reviews for: listing #51887 - Lake Norman, North Carolina House rental

Travellers Retreat - Big Main Channel View
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Commodore Peninsula
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $125 - $250 /nt
    $700 - $1,550 /wk
    $2,200 - $2,200 /mth

sort by:

A joy to come back to year after year

Review submitted: July 21, 2014   Date of arrival: July 12, 2014

We enjoyed our second stay at Traveller's Retreat even more than the first. The property is clean and well maintained with many amenities. The location is ideal-you feel far away from it all, but it is a short drive to anything you need (including the new fresh baked pie company that opened up a few miles away...). Kevin is a delight to work with and we will be back next year.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect Lake Norman vacation

Review submitted: September 9, 2013   Date of arrival: August 24, 2013

Traveller's Retreat is a fantastic house, just the right size for two of us. The house was very clean, and the kitchen well-equipped for basic cooking. The dock was the perfect place for morning coffee, reading, sunning and evening chats. We ate all our meals on the screened porch watching the water and boats go by. We will definitely return and recommend this place to anyone who wants to unwind and decompress. Special thanks to Kevin for making everything comfortable -- and even returning a couple of items we left behind.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Wonderful home exceeds expectations

Review submitted: August 14, 2013   Date of arrival: August 3, 2013

The pictures, which are nice, don't do "Traveler's Retreat" justice. Lovely, clean, spacious home with perfect yard, dock, and water access for the family (two and four legged). Nicely furnished, and adequately outfitted kitchen. Thought 1 bathroom would be a problem-but not an issue. Beautiful, peaceful views and great privacy. Will definitely return.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Amazing

Review submitted: July 23, 2013   Date of arrival: July 6, 2013

My husband and I rented this great place on Lake Norman with our two best dog buddies for a much needed vacation. It exceeded our expectations! Kevin was great to work with and we couldn't have asked for a more peaceful place. The neighborhood was great to walk the dogs in and the house and dock were perfect! We hardly left, because we had everything there we needed and more. Loved the swings and sitting on the dock relaxing. We truly had a great vacation!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Everything we wanted and needed

Review submitted: July 7, 2013   Date of arrival: June 29, 2013

My husband and I had the pleasure of renting this cottage for our 30th wedding anniversary. Kevin was extremely easy to work with, from allowing us to preview the property to communication to helping us navigate around Mooresville. We were able to bring our dog who thoroughly enjoyed the water and ducks. The Inside was very clean and well maintained. Everything we could possibly need was there including some of the softest towels I've ever used! (meant to check out what kind they were but forgot). Lots of privacy on this lot and tremendous views. Loved hearing the rain on the tin roof, heard mainly in the living area, screened porch and office. Boat ramp was literally right around the corner. I hope we can get back one day. Great vacation and owner!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Perfect

Review submitted: June 29, 2011   Date of arrival: June 18, 2011

This place was wonderful and by far the most relaxing vacation my family has ever taken. When we first arrived, my husband stated it was "perfect". For our needs, this rental had everything that mattered to us which made our stay more relaxing. The features that most attracted us were the pet policy, fenced yard, screened porch, and the wonderful dock. We brought our boat, but the dock was so nice that we didn't need to take it out much. We fished from the dock and caught several huge catfish. The shady lot was great and the brick pavers were a beautiful detail. I loved this place, we will definitely come back again!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 

Relaxing for all!

Review submitted: June 29, 2011   Date of arrival: September 4, 2010

My husband and I plus the two dogs have found the perfect spot for watching the world go by along Lake Norman. We wanted more time with his elderly mother who lives nearby without staying there each night (no fenced yard at her home). This cottage was the perfect answer. Beautifully appointed kitchen, lovely screen porch, totally fenced yard with good gates and the lovely pier with deck and swing. What more could I ask for? It was a wonderful week. We do plan to return.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, girls getaway, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

A wonderful setting

Review submitted: November 12, 2010   Date of arrival: November 4, 2010

My husband and I (and our 2 dogs) came up to Mooresville for a fall wedding. And we were not disappointed!! The cabin is darling - but the yard and the lake are what make this place so quaint. The owner of the property makes you feel very welcome, as do all the residents in the town. The dogs were up with the sunrise just waiting to get out into the yard (covered by the fall leaves) and play in the cooler temps. We had a great time and can not wait to plan another trip up there.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 

Wonderful Place

Review submitted: October 2, 2010   Date of arrival: September 19, 2010

My husband and I were amazed when we arrived that the pictures were accurate. In fact, the setting, as well as the house where more than we expected.The kitchen was so well equipped and the covered dock and sunsets so inviting that we didn't bother to eat dinner out. The bed was very comfortable.Great closet and dresser space.A fabulous shower! We didn't have to leave the property to launch our kayaks, which was extremely convenient. We split our time between kayaking,lounging on the screened-in porch and visiting several car/history museums that were just minutes away.This is the place to go if you want to find solitude and beauty and still have the option to visit some exciting places.Lake Norman is FABULOUS! I most highly recommend Traveller's Retreat!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 10 / 10

 

a gem!

Review submitted: November 10, 2009   Date of arrival: November 4, 2009

What a lovely cottage - modern and sunny on the inside. Nice lawn with a hammock and historic dock. Great winter rate. All the amenities inside and out. We're already planning a return visit.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 12 / 13

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review