reviews for: listing #51890 - Tucson, Arizona House rental

Charm,Comfort & Quality Hacienda on 4 acres w/Mountain VIEWS
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths  4
  • hot tub  yes
  • community 
  • sleeps  9
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $210 - $275 /nt
    $1,300 - $1,650 /wk

sort by:

Peaceful Desert Delight

Review submitted: February 15, 2014   Date of arrival: February 8, 2014

Hacienda del Mayer was everything advertised and more. Very spacious with wonderful light in every room. The furniture was comfortable and large sunlit bathrooms a plus!Especially since there was a bathroom for each bedroom. It was clean and well maintained and the kitchen was a pleasure for us ladies who cook! Well laid out and everything we needed was there. And I mean we COOK. A LOT. Beautiful outdoor space as well. When we were there, it was exceptionally warm and sunny, so it was nice to have the option to be outdoors in full sun, partially shaded under the cabana (w/ shade cloth), or up on the porch w/ the lovely view and full shade. Would also be nice for the monsoon season where you could sit and smell the desert rain and stay dry. We were very pleased and will be back next year.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Our stay at the Hacienda del Mar

Review submitted: November 17, 2013   Date of arrival: November 9, 2013

We enjoyed very much our stay at the Hacienda Del Mar. My three golf parners appreciated to have their own individual room with a bathroom. The kitchen was fully equipped and the house was spotless. The house has air conditioning. The pool seemed lovely however the water was a little too cold at this time of the year. There were lots of restaurants within a few miles. With the house located in South-East Tucson, it took close to an hour to get to some of the golf courses in Marana. The TV had only basic cable. For non US residents, it would be easier if payment could be made with Paypal or with a credit card. Overall, it was a very good stay.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: Dear guests from Ottawa,

We want to thank you for this wonderful review and rating, and we appreciate all of your comments and feed back.
We will consider a larger choice of TV channels for our foreign guests, thanks for the suggestion!
I want to mention that even if the pool seems too cold, the spa can easily and quickly be warmed up :-)
Also, we are so sorry that you missed the information about Pay Pal presented on our web page description: this option is available, as well as US or foreign bank direct transfers.

Thank you for giving us the priviledge to be your hosts at La hacienda del Mayar!
Encore merci à tous et vive la Francophonie!
Karine et Jean Michel

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful Hacienda

Review submitted: July 8, 2013   Date of arrival: June 13, 2013

Hacienda Del Mayer has been our vacation spot for 2 years now. We love the house. Wonderful pool, and patio area. All the family is able to come, hang out and relax. We already have the dates set up for next year!!!

If someone is looking for a quiet relaxing place to kick of your feet and enjoy a glass of wine by the pool this is the spot! close to all the fun and attraction Tucson has to offer, while still being close to the fabulous hiking trails of the Rincon Mountains.

Our family has a wide span of ages from infant to great grandma. everyone was able to enjoy the stay. Great kitchen to get food ready, BBQ for the steaks, enough patios and area for small group to sit and chat.

Well worth the rate. And the management is so easy to get in touch with and work with. She goes out of her way to make the stay enjoyable. Simple a wonderful experience. Will be back to the Hacienda for many years to come we hope!!! No other place in Tucson I would want to stay!

Recommended for: families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 6 / 7

 

Excellent Stay

Review submitted: June 25, 2013   Date of arrival: June 17, 2013

We had a great stay at La Hacienda del Mayar! The location is excellent (1 minute to the trial head at the east end of Broadway) and the house itself was beautiful. The place was very clean, nicely decorated, and the pool area was great. I would highly recommend this place to anyone thinking of visiting Tucson. I can hardly wait to go again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 

Exceptional Value in Tucson

Review submitted: May 9, 2013   Date of arrival: April 28, 2013

When renting a vacation property I expect to be satisfied and hope to be delighted. La Hacienda del Mayar delighted me and my family. The property and the owners/managers exceeded our expectations.

This property attracted our attention with the Vacation Rentals property description. Further communication with Karine firmed our decision to rent and the experience couldn't have been better. Karine was very professional in all her dealings with us prior to our arrival. Communications were timely, complete and informative.

Upon our arrival the property revealed itself to be exactly as described. Karine has done a wonderful job of decorating and the property instantly gave us a local desert feel. It was immaculately clean and everything one could imagine needing was provided. All appliances functioned well as did lighting, pool and hot tub heat.

The few things that we had questions about were promptly attended to and Karine solicited suggestions to help improve the experience.

Located at the far eastern end of the metro Tucson area it was a perfect location for someone wanting a less urban desert experience our one located away from the north Tucson resort area. Yet, it is near shopping, restaurants etc. We enjoyed one of Karine's restaurant tips, The Eclectic Cafe. Delightful.

My family felt that we received exceptional value for our lodging dollar. I would most certainly recommend La Hacienda del Mayar to anyone and plan to stay here again next time in Tucson.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 

Wow!

Review submitted: April 25, 2013   Date of arrival: March 30, 2013

One word easily sums up La Hacienda del Mayar: WOW! From the first time I had contact with Karine to our return home, it was a special vacation. Rather than reiterate what previous people have said, I'll instead give slightly different viewpoints. As stated by other reviewers, the pictures on the website don’t do it justice. They only show a small part of the total picture. They don’t show all of the small things that come with the hacienda, such as the fast, attentive and very friendly service; the complete kitchen with any utensils you could need; the gas grill outside that’s ready to go; the pair of gila woodpeckers that visit the hummingbird feeder several times each day; the perfect weather; the Saguaro NP hiking trails that are around the corner; the coyotes howling nightly; even the Safeway grocery store that’s very close. I enjoyed the (too little) time I had talking with Karine and Jean Michel. They are obviously a couple who enjoy their duties as hosts / caretakers and seem to truly enjoy meeting people from all over. My wife and I hiked an average of 5 miles every morning in SNP, which is right across the street, but one can easily do much shorter or more aggressive journeys as well. The main park entrance is about a 5 minute drive, and one and one-half minutes (literally around the corner) in the other direction is another entrance to the park’s trails where you can park your car outside and walk in. Hiking in the morning allowed us to beat the most intense sun and spend the afternoon by the pool. Just past the SNP entrance is Saguaro Corners, a restaurant that just re-opened and we had a wonderful evening sitting out on their patio, munching unique appetizers and enjoying some cool beverages. We hope to return to the Tucson area again for more vacations, and La Hacienda del Mayar will be our first choice, hands down! If you’re considering this as an option, I recommend without hesitation that this be your first choice.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful Stay!

Review submitted: April 17, 2013   Date of arrival: April 9, 2013

This is the perfect home to get away from everything! This is one of the most peaceful backyards I have ever had the pleasure of spening time in. My only wish is that the weather had been warmer to enjoy the pool. The house was great (well stocked with essentials); the beds were comfortable; there was plenty of room for everyone; it was very clean; but the peaceful surroundings and fabulous backyard was the best!

Thanks for everything.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Hacienda del Mayar

Review submitted: March 23, 2013   Date of arrival: February 15, 2013

My husband and I recently spent a month at Hacienda del Mayar and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. Karine and Jean Michael were always available but not obtrusive. The house is large and well equipped. It is very private with beautiful mountain views and is close to many hiking trails. We had a very relaxing stay and are hoping to return next year.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Relaxing Desert Home

Review submitted: December 15, 2012   Date of arrival: October 24, 2012

Review posted on VRBO web site.

Relaxing desert home

Guest: Wachini(Bellingham, Wa)
Date of Stay: 10/24/12 Review Submitted: 12/04/12

I have stayed here 3 (or is it 4 times??) and intend to keep on coming back! I am beginning to feel like I live here. The house is very spacious, comfortable, and well-equiped; the lot feels secluded and peaceful. The big bonus for me is the location across from Saquaro Natl Park - I can get up early and go for a hike, and be back in time to enjoy breakfast on the patio before taking a dip in the pool. And Karine and Jean Michel are wonderful. They are so friendly and accommodating, very trustworthy, and respect my privacy and space. I am left on my own devices but they are just a phone call away for anything I need at anytime. Merci to you both! Generally I am skeptical about rental houses found online: they often look too good to be true, or do not quite live up to the claims of the pictures or website. This one does. I can't think of a single complaint or need for change. I love it here as do my friends and family. It is a perfect desert getaway and I will be back.

Recommended for:Sightseeing, families with teenagers, romantic getaway, people with disabilities, age 55+, adventure seekers, families with young children, girls getaway.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

hacienda del mayar

Review submitted: October 17, 2012   Date of arrival: October 3, 2012

Hacienda Del Mayar was perfect for my family...as my three children, daughter-in-law, and three grandchildren accompanied my wife and I to Tucson. Spacious and well appointed, this ranch on the edge of the desert captured the essence of what a vacation should be in the southwest. Everything was well thought out and our stay required little guesswork as we settled into our accommodations. The children loved the pool and the setup was such that we were able to entertain our Tuscon friends in the area in reciprocation for their hospitality.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Beautiful!

Review submitted: October 2, 2012   Date of arrival: August 4, 2012

Review posted on VRBO web site...

Our stay at the Hacienda del Mayar exceeded our expectations. The home itself is beautiful and very clean and comfortable. There is plenty of space to spread out, even with our up to 7 people staying there. We were there in August, so obviously the temperature was very hot. The house was always at a nice cool and comfortable temperature inside. We cooked and had most of our meals at the house, which we all thoroughly enjoyed. The kitchen was great to work in and there are plenty of dishes, pots, pans, etc. When we did want to leave the property (which was rare for me) there are plenty of things to do and sights to see. The Biosphere and the Desert Museum are great! The pool is beautiful and big enough to really swim and enjoy. The water temperature was perfect. We tried to swim every day and some days more than once. It was so nice to have complete privacy while swimming. Although there are neighboring homes within sight, the back yard is completely private (and very large). I don't think I can adequately describe the beauty of the setting. From the back patio (and from inside the house as well) the view is of the beautiful back yard, the desert setting with beautiful saguaro cacti (as well as other varieties) and the nearby mountains. The pictures Karine has posted do not completely do justice. I don't think a picture can adequately demonstrate the beauty. It is breathtaking. There is plenty of wildlife. Many birds call the backyard their home (including roadrunners, doves and quail). We saw hawks soaring above at times. We often went to sleep to the sound of coyotes yipping in the night (which I found enjoyable). There are lizards (we saw no snakes and there is a snake proof fence in the back yard) and of course various insects. The setting sits at the edge of Tucson in a somewhat rural area. We heard no traffic noise and there are no streetlights to detract from the stars at night. Lastly, Karine and Jean Michele were a joy to work with. We had a 7 month old infant with us, and Karine made sure there was a highchair, a playyard, and a bouncer to entertain the baby......so thoughtful. Karine is always readily available and works very hard to ensure that the guests are happy and comfortable. I hope to return next spring. It was wonderful! I would recommend to anyone.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

wonderful vacation

Review submitted: July 14, 2012   Date of arrival: June 30, 2012

OMG !!!!!! what a wonderful place to stay in tucson,we were there from june 30 thru july 7...what a wonderful stay,enjoyed the pool every day,and the house was just as stated,my daughter and i had gone out to visit family,but while not with them we were at the house.plan on stay ing next year if the house is available.....Karine was wonderful. we are from terre haute,in. nothing like this back home.......

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

La Hacienda del Mayar

Review submitted: May 19, 2012   Date of arrival: May 10, 2012

We have just returned home from an eight day stay at La Hacienda del Mayar. Our family of 8 had a great time at La Hacienda. The view is beautiful, the pool and spa clean and inviting. The house is clean and well furnished.
Comfortable, cool, relaxing.

Katine is extremely gracious and a pleasure to work with.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Another Exceptional Vacation at La Hacienda!

Review submitted: March 22, 2012   Date of arrival: February 25, 2012

5/5 *****
We have stayed at this location multiple times, and we continue to be very impressed by both the home as well as the very professional way in which the owners manage it. The owners are truly exceptional hosts and really put out the extra effort to make sure that guests are pleased with their stay. The home is in a beautiful desert location, very quiet and private and very well maintained. The mountain and desert views are awesome. The proximity to Saguaro National Park East and Sabino Canyon are ideal for hikers and bicyclists. The home is exactly as pictured and is always immaculately clean. It is very nicely equipped with all the amenities that one would need for a comfortable vacation stay. When we plan a vacation stay in Tucson, this location is always at the top of the list!

Recommended for:Sightseeing, girls getaway, adventure seekers, families with teenagers, families with young children, age 55+, people with disabilities, romantic getaway.

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

The Glorious Glendale Girl Reunion

Review submitted: September 18, 2011   Date of arrival: September 8, 2011

After over a year of planning we had a wonderful reunion of 13 school girl friends, many having started together since kindergarten! Much credit goes to my dear friend Karine and her immaculate Hacienda and Casita. All 13 of us were impressed with the comfort and care both Karine and Jon-Michele gave us while there. We felt pampered and cared for! Thank you once again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderfully relaxing!

Review submitted: September 16, 2011   Date of arrival: August 27, 2011

Wonderfully Relaxing!
Left on 09/10/2011 for a stay in August 2011

It was so refreshing to have a house to return to after a day of sightseeing! It was comfortable, extremely clean and not lacking in any of the necessities that a family would need. We used La Hacienda as a meeting spot for our adult children and enjoyed having our own spaces to retreat to in addition to the joint areas of the large living area & kitchen. We especially enjoyed having our own private swimming pool to enjoy during the hot arizona days! I would definitely recommend La Hacienda del Mayar to anyone who is looking for the comforts of home with plenty of space in a beautiful setting. Should we decide to visit Tucson again, we will certainly stay here!

More Details ?

Detailed ratings for this rental

Check in *****
Cleanliness *****
Comfort *****
Location *****
Service *****
Value *****

Would you recommend this vacation rental to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Relaxing!

Review submitted: September 16, 2011   Date of arrival: May 20, 2011

Relaxing
Left on 06/16/2011 for a stay in May 2011


We spent three days in this beautiful Hacienda with my wife and her niece. Everything you need is available for the guests, and the house is built in a beautiful setting on the border of the Saguaro park east. The living room is spacious and comfortable and the kitchen is well equiped. The bedrooms also were wonderful and the garage is an extra comfort and keeps the car cool when hot. We enjoyed the great swimming pool with Spa and after a day of exploring the park, we came home and could relax on a great way. The beauty of the nature from arizona is well known and the owners of the Hacienda have decorated the house on a beautiful way, so the beauty of the nature is complete in balance with the decorations from the house! If we come back to aZ: This property will be the first we visit again!!

More Details ?

Detailed ratings for this rental

Check in
Cleanliness
Comfort
Location
Service
Value



Would you recommend this vacation rental to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Perfect Vacation Home

Review submitted: September 16, 2011   Date of arrival: January 6, 2011

Perfect vacation home
Left on 02/11/2011 for a stay in January 2011


This was the perfect vacation home for us. It was spacious, beautiful (inside and out), comfortable, spotlessly clean, well-maintained and well-equipped. It was also in a great location for the places we wanted to visit, such as Sabino Canyon, Mount Lemmon, Kartchner Caves and, of course, the trails and programs at the nearby Saguaro Park East.

More Details ?

Detailed ratings for this rental

Check in *****
Cleanliness *****
Comfort *****
Location *****
Service *****
Value *****

Would you recommend this vacation rental to a friend? Yes

Recommended for: Travelers, Friends, Groups, Tourists, Families w teenagers, Romantic, Disabilities, Luxury, Families w children, Rugged, Singles

Was this review helpful? Yes

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Definitely stay again

Review submitted: September 16, 2011   Date of arrival: December 24, 2010

Definitely stay again & recommend to friends
Left on 01/06/2011 for a stay in December 2010


Everything was excellent. Minor problem with hot tub controls, owner came over to handle. I had to mention this for the rest of the evaluation to be believed. The owners were very helpful, very pleasant, and respected our privacy. Wonderful visit.

More Details ?

Detailed ratings for this rental

Check in *****
Cleanliness *****
Comfort *****
Location *****
Service *****
Value *****
Would you recommend this vacation rental to a friend? Yes
Was this review helpful? Yes

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

It was worth waiting...

Review submitted: September 16, 2011   Date of arrival: December 10, 2010

It was worth waiting through 25 years of marriage to enjoy...
Left on 12/17/2010 for a stay in December 2010


... but if I had know about it sooner my wife and I would have traveled to Tuscon much sooner. We had never been on a winter holiday since our Honeymoon in Hawaii in 1985. Hacienda del Mayar was perfect for us. On the edge of Tucson it provided a tranquil location to enjoy the beauty of the desert and the warmth of the season (some days almost 100 Fahrenheit warmer than at home). Seeing Cauctus, javelina, and road runners during the day and watching shooting stars from the jacuzzi at night. Who could ask for more. The place was spotless when we arrived and Karine and Jean Michael where superb hosts. Thank you for making our week so special.

More Details ?

Detailed ratings for this rental

Check in *****
Cleanliness *****
Comfort *****
Location *****
Service *****
Value *****
Would you recommend this vacation rental to a friend? Yes


--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Was this review helpful? Yes

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Quiet and Secluded

Review submitted: September 16, 2011   Date of arrival: August 10, 2010

Quiet and Secluded Jerry L H Fred A. Georgia
Review Submitted August 29, 2010 Date of Stay August 10, 2010 Our stay at the Hacienda was just what we needed. Down a dirt road was this wonderful white home in Tucson with views of the mountains and the great desert night sky. The property was clean, very well kept, easy to find and private. Mornings at the pool you could watch the wildlife( roadrunners, ground squirrels, woodpeckers, quail and doves to name a few) sip on coffee and watch the sun rise. Del Mayar is the cleanest place I've rented in Tucson and will return. Also, this is the first review I've written about a home. If you don't have anything nice to say, say nothing. I can not say enough about the cleanliness and condition of the home and pool. Wonderful owners that care about their property. One more thing, For the week we stayed there, I saw no Scorpions and with their wonderful fence, no snakes! Thanks, K. & J.M. Rating: 5 out of 5 Respond to Review Recommended for: Age 55+ , Adventure Seekers , Girls Getaway , Sightseeing , Families with Teenagers , Families with Young Children , People with Disabilities , Romantic Getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Loved Hacienda del mayar

Review submitted: September 16, 2011   Date of arrival: June 26, 2010

Loved Hacienda Del Mayar Agnes DS Cincinnati, Ohio USA
Review Submitted July 7, 2010 Date of Stay June 26, 2010 We stayed at La Haciende Del Mayar for one week, arriving on June 26, 2010. The house is very welcoming - even better than the photos depict. There is plenty of room and everything is spotless! The laundry room came in very handy, as did the office. The kitchen, bedrooms, and bathrooms are very large, as is the living/dining room. Every bedroom has its own large bathroom. The back yard is beautiful, and the pool/spa is wonderfully relaxing. We saw a variety of desert wildlife in the yard, including quail, jackrabbits, and roadrunners. The views from the windows and from the backyard are breathtaking! The owner of the property is very helpful, and is a pleasure to do business with. It is obvious that she greatly cares about the comfort of her guests. I would highly recommend this property to anyone visiting Tucson. Although it is on the eastern edge of town, it is a very quick and easy drive to get anywhere. The close proximity to Saguaro National Park East is a plus. Rating: 5 out of 5 Recommended for: Age 55+ , Girls Getaway , Sightseeing , Families with Teenagers , Families with Young Children , People with Disabilities Helpful votes:2/2.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Perfect for relaxing & activities

Review submitted: August 15, 2010   Date of arrival: July 30, 2010

My family and I have visited Tucson on a number of occasions and we always rent houses so we can relax. This house is the best that we have stayed in, the location is tremendous, easy access to the Colossal Cave, Mount Lemon and the multitude of other things to do in Tucson. The pool & spa is wonderful and the whole property is well maintained to a high standard. The view is simply excellent and the wildlife that comes to drink from their own little watering hole gave our whole family hours of fun. Watching a Gila woodpecker taking a drink from the Hummingbird feeder was the highlight! 10 days was simply not long enough and we hope to be able to return in the near future.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Nothing is perfect but this is close

Review submitted: June 14, 2010   Date of arrival: June 5, 2010

Imagine peace and quiet. Imagine no noise. Imagine large spacious rooms. Image details everywhere in the decor of a home rental and imagine all this in one place. This is it.

We have been traveling 25 years, 4 guys, golfing around the states. We always go for the weird and nice and this is by the far the best we got in all those years. The place was as described, well maintained and the owners are very friendly.

The setting is in the desert, mountain view all around and very quiet. Pool and jaccuzi are brand new.

Thanks again for this perfect adventure....

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Hacienda del Mayar-a great vacation experience!

Review submitted: March 27, 2010   Date of arrival: December 1, 2009

We really enjoyed our vacation staying at the Hacienda del Mayar. The property description was accurate, and the house reflected a lot of attention to detail in both cleanliness and decor. The vase of fresh flowers was a very nice touch. It reflects well on the property management skills of the owners. The large private fenced back yard, shared with the guest house, offered both stunning views of the mountains as well as the great native landscaping. The easy access to Saguaro National Park and Sabino Canyon for hiking and bicycling were great bonuses. The heated spa was a nice treat after a day of activities. This is a rental property that we will use again for future travel to the Tucson area.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

dream home

Review submitted: March 26, 2010   Date of arrival: February 14, 2010

An oasis of charme and peace in a wonderful environment. A house that makes you feel at home...
The property was spotless, the bathrooms,kitchen spacious and well appointed. And the owners were acting more like friends than property managers. A tribute to French hopitality.
We will certainly -and warmly- recommand the place to our friends. We just hope to be lucky enough to go back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Oasis in the desert

Review submitted: March 25, 2010   Date of arrival: November 24, 2009

When my in-laws and I decided to share a house during our stay in Tucson, Hacienda del Mayar was a great choice. You never really know what you're going to get until you arrive, but everyone was so impressed with the place that I scored big points with my husband's family. It is a beautiful Southwestern house. Loved the decor, loved the bathrooms, loved the pool, loved the landscaping. Our group ranged from age 9 to age 49. We had plenty of room. Each bedroom has its own bath, a real plus when sharing a house. The living area was spacious and had plenty of seating. We even hosted Thanksgiving dinner there for my husband's family. (We did not cook it there. It was brought in.)

There were many thoughtful details in the house, and the place was spotless on our arrival. Karine made everything easy - directions, and instructions on features of the house, etc. And when I had a question she was easy to reach. We felt like we were in a very private place, but stores and restaurants are a short drive away.

I hope I get to stay there again one day, and I would definitely recommend the Hacienda for a family or group getaway.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Ladies' Runaway Weekend

Review submitted: March 24, 2010   Date of arrival: September 10, 2009

Our six member reunion group had a wonderful time here. There was more space than we expected. The pool was lovely - there is a smaller building on the property that shares the pool. Renting from the owner was very easy and the return of the deposit was very timely. The property is located out of town and was easy to find after the first time. Finding it in the dark the first time might take a little effort.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway

Owners response: Dear Frances,

Your hosts Karine & Jean Michel want to thank you for the wonderful appreciation that you have written on our page reviews…
The time you’ve spent is very important to us, and your opinion will be quite meaningful for potential future guests.

With much gratitude, and our best wishes for you and your Family,
Karine @ La Hacienda del Mayar

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

nicest vacation we had in the USA

Review submitted: March 24, 2010   Date of arrival: September 6, 2009

We had a great time.Description was accurate,property clean !
As wellcome we received nice wines and flowers.The owners were extremely friendly people and we felt immediately at home. The property was very nicely furnished and the pool clean, with a well maintained garden.

We decided to come back and stay a longer period in 2010.

Coming from Switzerland we were very satisfied with the shopping and restaurants Tucson could offer us.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Hacienda del Mayar...spectacular in every way!

Review submitted: March 23, 2010   Date of arrival: January 31, 2010

We've been to many rental properties over the years, in many parts of the country, but none can compare to the overall experience we had at La Hacienda del Mayar. From the moment we walked in the door we knew this place was special. The attention to detail could be seen everywhere, from the extremely well-equipped kitchen to the unique en suite bathrooms, from the comfortable living room furniture to the spectacular desert landscaping and the privacy of the patio and pool area. We instantly felt at home here and that feeling deepened with every passing day. The mountain views to the north and east were spectacular, no matter what time of day. And the wonders of Saguaro National Park were literally a Tiger Woods drive away. We know we'll be back again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review