being in more than 10" of water, bring a beach chair and you can sit out in the water or just lay out in it. And if your looking to really party it up Key West is the place to go, but bring your wallet cause it gets pricy fast, but definitely worth going to if you looking to party Big Uns, Sloppy Joe's, Hog's Breath,all of our top bars to check out. We wound up renting an overnight scooter while down their to cruise around on & bar hop, but shop around we wound up finding one for only $43.00 dollars. I believe the company was named "J.G.'s" but I'm not sure the night is kind of a blur. P. S. Can't say enough about Tom & Carol very nice, fun people very accomodating

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

May 24-27, Memorial Day 2008 Anthony & Diane

Review submitted: February 5, 2011   Date of arrival: February 5, 2011

Had a great time - place is perfect away from the drama - but close enough to enjoy yourself - we will be back - take care

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

May 29 - June 1 -2008 Bruce & Bernice

Review submitted: February 5, 2011   Date of arrival: February 5, 2011

Nice quiet place to stay. Had come in from Ft. Lauderdale and this was a good 1/2 way to Key West. Spent a day there and a day locally. State parks were enjoyable and informative for 1 st timers to the Key's. Great food at Bentley's - bit spendy - but very good. John Pennecamp was a good time. Thanks for the boating offer, but our timing wasn't right. If we make it back to the Keys this will be on our list to stay. Bruce & Bernice

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Sunday 15 - June 2008 Carolina and Marcel

Review submitted: February 5, 2011   Date of arrival: February 5, 2011

My husband and I enjoyed our stay in this cute place. We spend one week here and we are living thinking about when we will come back. Tom & Carol are good friendly people, which is something that makes a lot of difference in your vacation. Tom took us out on his boat and we just loved it. We could snorkel with him and see how he catches the beautiful fishes. It was really fun. We thank you for this wonderful vacation and the good time we had. See you guys soon!!! Carolina and Marcel

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

June 18,19 -2008 Jim & Lisa Milwaukee, Wisconsin

Review submitted: February 5, 2011   Date of arrival: February 5, 2011

We had a wonderful time. The boat ride was short because of a storm, but still wonderful. Snorkeling was very beautiful. We drove south because of the rain. Made the best of it, & we found sun! sting rays and cool fish. Hope your stay is great! Thanks Tom & Carol for the great place & warm faces.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

July 3, 2008, Australia,

Review submitted: February 5, 2011   Date of arrival: February 5, 2011

Thanks Tom & Carol for everything.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

July 20-23, Keith & Christie, Denver CO

Review submitted: February 5, 2011   Date of arrival: February 5, 2011

This is a great place to stay. The Apartment is wonderful. We loved hanging out in Harry Harris Park - lots of jelly fish. Cafe Largo had great Italian food. We also liked Island Grill. Thanks Tom & Carol

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

29th August 2008, Fabien, Shinobu, Kento

Review submitted: February 5, 2011   Date of arrival: February 5, 2011

I've been several times in Miami Beach and I'm able to say how much I enjoyed to come in Florida! But it was my first time here in the Keys for spending a whole month. I just want to thank deeply Carol and Tom for their kindness. In their house I felt like a real resident of Tavernier. These holidays with my wife and my son have been very very pleasant and we shall keep so many good souvenirs of the Tom's exotic fishes and the cute "Little Bit" and "Appa" named dogs! Now we are packing the luggages to flight back to Pan's and I'm sure we'll never forget the delicious Tom's home. huge hug and huge kisses, Fabien, Shinobu (wrote in Japanese) and Kento (wrote in French) so if you want to read it you need to visit our studio Apt.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

1/23/2008-1/29/2008

Review submitted: February 5, 2011   Date of arrival: February 5, 2010

Stayed 2 nights, went out on boat w/Tom on 24th. Viv and I had a great time on the boat & watching Tom sort "catch of the day" exotic fish. Both Tom & Carol are great hosts & hostess. Room very bright, clean & cheerful. Tom has room rented tonight, probably coming back for rest of trip- Sat. to Wed. Came back and stayed the whole week! I loved staying here. This was one of the best vacations I have ever had! Very comfortable, cozy and interesting to see the tropical fish business from the inside.Had breakfast at Little Italy(5 toward Marathon) Great eggs Neptune w/crab cakes. Favorite restaurant- Lorelei (MM 82 bayside) Great Sunsets and live entertainment. Looking forward to next year.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Lovely September vacation

Review submitted: September 28, 2010   Date of arrival: September 18, 2010

This is an excellent value for anyone looking to maximize their experience coupled with budget. The hosts are genuinely friendly and accomodating. Tom, the owner has a tropical fish business and will include a free "hookah" diving experience on one of his work days, weather permitting. In our case it was windy all week but he managed to get us out for a little fishing and a little diving even though the conditions were not optimal. My husband and I enjoyed it and greatly appreciated the fact that he did all he could to provide us with a memory. We could have used the canoe all week but never quite made it to that. The grounds are very nice and Tom gives a tour of his fish tanks and you are welcome to re-visit them on your own. We never used the roof top patio either, as we never caught any fish to eat, so we wound up trying to eat somewhere every night where we could view the sun setting with our meal. This place also has a wonderful front porch. Additionally, their is also a 2 bedroom unit adjacent that we viewed which is also very nice. This would make an excellent spot for a party of 6 to rent, and if you have the good fortune to have good weather, the free dive trip, as opposed to having to charter one, makes this deal, a steal. The moon was full the week we were there and we enjoyed several walks in the evening. If you bring a boat, the launch at the park is free during the week and only a few blocks from the hous. I would talk to Tom about arrangements for bringing it first. All-in-all, the Value is excellent, and it's a very good place to stay, especially if you are trying to keep your expenses down, it fits the bill.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Best Vacation Ever

Review submitted: June 21, 2010   Date of arrival: June 4, 2010

Tom and Carol, What can we say? This was the best vacation of our life. I’m not sure how we could have had a more relaxing vacation. The living accommodations were great! And the reef diving was indescribable. Being the first time, I was a little concerned to start with, but it was one of the easiest things I’ve ever done. Tom was very attentive to our needs and safety and had us experiencing the sights of the underwater world in no time. Kim has already started saving for our trip next year. Thank you both for your hospitality and creating the experience of a lifetime. Michael & Kim

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

9/30/2009-10/4/2009

Review submitted: January 21, 2010   Date of arrival: September 30, 2009

Tom & Carol We were so blessed by our experience this week. Your hospitality and patience w/our inexperienced diving was greatly appreciated. We feel like we didn't just have a great vacation- we made some new friends. We wish you the best! PS Followed the advice of our foreberers: Pizza & service at Broadway Pizza was great. Canoeing to Snapper's was incredible (I recommend anyone attemting this look at google maps first-it really helped clarify). We snorkeled at Pennekamp State Park Cannon Beach but the "Far Beach" looks good too. Islamorada Fish Co. did indeed have a fantastic sunset view with bonuses. Tom's dive was by far the best of all. Fantastic hospitality!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

8/24/2009-8/31/2009

Review submitted: January 21, 2010   Date of arrival: August 24, 2009

Well what can we say? This was our first vacation together and it couldn't have been any better. Tom was a great host. Hookah diving was a first for both and a blast. Who knew it could be that easy. The weather was fabulous and so were all the people. We recommend anyone to go to "Theater of the Sea" to swim w/dolphins and see all the other shows (mm84.5). Snook's and mmm 88 are a few places that were great to eat. Tom's fish were awesome!! It was great walking out of your room and seeing all the exotic fish. Our first time in the Keys and definitly not our last. Thanks again Tom. Best Wishes!! Mackenzie & Alex

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

8/16/09 3:30 PM

Review submitted: January 21, 2010   Date of arrival: August 16, 2009

Tom & Carol, Thank You so much for everything. Michael & I had a great time. The studio was very nice & comfortable. Everything was great. Michael enjoyed boat & diving with Tom.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

July 2009

Review submitted: January 21, 2010   Date of arrival: July 25, 2009

7/25ish Sat arrived 4am, but Tom & Carol had the light on w/a sign w/some info. Room was neat as a pin(both-we stayed/a night in the 2room.)Loved the studio-very bright & cheery. Sat.Late am ate @Harriette's. Early dinner @Fish House-Highly recommended.(Heavy AC,take a sweater)Sunday,Tom & Carol's friend took us out on his speed boat. Best part was seeing a family of Manatees(including a baby!)Gary took us to the Pilot House restaurant. Took Tom's canoe to Snapper's Paddled back & grilled in the backyard. Monday up @9am ate @Mrs Mac's kitchen. Good food, very reasonable. Sailing lessons w/Reef Runner & Skipper Dave. Good time, but our Ohio skin got scorched! Stopped @Mrs. Mac's. We'll be stopping back-good food/good service. "eat well,laugh often,live long." Danny's Latin Restaurant Mon-nite. Tues. Sailing w/skipper Dave @ Reef Runners. Fantastic day-wind was up-hours of good sailing. Snapper's for dinner,delicious! Susan @ Snapper's is Great! Lobster Reuben-Beyond delicious! Tom was great-offered time on his boat but we're signed up for mini-lobster season. Wed.-lobster Dives W/Garden Cove Dive Center. Skipper's Bruce & Chris. 1st spot no one got anything big enuf to keep. 2nd dive we caught 3-but only 1 was big enuf to keep. Lunch @ Mrs. Mac's where they turned our catch into Lobster bite apperizers(yum!)with really great salad. the Brazilean restaurant @MM 83. Great Salad bar & oh so much meat! The flank steak was probably our favorite,but the Leg of Lamb & sirloin & the garlic sirloin were all tasty. This place is pricey,but a neat experince. Thur 2 tank dives w/Quiessence. Just 4divers on our boat. Captain Tim was funny & informartive. Dove Train wheel & City Reefs, generally good vis, little choppy. dive 2 lots of big grouper, couple Cuda's, huge moray. Lunch @ cuban place "Su Casa" near Advanced Auto in Key Largo. Cubano especial sandwich & a Chorizo sandwich. Good & reasonably priced. Dinner @ Conch House. Lobster Bisque, Hogfish Taco & Seafood pasta. Food was decent, service was excellent. Hookah w/Tom,Bill,Jason Today(our last day!)It was fun & relaxing. Bill caught a Queen Angel. Relaxing until the end when Jason had trouble w/his regulator & we had to pull him in to the boat. Our stay was great,we're sad to leave. Tom & Carol were fantastic hosts. We hope to come back.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

07/17/2009 to 07/25/2009

Review submitted: January 21, 2010   Date of arrival: July 17, 2009

Alexis & Matt (Jersey Shore) I'll stboart out by saying this was the best vacation we've both ever been on. We saw beautiful marine life everyday. We went out diving with Tom only once, but it was so awesome and beautiful we will never forget it. Places to go > Theater of the Sea is a great place. It's pretty cheap and they have cool animal shows. It's in Islamorada you'll see signs for it everywhere. Kaiyo Sushi restaurant in Islamorada had really fantastic sushi! Islamorada Fish Company has absolutely beautiful atmosphere and pretty good food. It's really big you can't miss it and Friday there's live music. If you want to swim with the dolphins. Go to the Dolphin research center in Marathon. You don't really get to swim with them but you get to touch and ride them which is really great. Also once you dive with Tom your never gonna wanna snorkel again. Thank you so much Tom & Carol for your hospitality. It's so much better than staying at a resort! We're looking forward to coming back as soon as possible. Alexis & Matt

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

July 3-10 2009

Review submitted: January 21, 2010   Date of arrival: July 3, 2009

Had a Great vacation. Will recommend to others coming this way. Our recommendations; 1)Go on the boat with Tom It was a great day. I did not catch on to the diving (anxiety of being under water) but had a great time and saw lots of fish, a lobster and a nurse shark. Tom was very helpful and my husband loved the diving. 2) Harriet's for breakfast The biscuits are great. 3) Key Divers 12:15 snorkeling tour. It made 3 stops 40-45 minutes each. Two reefs & statue of Christ. Great staff $35 but $2 coupon. 4) Wild bird sanctuary. Free of charge, fun, got a good close up of a pelican. 5) Pennekamp state park. $9 for 2 people. Nice walking trails. Big aquarium was in restaurant. Two or three snorkeling/swimming areas. We went to one w/sunken cannons, etc.Lots of fish & good place to practice snorkeling. Harry Harris Park We would go early in the morning & no one there. Good place to practice snorkeling. Cameron & Debi Worcester, MA.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

June 11-18 2009

Review submitted: January 21, 2010   Date of arrival: June 11, 2009

It was a long drive from Fayetteville, North Carolina, but so worth it. We had only just arrived when Tom invited us out boating. Snorkeling the reefs was an amazing experience, and as salt water hobbyists it was heaven. Many Thanks to Tom & Carol for their hospitality and kindness. The boys had a wonderful time roasting marshmallows and hearing the Gecko called out each night. No doubt our van will be loaded tomorrow with goodies, fish, coconuts, and souvenirs, but memories will be treasured the most. Thanks again for an unforgettable vacation. We shall return! Jonathon & Sylvia

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review