reviews for: listing #51877 - Anna Maria Island, Florida House rental

SEA SHELL ISLAND - Big Home Available by Boat
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $300 - $450 /nt
    $2,000 - $3,000 /wk
    $5,500 - $8,000 /mth

sort by:

Family Getaway

Review submitted: August 5, 2012   Date of arrival: July 13, 2012

We had no idea there was such a wonderful island house on one of our local islands in Manatee County. Spent the weekend with my family for Father's Day and built some great memories with beautiful views of the inter-coastal and Sarasota Bay. Activities included using the kayak and canoe provided with the home, fishing the local grass flats, and grilling and entertaining friends and family that we picked up in our boat at the nearby boat ramp. The house included two master bedrooms on the third floor with a view of the sunrise and a very spacious floor plan. I would highly recommend this island home and Pat the owner was very helpful and accommodating.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Beautiful, relaxing stay

Review submitted: May 3, 2012   Date of arrival: March 12, 2012

My family spent 6 peaceful, relaxing days at this beautiful location. Pat was very friendly and helpful with instructions, suggestions, and questons. There were 5 of us and we had plenty of room. The house was lovely and the rooms clean and comfortable. Most mornings we sat on the pier to watch the beautiful sunrise. Evenings we sat on the pier to fish and watch the fish jump out of the water. Lots of waterlife there. Saw dolphin and even had manatee playing by the pier one afternoon. A flock of roseate (pink) spoonbills flew in most nights at dusk to feed. Plenty of other birdlife also. Enjoyed using the boat to go to the sandbars and beaches. Beer Can Beach was great for seashelling, swimming, and walking. Took some day trips that were near by: rode the Long Boat Key trolley to shop at St. Armands Circle, also went out to eat and take in some shops in Bradenton Beach.

I would recommend this property to anyone who is looking for a peaceful, relaxing environment. There are plenty of places nearby to eat with plenty of activities to choose from (boating, fishing, swimming, etc...). The island is very close to land so its a quick ride to take daytrips to other locations.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Awesome Vacation!!

Review submitted: April 20, 2012   Date of arrival: April 5, 2012

Our family spent 5 days over Easter, 2012 at this fabulous home. The accommodations were exactly as described and pictured on the website. Everything was readily available and Pat was extremely helpful with planning, boat rental, and other details. The view was awesome and the peacefulness of the island was just what we were looking for. We used the canoe and the kayak and the beach area was a favorite of everyone since we were the only people on it! The sandbar area also provided fun in the sun! Definitely a place we would recommend and return to in the future! Thanks Pat!

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful Stay

Review submitted: July 28, 2011   Date of arrival: June 23, 2011

Myself, my husband and several other couples rented this amazing property in June. The weather was perfect. The home was beautiful and the owner was very hospitable. The location is superb, only available by boat. The experience was much more than what was expected. You could sit on the dock and fish or just sit and admire wildlife.(dolphins, bonnet head sharks, stingrays, and many species of fish and crabs). There is an amazing sandbar on the side of the island that we enjoyed swimming, crabbing, and fishing is. The was the most relaxing vacation ever. We will be doing this again every year.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Family vacation

Review submitted: June 6, 2011   Date of arrival: May 28, 2011

My wife's family vacationed here over memorial day weekend. My family had a great time. There are tarpon just offshore, beautiful sunsets and sunrises and great fishing from the dock. The only downside is the openness of the home. If you bring a group, make sure everyone gets along really well because the home is very open. I loved the home. Pat is a nice host and she does try and help the renter out when she can. My son caught stone crab, pass crab and even blue crab every day. I loved it there and if i can go again with a smaller group, i would do it again every year.

Recommended for: families with young children, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Totally Awesome!!

Review submitted: March 22, 2011   Date of arrival: March 12, 2011

This home was everything someone would want to get away and relax yet have all the amenities of home. Peaceful, relaxing and serene. The sunrise was beyond description coming up over the Bay. We spent the days traveling to the many Islands in the area shopping, eating and site seeing. More than you have time to see. We would come back in the early evening and fish off the dock catching many fish and enjoying the relaxing calm waters. We hated to leave. The owner was very helpful with information about places to go and things to see in the area. She came out to the Island to make sure we arrived and showed us around. She also called to make sure we found everything we needed at the home. This was such a pleasant experience and we would certainly recommend this to anyone and would also love to come back. There wasn't a thing we needed or wanted in addition to what was made available to us. This would be great for small groups or large. Something fun for everyone. Look at the pictures and if you like what you see - don't hesitate to make arrangements to vacation here. You won't regret it.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Totally Awesome!!

Review submitted: March 22, 2011   Date of arrival: March 12, 2011

This home was everything someone would want to get away and relax yet have all the amenities of home. Peaceful, relaxing and serine. The sunrise was beyond description coming up over the Bay. We spent the days traveling to the many Islands in the area shopping, eating and site seeing. More than you have time to see. We would come back in the early evening and fish off the dock catching many fish and enjoying the relaxing calm waters. We hated to leave. The owner was very helpful with information about places to go and things to see in the area. She came out to the Island to make sure we arrived and showed us around. She also called to make sure we found everything we needed at the home. This was such a pleasant experience and we would certainly recommend this to anyone and would also love to come back. There wasn't a thing we needed or wanted in addition to what was made available to us. This would be great for small groups or large. Something fun for everyone. Look at the pictures and if you like what you see - don't hesitate to make arrangements to vacation here. You won't regret it.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Didn't want to leave!!!

Review submitted: July 15, 2010   Date of arrival: February 1, 2010

My husband and I spent the month of February here, the coldest February in the history of Florida!!! We had planned to spend more time on the beach sunning and on the water kayaking etc., but the weather was not kind. We still had a blast. What a beautiful, serene setting. The low tides allowed for wading and bird watching on the 3+ acre sandbar. The sunrises and sunsets were perfect. The path down the middle made for great dog walking and exercise. The layout, furniture, and views are comfortable and relaxing. We enjoyed the challenge of organizing our trips off the island for shopping and sightseeing, bringing back enough food and drink to be self-sufficient and cozy. Wonderful seafood swimming around begging to be cooked and delicious restaurants a short boat ride away. Everyone on the mainland, Longboat Key and Cortez, especially was friendly, helpful and envious of our great digs. Locals consider this island to be a very special place. Pat, the owner, could not have been more accommodating. The days flew by and we really did not want to leave. We would highly recommend this property to anyone who enjoys the beauty of a water setting without the constant razzle dazzle of the usual snowbird escapes. Even when the weather does not completely cooperate.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Away from it all but close to it all

Review submitted: June 21, 2010   Date of arrival: November 25, 2009

My family stayed for Thanksgiving and had everything we needed for the perfect weekend (and cooking turkey dinner). We had from 2ys. to 82 yrs. and everyone had a ball! My husband and I still rave about this place to everyone we know. The sand bar on the west end is perfect for the kids to play and find crabs. The sunsets are amazing! The sunrises are just as good on the east end where the home sits. Water views, peace, seclusion, trails for walking, boating, fishing, aquarium near-by, restaurants galore! Pat is an awesome host and even the boat rental co. personnel helped us unload and carry everything up to the house. Hospitality unmatched!! For the price and size, this is by far our favorite spot! We live 1 hr. North and vacation from Bradenton to Siesta Key to Turtle Beach regularly. This is the true Home Away!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

AWESOME ISLAND GETAWAY.........

Review submitted: May 23, 2010   Date of arrival: April 18, 2010

We vacationed here in April and had a great time. It was exactly as described and just what we wanted. House is very well maintained and Pat, the owner is very accomodating. We enjoyed being able to open all the doors (to the deck) and windows and had a wonderful breeze, no need for a/c. No other houses nearby, just passing boaters. It was our own island retreat. We would highly recommend staying here and we are already planning our trip for next year. (maybe sooner). We rented a boat and had a great time, fishing and watching the sunsets. My husband fished off the dock and caught us dinner everyday. Loved the privacy of the property and the spaciousness of the house. House was equiped with all the right things you might not think to bring. A+++++++++ Looking forward to our next visit.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Fantastic Waterfront Vacation

Review submitted: February 22, 2009   Date of arrival: October 25, 2008

My family stayed here in October and we were quite impressed. Nearly every room has a waterview and the home is decorated light and airy. This is a waterfront home that is on a private island. We loved exploring the waters around the island and the guys had a ball catching stone crabs and fish right at the dock! We had fresh fish nearly every night or we went to one of the many boat accessible restaurants just a short boat ride from the home.

We will definetely be back! Thanks for making great memories for our family

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 31 / 31

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review